HDR-AS50 ACTION CAM

Product Reviews

$299.00

(AUD inc. GST)
54

4.0 based on 54 customer reviews

27
16
2
3
6
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Poor Sound In The Case - Great For Scuba

HDR-AS50 04 May 2016  (United Kingdom)

I primary got this for scuba diving use and so far for that it has worked well. Unlike other such cameras it actually has a manual white balance option which can be used and set underwater (however quite a few menu steps to get to the option). The basic camera is not water or splash proof in any way and when in the case you will find the sound is virtually inaudible (foam covers the microphones in the case front). This model has a tripod mount on the camera as well as the case but you need dry weather. With a 64Gb card (put in it the correct way around, you can put it in the wrong way) with basic 1080p mode you get 8hrs of recording space. In super high quality high bit rate 1080p this drops to under 3hrs

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

camera itself is very good, accessories are not

HDR-AS50 26 July 2018 by monikmax (United Kingdom)

I bought it for use during vacation, mainly snorkling and diving, but I am using it also for mtb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

54 Customer Reviews

0

Good little action cam

HDR-AS50 13 October 2021 by Andy1006 (United Kingdom)

Picture quality is and battery life is good. shame that it's not waterproof. When it is in the w/p casing the sound recorded is inaudible.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

HDR-AS50 Action Camera

HDR-AS50 29 July 2021 by TTBoyo (United Kingdom)

I should have bought this Sony action camera from the beginning to take videos of my motorcycle rides. But wasting my time and money on four different makes, I am so glad to have bought the Sony. It has easy user interface, excellent vibration compensation and the best feature is the replaceable battery. Sony's own design of mounting bracket is absolutely brilliant to mount on my helmet and also easy to adjust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not what I expected

Body + Waterproof Case 16 May 2021 by V8888 (Singapore)

Not sure what to do with this after I bought it. Review was good but was disappointed upon receiving the cam.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Nice item

HDR-AS50 06 April 2021 by Thorfinn (United Kingdom)

I had this bought as a present and it is a very nice little camera. Unfortunately you need to buy a whole load of other stuff to make it work efficiently. There is no screen so you have to use your mobile phone through the wireless connection or you can buy the Sony wireless screen. there is no lens cap so you need to find one (Sony sell it|) there are many other great accessories but you have to buy them. In all it gets a bit pricey so do your calculations before opting for an action camera (others available)

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Total Scam - Doesn't work with it's own software

HDR-AS50 25 July 2020 by sonyjunk (USA)

Useless piece of junk. The software was apparently written by 3-year-olds. The laptop software crashed my mac and almost killed it. I had to expunge it from the entire hard drive to use my computer again. The iPhone app has a "read QR code" feature which doesn't recognize the QR code for this camera. Criminally poor and useless produce. Do not buy.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

5

0

once dived to 15 meters and water entered through

HDR-AS50 15 June 2020 by mirsen (USA)

once dived to 15 meters and water entered through the housings, I can throw it now

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

0

Not worth it or user friendly

HDR-AS50 15 September 2019 by Donotlikeit (USA)

I got this for the chance it might be better than the usual action cam that 98% of everyone has and you know which one I mean. This thing stunk, the memory card goes in both ways so if you put it in on accident wrong way and try to record it, you end up with nothing. The recorded videos get put into some weird file you need a map to find it. Do not buy this unless you want to get home to upload your cool videos only to find out they never recorded or they are in a hidden file. Stick with the original one that works way better. I am dumping this piece of junk and getting the OG.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

8

0

Great little bit of kit!

HDR-AS50 31 August 2019 by Goode (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently ready for a scuba diving holiday, but tried it out on dry land first during a weekend away, great quality images, steady shot is great, for the pennies, a great bit of kit, can't wait to try some underwater shots!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

not satisfied with the product so i'm selling it

HDR-AS50 28 July 2019 by Eranda (USA)

I would say the main drawbacks are as follows *Design - Anterior-posterior design is not convenient (compared to other action cam brands) *No display! *Poor image stabilization *When using underwater due to heat, a fog develops on the inside of the front of the housing and covers up the lens and interferes with photos/video *difficult to find mounts (head strap/chest strap)

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Easy to use great video

HDR-AS50 03 June 2019 by Anthony F (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera as a helmet can when I’m playing air soft, it gives me amazing quality pictures, with long battery life, the water proof housing lets me use in any condition, and protects from shock or a stray BB! Am amazing product I’m glad I purchased and would recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

User interface - very poor

HDR-AS50 13 May 2019 by Gil1966 (United Kingdom)

User interface non intuitive and hard to use. The mobile app very limited. Even to setup date and hour....big issue just for an exemple

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

0

High Quality Action Camera

HDR-AS50 10 May 2019 by Noel G (United Kingdom)

I bought the Sony DRH-AS50 after being dissatisfied with the GoPro hero 7 black The quality of the Sony is amazing, Picture quality, sound quality, is far better than I could ever imagine, Battery life is excellent, long durable battery for shooting in my opinion is a Big Plus, Connecting to my android phone is easy with the Imaging Edge app The mode and features are easy to change either by scrolling through on the side panel of the camera or by connecting to the app I can honestly say that I love the Sony DRH-AS50

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Smart little action cam

HDR-AS50 13 March 2019  (United Kingdom)

Great camera many great features easy to use and light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

So many features

HDRAS50B 15 October 2018 by Jim W (USA)

Recent purchase. Have not had a chance to check them all out. Lightweight and compact. Will order the shooting grip soon.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Not Good

HDR-AS50 26 July 2018 by paTRIKER (United Kingdom)

Charged the camera and used it once. Then wouldn't recharge or turn on. So sent it back to the supplier for a full refund.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

camera itself is very good, accessories are not

HDR-AS50 26 July 2018 by monikmax (United Kingdom)

I bought it for use during vacation, mainly snorkling and diving, but I am using it also for mtb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great little camera and value for money...

Body + Waterproof Case 11 July 2018  (Singapore)

This is a nice little action camera with tons of useful features. Low light performance could be better.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb performance at a reasonable price

Body + Waterproof Case 10 July 2018 by RSBJr (Singapore)

I bought this for my scuba diving adventure and have no regrets. I had taken nice video footage even on my night dives!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good decent action cam!

HDR-AS50 18 June 2018 by DaveDatz (USA)

Good: The quality of the video is quite good. The HD feature (1080p 60fps) is super nice. I couldn't find myself a reason to buy the 4k capable AC so this one fits my need and budget. The stabilisation feature of this camera is great. I use it to record my mtb rides and the video result is smooth, no small shakes on the video. The interaction with the menu is super easy. I have no problems with the connectivity of this camera, no "could not connect" issues at all. And the accessories, all though sometimes hard to find, are cheap but reliable. Not Good: The audio of this AC is a bit disappointing, especially if you put it in its audioproof, i mean, waterproof case. To hook it to an accessory you need to have a coin with you.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great so far !!

HDRAS50B 02 June 2018 by gpchoochoo (USA)

We wanted to try a different action type recorder and I got this on my birthday. We have used it several times since then and the video stabilization is great. The nine miles of dirt road down to Wire Pass was terrible bumpy with a lot of wash-boarding. But with the Sony cam stuck to the windshield you wouldn't know it until you noticed that the end of the hood is bouncing all over the place and rocking back and forth but the video is stable, I was impressed. The hood and the windshield move the same amount so you know the Sony was moving just as much but still steady video.. If I cut a short piece of video out I'll post it...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Frustrating

HDR-AS50 14 March 2018 by Nelly11 (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera 2 months ago for a holiday that I'm due to go on soon. Video audio does not work via 3 different iOS products that I have tried from day 1. Despite numerous calls with Sony, and sent back for repair once, no resolution in sight.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

3

0

clear pictures , no sound

HDR-AS50 05 March 2018  (Philippines)

I bought this a few months ago. I am happy of the clear pictures, captured true colors, my only concern is that when it is put in the housing case, the sound cannot be captured. I can only see my lips moving but not a single sound can be heard...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cool camera. Small enough.

HDR-AS50 02 January 2018 by JakeBuzz (United Kingdom)

Used it on my helmet, going fast ( over 90mph), no problem. The wateresistant cover keep water out. Better insulation for the batterry would do better job to prevent the screen from going foggy. But after a while it will go away. It works well with my Samsung S7. 4K goes well too. I do not need any better gor what what I am using it. If you get a glass filter for the lense it is ok to use it without tje cover. It withstands some rain as well as well as falling from the seat of my motorbike right on the tar. The wateresistant and impact resistant cover mutes the microphone. That is the only issue. But I have no idea how this works. All my friends have diving covers for their cameras and really, there is no need for a micrphone. It would be nice to have some sort of a accessory like a sleev, perhaps made of silicone to protect the camera more against impacts in case of fall but keep entrances for camera and microphone, buttons.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great ActionCam, bad battery life

Body + Waterproof Case 28 December 2017 by diemex (USA)

This might be my personal case but after my first use for about two weeks, I store it in the box until Christmas and the battery was dead, no more charge capability. Apart from this issue, it's a great value, excellent features, size, waterproof housing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0