E 16-55MM F2.8 G

Product Reviews

$1,999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
11

4.8 based on 11 customer reviews

9
2
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent but expensive

SEL1655G 29 August 2020 by mgster (United Kingdom)

My copy of this lens is very sharp throughout the focal range, even in the corners. Low light performance is also decent for a zoom lens. CA is well managed. Fairly small, lightweight and build quality is excellent. The focal range is good and covers the most commonly used lengths. However at £1075 it is very expensive, and for this price I would also have expected built-in OSS. Despite this, I like the lens very much and am glad I bought it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Let me just tell you....

SEL1655G 21 August 2020 by Andy97 (USA)

So I paired this thing with my a6100... and even though this doesn't have OSS, its a monster when shooting stills. I have carried this thing up and down the Tetons climbing, and it works flawlessly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

My favorite lens for my Sony a6400

SEL1655G 18 August 2020  (USA)

Versatile and very sharp lens, even at 2.8 aperture. This is my go to lens. It's almost perfect. The only thing I wish is that it has OSS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Just Like My Old Nikon But At Half The Price

SEL1655G 05 August 2020 by Esoteric (USA)

I bought it as an XMAS gift to myself. I had an almost identical spec'd Nikon 16/55F2.8 with LINEAR MOTOR for my D90. It was huge and heavy. It had a relatively fast lens, and a focal length range for 95% of photos I took. The Sony is smaller, lighter, and has a linear motor. Linear motors focus instantly and silently. If shooting candid shots, you will not miss focus. Everyone rants at the cost of the Sony. Well the Nikon was $2500, 16 years ago! Even at street prices, the Sony came out cheaper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Best APSC lens

SEL1655G 27 June 2020  (United Kingdom)

Bought this Lens in March for the A6600 but it ended up as my everyday lens on my A7R4, quality is superb for an APSC crop on this camera and slightly better 4K in this mode

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Excellent

SEL1655G 01 June 2020 by jo bloggs (United Kingdom)

Does what it says on the box, extremely well, real field depth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Perfect travel lens!

SEL1655G 29 February 2020 by NomadingNick (USA)

I used to travel with the Sigma Trio for Sony APS-C: 16mm, 30mm, 56mm F/1.4 and the quality was amazing. However, being the heavy traveler that I am (up to 6 continents this year, yes, I said continents, not countries!) I need something more travel friendly. Switching between 3 primes was just soooo annoying. This 16-55mm G lens gives me just as good as image quality and now the extra convenience. Also for travel, I found myself shooting a lot of environmental portraits at F/2.8 - F/5.6. For example if the background is too blurred (i.e. Eiffel Tower or the Egyptian pyramids) then it doesn't show the beautiful scenery. Therefore I am not missing out much on the Sigma's F/1.4 at all. Now all I need is for Sony to make a APSC super wide angle zoom version 2 (update the Sony E 10-18mm f/4 to a GM or G series!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Stunning crystal clear sharp corner 2 corner photo

SEL1655G 26 January 2020 by macprudence1 (USA)

Yes its expensive....but worth every penny. If you own the Sigma 16mm this lens is about the same weight and length. It has amazing sharpness, color, clarity, contrast...I can go on and on. I'm very happy with my purchase and you will be too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

A Spectacular Lens

SEL1655G 11 January 2020 by ceev (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to replace my three Sigma f1.4 primes and apart from the loss of two stops of exposure have not been disappointed. The lens has exceptional sharpness and contrast at all apertures and focal lengths and easily matches or exceeds the Sigma primes. Build quality and handling are excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

Lives up to its reputation

SEL1655G 02 January 2020 by andymw (United Kingdom)

My wife bought me this for Christmas and I've been playing with it since. This is definitely the best lense I have for my a6500. Very sharp at full aperture and easy to use. I love the constant f2.8. This will go with me everywhere. It'll probably not be my video lense of choice as my 24mm f1.8 Zeiss prime works better on the gimbal and is also a beautiful lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

So far, so good!

SEL1655G 17 November 2019 by Txrtrider (USA)

Sold my 16-70 Zeiss f4. Zoom on this lens is much smoother and I like the f2.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

5