$1,799.00

(AUD inc. GST)
35

4.8 based on 35 customer reviews

29
6
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

35 Customer Reviews

0

Nice sharp wide angle lens

SEL1635Z 16 October 2018 by Bethune23 (United Kingdom)

I bought this when I broke my 5d Mark iii along with the A7Riii and the image quality is loads better than with my 11-24mm. Focus is quick and overall image qulaity is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compared to canon 16-35mm f/4 is

SEL1635Z 04 October 2018 by Dave81 (United Kingdom)

Picked up this lens a week ago and have tried it out at home and at a wedding. I recently traded in my canon 5divs for two a7iii's and the 16-35 was a lens I used for a limited number of shots during the day, yet essential ones. it joined my new 85 1.4 G master and 35 f1.4 distagon (please make a Gmaster 35 f1.4 as soon as possible!). I am pleased to report that the 16-35 f/4 vario- Tessar is not only comparable to the canon version, but it seems to be sharper, while being slightly smaller lighter. Probably because of the absence if is, but still. A great lens that I'm very glad to have in my kit. My only gripe is that it is a little expensive for what you get, and I am not sure why. I gave design four stars because the focus is not internal and I would like a manual focus switch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Solid, quality feel

SEL1635Z 19 August 2018 by Mad Snapper (United Kingdom)

I've not used the lens in 'anger yet apart from quick test shots so can't comment on the quality of the images it produces but as far as the look and feel of the lens is concerned up to now I am very happy. Beautiful satin black finish, the lens fits snugly and tightly to the camera body, much tighter than my Canon 5d Mk3 body and lenses. Comes with a lens hood which clicks nicely and securely in place, a carry pouch, and, obviously, front and back caps. The zoom ring I particularly like, its a good size and is smooth to operate across its range and has reassuringly high amount of friction as you zoom in or out. No sloppiness or sticking so no problems if you wanted to use the lens for video as well as stills. Just waiting for an opportunity to get out and see how the glass performs now . . . .

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Performance

SEL1635Z 17 May 2018 by johnkant27 (USA)

Got this as a gift. I personally don't like wide angle lenses because they have frequent problems with the picture and performance. However, this lens solves all of that. I currently owned other wide angle lenses(not from Sony) but this lens is the best one I'd had so far. The only flaw that I don't personally like; the focusing wheel and zoom wheel are a bit stiff and hard to use at first. But you get used to it after a while.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great wide angle

SEL1635Z 15 April 2018 by Ady669 (United Kingdom)

Only used it a few times but the pictures of buildings have turned out great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new best lens

SEL1635Z 18 March 2018 by GWCJ (USA)

This is my first Sony FE lens, and I am really happy with it. It handles really well and the photos it gives are sharp and vibrant. The 16-35 range is great for landscape photography which is what I do mostly. Zeis and Sony teamed up for a fantastic lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Landscape Lens

SEL1635Z 26 January 2018  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for landscape photography. The images are super sharp, even hand held. The 16-35mm focal length is ideal for landscapes. F4 is not the fastest but for landscapes this is fine. Anything faster and the price goes way, way up. The build quality is great, the focusing ring is smooth. On my a7ii body the auto focusing is very quick. I havent had any flare problems to this point. I wish Sony had included a distance scale on the lens. All in all i am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

I love this lens

SEL1635Z 19 January 2018 by tacit25 (USA)

Got this lens a little after picking up the A7II and I love it. Images are sharp and have excellent color.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great quality and durability

SEL1635Z 01 September 2017  (USA)

This is the very first lens I bought for my Sony A7Rii about a year an a half ago. It is robust and really well made, the quality is flawless, it has a little bit of distortion at 16mm but it isn't terrible. I love this lens and would recommend for any serious photographer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great lens

SEL1635Z 26 August 2017 by Razzz16 (United Kingdom)

I love it! Very sharp, no aberration at all ! I love the focal length

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent full frame lens vario-tessera

SEL1635Z 02 August 2017 by Daddy g (United Kingdom)

Great lens for my new Sony E frame camera that I have Olympic had just over a week

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Switching over from Nikon

SEL1635Z 01 July 2017 by D18UNK (United Kingdom)

I have had the Sony A7R11 for around a month. Decided to move over from Nikon as a press photographer I thought long and hard before I took the plunge. I purchased the 16.35 and 70-200 f4 lens . I must say I am pleased with the results and the operation and menu settings. Will be adding the 24-70 f2.8 soon. Not yet tried it for the football so the Nikon gear is still around for the time being.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Reliable, Love this lens.

SEL1635Z 20 June 2017 by javinef (USA)

I've had this lens for over a year now and I absolutely love it. It even works for portraits. Incredibly versatile and reliable. I wish I would have bought the F2.8 because I shoot a lot of event photography at night but I really recommend this lens to anyone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

A reliable and robust traveling friend

SEL1635Z 21 February 2017 by domblack (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens about a year now and I am very impressed, I am not a pixel peeper exactly, but it appears tone sharp at any settings, it is relatively compact an whit IS I don't really need the extra expense and weight of faster glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Landscape Lens

SEL1635Z 19 December 2016 by Petedox (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens just two weeks, so have not had a great chance to use it yet. However early test shots show that it has the Zeiss contrast and colour rendition that puts it in a league of it's own. This is my second Zeiss lens, this time I went for the 16-35 rather than the 24-70 as I have a Sony A6000 (APS-C format) and thought this would also be a pretty decent wide angle even on the smaller sensor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony / Zeiss Lens

SEL1635Z 07 December 2016 by ekroy (United Kingdom)

Another good Sony lens to add to my arsenal. This one bought for tavelling to fit my A7R2 abd A6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

great lens

SEL1635Z 16 October 2016 by J Brad (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens 2 months ago as i was going on vacation to NYC, i was not disappointed with its performance, the pictures were exultant quality all hand held with difficult lighting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Superb lens if you are lucky to get a good copy!

SEL1635Z 07 May 2016 by Caris21 (United Kingdom)

I have tried 5 copies of this lens in total - 2 were decentered - always soft on one side in all focal lengths, 2 had soft corners until stopped down to f11, my final copy is still not perfect but the best of the bunch. The wide end 16-24mm is superb even wide open but from 26-35mm things get progressively worse with 35mm being virtually unusable until f14. This is not what I would expect form an expensive lens with a Zeiss logo. The stress associated with securing a good copy is really too much - Sony must do something to eliminate the sample variations - the production QC is below standard expected at this level. My experience has really put me off from buying another expensive Sony FF lens. The built quality is superb but it's not that important if the optics are below par! I would still recommend this lens but only if you get a good copy, otherwise you would be better off using a 3rd party manual wide-angle zoom with an adapter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

13

0

Perfect focal length for landscapes

SEL1635Z 21 December 2015 by JohnR52 (United Kingdom)

This lens has joined my selection of Sony lenses. Being s recent convert from Canon L series glass I am quality conscious and can say this lens meets and exceeds my expectations . Great partner to the 55 MM and 85 MM Batis

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Great lens for a7R

SEL1635Z 08 December 2015 by Mickpic (United Kingdom)

Initial impressions are excellent build quality and ideal for landscapes. Very sharp and at 18mm the horizon appeared dead straight with just the preset basic lens correction in Lightroom. It's also nice that the front ring doesn't move when you focus, which is handy if you've lined up a graduated filter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

A great wide angle lens

SEL1635Z 11 September 2015 by Billphoto (United Kingdom)

Recently purchased this lens to complete my FE lens collection. As a simple amateur I think the quality is superb, and the field of view excellent. It is sharp and produces with my A7 and A7s excellent images. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent wide angle zoom

SEL1635Z 09 September 2015 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom)

Great lens. Build quality is excellent. Feels great on the A7 body. Optically first class. The OSS will be of great help in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

1

0

Good Wide Angle Lens

SEL1635Z 16 June 2015 by chriscamera (United Kingdom)

I have only had this lens for a month, so my experience is short. The lens was bought a I needed and wide angle lens particularly for interior and architectural photography, but also would use it for landscapes. The lens performed well with my A7R, acquiring good autofocus with good dynamic range and colours. When photographic interiors which were very close there was considerable distortion of the verticals, but this is to be excepted and can be corrected in Photoshop. The lens performed well in landscape with no visible distortions. In both genre the photos were pin sharp. The build is exceptional in is feel and look, with smooth control rings. Although I normally use a tripod, the stabilisation appeared to work well when I used hand held, with no noticeable movement blur, even at high resolution.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Truly Excellent Lens

SEL1635Z 07 June 2015 by CandidCondor45 (USA)

I have used this lens starting in December 2014. It is very sharp and the colors are very pleasing. The 16 mm setting allowed to take really nice photos at Machu Picchu and the lakes in the California Sierras. The photos are crisp from foreground to background. The entire range of focal lengths produce excellent photos. It works well with the Sony A7R.

9

5