$599.00

(AUD inc. GST)
62

4.6 based on 62 customer reviews

39
20
3
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

62 Customer Reviews

0

Receiver works fine

STRDH590 04 June 2019 by mike11292 (USA)

I give it 4 stars because the receiver itself works fine and does everything it needs to do. It loses a star because the remote only works about 20% of the time. It is not responsive. New batteries did not do that trick so I am fairly certain something is off with the remote. Kind of a bummer but could be worse.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect fit

STRDH590 26 May 2019 by ggrib127 (USA)

Perfect size for the only rack provided by the TV stand. Plenty of wattage for the small room it’s used in

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works Best w/Sony TV

STRDH590 20 May 2019 by Samsung owner (USA)

This is a good, solid AV receiver . . . for a Sony TV. Unfortunately, I have a Samsung and had some unusual issues. I spent a lot of time on the phone with Sony support, and the one guy who I suspect was either technical or very experienced finally told me they had seen a lot of the problems I was having with Samsung and LG TV's but not with Sony's. I am replacing mine with a Denon, as recommended by the AV company I use. If you have a Sony TV, this is a great receiver for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sounds great

STR-DH590 05 May 2019 by Frithy1979 (Australia)

Brought this Sony av receiver today easy setup great sound picture is great in 4K UHD great value for the price

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Bluetooth Headphones

STR-DH590 03 May 2019 by Dave23464 (USA)

Not pleased with lack of the ability to use Bluetooth wireless headphones. The STR-DH590 is described as being Bluetooth compatible. Your description on the receiver indicates that the receiver is Bluetooth compatible, but it is NOT compatible with Bluetooth headphone. I guess I will need to find another manufacture that puts out correct information on their products.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Bluetooth is not pairing

STRDH590 29 April 2019 by Dave23464 (USA)

Blue Tooth on this receiver will not pair with Blue Tooth Head Phone. All the information I have seen on this product indicates that this Sony STR-DH590 A/V Receiver, IS BLUE TOOTH COMPATIBLE. I am hearing impaired and want blue tooth head phones for listening to my music and for listening to my TV without blowing the windows out. I am extremely disappointed in Sony. I am well into my twilight years have purchased many Sony products all my life, still have many of them in my home... I would be more than happy to hear from Sony regarding this matter. Please note I do not read the owners manuals prior to purchasing and item. Dave

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

0

Unexpected

STRDH590 20 April 2019 by 26uu43 (USA)

Love bt feature in pure direct. Excellent movie sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far so good!

STRDH590 19 April 2019 by levi98 (USA)

I've only had this hooked up yo my TV for 2 days, but so far I really like. Still learning all the functions.

Sound Quality

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound

STRDH590 19 April 2019 by SJScors1 (USA)

The sound fields are amazing. Some have a little too much echo effect. The onscreen display is very helpful. Very please with this receiver, blue-tooth set up was very easy and has great sound from my phone connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound

STRDH590 13 April 2019 by DWsr (USA)

love the productand sound great product and love it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sleek simple and great looking all black reciever

STRDH590 03 April 2019 by Drummer boy (USA)

I took it out of the box and hooked it up to my Sony speakers from my older Sony surround system, plugged in the calibration hook up that came with the system and wala!!!. Put the movie the gladiator in my DVD player and thought I was in the movie theater. The sound was unbelievable. Very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value for the price

STRDH590 31 March 2019 by Mae S (USA)

This replaced an old Marantz. The Sony is doing a fine job and cost far less than the one it replaced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for what we needed

STRDH590 10 March 2019 by Moobear (USA)

I actually replaced a Sony 1040 receiver with this because of upgrading our TV and Blu-Ray to 4K HDR. We use all Sony products except for our small surround system speakers which are Klipsch. I was concerned about going from top of the line to entry level, but all we have is a small 5.1 living room system. We suffered no loss of sound quality whatsoever and more power than we could ever need. Works perfectly with our Apple TV. Both picture and sound could not be better. Highly recommend this perfect little receiver!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

easy set up

STRDH590 07 March 2019 by bonney100 (USA)

I purchased yesterday and I set this up in about 15 minutes. Hooked to TV now so the sound will now be coming thru my stereo. AWESOME! Price was right and can't beat Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound easy to use

STRDH590 18 February 2019 by FrankM2 (USA)

The product was fairly easy to hook up with quick start guide. Unfortunately, the product came with an instruction book in French and Spanish only, no English, so the quick start guide was the only thing to work with but was enough. Sound quality is superb. One note if you have a smart TV; you need an extra digital audio cable to get the sound from the Apps, such as Netflix. No issue, very easy to do, just took awhile to figure out with out an English instruction booklet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stereo Receiver

STRDH590 09 February 2019 by msworkout (USA)

Decent receiver for the price, but should have controls for balance, base and treble adjsutments for speakers. Also should have controls to limit speakers to two or 4 and subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to set up.

STRDH590 02 February 2019 by Gregg68 (USA)

Bought this a month ago. It was easy to set up. Has connections for a 4K Smart TV, PS4 and Switch. Have been very satisfied.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great receiver

STRDH590 30 January 2019 by Bill 76 (USA)

A great partner to my Sony 4k HDR TV. Very simple to set up, with TV on screen instructions. Power is way more than enough. Had this picked out months ago, finally made the purchase. Extremely satisfied with all Sony Products, and yes my Sony DVD player. Every thing is Sony in my entertainment center.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lots of features!

STRDH590 28 January 2019 by BWill (USA)

Was easy to install and I am using a Phono, 6-CD Player with Sony Bookshelf Speakers and the sound is great for all the components.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice home theater receiver

STRDH590 25 January 2019 by WI John D (USA)

Used with Spectrum cable and with digital tv antenna. I did not know that my tv would turn the receiver on and off so when using the Spectrum issued remote it would turn off and back on. Just had to eliminate it from the remote.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Solid product for the price

STRDH590 21 January 2019 by hdyer1064 (USA)

Black Friday deal and it is a fine unit. The remote control menus are easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great quality and features

STRDH590 20 January 2019 by jcjh27 (USA)

I bought this receiver a month ago and I'm happy with my receiver

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pretty Good

STRDH590 18 January 2019 by GADAWGJMT (USA)

I like the product, I give it 4 stars instead of five because I've had to re-calibrate the speakers more than once! I shouldn't have to do that after the 1st time! The receiver should memorize it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

great sound and ease of use

STRDH590 18 January 2019 by Enigmatic_Tzu (USA)

I am so pleased with this Theater Receiver. It is so user friendly with lots of ports to hook up plenty of units. The sound is amazing as well! Plus, what great price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0