216

4.3 based on 216 customer reviews

136
47
9
7
17
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great picture quality but Dolby Vision needs work!

UBP-X700 26 September 2018 by nabeelsheikh (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few weeks ago with the updated firmware that supports Dolby Vision. Overall great image quality. The set is a bit basic in bulid and much smaller that the UBP-X800 with no digital display or screen on the set. However one huge advatange is that with a firmware update it supports Dolby Vision. This is, however SEVERELY hampered - unfortunately, the unit does not auto-switch when you play a Dolby Vision disc which means that a) the switching has to be done manually from the menu and b) if you don’t know a disc has Dolby Vision and you don't therefore activate it in the menu, you miss out on the benefits (it can be quite difficult to see on Blu Ray discs whether a Dolby Vision signal is included) Sony - this could be an excellent product... please come up with a firmware update that auto-switches Dolby Vision on when it detects a Dolby Vision signal!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great player, when it doesn't freeze.

UBP-X700 03 December 2018 by dpwpup (United Kingdom)

I bought this player based on the glowing reviews it received from both professionals and consumers alike, and to be honest it is a great player in some regards. The picture quality is excellent, as is sound. The Dolby Vision mode is a little disappointing, having to toggle it on or off before you play a disc. The unit I had was a little noisy, but nothing unmanageable. Now we come to the reason for the one star review: the freezing. The first movie I tried in this player froze at about the 1hr40 mark (I'm guessing this is where the layer change was, this was a triple layer 100gb disc), resulting in my having to power down and restart the player. When I tried the same disc the next day exactly the same thing happened, and again when I tried it later that evening. I returned the player after three days of buying it as I found this totally unacceptable. I have since bought a different brand and tried the same disc, as well as other UHD Blu rays and they all played flawlessly. To be fair to Sony it may just have been a defective unit, but I have since read numerous reviews and reports of freezing associated with this model. If I'm being totally honest I should have done more thorough research before buying, but like I said I was swayed by the positive reviews. So to sum up, if you're lucky and get a unit that doesn't freeze then this is a great player, but if not then you'll be as frustrated as me. I really can't recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

216 Customer Reviews

0

excellent

UBP-X700 12 July 2019 by rebaa (United Kingdom)

we bought this sony 4k blu-ray player the quality was first class and the picture was excellent its like being there in real life, best dvd we ever bought

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing value

UBPX700 10 July 2019 by DaveInWoodland (USA)

This has been a great player once you decide how to connect everything to work with a non 4K receiver (not a big deal). It upscales regular DVDs almost magically. Highly recommend this model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice features/great disk play back/streaming sucks

UBP-X700 10 July 2019 by Wholland7 (USA)

Nice clean look and ease of operation. Blu-ray/DVD playback is phenomenal. Pleased with the device in that department. However, during streaming (Netflix, Amazon) the device keeps “resetting” by freezing (picture and remote control inputs) then powering off. This is not an Internet issue as I do not have the problem during streaming play back on my iPad or other streaming devices. The unit is not stacked with other A/V equipment and is in open air (not overheating) and has the latest firmware update. According to the forums Sony is aware of the problem but has taken no steps to correct.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love it!

UBPX700 10 July 2019 by walo64 (USA)

It's great, the menu is simple and works very fast, its reproduction is fantastic!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4K Player.

UBPX700 09 July 2019 by wlarson504 (USA)

I bought my UBP-X700 about a month ago. Beautiful picture, impressive blacks and colors. It did a GREAT upscaling of a blu-ray dvd. Compairing the disc in blu-ray player compaired to the 4K player, the colors just jump out at you. Very Impresses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and easy to use

UBPX700 09 July 2019 by francineb (USA)

This is by far the easiest and smallest 4K player I have ever used. I like it so much I have purchased several of the exact same unit. It has all the features that I need and the remote control is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

lots of extras

UBPX700 06 July 2019 by butch72 (USA)

i was looking for a 4k blue ray and this model gave me a lot of features for the buck.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good 4K Player

UBP-X700 05 July 2019 by Paul (United Kingdom)

I've had no issues with this and I get a really good picture on my 4K TV. Also good sound through the soundbar which helps things. There may well be better boxes out there, but for the price I paid I'm really happy with it and its upscaling abilities for normal DVDs.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent performance and ease of use

UBPX700 23 June 2019 by Bill38 (USA)

Product is great, but registration is confusing. The registration instruction sheet states that the product serial number is on the main unit and the carton box. There is no serial number on either. Having exhausted all the possible numbers, I finally attempted a login and found that you wanted me to specify the model number. Perhaps you should work to eliminate this confusion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works perfect

UBPX700 22 June 2019 by jdanq (USA)

Had it about a month and am very pleased with it. The picture quality is excellent and it was easy to install and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great functions and features with all formats supp

UBP-X700 20 June 2019 by superfreak (USA)

I like the Sony style and it's running durability!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just stopped working

UBP-X700 19 June 2019 by Slandis (USA)

In less than 6 months the machine stopped working. We've tried the trouble shooting tips: different outlets, unplugging/replugging, etc.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Another fantastic Sony product!

UBPX700 18 June 2019 by barneygoogle (USA)

The Sony UBP-X700 Blu-Ray player is a fantastic machine that does everything an afficiondo could wish for!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible Product!

UBP-X700 16 June 2019 by Higgy50 (United Kingdom)

Oh dear Sony! What a terrible product this is! I bought this 4K player after reading all the good reviews but for me it's been a terrible experience from the start! Picture quality is average to say the least. The player has been temperamental since the start, sometimes playing first time others taking 10 minutes of trying different things to get it to play a disc! Then today it just refused to play a Blu ray disc at all ! I checked disc compatibility, new batteries in the remote etc etc but whatever I tried the disc just wouldn't play! In frustration I plugged in my old Sony Blu Ray BDP-S560 Player and WOW! the picture is ten times better than on this heap of rubbish! The only let down is that I can't play 4K discs in my old player, although even 4K discs look worse quality on the new player than Blu Ray discs look on the old player! The UBP-X700 will be returning to Sony as it really is rubbish!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

poor play of std DVD

UBPX700 09 June 2019 by pitken (USA)

this unit plays blu-ray disks great but has a problem playing standard dvds. the picture flashes black approx every 90 seconds. I have tried changing some of the system settings but nothing works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant! Into the 4K-verse!

UBP-X700 08 June 2019 by Spiderkemp (United Kingdom)

I researched for a while for an affordable 4K player and it was clear this was the main contender. I’m really impressed- I tested it on a 4K disc of spider man, into the spider verse and it looks absolutely incredible! Also I can play all my old dvds and cds, so very happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Player

UBP-X700 25 May 2019 by Irishpaper (USA)

Love this player. Plays 4K movie discs just fine. I use a high speed (>18Gbps) HDMI cable for best picture possible. I own a Sony 4K Dolby Vision supported TV and this player has a firmware update for Dolby Vision. It would be better if the feature was auto-detected. If the disc does not have dolby vision then you have to turn off dolbyvision in the menu of the player before viewing the disc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An excellent Blu-ray player

UBP-X700 25 May 2019 by Ray K (United Kingdom)

I buy all my electrical goods by first consulting the Which magazine as I did with this fantastic Blu-ray player. I would highly recommend this player to anyone. The picture, the sound and the price were excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

almost perfect

UBPX700 22 May 2019 by MTbilly (USA)

After careful research of Sony and similar products I settled on the Sony - 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray™ Player | UBP-X70 to compliment our new 4K TV. IT's been Great so far with one exception. The remote volume control will not sync with the TV sound. So when viewing we have to control the volume with the TV remote and everything else with the DVD remote. Having followed the directions on Syncing the two in the manual without success, there is no trouble shooting of this covered in the manual or other TV codes to try. This is very frustrating to an otherwise perfect DVD player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Outstanding Features and pictures

UBPX700 21 May 2019 by Bo Isabell (USA)

I bought this about 2 months ago and wow I love it. Great job Sony I'll keep buy Sony products from now on. I also bought Sony Headphones Nosie reduction Bluetooth Headphones Love them also

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Reliable multi format player

UBP-X700 21 May 2019 by MJ20 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this uhd blue ray player a month ago, and am very happy with the picture/sound quality.I did not purchase it to use any apps so can’t comment on those.The support for Dolby vision is appreciated

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent

UBPX700 20 May 2019 by Sundance70 (USA)

Purchased this player about a month ago. Was at first concerned on it playing 4k dvd's. Well was I surprised! Worked wonders. I bought this player too replace a Samsung I bought a year ago. After 6 months the Samsung stopped playing my 4k's. So tried this Sony and was so surprised too see how easy it was too set up. Have not had any problems. I should have known better and bought a Sony instead of a Samsung. Having a Sony stereo system and a 400 cd player with no problems I should have gone with Sony on a DVD player too. Well worth the buy you won't go wrong!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality images!

UBPX700 20 May 2019 by nonickname27 (USA)

This unit is a great value, in particular because it is Dolby Vision capable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Usual great quality from Sony

UBP-X700 17 May 2019 by RuthD (United Kingdom)

As usual it spoke to our Sony tv so nice and easy to set up and quality great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0