672

4.3 based on 672 customer reviews

418
131
47
25
51
Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Love it

UBP-X700 09 February 2021 by Rich23 (United Kingdom)

We have just replaced a 8 year old sony bluray player. This one is silent, fast and responsive. I like that you can get rid of all the smart features. I dont want that on a bluray player. Really impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

32

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

NEEDS HDR AUTO SWITCHING

UBP-X700 28 November 2018 by Isaac112345678 (USA)

I love my x700 player. The picture quality on Dolby Vision titles is AMAZING; however, the Dolby Vision feature must be manually switched off for non Dolby Vison titles (HDR 10 or non HDR video), and back on for the Dolby Vision titles. If turned on the Dolby Vision feature with a non Dolby Vision movie, the picture does not look its best. Some movies with Dolby Vision don't even show on the box if the movie is in Dolby Vision (so I don't know if I should turn the feature on or off). Sony NEEDS to in the future update its filmware so the x700 can detect when a blur ray is playing a non hdr image, an hdr 10 image, and a Dolby vision image.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

674 Customer Reviews

0

Awesome player Great price.

UBPX700 23 October 2021 by Harry pig (USA)

A great player easy set up awesome price really happy with purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and practical

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 23 October 2021 by CRPC (Singapore)

This is one of the better blu-ray players. It could be improved further if there is a function to zoom in or out on the video.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I would give this 0 stars if possible

UBPX700 22 October 2021 by garbage2020 (USA)

This player stopped working after a software update less than 10 months after purchase. Customer service refused to replace the item without a copy of the receipt, despite it being registered with Sony and within the warranty window. This player had issues the entire time I had it, up to and including outright refusing to play discs or cutting out in the middle of playing one. Absolute garbage device, I would avoid this at all costs.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Slim, light and attractive looking

UBP-X700 05 October 2021 by Magic picture maker (United Kingdom)

The player fits well into the television cabinet. It’s easy to use and plays a great clear picture.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great video, very little apps

UBPX700 05 October 2021 by bill5863 (USA)

great Great video out, Currently has very few apps, if it had a good selection of apps it could out sell Roku. Would like to see an audio leveling feature in audio section

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Works well

UBP-X700 29 September 2021 by GrooveBox (United Kingdom)

Bought as it was a recommended by What Hi-Fi as a replacement for existing blu-ray player. Not got a 4K TV so unable to test this functionality. 2 HDMI sockets allowed connection to my Amplifier & TV. Simple initial setup. Fast to start up. Access to my media server was an unexpected bonus. A few built in "apps" (Netflix, YouTube etc) but not able to add others e.g. Disney+

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

New BluRay Very Good

UBPX700 28 September 2021 by Davyg (USA)

I replace my old blu ray because discs would stop in middle of movies plus the remote would not change volume. So it was time for a new blu-ray dvd and I chose this one with 4k too. It has been playing dvds and blurays with no problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture, USB and network lacks functions

UBP-X700 26 September 2021 by BeePee (United Kingdom)

This was purchased to allow me to play my library (> 1TB) of 4K content on a USB HDD or via my networked PC. Most of the content is in MKV or MP4 format and much of the content exceeds 2 hours in duration. It plays them all and the picture quality is excellent, HOWEVER there appears to be no way to navigate chapters and no way to skip to a specific time. If you play any other content then the player forgets where you have reached. If I play the same content through the USB port of my LG TV it remembers where I have reached, (even if I switch off and disconnect) AND it allows me to skip forwards and backwards. This seems to be an omission for a unit that plays USB and networked sources.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Product works well and is high quality.

UBPX700 18 September 2021 by ButchC (USA)

Great product, took a while to get it working properly, but I finally figured it ouit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice Unit.

UBP-X700 15 September 2021  (Australia)

Easy to set up on Sony TV, works well. Great picture, haven't hired any 4k disc yet.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

I love this excellent blu ray player

UBPX700 06 September 2021 by GabeB (USA)

If you are thinking about buying this 4K ultra HD blu ray player, don't hesitate any longer. Go for it! This is the best blu ray player I have ever bought. It does everything well, is fast and responsive, and the picture quality is absolutely incredible! I support Dolby Atmos audio so I get sound that is accurate and loud and clear. It makes movie watching so immersive. I watched Black Panther in 4K UHD it was as close to being in the movie theater as possible. The picture on my HDR tv was arguably better that what I experienced in theaters. Anyway, five stars! No complaints. Go for it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Has many bells and whistles

UBPX700 03 September 2021 by cgsarge (USA)

Have used this item a great deal in the last month.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Could be even better

UBP-X700 31 August 2021 by Duncan01 (United Kingdom)

The user interface could be significantly improved especially playing series with multiple disks such as Game of Thrones. The default should be to give the option of starting where you stopped (such as streaming services eg Netflix). If you haven't changed the disk in the machine why does it repeat all the copyright and stuff like that at the start - just don't do it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

First impression is satisfactory

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 30 August 2021 by ng c y (Singapore)

Works well playing DVDs and music CDs It felt too light for comfort and tray door a bit flimsy when open/close Can see only youtube and netflix in menu beside others that I do not use

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Super DVD

UBP-X700 28 August 2021 by KP79 (United Kingdom)

This is a very good DVD player. It plays a huge variety of formats which is hard to find on other makes. A DVD player needs to be capable to process the picture in order to be able to fill a large TV screen - I have a 65" TV and therefore I need a capable DVD. I can certainly say that the processor on this DVD player is very good. There are better ones out there but this is no slouch. I have a Sony TV and a nice feature is that the remote for the TV is compatible with the DVD player. The build quality is very good and the design is very understated. The player is very thin and when switched off has a completely blank front.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Crashes every time. Terrible product

UBP-X700 14 August 2021 by Mr Blake (United Kingdom)

Had this over 6 months now and its terrible. Crashes on the menu screen EVERY TIME. I've done some research and its happening to them all. As usual no help from Sony. This is my final Sony purchase EVER. Good bye Sony you've been rubbish.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Sony has features the others dont.

UBPX700 10 August 2021 by RomeyRome (USA)

This is a present to myself and Im glad i did. Have always appreciated Sony's design and build and it doesn't disappoint. Hey Sony!. Update your USB external drive config so it can read from multiple partitions. The only shortcoming that I can recognize that should be on a new optical drive. Otherwise exceptional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony UBP-X700

UBP-X700/BM SP6 04 August 2021 by Edwin2002 (Singapore)

Very poor product, sometimes unable to boot up, must off & on a few times

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Good buy Excellent pictures

UBP-X700/BM SP6 25 July 2021 by ENG357 (Singapore)

I bought this 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player to replace my old Sony player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features!!!

UBPX700 19 July 2021 by LOVEWarrior77778 (USA)

I bought this SONY 3D Blu-ray with Dolby Vision & High Resolution Audio. It plays 3D/2D 4K 3D/2D Blu-ray Discs, HD Blu-ray Discs. It has several Apps, like YouTube, Youtube Kids, Amazon Video, HULU, Netflix, Pandora, and more Apps. You could watch Photos/Videos/Music on Discs, & on USB Flash Memories. It comes with Convenient Remote Control that permits you configure in Setup all the features & functions, including a programmable Favorite Button that you can set to select your Favorite Unit App. It comes with SONY Long Lasting Alkaline Batteries, that you can replace with SONY Batteries you buy or any Alkaline batteries you prefer. Alkaline Batteries are recommended. Other kind of batteries last NOT too much, & may degrade faster & damage your remote control. Alkaline batteries are the right ones that SONY recommends: any Alkaline Batteries Brand you prefer, or SONY. The unit is capable of playing very long mp4 files. Recently I converted a Non playable Video format to mp4, and I put it in a USB memory (formatted to play long files), and I'm listening to 24 hours VideoBook in mp4 of 1,001 Arabian Nights. I recommend this Blu-ray player to anyone. Better protect it with your store Protection Plan or better you can choose SONY Protect Plan, that's what I did. Any situation with your Units, SONY has an excellent Customer Support Team that is kind to help you. I hope this will helps you all!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good picture/ audio but…

UBPX700 19 July 2021 by TnPL (USA)

Plugging directly to the soundbar causes the player to not power on. Plugging directly to the tv it won’t pass Dolby Atmos to the soundbar thru ARC. Good thing there’s audio only or it would be worthless.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Its why I like Sony.

UBPX700 19 July 2021 by Uniblaab (USA)

You don't appreciate good design until you have used other brands. I have always held Sony in high regard, but have bought other designs for savings. Savings arent the only criteria that a consumer should consider. How it performs and the little additions like a remote that surprisingly controls volume not only on a the TV but also a soundbar. Showing the bit rate may be too much for some but it shows how pristine the video you are watching is. Easy to use and enhances videos through two custom settings to quickly enhance those older dvd's that need a lil assistance. All in all i'm back to choosing Sony first again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good looking, solid machine full of features

UBP-X700 17 July 2021 by PhilChad (United Kingdom)

Easy to follow the handbook, great picture quality, software clashes with existing 48 inck 4K Sony TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

8

0

Awesome Quality!

UBP-X700 15 July 2021 by NKR69 (United Kingdom)

I bought this Blu-ray player a while ago as part of my on-going mission to gradually replace all of my existing tech with a brand name I liked and trusted. I am delighted with it. At the time, I had a TV with 3D function and had bought a large number of 3D Blu-ray discs, so it was important to me to be able to buy a Blu-ray player which still included this function (most have now stopped providing this) as well as being 4K UHD. The setup was completed in minutes and was far superior in quality to my previous brand. 3D Blu-rays worked beautifully and the 4K picture when watching 4K content was stunning. Unfortunately, my TV broke down shortly afterwards, but this was the excuse I needed to go and buy a Sony TV to team with this player. Unfortunately, none of the current or even recent models of TV (of any brand) include the 3D function anymore (such a pity. I loved it and bought 3D Blu-rays regularly!). Nevertheless, watching a 4K UHD Blu-ray via this player on my new Sony TV is awesome. I guess it's time to upgrade the sound system next...!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1