HDR-AS50 ACTION CAM

Product Reviews

$299.00

(AUD inc. GST)
22

4.3 based on 22 customer reviews

10
10
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Poor Sound In The Case - Great For Scuba

HDR-AS50 04 May 2016  (United Kingdom)

I primary got this for scuba diving use and so far for that it has worked well. Unlike other such cameras it actually has a manual white balance option which can be used and set underwater (however quite a few menu steps to get to the option). The basic camera is not water or splash proof in any way and when in the case you will find the sound is virtually inaudible (foam covers the microphones in the case front). This model has a tripod mount on the camera as well as the case but you need dry weather. With a 64Gb card (put in it the correct way around, you can put it in the wrong way) with basic 1080p mode you get 8hrs of recording space. In super high quality high bit rate 1080p this drops to under 3hrs

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Features and easy to use - not underwater

HDR-AS50 18 July 2016 by mredcats (United Kingdom)

I bought the action cam and used it within a few days - it is easy to use and the quality appears to be good. Unfortunately the same can't be said for the waterproof housing and seal, the camera is now dead due to seal issue after full empty housing test etc.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

4

22 Customer Reviews

0

Good decent action cam!

HDR-AS50 18 June 2018 by DaveDatz (USA)

Good: The quality of the video is quite good. The HD feature (1080p 60fps) is super nice. I couldn't find myself a reason to buy the 4k capable AC so this one fits my need and budget. The stabilisation feature of this camera is great. I use it to record my mtb rides and the video result is smooth, no small shakes on the video. The interaction with the menu is super easy. I have no problems with the connectivity of this camera, no "could not connect" issues at all. And the accessories, all though sometimes hard to find, are cheap but reliable. Not Good: The audio of this AC is a bit disappointing, especially if you put it in its audioproof, i mean, waterproof case. To hook it to an accessory you need to have a coin with you.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great so far !!

HDRAS50B 02 June 2018 by gpchoochoo (USA)

We wanted to try a different action type recorder and I got this on my birthday. We have used it several times since then and the video stabilization is great. The nine miles of dirt road down to Wire Pass was terrible bumpy with a lot of wash-boarding. But with the Sony cam stuck to the windshield you wouldn't know it until you noticed that the end of the hood is bouncing all over the place and rocking back and forth but the video is stable, I was impressed. The hood and the windshield move the same amount so you know the Sony was moving just as much but still steady video.. If I cut a short piece of video out I'll post it...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Frustrating

HDR-AS50 14 March 2018 by Nelly11 (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera 2 months ago for a holiday that I'm due to go on soon. Video audio does not work via 3 different iOS products that I have tried from day 1. Despite numerous calls with Sony, and sent back for repair once, no resolution in sight.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Cool camera. Small enough.

HDR-AS50 02 January 2018 by JakeBuzz (United Kingdom)

Used it on my helmet, going fast ( over 90mph), no problem. The wateresistant cover keep water out. Better insulation for the batterry would do better job to prevent the screen from going foggy. But after a while it will go away. It works well with my Samsung S7. 4K goes well too. I do not need any better gor what what I am using it. If you get a glass filter for the lense it is ok to use it without tje cover. It withstands some rain as well as well as falling from the seat of my motorbike right on the tar. The wateresistant and impact resistant cover mutes the microphone. That is the only issue. But I have no idea how this works. All my friends have diving covers for their cameras and really, there is no need for a micrphone. It would be nice to have some sort of a accessory like a sleev, perhaps made of silicone to protect the camera more against impacts in case of fall but keep entrances for camera and microphone, buttons.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great ActionCam, bad battery life

Body + Waterproof Case 28 December 2017 by diemex (USA)

This might be my personal case but after my first use for about two weeks, I store it in the box until Christmas and the battery was dead, no more charge capability. Apart from this issue, it's a great value, excellent features, size, waterproof housing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HDRAS50

Body + Waterproof Case 27 December 2017 by Ramon567 (USA)

So far good not good battery life though. Overall good video recording

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cool little toy!

HDRAS50B 11 October 2017 by GraphicTV (USA)

Got it as a gift. Bought a mount for the handlebars on my bike. Makes great videos of my rides. Nicer picture than I anticipated, really nice color in daylight, image steady feature works well and very practical. Several apps available that work with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

SEEMS PROMISING

Body + Waterproof Case 25 August 2017 by TOCHIQUI2017 (USA)

I STILL HAVE TO LEARN THE FEATURES. BUT WITH MY FORTHCOMING TRIP I WILL BE ABLE TO USE THE FEATURES.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile device

HDR-AS50 02 July 2017 by Parajumper (United Kingdom)

I spent a long time deciding which action camera to buy. GoPro was at a price that I could not justify but I wanted something of quality. The Sony unit appeared to fit the bill. It has all the options of movies, stills, time-lapse etc. But within each there are many choices of quality, frame speed, zoom etc. I have only touched the surface of what is possible but, so far I am more than happy with my choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great footage, easy to use!

HDR-AS50 16 June 2017 by Jeebraun (United Kingdom)

We bought this product because of its ability to go up to 60 meters under water, in preparation for our upcoming scuba trip. We've been testing it out snorkeling and the images are fantastic, clear and bright. It is very easy to use as well. Great purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Suprisingly good

HDR-AS50 18 March 2017 by JimmyJones (Australia)

I did get this second hand, but it still makes good movies and acceptable quality still images. I'd consider upgrading to get 4k, but the HD 1080p video it takes is still ok quality. Have not tried the waterproof abilities, but the case is surprisingly heavy duty.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Lightweight, easy to use anywhere.

HDR-AS50 25 February 2017 by Diveworldsteve (United Kingdom)

Used underwater, so light and easy to carry. Picture quality is superb for this genre of camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best than Gopro

Body + Waterproof Case 19 February 2017 by Romão (USA)

I happy, now I have a Camera to use in my scuba diving adventures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent just simply excellent

HDR-AS50 18 February 2017 by Ken_CP (United Kingdom)

I bought the HDR50 for skiing. I bought this with the chest mount along with it (which was also excellent). The picture quality was fab and the digital stabilization worked like a dream. The sound was almost entirely shutout in the case but I knew that from reviews before I bought it - no probs as edited film was added with BGM. However when I did take it out of the case to record a pub band in hol the sound quality was very pleasing. I was also very pleasantly surprised with the battery life. I really didn't have any expectations on this and bought but out of caution I bought a spare battery. However the battery lasts so long when you only take short videos intermittently there really was no need for it. Finally the ease of use warrants a mention. The simple one button start/stop was excellent. You can set it to turn off automatically which I think must have helped with the battery too. The camera can be linked to your Smartphone and turned on/off from there (as well as used as a separate monitor) but I found this was a little on the slow side when on the slopes. However when you are released apres skiing and taking videos/pics then the monitoring via your phone proved very useful. Overall I am very happy with this camera and look forward to using it cycling when the weather improves.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Excellent Time Lapse Capture and smooth video

HDR-AS50 12 January 2017 by Ralf04 (United Kingdom)

The HDR-AS50 I bought has lived up to all the expectations I had after reading many reviews. I was looking for a low cost quality action cam to take video of good quality. Mainly skiing and other cultural events in our locality. I am also very impressed with the quality of time lapse capture in 4k. for a product in this price range Sony I feel have surpassed themselves. Well done!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great features in a small compact package

HDR-AS50 25 October 2016 by Liamh2o (United Kingdom)

Been using this little toy for a couple of weeks now, love it as my business start up product, great wifi and Bluetooth controls and live view and direct wifi to the router to live stream to u-stream, good battery life and brilliant companion to my quadcopter drone Yet another Sony product I love that I own

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

All-day remote video.

HDR-AS50 04 October 2016 by SUPaddict (United Kingdom)

I use my HDR-AS50 action cam with LVR-3 live view remote on long stand-up paddleboard trips. It is not easy to access the camera during these trips. This combination has amazing power-saving tricks. WiFi is used to stream video from camera to LVR, but low-power bluetooth is used to control the camera from the LVR. The camera can be shut down by turning off the LVR. While sleeping, the camera monitors bluetooth and it wakes itself when the LVR is turned on. The LVR is used as a viewfinder, but while filming video, WiFi and LVR video can be shut down. Using this combination, I can locate the camera on a boom for interesting shots, take pictures and video intermittently all day without recharging or physically accessing the camera. The picture quality is good and the picture stabilisation works like magic. The camera will not record sound while inside its waterproof case.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great Features and easy to use - not underwater

HDR-AS50 18 July 2016 by mredcats (United Kingdom)

I bought the action cam and used it within a few days - it is easy to use and the quality appears to be good. Unfortunately the same can't be said for the waterproof housing and seal, the camera is now dead due to seal issue after full empty housing test etc.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

4

0

Great feature but lack of accessories

HDR-AS50 10 July 2016 by Roy237 (United Kingdom)

Took nice pictures and video underwater but unfortunately no red filter available in the market. So disappointed at present. Otherwise good picture and video quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Well made, value and great features

HDR-AS50 19 June 2016 by Jez L (United Kingdom)

Love the ease of use and access to the new menu system. Steadyshot is great. Tripod mount very user friendly. HD video XAVC quality vivid mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Small and compact with good pictures

HDR-AS50 15 June 2016 by OakT (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera to do some timelaspe and outdoor recording. Work really well for both. The size is great and the waterproof case is solid and doesn't add to much bulk. The sound is not very good when in the case but I guess that is to be expected.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Poor Sound In The Case - Great For Scuba

HDR-AS50 04 May 2016  (United Kingdom)

I primary got this for scuba diving use and so far for that it has worked well. Unlike other such cameras it actually has a manual white balance option which can be used and set underwater (however quite a few menu steps to get to the option). The basic camera is not water or splash proof in any way and when in the case you will find the sound is virtually inaudible (foam covers the microphones in the case front). This model has a tripod mount on the camera as well as the case but you need dry weather. With a 64Gb card (put in it the correct way around, you can put it in the wrong way) with basic 1080p mode you get 8hrs of recording space. In super high quality high bit rate 1080p this drops to under 3hrs

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0