$749.00

(AUD inc. GST)
226

4.4 based on 226 customer reviews

148
46
14
5
13
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome!

STRDH590 22 October 2020 by ben_tx (USA)

I purchased this amp about three weeks ago to replace a Yamaha amp that had a video card failure. I was skeptical of this unit because I’ve had no experience with Sony audio equipment. I can tell you that I am pleasantly surprised! This unit has less distortion than the Yamaha and more features. Love the fact that I could hook up both of my subs directly! It was very easy to set up and the sound is great! It works great with my Yamaha surround speakers and my Polk/Yamaha subs. Very happy with the price paid and the quality! I highly recommend!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

does not respond properly to on/off signal

STRDH590 04 July 2019 by diver9999 (USA)

the HDMI input ports stopped working a few months after I bought it

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

226 Customer Reviews

0

Good for Movies

STRDH590 15 September 2021 by JammingJan (USA)

Great for movie surround sound, very poor for listening to just music. Bought switch to switch between amps for movie viewing and jamming to music. This is the second one I have purchased. First one I bought was back in January for living room tv, second was just purchased for movie/music room in basement. Was skeptical about purchase since price had gone up almost $100 since first one was bought.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Replaced old Sony AV receiver

STRDH590 04 September 2021 by Tommy O (USA)

Bought to replace old Sony receiver I had 20 + years. Very similar to what I had at a great price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great receiver has everything

STRDH590 01 September 2021 by wingmandave (USA)

I upgraded my left and right speaker along with the center speaker to "large" size from what I had before so that I would get the full capabilities of this amplifier. This unit has so many different "sound effects", that it can get a little over whelming. Once you understand why "sports" effect is classified under "music", then you have figured it all out. Great unit over all and works great with my sony TV, just hook up the "ARC" HDMI and add this unit as an additional input, that way you can listen to the radio (great receiver btw) and bluetooth works well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy set-up

STRDH590 14 August 2021 by j666laz (USA)

Since I was replacing an old Sony system the speakers were already mounted and in place but the installation couldn't have been simpler.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Difficult to set up with DirecTV remote

STRDH590 22 July 2021  (USA)

This is the second one that I have bought as the first one quit working with the DirecTV remote after a nearby lightning strike, but otherwise it still worked fine. The second one would not work when I connected the satellite receiver HDMI output to the SAT input on the new Sony receiver and I had to switch it to the GAME HDMI input to make it work. So far I have not had the time to once again try all the DirecTV codes to find the one that works to remotely turn on and off the Sony receiver. But at least I found one can control the volume! Otherwise it sounds great with my 20-year old Sony 5-channel + sub-woofer speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

FM Flaws

STRDH590 19 July 2021 by ATA2D (USA)

I would love to give this a 5* but the FM antenna (or lack there of) is a 2 pin wire about 3 feet long and is a horrible draw back for someone who listens to a lot of broadcast radio. If Sony would have included a better way to add an external antenna this would be a fantastic system. As is, their answer to my problem is "move your system to another location"..... Unacceptable and a poor solution!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Glad I upgraded

STRDH590 17 July 2021 by mud26 (USA)

Originally bought a 2.1 receiver for my new X90J TV but decided I wanted a the surround sound receiver.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Working Great!

STRDH590 16 July 2021 by NebulousOne (USA)

It does what it is supposed to do which is entertain me! Haven't had any problems. Happy I got it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Why did I ever leave Sony?

STRDH590 15 July 2021 by DonatoP (USA)

Went from Sony in the ‘80s to Denon and Yamaha and now back to it with the best results for connectivity to my 4K tv, Roku, 5.1 Bose speakers, router, and the tv box. what an easy process. Best feature? The automatic sound selection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sounds

STRDH590 08 July 2021 by Mslc (USA)

I bought two units. One for my great room and one for my outdoor area

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great unit.

STRDH590 28 June 2021 by Larrys⁸unit (USA)

I bought this a week ago. The sound is excellent and has good sound separation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

SAT/CABLTV Output Stopped Working After 10 Months

STRDH590 24 June 2021 by MrDeadPool (USA)

Owned the receiver for only 10 months and the SAT?CABLTV HDMI port is no longer working.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Upgraded to hdmi connections.

STRDH590 17 June 2021 by Steveq22 (USA)

I eliminated the tangle of wires behind my home theater components. This is my 3rd Sony receiver over a 30 year timeframe. They are all still working. Reliability of Sony Stuff is unparalleled! Sound quality is fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

STRDH590 07 June 2021 by 1999bob (USA)

Replaced a home theater system after a lightning loss. Added a Sony bluray player to complete the system and hooked up existing speakers. Doing great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great product with easy setup

STRDH590 01 June 2021 by Gleeb (USA)

High quality unit that was extremely easy at setup and use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great, works great.

STRDH590 30 May 2021 by Bill 1535 (USA)

I got my Sony receiver about a month ago it replaced a Sony receiver I had for 15 years, it delivers everything I had hoped for, had no problems so far.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Automation.. Simplicity

STRDH590 10 May 2021 by Navpers06 (USA)

Hooked old pair of speakers, and sub, instlaled included auto tuning device... Done. Would be nice if it had graphical adj. EQ...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony home theater av receiver

STRDH590 10 May 2021 by Timothy42 (USA)

I love this product and I would recommend y'all to other customers this is nice

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Was good

STRDH590 09 May 2021 by JohnEHood (USA)

Worked well for a while but then stopped sending video signal. Tried every fix and didn't work. Tried googling it after the online manual was no help and no luck. It's basically now a giant brick.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Just What I Wanted

STRDH590 29 April 2021 by Drums1961 (USA)

I bought this to replace a 30 year old Onkyo receiver that was having issues. I chose this over other brands because of the the Sony reputation, and I needed a receiver with a phono input as I just recently bought a turntable. This receiver has great sound in a very simple easy to use interface all at a price that want break the bank.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great System

STRDH590 25 April 2021 by Merlin896 (USA)

Installed 3 weeks ago, working great. Will look for more sony items

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product for a good low price

STRDH590 22 April 2021 by ABRAIDER57 (USA)

I purchased it for my patio TV about a month ago and I am very happy with it and all the features. I especially happy with the bluetooth and four HDMI connections. The sound is great and it was easy to setup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Performed as Advertised

STRDH590 19 April 2021 by GoSonyNow (USA)

I've owned it for about a month and it works as advertised

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Receiver

STR-DH590 17 April 2021 by Bond0071 (USA)

I bought this about 6 months ago. Easy to setup and it sounds great . My only complaint is that it is not truly blue tooth . I learned the hard way when i bought new headphones and they would not work . That's because the blue tooth does not transmit sound. I guess that is my fault .I thought blue tooth meant blue tooth. Everything else works great . I am not sure what to look for when it says Blue tooth how do I know if it transmits sound. I Guess I will have to look that up before I do buy a new receiver in the future. So far it works great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0