$599.00

(AUD inc. GST)
73

4.5 based on 73 customer reviews

45
23
4
0
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

74 Customer Reviews

0

Easy setup

STRDH590 01 October 2019  (USA)

This make the 2nd Sony AV receiver I've owned and have been very satisfied with both.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

works like a charm

STRDH590 16 September 2019 by smokeybearmamabear (USA)

would recommend this to anyone, easy to set some instruction not clear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

0

0

0

Sony products are durable

STRDH590 04 August 2019 by wo3jones (USA)

I bought my Sony receiver a month ago and I'm enjoying the new features on it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy set-up

STRDH590 04 August 2019 by Herbie1958 (USA)

I bought this unit to replace my broken stereo receiver. It set up very easy and the quick calibration worked the first time I did it. Hopefully it will last a long time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Amp

STR-DH590 29 July 2019 by johnm (Australia)

Have had it for a few week and found it to be excellent. Easy to hook up to the TV, DVD Player and Hard Drive. Setting up speakers was very easy following the prompts on the TV and delivers great sound. Does take a few moments to lock into the source, but no problem unless you want "instant" use.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Reciver is good but remote is another story

STR-DH590 28 July 2019 by Traveler74 (USA)

I bought a Sony receiver about 10 years ago and was great as I was able to connect everything to my receiver to everything and the remote could talk to everything and do all the functions I needed. This remote however is a big fail. We had to go out and buy another remote to combine all of my devices in to that remote. I wish they could at least sell a aftermarket remote that could do this task.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

My Son got it working!

STRDH590 15 July 2019 by Hobojoey (USA)

Had this 3 weeks and could not get the speakers to work, Have to turn TV on and off with this remote (sound) and TV remote picture. Pushed wrong button today and had to call my son to help me get it working again. Not cool for old folks.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Easy to use

STRDH590 07 July 2019 by Golfer 13 (USA)

Use it all the time ty and blue tooth also whe I want to here music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow , killer sound

STRDH590 06 July 2019 by Flipp (USA)

A bit complex to set up , but it's working great now .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

does not respond properly to on/off signal

STRDH590 04 July 2019 by diver9999 (USA)

the HDMI input ports stopped working a few months after I bought it

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Just what I needed!

STRDH590 02 July 2019 by Sunny Bubbles (USA)

I am a retired teacher. My hearing is very good, but I like my action movies exciting and my classical music foot thumping. The Sony 590 is exactly what I needed to beef up my home theater ( apartment) . It is paired with the superb Bravia 900 TV. I am very happy with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product

STRDH590 25 June 2019 by Hossman43 (USA)

Bought today and everything was easy setup. Only thing wrong was remote didn’t work

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Receiver works fine

STRDH590 04 June 2019 by mike11292 (USA)

I give it 4 stars because the receiver itself works fine and does everything it needs to do. It loses a star because the remote only works about 20% of the time. It is not responsive. New batteries did not do that trick so I am fairly certain something is off with the remote. Kind of a bummer but could be worse.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect fit

STRDH590 26 May 2019 by ggrib127 (USA)

Perfect size for the only rack provided by the TV stand. Plenty of wattage for the small room it’s used in

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Works Best w/Sony TV

STRDH590 20 May 2019 by Samsung owner (USA)

This is a good, solid AV receiver . . . for a Sony TV. Unfortunately, I have a Samsung and had some unusual issues. I spent a lot of time on the phone with Sony support, and the one guy who I suspect was either technical or very experienced finally told me they had seen a lot of the problems I was having with Samsung and LG TV's but not with Sony's. I am replacing mine with a Denon, as recommended by the AV company I use. If you have a Sony TV, this is a great receiver for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sounds great

STR-DH590 05 May 2019 by Frithy1979 (Australia)

Brought this Sony av receiver today easy setup great sound picture is great in 4K UHD great value for the price

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Bluetooth Headphones

STR-DH590 03 May 2019 by Dave23464 (USA)

Not pleased with lack of the ability to use Bluetooth wireless headphones. The STR-DH590 is described as being Bluetooth compatible. Your description on the receiver indicates that the receiver is Bluetooth compatible, but it is NOT compatible with Bluetooth headphone. I guess I will need to find another manufacture that puts out correct information on their products.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Bluetooth is not pairing

STRDH590 29 April 2019 by Dave23464 (USA)

Blue Tooth on this receiver will not pair with Blue Tooth Head Phone. All the information I have seen on this product indicates that this Sony STR-DH590 A/V Receiver, IS BLUE TOOTH COMPATIBLE. I am hearing impaired and want blue tooth head phones for listening to my music and for listening to my TV without blowing the windows out. I am extremely disappointed in Sony. I am well into my twilight years have purchased many Sony products all my life, still have many of them in my home... I would be more than happy to hear from Sony regarding this matter. Please note I do not read the owners manuals prior to purchasing and item. Dave

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

0

Unexpected

STRDH590 20 April 2019 by 26uu43 (USA)

Love bt feature in pure direct. Excellent movie sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So far so good!

STRDH590 19 April 2019 by levi98 (USA)

I've only had this hooked up yo my TV for 2 days, but so far I really like. Still learning all the functions.

Sound Quality

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound

STRDH590 19 April 2019 by SJScors1 (USA)

The sound fields are amazing. Some have a little too much echo effect. The onscreen display is very helpful. Very please with this receiver, blue-tooth set up was very easy and has great sound from my phone connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound

STRDH590 13 April 2019 by DWsr (USA)

love the productand sound great product and love it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sleek simple and great looking all black reciever

STRDH590 03 April 2019 by Drummer boy (USA)

I took it out of the box and hooked it up to my Sony speakers from my older Sony surround system, plugged in the calibration hook up that came with the system and wala!!!. Put the movie the gladiator in my DVD player and thought I was in the movie theater. The sound was unbelievable. Very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value for the price

STRDH590 31 March 2019 by Mae S (USA)

This replaced an old Marantz. The Sony is doing a fine job and cost far less than the one it replaced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0