$2,349.00

(AUD inc. GST)
31

4.7 based on 31 customer reviews

24
6
0
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

31 Customer Reviews

0

Solid well made

SAL70400G2 23 August 2018 by Dons Sony (United Kingdom)

Great additional lens solid well manufactured with good features a little heavy so may need support of mono stand or tripod

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stunning image sharpness and clarity

SAL70400G2 25 April 2018 by Aardwolf6886 (United Kingdom)

Although I haven't had time yet to extensively use and test my SAL 70–400mm F4–5.6 G SSM II, the test shots I have taken with my a99M2 and a77M2 show fantastic levels of sharpness and clarity with great colour and contrast. The lens also autofocuses when using my 3rd party, Kenko Pro 300 2x converter on the a99M2. As I mentioned I haven't used it extensively yet, but my only slight gripe is, I find the balance a little front heay at 400mm on the a99m2 with batterie pack/grip.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Lens

SAL70400G2 14 January 2018 by DeLemmon (United Kingdom)

I own a number of Sony lenses that I am very happy with but eventually bought the lens I really wanted for wildlife (and other) photography. The build quality of this lens is very good. The auto focus is also very fast and quiet and the picture sharpness and quality gives you a professional grade super zoom lens. I would definitely recommend this lens to anyone wanting the best possible results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

sony 70-400mm f4-5.6 G

SAL70400G2 26 July 2017 by Caknow (United Kingdom)

A good lens, i use it for wildlife photography, the lens is easy to use, auto focus extremely fast and quiet .picture quality is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Poor Quality

SAL70400G2 16 July 2017 by trs182005 (USA)

I've taken very few shots with this lens because it has failed twice. The focus (both manual and automatic) is stuck. This time it is stuck at about 40 ft. The first time stuck at less than 30 feet. I will have more spent in repairs than I have in the purchase of my other high quality lenses.

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

6

0

Best telephoto zoom lens on the market for Sony.

SAL70400G2 11 March 2017  (United Kingdom)

Definitely the best zoom lens currently on the market for Sony. The build quality is excellent. The focusing is very quick and much faster than its predecessor. The focusing is also silent due to the SSM motor. Thee focus and zoom rings is very smooth to operate. All the photos I have taken so far with the lens has been tack sharp. The IQ of photos taken on the lens is not far off from prime lenses if not identical. The lens will complement any Sony camera and works particularly well with hybrid focusing system of the new Sony Alpha 99II. The photo of the squirrel was at 80% quality and heavily cropped.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

A Quality Product

SAL70400G2 15 September 2015 by thepars85 (United Kingdom)

Getting great results with this lens. Very sharp photos. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great

SAL70400G2 11 September 2015 by Heron (United Kingdom)

I bought it two months ago and its living up to all its expectations. It could do with a 1.4 converter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

sony 70/400mm with a77mk2

SAL70400G2 11 September 2015 by woody10 (United Kingdom)

Had this lens a few weeks ,quick to focus great range.As a wildlife photographer good at tracking birds in flight with a77 sharp wide open

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

Excellent piece of kit

SAL70400G2 01 September 2015  (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens to upgrade from my SAL70300G, and wow, what a difference! The 70-400 GII is fast and sharp even at the long end. It focuses nicely and can easily be used handheld as well as on a tripod. It is a pretty heavy lens, especially compared to the 70-300G I used before, but it's absolutely worth carrying that extra weight around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

best lens ever

SAL70400G2 28 June 2015 by snapperoo (United Kingdom)

i got the 70 > 400 just about 5 weeks ago & i am so glad i did , it is the best lens i have ever owned pic quality is second to none . Sony's done a real good job highly recommend this one .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Superb lens

SAL70400G2 27 May 2015 by Joe801 (United Kingdom)

I have used this lens a few times now and am very happy with the results. Auto focusing is very fast and quiet, the build quality is excellent. I am very happy with the resulting images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

A great super zoom lens to have

SAL70400G2 30 April 2015 by Lukias (United Kingdom)

I do a lot of birds in-flight shots and am one of those who like to travel light without having to carry any pods with me. The lens is reasonably well built, compact enough and coping well on both static and dynamic shots throughout the zoom range while handheld. The focus is fast and sharp. It works extremely well with both A77V and A77 Mk2 when it comes to locking on and tracking a fast moving subject. A great lens to have and am glad that I bought it. One little nag is that the lens is not weather sealed and doesn't has a zoom barrel lock. Therefore, when you carrying it around with camera facing downward, the zoom barrel will slide out on its own. A risk of surface dusts being drawn back into the inner housing when the zoom is pulled back in. Sample images below were all taken handheld.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

20

0

0

A BEAST OF A LENS

SAL70400G2 07 April 2015 by gunner004 (United Kingdom)

The lens looks good and is good. I find the auto focus very quick and effective even hand held and the lens is heavy. Not a lens to be carrying long distances hanging from your neck!! A dream to use on a tripod, very pleased with build and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

A very good lens

SAL70400G2 01 January 2015 by FliWayne (USA)

I used the original 70-400mm on a couple of occasions and received the new one as a Christmas gift from my father. The quality is sharp and focuses much faster then the original model. Even at 400mm the images come out sharp and crisp. The only complaint I have is there is no lock on the lens when your walking. It will zoom all the way out to 400mm so be prepared.

10

0

0

new sony 70-400 mk2 ssm2

SAL70400G2 17 November 2014 by thorpy (United Kingdom)

bought to replace sigma telephoto lens, i have already noticed how much quicker this lens focuses and how much better the detail is it was well worth buying this lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Astonishing sharpness

SAL70400G2 14 November 2014 by RickyD01 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a supplement to my 70-200 f2.8 to get extra."reach" for those distant subjects. I did wonder about the logic of owning two zooms with similar ranges but this lens is so sharp it rivals my 24-70 Sony Zeiss so I am certain it was a good idea. I don't think its been off my camera since I got it, it's that good!

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

7

0

0

Great wildlife Lens

SAL70400G2 07 November 2014 by Goredolf (United Kingdom)

Bought this specifically for wildlife and bird photography, so has proved great purchase with excellent build quality, fast autofocus and excellent colour reproduction on images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

A stunning lens

SAL70400G2 03 October 2014 by Robbo44 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens three weeks ago and have used it hand-held ever since. Despite the weight (although this is reasonable for this type of lens) I have had remarkably clear shots with nice bokeh. Expensive, but worth every penny, and adds a new dimension to my photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Fantastic Lens - Essential Companion for Wildlife

SAL70400G2 12 September 2014 by AlphaFan (Australia)

I purchased this lens at soon after its launch having waited for it to come out. It is worth every penny. Positives: Autofocus is fast and accurate and silent (SSM). Great for wildlife including birds and children. Paired with the A99, AF-D with moving subjects is a good feature, especially if objects coming towards the camera or moving away. Image quality is fantastic with glorious colours. Images are sharp from one end to the other of the zoom range, even when wide open. Could be better: The zoom ring is inaccessible when the hood is reversed on the lens. Has frustrated and caused the odd missed snap shot. No zoom lock. I am looking forward to taking it on safari next year with my A99.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

The best Alpha 70-400 fit lens

SAL70400G2 19 August 2014 by morrigah (United Kingdom)

Brilliant Lens. If you want the best 70-400mm for your Sony Alpha camera buy this lens. Third party lenses are cheaper but no comparison in image quality, build and focus speed. A must if you have A77 mark 2 camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

quality lens

SAL70400G2 31 July 2014 by the rat (United Kingdom)

Bought this to put on my sony a77mkii camera, all in all I think this is as good as any canon combo, l compare it to the eos 7d with 100 - 400 L which I also have, would definitely recommend the sony combo as superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Wonderful lens, poor paint finish

SAL70400G2 18 July 2014 by Gustavia (USA)

I had been using a borrowed SAL70400G so I was already aware of what a great, sharp lens this is. My new lens is used with the A77 II and the focus is fast and accurate. This is a winning combination for bird photography. I love the tracking and focusing features of the A77 II What I am terribly disappointed about is the white finish on the lens outside seems to be substandard. I have had it just about a month and already there are several deep scratches in the paint finish and the body material shows through. I am careful with my equipment; it is not due to abuse. The lens is stored properly and not banged around when in use.

14

4

0

Make sure you test it out

SAL70400G2 19 June 2014 by Rockness (USA)

I ordered this lens from two different distributors. There was a monumental difference between the two. Obviously it didn't have anything to do with who sold it. They didn't manufacture it. The poor lens was soft all around. Seemed to have a focusing issue. Here's what you need to look for and expect with this lens. The better one, which I'm keeping, is unbelievably sharp when cropped to full size. It is hard to tell the difference between F5.6 and F8. That is a great feature because most lenses, including primes, need to be stopped down to obtain good clarity. It seems to nail the focus more consistently at 300mm than at 400mm. It is also "slightly" sharper at 300mm. I cropped the 300mm pics to the same size as the 400mm and 7/10 times they actually looked better. Now don't be mistaken. The 400mm shots were still as great. But some of the 300mm shots were just incredible. I cropped them as much as my computer allowed and they were still sharp. btw- the bokeh is creamy smooth on the good lens and completely harsh and jagged on the bad one. Yes, it's a little disappointing there can be that much of a difference between the lenses. One more exciting bit of info. My camera is the A58. This lens can only be better on the A99. Can't speak for the A77 since the image quality on the A58 is actually a little better per the online reviews. The purpose of this review is to let you know to expect greatness in this lens. If it doesn't "wow" you then return it and get another one. When you get one that performs the way it's supposed to, you will be smiling every day you use it. All of the other negatives such as the weight and flimsy hood will mean nothing when you see the pictures.

19

0