FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM

Product Reviews

$3,199.00

(AUD inc. GST)
34

4.5 based on 34 customer reviews

26
3
2
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

36 Customer Reviews

0

Sharp beyond belief

SEL1635GM 11 December 2019 by Jerry B (USA)

I wanted a lens which would cover very wide angle to just below normal. Some of the images I took had such edge sharpness I had never seen on my previous brand. The 2.8 is nice for low light situations and is a fantastic for astro photography. This lens lives up to the hype. The only misgiving is the bezel with the name and lens configuration has fallen off twice. There was a recall on this lens based on a series of serial numbers and it was turned around so fast I was flabbergasted. Great lens: great service. Very happy I switched to Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best FE-mount UWA zoom around!

SEL1635GM 11 December 2019  (USA)

REnted one and then bought one.. Excellent optically, not too heavy nor too large, and used screw-on filters. Yay!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tack sharp from front to back!

SEL1635GM 06 December 2019 by Sony sports pro (USA)

I bought this for use in landscape and it does not Disappoint. I’ve also used it in remote camera situations in sports and have been impressed beyond words. As far as I am concerned, GM glass all the way!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens for landscape photography

SEL1635GM 25 November 2019 by MichaelKim (USA)

I had purchased this lens a month ago primarily for astro and landscape photography. So far, I love this lens. Yes it comes with a hefty price tag. And you can probably get by perfectly fine with more inexpensive lenses out there. But for what I was looking for, this lens fits my needs perfectly and stats on my A7riii 90% of the time. Its corner and center sharpness are excellent. Autofocus is fast. And fit/finish and overall quality of the lens itself are also excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best of the 16-35s

SEL1635GM 19 October 2019 by JAWJR (USA)

I got this and several other lenses, along with the A7RIII and A9 bodies, from Sony to try out. This is best 16-35 I've used, noticeably better than the Canon that I currently own. The center and mid-areas are critically sharp wide open, and the corners are very good. One stop down and image quality corner-to-corner is outstanding. For me, this is the perfect landscape lens, especially when shot on the A7RIII - the fine detail throughout the image is the best I've experienced. If you want the best in this range, this is it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beautiful lens

SEL1635GM 16 October 2019 by walterono (United Kingdom)

This lens is well-nigh perfect. It is wide enough at the wide end without producing extreme distortion. It has beautiful rendition of colour and is beautifully sharp to the edges of the frame. It is relatively light also, making it a practical walkabout lens. Working with a relatively small ratio as regards focal length also disciplines one to think more carefully about one's shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exce

SEL1635GM 03 October 2019 by MsNikita (United Kingdom)

I brought the lens just over a month ago. Surprisingly good images considering how wide the lens is, no dark areas in the corners. So far, so good. IF theres one thing I love to see from Sony, is internal focusing as this lens still extends a little when you zoom which kinda bugs me, considering the asking price.

0

0

0

all round good

SEL1635GM 01 September 2019 by Nurse Terry (United Kingdom)

Love this lens bought at Wex great service from Hanna in Bristol store

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing for the work I do taking pictures of homes

SEL1635GM 24 August 2019 by Tanner Moss (USA)

Amazing lens for photography and videography . I love being able to go wide at 16mm then if I want I can go to 35mm for more of a cinematic look . This lens is a work horse and is solid and has amazing technology and has an amazing clean sharp look.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome Lens

SEL1635GM 29 June 2019 by Justjas (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens recently and it is simply awesome, pin sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great for landscapes and low light.

SEL1635GM 31 May 2019 by beach462 (USA)

I wanted to upgrade to full frame and this lens is perfect for landscapes.D

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp corner to corner

SEL1635GM 07 May 2019 by MartinTurgoose (United Kingdom)

This is my first G master lens and from the the first shots I took with it I was amazed at the results. It's sharp throughout the whole frame, it's not the lightest lens in the world but feels well balanced on my a7rii. I use this lens mainly for landscape shots but also works well as a portrait and street photography lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Corner to corner sharpness

SEL1635GM 08 March 2019 by WinsomePictures (USA)

Based on my photo experiences many years ago, I always avoided zooms in favor of primes. But these new G Master zooms are amazing. Great contrast and rendering, razor sharp even wide open. The old argument about the weight of zooms vs primes really doesn't make sense when you consider this one lens is the equivalent of 16mm, 20mm, 24mm, 28mm and 35mm primes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

36

0

Sony 15-35mm

SEL1635GM 15 February 2019 by Hubalini (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for about six 6 now and very pleased with results. Mainly used for landscapes and images nice and sharp. Would have given 5 stars but like my lenses to have focus distance and depth of field scales.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great lens, but too expensive

SEL1635GM 30 January 2019 by DEB619 (USA)

This is a great lens but pretty expensive compared to competition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10

0

FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM

SEL1635GM 13 January 2019 by Derek in the garden (United Kingdom)

Cracking lens - great for star shoots. Expensive but worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Versatile and optically superb ultra-wide zoom

SEL1635GM 06 January 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to replace 3 wide prime lenses I had and to make life a bit easier when out taking landscape shots. I don't regret the decision as this is an outstanding and very versatile lens, from landscapes to macro to wide portraits, it can do it all. The first time I looked at images taken with this lens in photoshop, I laughed simply because the images were so good. It is sharp from corner to corner with no smearing or colour shift in the corners. Colour is vivid and pictures have good contrast no matter the aperture and even when pointed at the sun. It is bitingly sharp, and out-resolves all but one of the prime lenses it replaced. It produces beautiful sun stars too and can focus very close with creamy background blur at F2.8. There are a few pleasant surprises as well, it is smaller and lighter than I expected and balances well on my A7RIII. It is also very well made and feels very high quality in use. All in all I'd say it is amazing value, it has replaced 3 lenses for me and it is simply so good I cannot foresee it ever being replaced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

0

Distortion Distortion Distortion

SEL1635GM 08 December 2018 by MavicaMoment (USA)

With this price tag, I was expecting perfection not distortion. Lens correction requires you to have the software with the correct profile. Even then not sure if the correction is corrected.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

26

0

First Full Frame

SEL1635GM 25 November 2018 by Culpepper (United Kingdom)

Very happy with the image quality but do find the controls complicated compared to my last Fujifilm X H1.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

10

0

Just buy it!

SEL1635GM 30 October 2018 by 22645 (USA)

If you are a landscape or a night sky photographer you'll love the 2.8, the relative light weight, and the zoom range. It makes razor blade sharp images, and beautiful bokeh. A little pricy but I love it and have no regrets. It's not small though but it does justice to the 42M a7RII sensor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

AWSOME...

SEL1635GM 06 September 2018 by Satur (USA)

Excelent pictures , no distorsion and sharp images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Awesome lens

SEL1635GM 22 August 2018 by Golfboy1 (USA)

Bought this lens to replace my 12-24. And boy no comparison. Smooth smooth operation. Fast fast autofocus. Pictures out of this world . Could not be happier. Looking to replace my 24 -240. But not there yet. This wide angle and my Macro are my go to lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb Wide Angle Zoom Lens

SEL1635GM 27 July 2018 by Tenzie (United Kingdom)

I have been contemplating changing to Sony for a while now, and so glad I did!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Very sharp lens

SEL1635GM 01 July 2018 by RonSE6 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with this lens its very sharp wide open - will use as my walk around lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0