395

4.3 based on 395 customer reviews

247
79
22
15
32
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great picture quality but Dolby Vision needs work!

UBP-X700 26 September 2018 by nabeelsheikh (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few weeks ago with the updated firmware that supports Dolby Vision. Overall great image quality. The set is a bit basic in bulid and much smaller that the UBP-X800 with no digital display or screen on the set. However one huge advatange is that with a firmware update it supports Dolby Vision. This is, however SEVERELY hampered - unfortunately, the unit does not auto-switch when you play a Dolby Vision disc which means that a) the switching has to be done manually from the menu and b) if you don’t know a disc has Dolby Vision and you don't therefore activate it in the menu, you miss out on the benefits (it can be quite difficult to see on Blu Ray discs whether a Dolby Vision signal is included) Sony - this could be an excellent product... please come up with a firmware update that auto-switches Dolby Vision on when it detects a Dolby Vision signal!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony - 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray™ Player | UBP-X700

UBPX700 18 August 2018 by GrizzlyAdams (USA)

Great product and great picture when it works. I have had the unit freeze up multiple times playing Blu-ray, DVD and Blu-ray 4k ultra.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

396 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent picture upscaling of DVD to 4K

UBP-X700 05 July 2020 by GWR man (United Kingdom)

Bought this as i was unhappy with my previous DVD player that upscales to HD when viewed on my new Sony Bravia 4K TV. So pleased with the result i bought a second one for my second 4K Bravia TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

UBPX700 02 July 2020 by COMAZZA (USA)

Performs very well, not enought buttons on the front

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Great purchase!

UBPX700 29 June 2020 by Dr Schwartz (USA)

I bought this about a week ago after reading several very positive reviews. Extremely pleased with this player after watching several 4K movies. It is simply terrific and easy to operate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Another poorly designed product from Sony

UBP-X700 28 June 2020 by davidsco (USA)

If you enjoy randomly having to waste your time resetting all your setting, this piece of junk is the player for you. Yep, as with other Sony models this one too will randomly reset itself to Factory causing you to have to go through and reset every setting to your liking again, including all the apps. Oh, and as for the apps, don't expect them to last as Sony sunsets them early. Even their own Crackle no longer works. Hulu too. What a pathetic company this is

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Great Picture

UBPX700 25 June 2020 by Greatwhite 2020 (USA)

Although I only had this player for a day and watched 30 minutes of video, I am very happy with the picture and sound quality. Maybe I am overly optimistic, but so far, I have a smile on my face.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

4k blu Ray player

UBPX700 22 June 2020 by rccurtin (USA)

I bought this product last month and it’s awesome. Delivers outstanding picture quality and it works beautifully.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

UBP-X700 DVD player

UBPX700 19 June 2020 by Mel99 (USA)

I needed help from a tech savvy son to hook up to WiFi but once we got it connected it is easy to use and control. Everything but the sound bar is controlled by the remote. I can play DVDs, stream Netflix and Amazon Prime, and switch inputs all from the remote.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Awesome 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray

UBPX700 18 June 2020 by bryantnatl (USA)

Best Blu-ray I have ever owned so far, great looking 4K and really love the software and smart hub and the way it works would buy it again

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Great Blu-ray player!

UBPX700 11 June 2020 by MikeBoston56 (USA)

I’m trying to lessen a lot of electronics I have to make way for new furniture and the addition of a 4K smart tv when it becomes necessary.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

0

Where Are The APPs?

UBPX700 10 June 2020 by Jeepster (USA)

Great video and sound. Poor selection of APPs and no browser.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

0

Great for the money

UBPX700 10 June 2020 by svid (USA)

This is my 3rd UBPX700 I have one UBPX1000ES in my theater room with my XBR75Z9D

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Looking for Amazon Prime and got more!

UBPX700 07 June 2020 by DilbertW01 (USA)

I recently bought another Sony BluRay only to find out that the ones in its model that were serial #4000000 or higher had Amazon Prime cut off. We had one that was 4110000 something. I took it back. I got an LG from Best Buy. Big mistake. Took it back. I tried one more time with this one. It is quick, has Amazon Prime and seems to be a great unit. I got the 3 year protection plan on it - just in case. We really like this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Great Product

UBPX700 06 June 2020 by Tommy P (USA)

So far so good. Does everything I want it to do with excellent quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Good upgrade to standard 1080 Blu-Ray player

UBP-X700 02 June 2020 by martin (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace a standard Sony Blu-Ray player that started to play up loading disks. Works very well with my projector with a good quality picture on an 8 foot (2.4m) wide screen. Even our pet dog thinks the T Rex from Jurassic park is about to eat him.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

nice player

UBPX700 02 June 2020 by joeblob (USA)

i bought this player because i cut the cable. i use it in the bedroom, the apps work fine even though my modem is in the living room, two rooms and 30 feet away. i expected some buffering, there has been none yet. the dvd player is real sensive to dirty discs though,i have had to remove and clean the disc a few times. overall i love it , it does just what i wanted it to, perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Super Sharp Picture Super Sound

UBPX700 24 May 2020 by Tatertot (USA)

The Sony UBP-800M2 is a perfect match to our Sony 4K TV picture and sound are amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

9

0

Very Good 4K Player

UBP-X700 19 May 2020 by MrGiles2 (United Kingdom)

Since I bought a new 4K Smart TV recently one of my DVD players did not work with it properly due to incompatibility. I already had a 4k DVD Player and decided to go for a second one. This model works quite well, picture and sound are very good, it is attached to a Home Cinema receiver and does the job. Decent value. Make sure you have a 4K HDMI Cable attached to it though.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Terrible product

UBPX700 18 May 2020 by Stan J (USA)

The unit does not allow me to download an app even though there is a screen called My Apps. STUPID.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

12

0

Quality product

UBPX700 16 May 2020 by Mary55 (USA)

Was easy to install and connect to QLED TV once I changed the HDMI cable to 2.00 and 18gps, Easy to setup and use, picture quality great, sound great using sound bar hdmi arc

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

Very useful and works very well with home WiFi.

UBPX700 13 May 2020 by GlenP (USA)

Bought to replace DVD player, and does a very good job with streaming and various dvd formats

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

New experience!

UBPX700 12 May 2020 by Vic D (USA)

Replacing MY OLD Friend,the 2009 laptop was heart rendering but I am very pleased with Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

easy to load and understand

UBP-X700 12 May 2020 by mark (United Kingdom)

Gives a clear picture and easy to use menu.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

A Remarkable Player

UBPX700 12 May 2020 by Koksie (USA)

I bought this player about two weeks ago and I am just beginning to put it through its paces. So far, it is performing very well connected to my 12-year plus Sharp Aquos LCD 52-inch television. I expect it to show its true colors when I hook it up to my soon-to-be purchased QLED 55-incher. I may then consider updating this review.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Looks great easy to connect

UBP-X700 12 May 2020 by Glen (United Kingdom)

Quality sony player easy to connect and great features connects to internet to get all you need from your viewing

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0