$599.00

(AUD inc. GST)
107

4.5 based on 107 customer reviews

69
27
7
2
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Perfect for what we needed

STRDH590 10 March 2019 by Moobear (USA)

I actually replaced a Sony 1040 receiver with this because of upgrading our TV and Blu-Ray to 4K HDR. We use all Sony products except for our small surround system speakers which are Klipsch. I was concerned about going from top of the line to entry level, but all we have is a small 5.1 living room system. We suffered no loss of sound quality whatsoever and more power than we could ever need. Works perfectly with our Apple TV. Both picture and sound could not be better. Highly recommend this perfect little receiver!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

does not respond properly to on/off signal

STRDH590 04 July 2019 by diver9999 (USA)

the HDMI input ports stopped working a few months after I bought it

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

107 Customer Reviews

0

Great features

STRDH590 10 March 2020 by Zuper3 (USA)

I bought this product a month ago and totally happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound

STRDH590 20 February 2020 by Pattyglide (USA)

i have enjoyed listening to my new receiver. i have hooked up my other audio equipment to it also.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A solid unit

STRDH590 19 February 2020 by WaltN (USA)

We've had other Sony AV Receivers and they have all performed very well. So far this one seems to live up to it's predecessors level of performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great sound!

STRDH590 17 February 2020 by Nubes (USA)

Just what I needed and fit into the space I had available.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bluetooth works great

STRDH590 17 February 2020 by Duke367 (USA)

I’ve had this for a couple of months and it works great. Crisp clean clear sound. Only using the 5.1 with a klipsh sub-woofer and sounds Pimpin.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and sleek looks at a reasonable price!

STRDH590 07 February 2020 by Bob on Books (USA)

I purchased this a month ago to replace a 5.2 receiver. I love the smaller footprint of this receiver, the sleek design, the bluetooth feature allowing me to stream music from my phone. I bought this primarily for audio and have found the sound spacious, clear, and rich. As a vinyl lover with a turntable, it would be helpful in product info to know that one needs to add a phono pre-amp to listen to records through this receiver, but with the separate pre-amp, my vinyl sounds better as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great, BUT...

STRDH590 07 February 2020 by Disappointed1000 (USA)

This unit works fine except that you are FORCED to constantly exit the HOME menu (a two step process) every time you turn the TV on. What idiot forgot to add a delete option for this? This aggravating characteristic negates almost every good feature. Wake up SONY and fix this!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great AV

STRDH590 05 February 2020 by meeeeeee (USA)

Really good unit. replaced expensive Onkyo and does so much better at amping our CDs. Thought I might have to replace the speakers but this unit solved our problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great receiver

STRDH590 20 January 2020 by Gator 69 (USA)

Easy to set up and works great sound really good to

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What Instructions?!

STRDH590 17 January 2020 by GrayDawg (USA)

I'm having a problem programming my Sony av receiver and the background sound overwhelming. Sony's instructions don't say anything about connecting it to a wireless tv receiver like DirectTV for surround sound so I think maybe I'm setting it up wrong. Better instructions woulk be great.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

User Friendly

STRDH590 12 January 2020 by Tpain (USA)

Needed 4K pass through and replaced Pioneer with this Sony. Very, Very pleased. Used supplied microphone for easy set up and then tuned to my taste from there with small moves. Xbox One S, Xbox 360, 4K Fire Stick and new Samsung RU 7300 TV all work flawlessly (over kill I know what can't be streamed from any of these). Let the receiver decode audio and you won't be disappointed. This decodes and balances sound beautifully our sound system has never sounded better and definitely an upgrade for us.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

STRDH590 11 January 2020 by No entry (USA)

An excellent product. Performs like a gem. Non-trivial installation, but I had expert help.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice receiver !

STRDH590 10 January 2020 by Jakb (USA)

I am very pleased with the receivers features and power. This is a great entry level receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Decent for price

STRDH590 07 January 2020 by Al from NH (USA)

Other than a totally useless FM connection , it does what it’s supposed to do

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Everything I needed!

STRDH590 04 January 2020 by Oid65 (USA)

Glad I got this. Great value for the money. Sounds very good!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

STRDH590 03 January 2020 by Little Red (USA)

Great product arrived in good condition and sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Product Reasonable Price

STRDH590 29 December 2019 by JKS13 (USA)

I purchased a Roku TV and had an older receiver that HDMI inputs but it didn't have provision for HDMI arc. I already had awesome 5.1 surround speakers so I had to replace the receiver. The Sony Receiver was affordable and with the use of an optical cable allows me to add my DVD Player and WD Hub. Only thing that would be a little nicer would be the ability to add banana plugs as they are so much easier to connect. But overall I am very impressed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4k features are a plus

STRDH590 26 December 2019 by Glok (USA)

I got it for Christmas of 2019 and it's easy to set up and hook-up and it sounds great. I love Sony and I prefer nothing else

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup and user friendly

STRDH590 23 December 2019 by Hawg2019 (USA)

The Sony 5.2ch receiver was easy to setup up by just following the directions. The receiver is being used with a Secptre TV and interfaced with the TV without any issues plus the one remote works for the TV and receiver. Only one HDMI cable require that I had to buy separately. The sound is deep and rich even full with a Roku and over the air TV stations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice selection of settings allow flexibility

STRDH590 19 December 2019 by Fredforeal (USA)

Receiver is now a happy addition to our theater surround system and being enjoyed on a daily basis.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

works great

STRDH590 18 December 2019 by docman49 (USA)

bought this to replace old sony surround receiver, like the new blue tooth and various system sounds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

set-up issues

STRDH590 16 December 2019 by zhandomplrtfv (USA)

Bought this today and during set-up. the FM antenna broke. It is also way more gadgetry than I needed for its intended use but it seems that this is the way units are made

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Power,Price,Connectivity ease.Great features.

STRDH590 14 December 2019 by PA 61 (USA)

I bought this about a week ago.Was pretty easy to hookup and understand with modern HDMI jacks and easy speaker connection for surround sound ect.Plenty of power for my needs and color matches all my other components.If the on off switch lasts many years I will be very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

STRDH590 08 December 2019 by Tom1951 (USA)

I bought this and love it the only complaint I have every time I turn it on after a few minutes the home screen pops up and I have to push home again for it to go away

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0