$169.00

(AUD inc. GST)
390

4.4 based on 390 customer reviews

258
84
14
11
23
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Perfect and Practical

BDPS3500 20 May 2015 by Ando (USA)

I walked into Best Buy to get a ROKU because I had Just bought Netflix and Hulu. I also needed a new DVD player. I only had one HDMI port left. The salesman told me that The BDPS3500 would be better for my needs and cheaper. It plays blue ray videos and for a few bucks more I could get ultra HD or 3-D all the same Sony Player size. The Blue Ray is Phenomenal, it up converts my DVDs, It plays Netflix, Hulu and You Tube. There is also a good app called Crackle, free and unique to Sony. As always the Sony Remote works with ALL my Sony Products - The Reason I switched to all Sony Entertainment since my first Betamax - I'm old but my 11 year old son still watches Betas and VHSs they never put on disk. He loves '80s movies before watching remakes. I Love the player, I love Sony.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nothing but trouble

BDPS3500 22 June 2015 by mefresno (USA)

I have not had this player long just a couple of weeks and I am going to return it today. It stops playing, sound stops it is not worth the money I paid for it.

3

0

390 Customer Reviews

0

Eh

BDP-S3500 12 August 2018 by 1234st (USA)

Not worth the money having tons of problems w this product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Not a satisfied customer

BDP-S3500 03 August 2018 by jetnbs (USA)

Although I purchased this unit about a year and a half ago it was rarely used since I usually watch movies and videos via streaming. Nevertheless, the unit has behaved erratically. The keys on the box no longer function and it will not respond to the remote. Sometimes it will not load to the main menu. Then it will shut off. I was expecting a superior product from Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Works great for me!

BDP-S3500 29 May 2018 by TomVF (USA)

Had this for a couple of years, with no problems. One question, though: does it have multiple region playback capability? If so, my review goes from 4 stars to 5. Honestly, I don't know why anyone has a problem with this. Blu-ray, DVD, 4K (plays as a Blu-ray), streaming capabilities, Flash drive —all great! Multi-region playback?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Disappointed

BDPS3500 14 April 2018 by outdoornut (USA)

Received as a Christmas gift. Used 4 or 5 times and it has completely stopped working

0

3

0

Stay away - junk!

BDP-S3500 12 April 2018 by joe mama (USA)

Worked OK for about a year until it didn't. Suddenly blu ray had no sound, I tried everything. DVD no sound. TV sound works fine. Sony support sent me links to troubleshoot that did not work. Spent HOURS. Replaced HDMI cable. No luck. This is a piece of junk - a little over a year old and out of warranty. I called Sony support back and they won't do anything, referred me to a Best Buy repair center in FL. I called that # and the guy said it would cost more to repair than replace. What a piece of junk.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Restarting junk

BDP-S3500 04 April 2018 by JohnnyU (USA)

Had for about 2 years and have had to almost daily unplug/plug back in. It skips/freezes ALL the time with Netflix. It's extemely unreliable to the point of me wanting to unplug it and throw it in the trash. I got it as a wedding gift an I am thoroughly disappointed with it and it's utter lack of reliable/consistent performance outside of not working properly. My iPhone 4s works better! Seriously.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

5

0

VERY GOOD PRODUCT

BDPS3500 22 March 2018 by CABEZON (USA)

i LOVE THIS PRODUCT! iT´S A VERY GOOD ONE! EASY TO USE!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

WORKS well enough

BDP-S3500 21 March 2018 by TFCSD (USA)

So far everything seems to work as expected and nothing is irritating when using the product. Plays all media without a problem and is as good as any other product I have used. Two little things I did notice, the raised bump on top ruins placing it under the TV gap by the base or placing items on top. The other is the unit only has three fast forward speeds and other players have five speeds. This means I cannot watch movies at 3X speeds with closed captions on and blow past the slow bits. Also the fast forward is murky and not smooth. Needs a 2X play speed to time compress a movie.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Sony disc player

BDPS3500 06 March 2018 by Em113 (USA)

We purchased the unit in Oct of 2017 and it has function as expected

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Do not buy!

BDP-S3500 05 March 2018 by Cobo31 (USA)

I have bought 2 of these and thinking maybe the first one was just faulty, but both have done the same thing. It will randomly turn off then when it is turned you have to reconnect to your internet and sign in to your apps. It's a complete waste of time. I will not be buying another one.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

It works ok, not good

BDP-S3500 18 February 2018 by m0678morgan (USA)

Takes too long to power on. Then it buffers in the middle of streaming a movie, often to the point that we give up trying to watch it. I was blaming Netflix, but I started using Amazon Prime and it does the same thing on there, and even on youtube. I've already had it a couple of years, just realizing now the problem is in the player itself.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Fault in model

BDP-S3500 25 January 2018 by Buddah (USA)

Bought it a year ago and its out of warranty.. bought it at same time as new modem... blamed the modem from onset... persevered for months... it would start.. reboot... starts... flutters... buffers... sometimes (40 %) worked ok... hopeful it was a now resolved glitch....replaced 2 modems... now realise it was a mistake to go down that path as it defintinitely is a unit fault now that I read reviews and see others have similar negative experiences... have always bought Sony...perhaps $50k in my time... will shop.around in future

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

0

Quit Working

BDP-S3500 31 December 2017 by wyofisherman (USA)

I bought this over a year ago and only used it about 20 times. We used it to watch Blue-Ray movies on occasion. Now the device won't work. It boots up, flashes the home screen, then goes black. We tried all of the support offered by the tech support team (i.e. unplug and wait, hold down some buttons, restart, etc) and none of them worked and really no help from the company since it is outside of their 1 year warranty. Granted we didn't use it all that frequently I do expect the device to last many years, not less than 2. It wasn't all that expensive to purchase, but I didn't think it would be disposable. Unfortunate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

27

0

Piece of Junk!

BDP-S3500 21 December 2017 by Disappointed buyer (USA)

I bought Sony Blu-ray disc player about a year ago. I don't use it that often. I recently tried using it and it doesn't work anymore.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

30

0

Poor quality

BDP-S3500 19 December 2017 by 5678J (USA)

I bought this less then a year ago. It freezes all the time. It also get stuck turned on with a black screen. Highly dissapointed. I usually like Sony products

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

30

0

Has a lot great features

BDPS3500 01 October 2017 by Meemies (USA)

Love it! Easy to use, small in size, plays dvds and br dvds with equal quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

40

0

Dissapointment

BDP-S3500 04 September 2017 by melissaC (USA)

I got this around churstmas time and it worked fine till August. Then it started freezing in the middle of me doing something and the remote and box became useless. I'd try to log into wifi when I get it back up and I ended up doing it a thousand time over and over. Then it would take 5 minutes just to get the internet content back up just for it to freeze again. When it's working it's good but otherwise it seems useless u could just watch from your phone better.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

5

40

0

Not as advertised

BDP-S3500 17 August 2017 by Troussercoff (USA)

Purchased 2days ago....advertising stated could watch tv thru mirroring....not true

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

40

0

2 months

BDP-S3500 27 July 2017 by Peteatsony (USA)

Lasted me two months befor factory reseting every time i clicked on nexflix/hulu. would have to resign in EVERY time. will NEVER buy sony again.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

36

0

Good review

BDPS3500 03 July 2017 by Tyree (USA)

A gift From a friend for my house warmin gift.moved I. New house.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

14

0

Good but the picture size changing

BDP-S3500 23 June 2017 by Hercy32 (USA)

The Blu-ray is great except when I go to scroll through on the Wi-Fi side or try to enter passwords etc. it changes the picture size with each choice and it gets frustrating . I have changed it on my television and set it up so it's just standard but my Blu-ray remote no matter what button I push changes the picture with each push of a button

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

10

0

It freezes​ up quite a bit.

BDP-S3500 09 June 2017 by madincovert (USA)

The device will freeze up leaving the spinning arrows. This happens in Amazon, Netflix, Hulu, or whatever I'm streaming. The only way to continue is to unplug the device for about 30 seconds. It happens regardless of WiFi or a physical network. I've had the device for about 2 years, and it's always done this. I'd also like to have more options on the main screen with regard to apps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

10

0

Great except remote

BDP-S3500 02 June 2017 by TBL58 (USA)

I just bought my Sony DVD player with streaming capabilities it works great no problems except with the remote control. Hate Hate Hate it why? It's because of the placement of the Home button it's right below the down button so accidentally you Frequently hit it and it knocks you out of the system and you have to reload everything to get back to where you are. One night while placing movies on "my list" I must have hit it 5 times so frustrating. Fix this and no more problems. Thx Sony Trisha

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

quit working after 10-12 uses

BDP-S3500 29 May 2017 by Loriw13 (USA)

Bought the BDP-S3500 for our home gym in our 2nd home, to play workout DVD's and to use the wireless capabilty to watch netflix, etc.., when we visited here every 2-3 months, so although we have had it for a little over a year and 1/2, it hasn't actually gotten much use. In our experience, it worked fine the first couple of times we used it, but it has been inconsistent thereafter. We followed the trouble shooting instructions, disconnecting it in the specific order recommended and then reconnecting it similarly. That worked to get it running again 3 or 4 times but in the end we have gotten only 10-12 successful uses out of it over the last year and 1/2. It is now completely useless. Perfect, now that we have moved into this home as our primary residence. To confirm the problem in our gym was the Blu-Ray player (S3500), I hooked up our older Sony Blu-Ray BDP-S3200 we brought when we moved here permanently about a week ago. It fired up perfectly in our gym, but unfortunately I can't leave it there as I need it in our living room with our main TV and home theatre system. The think is the S-3200 still works great after much more significant use and 5+years. I would never recommend the Sony BDP-3500 after our experience and would give it a -0- star rating if I could. Of course we are past the warranty period so we are just out of luck with this product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0