$1,049.00

(AUD inc. GST)
75

4.3 based on 75 customer reviews

47
15
5
5
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing little Atmos av receiver

STR-DH790 06 August 2018 by PhilfromEaling (United Kingdom)

So ... after having Yamaha receivers for years, I thought it was a good idea to get a soundbar after moving to a new house! Yes - there was a wife involved who did not want the wires and mess. Warning! You can never accept the surround sound from a soundbar once you've had a discrete system and after a year and a half I opted to go for a Yamaha 683. Great amp but, after looking at the monster in its box, I realised that most of the receivers do not fit into our John Lewis wooden TV stand. I got rid of my PC World cheap unit which would have accommodated the Yamaha which is large but not unusual. It was either a new TV glass/chrome stand which shows all the wires or a smaller AMP. After a lot of research, I came across this Sony and realised that it did everything I wanted it to do and was the smallest ATMOS RV receiver available in the UK. No multi-room, no Wi-Fi linking to expensive speakers and no Spotify but ... I never really needed this anyway. And wow!! This is a great AMP that performs amazingly well with my 2016 LG TV and passes through HDR, Dolby Vision and Atmos from Netflix, SKY etc. My 3D movies work well and although the on-screen GUI is simple - it works. I am so glad I went back to proper speakers. My wife is happy I'm happy and in reality, the wooden, stylish TV cabinet hides the wires. So far, the setup is 5.1 and I am going to wait to see if ATMOS speakers get cheaper but the system, with cheap Pioneer 5.1 speakers sounds amazing and no dependence on being in a perfect sitting room that doesn't exist. Very happy! (Purchased from Richer Sounds).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointment, so far

STR-DH790 18 February 2020 by Jovan1210 (USA)

Big Box retailer had on sale for President's day sale at under $300. I was working on Sunday so went to pick up on Monday just to find out price was now $349! I had done my research so bit the bullet and bought anyway. First mistake. Got the unit home and disconnected my STR-DN1000, which still works flawlessly but does not support HDCP2.2 so could not get Atmos or 4K through. Unable to have Easy Setup calibrate the speakers-Error 35 SW something or other...Then, Mediabox HDMI input with AppleTV 4k just won't work. Keeps going in and out, even on Enhanced HDMI mode. After swapping HDMI cables, cycling power to TV, AVR and ATV etc...Swap to BD HDMI and works fine. Bad HDMI. Next, can't get eARC to work. Find out the AVR receiver I bought YESTERDAY has firmware ver 1.068, circa 2018!! I had even asked the Big Box rep if I would have THIS specific issue and they said NO WAY, it was definitely an updated receiver, yada yada...Update firmware to 1.171... NOW there is eARC on the receiver. BUT connected to XBR85X850G HDMI-3 eARC--Crickets... No ATMOS from the TV either on Netflix or Disney+. The most I can get is DD+. I have spent 5 hours on what should have been at MOST 1 hour!! I gave up at 1am and am considering throwing everything back in the box and returning today.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

76 Customer Reviews

0

So far So good with some standard leakage

STR-DH790 21 May 2020 by kyawzeya555 (USA)

Overall great. All latest technology in one piece. Dolby Cinema=Dolby Vision + Dolby Atmos DTS X Only down size is 1. Don’t have AM tuner 2. FM antenna connector is not standard connector 3. Speaker connectors (except main L+R) not support banana connector. For this great product but not perfect. But I love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for home theater

STRDH790 21 May 2020 by Detail83 (USA)

Had it for about a month and so far I love it does what I need it to do. I have my home theater setup along with my 4k tv Im able to play music from my iPad via Bluetooth. I love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mixed opinion

STRDH790 13 May 2020 by gary075A (USA)

Cheap speaker terminals, broke two in my first week. Also, auto calibration mic doesn't seem to work. No tech support due to corona-19, will have to wait.

0

0

0

Great products!

STRDH790 04 May 2020 by stan619 (USA)

This is an excellent product. Style and performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound. very crisp when you have a 4k Tv

STRDH790 25 April 2020 by roryjojo (USA)

i hooked my tv up to this and it sounds twice as good as before. very crisp and clear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

STRDH790 14 April 2020 by DBRob (USA)

I recently purchased this receiver and am thoroughly satisfied with the performance and the options it offers. I like the variable sound configurations from front stereo to full surround with subwoofer. I enjoy the "movement" of sound in action movies as it follows the visual effects. The sound from my iPad using Bluetooth is awesome. You can clearly pick out every individual instrument played. Remote is easy to use. Nice unit a

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Unit!!

STRDH790 13 April 2020 by Beardo76 (USA)

Highly recommended!! Great Bang for the Buck. Sounds great with my surround system!! Love the Bluetooth for music from our phones too!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Value!

STRDH790 17 March 2020 by bigdholley (USA)

Researched Atmos receivers, this receiver had everything I wanted for a small man cave. Sound quality is excellent with my Elite speaker 5.1.2 system with HSU subwoofer. Very, very content when playing SACD's and Blu-ray movies.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Straightforward and sound quality are good

STR-DH790 15 March 2020 by Louie32779 (USA)

So happy about this purchase i am looking for a receiver intendes just for movie and music use, i do not need casting features and home automation we all know it is not necessary how do we often use voice command just to power the receiver? Almost none because we have a cec features on hdmi from our devices and TV. If you already have streaming device a smart TV all those extra features are not needed from a receiver. Just get these 7.2 channel for a very reasonable price and invest on good speakers like the sony bookshelf and towers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointment, so far

STR-DH790 18 February 2020 by Jovan1210 (USA)

Big Box retailer had on sale for President's day sale at under $300. I was working on Sunday so went to pick up on Monday just to find out price was now $349! I had done my research so bit the bullet and bought anyway. First mistake. Got the unit home and disconnected my STR-DN1000, which still works flawlessly but does not support HDCP2.2 so could not get Atmos or 4K through. Unable to have Easy Setup calibrate the speakers-Error 35 SW something or other...Then, Mediabox HDMI input with AppleTV 4k just won't work. Keeps going in and out, even on Enhanced HDMI mode. After swapping HDMI cables, cycling power to TV, AVR and ATV etc...Swap to BD HDMI and works fine. Bad HDMI. Next, can't get eARC to work. Find out the AVR receiver I bought YESTERDAY has firmware ver 1.068, circa 2018!! I had even asked the Big Box rep if I would have THIS specific issue and they said NO WAY, it was definitely an updated receiver, yada yada...Update firmware to 1.171... NOW there is eARC on the receiver. BUT connected to XBR85X850G HDMI-3 eARC--Crickets... No ATMOS from the TV either on Netflix or Disney+. The most I can get is DD+. I have spent 5 hours on what should have been at MOST 1 hour!! I gave up at 1am and am considering throwing everything back in the box and returning today.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Quality product

STRDH790 17 February 2020 by walt68 (USA)

We really like this receiver. we bought it to replace a different brand at the same price point and was immediately impressed with the sound quality, ease of set up, and features. thanks Sony for a great job.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice Receiver

STRDH790 11 February 2020 by Dusky49 (USA)

75 yrs old, had trouble setting up. SONY was excellent after several calls we finally got it to work properly. A younger person probably wouldn't have a problem. Works great now and sounds good. Would buy again. SONY support was excellent. They had lots of patience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Receiver

STRDH790 10 February 2020 by Ritter69 (USA)

Easy set up and great sound. Very pleased with this purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love the receiver

STR-DH790 05 February 2020 by Jacked66 (USA)

I bought this for myself for Christmas Mainly for Dolby Atmos and bluetooth.not sure I'm getting all the benefits of Atmos I have read the manual many times as well as the Enhanced 4k features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Works great!

STRDH790 26 January 2020 by Stanged (USA)

I bought the Sony STR-DH790 because my new TV only has HDMI in/out. I was able BlueTooth to the TV and use the cable outputs to the Sony receiver to connect to my older Bose surround sound system! Very happy with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

STRDH790 23 January 2020 by Big Tex (USA)

Glad I bought it..................................

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, feature rich, simple set up

STR-DH790 20 January 2020 by BigWut (United Kingdom)

I had a Sony 5.1 tuner (STR-DH510) but needed to upgrade when I went UltraHD on my TV so it would support UHD (4K) pass trough. I purchased a new 5.1 Denon amp but had to return it because of a fault with the audio (random white noise) and nowhere to get support easily. I spent ages trying to find someone I could speak to, or a web site that would offer rather than take it in to the retailer. I returned the Denon to the retailer and upgraded to the DH970 from Sony. Great choice! Works perfectly (with Samsung TV and Sky Q box) straight out of the box! Sound is really good (Wharfdale 5.1 speakers at the moment but will soon now add two high level Atmos speakers). This is also smaller than my last amp, but still a stylish and quality appearance. Only minor points are with the Tuner part of the system. It's only FM (no AM or DAB); the aerial socket at the back is a strange almost PCN edge connector type rather than for coax (is there an adaptor available??) so my external roof mounted di-pole aerial can't be connected.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Detail lacking

STRDH790 18 January 2020 by Pete1946 (USA)

Bought this to replace STR-DE675 that had Tuner failure, 3 out of 5 channels ions, and other functions not able to be set. Got the new one, set it up as described in the documentation and numerous aspects of it failed. Microphone auto calibration failed to work or respond to any changes in troubleshooting. Read this on line as a problem and don't use it . They were right. Doesn't work. Trying to listen to DVD's with all the right parameters to work on this new receiver failed as well. Had to manually set all aspects of the system manually. Big pain. Overall disappointed with this product offering out of the box. Works but fails to excel as Sony has alway done for me. Have owned Sony exclusively for all audio/video products for the last 30 years.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great features

STRDH790 13 January 2020 by Shakaman65 (USA)

Purchased the box due to the connections as i do not have equipment that supposrts all the new HDMI connections. Love the set up which was a bit confusing at first because of the older TV set I have and the Firestick. Once I figure it out it was was easee peezee.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for modest home theater

STRDH790 31 December 2019 by PCSTEBB (USA)

I needed a new receiver that had HDMI connections so this fit the bill at a reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect quality piece of equipment.

STRDH790 31 December 2019 by MrBIGGxDEAL (USA)

I had my last stereo surround sound receiver for probably 10 years and I had finally decided I needed to complete the final piece of my home entertainment setup.I know I needed 7.2ch, 4k sound, a decent amount of hdmi inputs and I was willing to pay big if I had to. So I went on down the you-tube / internet review rabbit hole and one particular model kept coming up. It was reasonably priced(and on sale) and so I took the plunge and I've felt the sy of relief and been more than satisfied with my purchase. It was easy to set up and program and now its completely integrated into my full 4kI surround sound big screen/ projector screen entertainment and video game super set up. Seriously it sounds great my bluetooth android phone connects to it and it's all packaged in a sleek unintrusive design. I recommend it highly. It's worth the price and then some.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

STRDH790 29 December 2019 by LInda Gail (USA)

I was disappointed that there is no AM receiver and the antenna for the FM receiver is so flimsy. It is easy to use, the remote works great and it was easy to set up to work with our old speakers and new TV.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Works great

STRDH790 25 December 2019 by Txgentsr (USA)

Purchased about 2 months ago and very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very poor product. No TV display for settings

STR-DH790 03 December 2019 by yodavim (United Kingdom)

Used for a short duration just to experience ATMOS. The product is very poor- low quality sound output even with Bose speakers. Do not buy this tin box

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

5