$3,499.00

(AUD inc. GST)
60

4.8 based on 60 customer reviews

50
7
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very impressive

SEL100400GM 29 September 2017 by Yervant (USA)

After shooting with Nikon for 40 years, I just recently switched camera systems from Nikon to Sony. For starters, I bought the Sony a7Rii along with the Sony FE 24-70 F2.8 GM and Sony FE 100-400 F4.5-5.6 GM OSS. I have to say, I love this Sony system. The ease of capturing images, especially fast paced images, is surprisingly easy. The images attached were captured with the outstanding 100-400 GM. The focus system on the a7Rii never missed a beat with this fast moving Waverunner. The viewfinder is just incredible. I love being able to see exactly what I am capturing at the exact moment I pressed the shutter release. The detail of 42.5 MP's is unreal. My only regret is that I didn't switch systems sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

R3_100-400GM

SEL100400GM 03 August 2018 by Fitz Michael (USA)

I had this lens for couple months now and I've noticed the lens sometimes it won't focus. I have to turn off the camera and it the lens works again. I updated the software to the latest one available to download and that did not fix the problem. also, the manual focus to infinity is not calibrated correctly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

60 Customer Reviews

0

Lemon

SEL100400GM 21 September 2019 by Mikrolabstudio (USA)

The lens comes with the build quality I expect with regard to materials but I think I got a lemon because the picture quality is sub-par. Even from tripod and auto focus the pictures are not crisp. Sent in for repair twice now and waiting for second return to test the workmanship. I would like to think this lens was skipped during the manufacturing quality checks. I have several Sony lenses and this was the first time I had issues but will most definitely purchase again!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Very versatile lens

SEL100400GM 29 August 2019  (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this lens after lots of thought and I'm so glad I did, I previously had the 70-200 and x2 converter but this 100-400 is a much sharper option its not too heavy for the range either, ideal for hiking with your 24-70 and have everything covered

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 25 July 2019 by Cordless (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens two weeks used on the A7 iii pleased with results without a doubt a quality lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fast focusing

SEL100400GM 20 July 2019 by Davey445 (United Kingdom)

Bought this - replacing my Canon 5DMk3 camera with A7Mk3 and Canon equivalent 100-400 Mk2 lens. For me - as a wildlife photographer - focus acquisition time / speed / accuracy is key. My new Sony camera + lens combination meets all my needs, plus providing a “complete integrated package” with following additional benefits . . . . . . ** superb sensor performance, not seen on Canon SLR cameras ** excellent low light capture, matching any SLR performance ** superior focus tracking ** burst shot rate equivalent only to expensive SLRs. ** small, light & compact camera footprint / unlike this lens which is solid but weighty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Awesome lens

SEL100400GM 14 July 2019 by Theforth9 (USA)

Great lens still adjusting to the weight, it has a great range of focal length. Some might say a little overkill for a a6400 but a must have for wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A brilliant lens, excellent quality and optics

SEL100400GM 13 July 2019 by PatJF69 (United Kingdom)

I have been upgrading my system to full format and this lens completed the upgrade. It was an excellent choice. A very good lens optics and response are very good, tracking with the A7iii is superb. This gives me the longer focal options for the photo choices I make. Excellent lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Another superb lens

SEL100400GM 22 June 2019 by Broono (United Kingdom)

Superb quality both in build and image. Perfect companion for my A7r3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact and sharp

SEL100400GM 22 June 2019 by aamirsab (United Kingdom)

Bought a couple of weeks back to give me extra reach

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome Lens

SEL100400GM 19 June 2019 by GeeDaDa (USA)

I purchased this Lens, along with the a6400 mirrorless camera, and I am getting some very sharp photos. I am pleased with this set up and would recommend for wildlife photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Masterful lens

SEL100400GM 29 May 2019 by JulianS (United Kingdom)

A very good all-round lens as well as excellent performance as a telephoto lens. Versatile and adaptable in a range of conditions. Image quality produced is excellent and I am very pleased with it so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Incredible lens

SEL100400GM 21 May 2019 by angelsodyssey (United Kingdom)

I recently switched from Canon to Sony but kept all my Canon L lenses. I was so impressed with my A7RIII that I sold all my good lenses for the 100-400mm GM – I am not disappointed! This lens is super sharp and the focusing is very fast. I mainly photograph wildlife and this lens is perfect for the sort of environments I photograph (mainly around ponds and woodland). The OSS seems to work very well, and I have no problem shooting at 400mm handheld. Having the programmable button(s) on the barrel is fantastic and it is great being able to have focus lock right where I am holding the lens. The only downside is the colour (not the best for wildlife photography), but thankfully there are third party neoprene camouflage sets available. While it is an expensive lens, you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fast focus & pin sharp

SEL100400GM 10 May 2019 by JLS1 (United Kingdom)

Delighted with the quality and performance of this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent in all aspects

SEL100400GM 07 May 2019  (USA)

Finally a lens with effect stabilization and excellent optics. Years of using a variety of Canon super telephotos resigned me to thinking I could only get sharp images if I spent 10k dollars or more. This lens is perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

First was worst but now it's wow!

SEL100400GM 07 May 2019 by Cutthroatangler (USA)

I bought this lens at the end of December and did not have much opportunity to test and use it for the first couple of months. When I did, I was frankly disappointed in the sharpness of the lens across the field. Finally I called Sony about it and they decided that we should send it to Precision Camera for warranty service. It came back to me in a week. They returned it to factory specs and updated the firmware. The lens is now incredibly sharp. Now it's wow! So I'm very impressed not only with the lens, but with Sony's warranty service. Thanks so much Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent image quality

SEL100400GM 11 April 2019 by Photo2001 (United Kingdom)

Had this some time, excellent image quality, fast focus, well made. Expensive but good things are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superlative

SEL100400GM 20 March 2019 by Steveah (United Kingdom)

Phenomenal long distance image quality when paired with my A7Rii I have been a keen photographer for over 30 years, using some seriously good kit and this lens still managed to blow me away with its results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great quality

SEL100400GM 13 March 2019 by merlot (United Kingdom)

it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very sharp and fast

SEL100400GM 11 March 2019 by Jellybelly1960 (United Kingdom)

The first time I used this lens I was shocked on how sharp and fast it was the lens produces great quality images and well worth the price I paid I would definitely recommend this lense

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Outstanding sharpness from a super telephoto

SEL100400GM 26 February 2019 by DavidHogg (United Kingdom)

I've used the original Canon 100-400 lens before and always knew that its sweet spot was around f/8 or thereabouts ... but by contrast this lens seems to be razor sharp wide open at any focal length! It's truly astonishing ... the sharpness at f/5.6 at 400mm is as good as you'd get with a 400mm prime. If you can afford it, go for it, there's no way you will be disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good

SEL100400GM 22 February 2019 by worldaviation4k (United Kingdom)

I like the sharp and clear quality. I used it on my Tokyo Haneda Airport live streams at night time (the ones that look brighter as i used to switch sometimes to my camcorder) for my worldaviation4k channel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 19 February 2019 by dnfb (United Kingdom)

This lens is focuses very quickly and has amazing resolution

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Great

SEL100400GM 16 February 2019 by kimkim90 (United Kingdom)

Is a great great just expensiv I recommend to evryone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sharp and clear at times

SEL100400GM 16 February 2019 by Go britexit (United Kingdom)

I changed my set up from a canon to Sony last year. Generally you can get some really sharp images with this lens, yet one of the most frustrating parts I find as it’s a variable length same with the Canon L series variable lens, is that that it doesn’t hold securely when you change the length of the lens. The lens is quite heavy to compliment the mirrorless range of full frame cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Ultra fast to focus and tack sharp even at 400mm

SEL100400GM 10 February 2019 by DMTh (United Kingdom)

Sharp at every length, and super fast to focus when paired with my A9, this is a very versatile tele zoom. It's great for picking out detail in general shooting as well as the obvious use in wildlife and sport. No compromises here!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0