$849.00

(AUD inc. GST)
44

4.2 based on 44 customer reviews

27
9
3
2
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

45 Customer Reviews

0

Doesn't work well with Bravia TV

STRDH790 16 August 2019 by Potreroguy (USA)

Hooked it up (HDMI/ARC) with my new XBR900F. Menu on receiver face is TINY and awkward to use. They couldn't put a full interface on the TV screen? Set up is challenging. Biggest issue: the audio settings CHANGE when I change the TV channel, or switch to a streaming source. I have the system set for 2.1 front surround (just two speakers). But I have to RESELECT front sound every time I switch programs. Irritating.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Causes periodic subwoofer chirping noise

STR-DH790 16 August 2019 by IrateCustomer (USA)

Tried all different wiring arrangements (on our own because Sony support was zero help). This will be our last Sony product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Nice and clear

STRDH790 23 July 2019 by John57pm (USA)

Easy setup and easy to use. Setup instructions are in order.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great performance

STRDH790 24 June 2019 by sonybuyerman (USA)

im very pleased with receiver. works well with my compnents

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Price and performance

STR-DH790 19 June 2019 by ironmantr (USA)

clear avr perfect! İf you dont want wifi, app.... YES! I use with definitive technology, really good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Receiver Has Issues!

STRDH790 12 May 2019 by Hollywood1953 (USA)

I purchased just after Christmas, and wired it to my 4K TV in hopes of getting a great picture and sound. Well, as some of the reviews suggest, the video goes in and out during broadcasts from my Sat/Cable connection. I am disappointed! Will be contacting Sony to see what they recommend before my warranty is up. On a positive note, the sound (audio) is great1

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features for the money

STRDH790 29 April 2019 by mel6502 (USA)

I bought this a few weeks ago to replace a Sony receiver I have been using for close to 10 years and very happy. The only reason I wanted to replace my old receiver was to take advantage of ARC and support for 7.2 and this receiver fits the bill. From a model line perspective, this receiver is a step down as the UI is scaled down with some features on screen, but most via the remote and small display on the receive itself. Considering the price point and the fact you get major features only available on higher end and costly receivers, this is a minor inconvenience and matters not once you are done with configuration. The receiver works great with improved sound, picture quality and ARC works like a charm after firmware update which was equally painless. I look forward to adding two floor standing speakers and experiencing 7.1 sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good bit of kit

STR-DH790 24 April 2019 by Steve 6790 (United Kingdom)

Pleased I bought it.good value updated from previous model

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Price for the Power!

STR-DH790 12 April 2019 by PS4 Pro Gamer (USA)

The Horse Power you want, for the price you'll love. I can hook up 4 HDMI machines like my PlayStation 4 Pro, and other gaming platforms.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

STRDH790 11 April 2019 by Ldbaer88 (USA)

I upgraded to this receiver to be compatible with my new Sony 55 in. 4K TV. Easy set-up and it provides great sound to my home theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound

STRDH790 03 April 2019 by srbristow (USA)

I bought this because of the great reviews that it had recieved and the receiver was exactly what I needed for the equipment that I had. Setup was simple and as the title states - the sound is great!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

7.2ch Home Theater AV Receiver | STR-DH790

STRDH790 03 April 2019 by BT2000 (USA)

I bought this recently and have been very satisfied . It puts out phenomenal sound was easy to install it enhances my TV/movie experience .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Power House

STRDH790 30 March 2019 by VengefullMessiah (USA)

My 6 year old Sony STR just died and needed a new one. I hope this one last as long or longer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Music Lover

STRDH790 12 March 2019 by BlueMood (USA)

Works really well with my Sony X900 TV and plays music from my iPhone really well Best of both worlds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice buy

STRDH790 11 March 2019 by MikeMc (USA)

Good price, works great, and easy hookup. Good for a home theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Its a SONY

STRDH790 17 February 2019 by RunsBattedIn (USA)

The perfect replacement for my old and damaged HTS. Its probably pilot error (me) but I m having a little trouble gettining my speakers hooked up properly for sound balancing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Very easy to set up.

STRDH790 31 January 2019 by Rickaz80 (USA)

I had to replace a very old AV receiver, after looking at a number of recievers, the Sony ended up being my best option. It had up to date 4K features along with intuitive engineering. The easy setup function worked well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I LOVE IT!!!

STRDH790 28 January 2019 by Claydogg (USA)

Best receiver I ever got. The manual needs to be more detailed. It doesn't tell me how to change the name on the display for the unit that I plug in. Like I connected my PS4 to the receiver but it doesn't tell how to type in the name PS4 on the display.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great receiver for the Money

STRDH790 27 January 2019 by HectorAyoso (USA)

I got it to upgrade from my old receiver and for the Money I got what I was looking for and them some like 4k ready and 7.2 full surround sound it sounds really good I love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Upgraded from old receiver

STRDH790 23 January 2019 by filanumis (USA)

The best part is the Bluetooth connectivity. Fewer cables used due to HDMI connections and dedicated HDMI ARC.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fine Value Receiver

STRDH790 21 January 2019  (USA)

The 'Easy Setup' is way wrong and definitely not true. I've been using audio/visual equipment for over 50 years, this receiver took many hours to get setup perfect. I had to go back and forth for hours to get all features set up correctly.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

TIMING IS EVERYTHING

STRDH790 21 January 2019 by BenderRodriguez (USA)

I cut the cord Jan 1 and needed a new AVR that supported HDCP 2.2 for 4K video pass thru. I bought this just after Christmas hooked it up and never looked back. It's everything I need in my living room. And as a bonus, the price for this on Amazon more than doubled the following week. So I saved myself nearly $200 on a great little AVR.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

It's ok

STRDH790 20 January 2019 by Jagnut (USA)

I replaced an old RCA surround sound reciever that would kick this Sony models butt. Little or no change when adjusting bass and trebles. Horrible bass out of the surround bass unit. Well, I guess newer isn't better. Too bad the Amp blew on the RCA what a bummer.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great sound with a little hiccup

STRDH790 20 January 2019 by JD0506 (USA)

Sound is awesome. Only problem I have is with the ARC. Every so often, when I switch on my Xbox One or PS4, if I adjust the volume, the screen on my TV starts flickering really bad until the visual volume display disappears. Other than that, it works great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1