301

4.1 based on 301 customer reviews

176
57
25
20
23
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03 July 2017 by Mark g (United Kingdom)

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Unreliable and Slow

STR-DN1080 26 October 2018 by Matthewl0799 (USA)

I bought this new from Crutchfield in November 2017. I'm sending it to United Radio for it's second warranty repair in October 2018. The first time was because I kept loosing audio from all the HDMI inputs. Got the unit back and it worked for a few weeks. The second time is because it's now loosing the video from all the HDMI inputs. It also displays a strip of static (for lack of a better term) across the bottom of the TV screen whenever I use the remote control volume. The unit is extremely slow to respond to inputs, power up, and change channels. The FM channel scan is the slowest I've ever seen in my life. Why do I have a 20 year old Sony receiver that is literally 50 times faster? The only positive for this unit is the sound quality. It really brought my speakers alive with power, punch, and depth to movies and music. But what good is that if it never works or is always out for repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

301 Customer Reviews

0

Worthless and Worthless support

STR-DN1080 27 June 2020 by Ryan4 (USA)

This is my 2nd receiver I have bought the 1040 and the 1080. I had the same issue happen on both rendering them useless. Sony refused to offer any support. Looks like it's a common problem. https://community.sony.co.uk/t5/home-cinema-projectors-players/str-dn1040-home-menu-gui-not-working/td-p/2384375 https://us.community.sony.com/s/question/0D50B00004IL1fRSAT/strdn1040-broken-home-menu-yellow-boxes?language=en_US Denon will get my money from now on.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Amazing

STRDN1080 25 June 2020 by nye34 (USA)

I bought this a week ago and got it working today. Everything is very easy to hook up and the features are amazing. It money well spent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very disappointed in receiver!

STRDN1080 10 June 2020 by None67 (USA)

Receiver is overly complex to operate! Example: Rafio presets took 4 seperate steps to set stations, then, can not be accessed without turning TV on and viewing presets. Bluetooth requires resetting source when used, as it resets itself when turned off. "Zone 2", where separate speakers can be set up in remote location, does NOT TURN OFF when turning off amp! Requires going to set up and at least 4 more steps to turn it off! Never did get cable box video to react TV through receiver. Had to bypass receiver with RBG cables to view picture. Instruction book lacks info on radio and bluetooth. Have to PAY EXTRA for those written instructions! I'll NEVER buy SONY again!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Receiver overly complex to operate

STR-DN1080 10 June 2020 by None67 (USA)

Receiver is overly complex to operate! Example: Rafio presets took 4 seperate steps to set stations, then, can not be accessed without turning TV on and viewing presets. Bluetooth requires resetting source when used, as it resets itself when turned off. "Zone 2", where separate speakers can be set up in remote location, does NOT TURN OFF when turning off amp! Requires going to set up and at least 4 more steps to turn it off! Never did get cable box video to react TV through receiver. Had to bypass receiver with RBG cables to view picture. Instruction book lacks info on radio and bluetooth. Have to PAY EXTRA for those written instructions! I'll NEVER buy SONY again!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

HDMI Arc (Audio) Problem

STRDN1080 04 June 2020 by Rafiki43 (USA)

The receiver does not receive audio when connected to the TV HDMI Arc input. The software update did not fix the issue. The LG 65B7A I own was completely reinitialized and set up again to see if that would solve the problem. 8K HDMI cables were also purchased. The receiver was than exchanged (Best Buy) with another unit to hopefully fix the problem. Again, No luck! I set up everything according to both LG and Sony's service manual. I have resorted to using the optical cable until a fix is possible. This is obviously a software issue that Sony needs to resolve. Note: I noticed the receiver input setting for the TV mode is locked in OPT

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Working GREAT!!

STRDN1080 03 June 2020 by myjunk32625 (USA)

Working GREAT!! Audio instrument and voice separation is Awesome! Works hand and hand with the Raspberry Pie Server in all modes of access. Aaron thank you for your assistance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Arc does not work well. Modes change randomly

STR-DN1080 31 May 2020 by Dissatisfied STR dn1080 b (USA)

I have owned this for 2-3 years. I will not trust Sony again. Arc does not work on my arc comparable tv.. it worked for a short while then quite. Sony does not provide adequate support to troubleshoot. The support they do have does not address the problem. In addition, when it did work the hdmi mode switched away from the desired selection randomly. $500.00 dollars for a media center that does not deliver it's promise.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Outstanding audio!

STRDN1080 31 May 2020 by Dan133 (USA)

I’ve only had this for about six hours now and haven’t used all the features yet. It was easy to set up and I watched a couple movies with Dolby Atmos. It may have very well been my most enjoyable time watching movies at home. The audio was unbelievable! I’m surprised I didn’t get any complaints from my neighbors, though. It was money well spent. I hope to get years of enjoyment from this AV receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy

STRDN1080 15 May 2020 by Kb9srh (USA)

Good product. Looks good and easy to set up. Sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Another Great Device from Sony

STRDN1080 09 May 2020 by LeoMV (USA)

The Device has many distinctive features and sync with ProCinema 6D Speaker System i bought and the Bravaria TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Blown away by the huge sound improvement

STR-DN1080 23 April 2020 by Nasimul40 (United Kingdom)

I’m an avid Sony customer have two LCDs Blu-ray PS4 and an str de-497, just upgraded to this much talked about DN 1080 and it’s exactly as it says on the tin. The sound is much fuller compared to my previous amp loving all the streaming services perfect for my 7.2 set up works a treat with Cambridge Audio minx 22 plus 201 sub

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Total piece of Garbage

STR-DN1080 17 April 2020 by Supergrimm (USA)

Failed a second time, this one just out of warranty. Totally bricked and unusable. No support from Sony. Absolute joke for the $.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Shuts off

STRDN1080 12 April 2020 by Reggie 65 (USA)

This model does not function as well as the previous model! It shuts off during movies and while playing music! I'm in the process of sending it back! I'm not happy!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Good sound but no individual control of subwoofer

STR-DN1080 09 April 2020 by SportyPete (United Kingdom)

As a system is good to get running. I would like more individual control over the subwoofer. I'm also connected to a Sony Smart TV and I can't listen to YouTube videos through the STR-DN1080. I can only listen through TV speakers

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great features

STRDN1080 31 March 2020 by Sprinman (USA)

Bought a month and love it and enjoy the features way to go

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome features, easy to use.

STRDN1080 14 March 2020 by glmaedl (USA)

We got the Sony STR-DN1080 about 3 weeks ago, and we are loving it! In contrast to our old receiver, this Sony is very easy to set up and operate. The extensive features are simple to manage and understand, and it works perfectly with our other Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Seamless Chromecast but has atmos issues

STR-DN1080 27 February 2020 by Reeces pieces (USA)

sound and integration with google cast is great! had all the features I wanted but... Issues: sound cuts and intermittent speaker popping when streaming from my 950g tv connected via earc with an ultra high speed hdmi cable. specifically when streaming dolby atmos content. I have a 5.1.2 set up and have changed HDMI cables, multiple resets, connecting reciver and tv to LAN and over wifi (connected over fiber with 1gb network speed), I even changed all speaker wire to a larger gauge this was not fun due to all speakers being in-wall in-ceiling. none of the steps I have taken fixed my issue. hopefully an update will happen or I will need to change my AV to a different brand

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Great receiver

STRDN1080 12 February 2020  (USA)

This is a great receiver, I'm so glad I made this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

HDMI Issues

STR-DN1080 09 February 2020 by Grizly87 (USA)

I bought this is 2018 and initially it sounded good. After 2 weeks audio kept cutting in and out on the HDMI to TV. Ended up putting it in the basement and bought a different receiver.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Difficult Set-up

STRDN1080 06 February 2020 by zdkb02 (USA)

Was a bit of a pain to set up. No hard copy instructions provided. Downloaded PDF from web but to scroll through the 70+ pages a pain to find the right section. Had issues with setting up a simple 5.1 speaker system that were mounted ceiling. It kept pushing me to a different setting and then said I was missing 2 speakers. Finally got to the right place by accident. Needed to be at 5.1 with a ---. Then everything worked. Then could go to Audio Settings and say these are ceiling mounted speakers. The remote center Select button is a little small and not raised up high enough from the 4 arrow buttons. Had issues with it too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

a great replacement for my STR DN1000

STRDN1080 30 January 2020 by DangerousDirk (USA)

I was looking to replace my 10 year old STR DN1000 receiver, which had served me well over the years. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews and I have found that there was a lot of positive feedback on this DN1080. I got it a few days ago, and it was easy to setup. I really like that I can connect to wifi with it, and also to my phone so I can play music over my home theater speakers. This has plenty of HDMI slots which is nice, because I was maxed out at 4 on my DN1000 and I have a lot of stuff (apple tv, ps4, xbox one, xbox 360) so it's nice to have room for other items. I have a 5.1 surround system and this DN1080 utilizes it beautifully from what I've seen thus far. I am planning on upgrading my front speakers to something with built in atmos speakers to get the full use out of what this receiver can do. I didn't even knock off a star for this, because I don't really use it because I have a universal remote, but the included remote just felt cheap, and Sony usually has decent remotes. again, I didn't buy this thing for the remote.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Amazing Piece of equipment

STR-DN1080 29 January 2020 by SweatyPalms (USA)

The guys at Best Buy tried to talk me into a Denon. I've been using Sony A/V receivers for as long as I can remember. I'm happy I stuck with Sony on this one. The sound is incredible and the on-screen user interface is excellent. My home theater now has Atmos and it sounds amazing!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Audio/Video cuts out

STRDN1080 28 January 2020 by Fred 5564 (USA)

I've had this STR-DN1080 receiver since October 2017 and am only now writing a review. This receiver is connected to a Sony Bravia TV XBR75X850E and an Xbox1 via a HDMI cables. Speakers are a Bose/Klipsch combo. This receiver is great... when it works. It has an issue where audio and video will cut in and out after switching to SAT/CATV from Game (Xbox1). The *only* way to resolve the cutting in/out is to simply turn the entire system, TV and receiver, off and turn back on. I've tried swapping out all HDMI cables and ensured the receiver and TV have the latest firmware. I read reviews of others with similar issues as mine but saw no viable solutions provided by Sony. This is annoying of course and there is no reason to have paid this amount of money to have this type of issue persist for years. It is because of this scenario with this receiver that I now scour the internet for user reviews for anything I plan to buy... placing blind loyalty in a brand is a recipe for being duped into purchasing sub-par components.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Annoying Sleep Timer. Great sound!

STR-DN1080 25 January 2020 by Steve305 (USA)

I purchased this December 16, 2019 and it’s already giving problems. The one minute sleep timer kicks in after 40 minutes of use. Never turned or activated it. Comes on every day after it is initially turned on. Annoying! The plus is it sounds great. But can’t get pass the annoying sleep timer. Hence only 3 stars. Sony quality control???

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2