$1,299.00

(AUD inc. GST)
41

4.7 based on 41 customer reviews

33
5
1
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Pricey but a keeper

SEL1670Z 13 June 2014 by RalphNY (USA)

I've been waiting for a better quality daily lens for my NEX 7 to replace my kit and this one pretty much it. The lens is solidly built, light and good looking. Performance wise, very clear , fast and performs well on low lights. I was little bit hesitant because of the price but got it anyway. I brought it on my travel to Europe and so far have been satisfied with the results. My NEX 7 now has a perfect partner. I also have 35mm F1.8 Prime lens in addition to the standard kit.

40

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Mixed results

SEL1670Z 27 August 2017 by Micha2 (United Kingdom)

This is an expensive lens with many pretensions. It doesn't live up to them. There are mechanical problems in that the zoom ring is sticky in use but still slides out when carrying the camera. The stated zoom range is 16 to 70 mm but it isn't possible to use the 16 mm setting due to poor edge definition. This puts the range at 24 - 70 mm. This edge definition situation is not what would be expected from Carl Zeiss and puts the lens on a par with cheaper alternatives. I have now used it for around 1500 - 2000 images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

8

4

41 Customer Reviews

0

Like the versatility, had a warranty issue however

SEL1670Z 15 August 2018 by Txrtrider (USA)

Bought this a few months ago. Forgot to register it. Really like the versatility, but had noticed that the zoom ring stuck, between 50-70mm. Thought it might loosen up after a while. Ended up sending in for repair. They replaced the Optical Block Assembly, whatever that is. Great all around tense!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL1670Z 31 July 2018 by Naughty Nige (United Kingdom)

Bought yesterday to complement A6300 Camera and my Hobby.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Small size and quality pictures

SEL1670Z 02 July 2018 by Maurice 45 (United Kingdom)

Had the lens only a few weeks but I would recommend it, quality is very good, small in size and picture quality excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp Images

SEL1670Z 27 June 2018 by JakBux (United Kingdom)

Great lens to travel around with on the sony a6000 compact and sharp across the board

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Zoom... oooOO

SEL1670Z 19 May 2018 by Naboo (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago along with an A6500 cameea. So far very impressed. Only criticism so far is the lack if a lock.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Review for Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm F4 ZA OSS

SEL1670Z 24 March 2018 by Rochebois (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens three months ago.It has performed superbly well.The only draw back is an absence of a macro setting.This is an odd omission on a £700+ lens, this is the only reason why i am not awarding it 5 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very disapointed with this lens

SEL1670Z 15 March 2018 by WB_stl (USA)

This lens has two things going for it: it covers a useful range and it is compact and light weight. Unfortunately the copy of the lens I have does not produce sharp images. I have other Sony/Zeiss lenses which are outstanding in image quality, but not this one. Given it's price and Zeiss badge, I would not recommend it. I can not in good faith sale this lens to someone else and it will be awhile before I can command the resources to replace it - but it will be replaced.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

4

0

Very versatile lens

SEL1670Z 15 February 2018 by Alan 79 (USA)

I bought this lens to pair with a Sony a6500 for travel. I wanted something with quality glass that covered wide angle to short telephoto and this lens covers it perfectly. I am getting beautiful results through out the zoom and aperture range. I have been using it for about a month now and could not be happier with my choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great universal lens

SEL1670Z 27 January 2018 by billhg (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera & lens for about 2 weeks, but I am just learning to use it, however this lens has a great zoom range, perfect for keeping on the camera as a standard lens. The fact it is f4 through its zoom length means it is ideal for low light photography. It is pin sharp right to the edge& the telephoto end is great for distance shots & even half way is perfect for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great lens, not in size, but in every other way.

SEL1670Z 14 December 2017 by Paolo the Snapper (United Kingdom)

My taste in photography is wide and after ditching my life-long camera manufacturer in favour of Sony, I needed a lens for my new a6500 which would give me options for Landscape, Street, and above all, Portrait photography. One of my big asks was for a lens which isn’t too big as on holiday I want to carry it around all day in a coat pocket or small bag. I also needed a lens which can focus quickly and accurately in order to take great pictures of my grandchildren, particularly as my current compact camera (not Sony) fails miserably as it is so slow - by the time I have pressed the shutter the children are out the door! I've only had the a6500 and this lens for less than a couple of weeks but I've already taken hundreds of pictures, all so far indoors and mainly of the grandchildren. The results are extremely pleasing. The lens copes with multiple shots well, and the images are very sharp. Only yesterday I was reviewing some shots and was amazed as to how much I can crop without any degradation of image quality. The 16-70mm zoom range is very good too and is just about right for my needs as it goes from a 35mm full frame equivalent of 24mm at the wide end to a portrait pleasing 105mm at the other. Finally, colour rendition is very good and my pictures look very pleasing. Although it isn’t a cheap lens, I chose to buy it in favour of the kit lens often sold with the a6500. I am very pleased I did and I know that moving to Sony has been a good decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A quality product

SEL1670Z 28 November 2017 by mamba20 (United Kingdom)

Not had it long, but the balance and feel on my A6000 is great and the telephoto action is very smooth and quiet. Results to date just what I expected. Look forward to putting t through its paces

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mixed results

SEL1670Z 27 August 2017 by Micha2 (United Kingdom)

This is an expensive lens with many pretensions. It doesn't live up to them. There are mechanical problems in that the zoom ring is sticky in use but still slides out when carrying the camera. The stated zoom range is 16 to 70 mm but it isn't possible to use the 16 mm setting due to poor edge definition. This puts the range at 24 - 70 mm. This edge definition situation is not what would be expected from Carl Zeiss and puts the lens on a par with cheaper alternatives. I have now used it for around 1500 - 2000 images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

8

4

0

Light and easy to use

SEL1670Z 23 July 2017 by Nonick (United Kingdom)

Bought from the Sony Centre in Carlisle where I received excellent customer service and advice on the use of this lens. I have now had the lens for three weeks and I am very pleased with the sharpness of the photographs and the fast focusing of the lens. Although it is not a macro lens it does produce excellent close up pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Good all round lens

SEL1670Z 19 July 2017 by JAM13 (United Kingdom)

Had this a few weeks now and it takes Sharp photos and I use it as my "walk Around" lens. All was ready to take a shot. Just wish it had Power Zoom with in the price of this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Sony Vario-Tessar 16-70mm F4 Zoom lens

SEL1670Z 03 June 2017 by Chrispen4 (United Kingdom)

I have only had this lens about 2 weeks but the pictures I have taken are so sharply focussed - almost unbelievable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Good quality, good range

SEL1670Z 24 May 2017 by fiftysixa (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens, build quality good, crippling price the only negative

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Nice lens

SEL1670Z 03 November 2016 by Jeremyg (United Kingdom)

I bought this with a A6300 to replace a large DSLR that didn't shoot video. Since I was intending to use it more for video than stills the smoothness of the zoom was important but I found it was pretty graunchy, also the lens suffered from shocking chromatic aberration, and this from a lens with Zeiss glass? Surely not! After a couple of weeks I thought this simply can't be right and took it back to the dealer - who swapped it out immediately and cheerfully. The replacement has a silky smooth zoom and I have seen no aberration since, though I haven't been forensic about it yet! The fact that f4.0 is available throughout the zoom range is great for video, not massively fast for stills work and sometimes I would like to be able to get a shallower depth of field, but as a first lens for the camera I find it a very good compromise. (I use my previous camera's 35mm/f1.8 for critical fast or shallow images on an adapter mount). It is light, the zoom doesn't slide about when pointing the camera down (my previous camera's zoom did). I happily recommend it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

4

0

Great Lens

SEL1670Z 13 October 2016 by Greg NW Indiana (USA)

I use this lens on a A6000. This has become my go to lens with this camera. This produces images that are sharp at all levels from 16 mm to 70 mm. I am quite pleased with the quality. However, I feel that the color quality is significantly improved from the lens that came with the camera. The colors are so vivid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

A serious lens!

SEL1670Z 05 September 2016 by pmacnight (USA)

Nice heft to it, feels like a serious piece of equipment. Beautiful Zeiss colors. No problem with center focus. This lens was factory inspected for those of you Leary of this lens because of bad center focus reports as I was.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Fantastic sharp and fast lens

SEL1670Z 18 April 2016 by TerminalUnit (United Kingdom)

Brought this on the advice of my dad and glad I did, it is a fantastic sharp and fast lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great lens

SEL1670Z 09 March 2016 by GregT (Australia)

Well made and does what manufacturer claims, good colour, sharp images, flexible in use

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Early days but the lens is proving top notch

SEL1670Z 29 October 2015 by Scouser38 (United Kingdom)

Only had the Sony 16-70 for a few weeks, having made the move to the CSC platform recently. The lens has proved to be on par with my L series Canon glass it seems as sharp and is extremely quick focusing with no hunting. I'd certainly recommend this as an essential piece of glass to have on your A6000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

3

0

Super nice lens

SEL1670Z 03 June 2015 by OsoTejano (USA)

Using this on my a6000 and am very satisfied with performance of this lens. Very good image quality across the full focal range. This lens is on my camera most of the time and works great in most situations.

13

8

0

Excellent lens which covers a lot of bases

SEL1670Z 31 May 2015 by Silverscreen (United Kingdom)

I bought this because I wanted the low light capability throughout the zoom range and also because of the very positive reviews I'd read online about it. I've had it a couple of weeks and shot landscapes and portraits so far - I'm delighted with the sharpness and quality of the images. It offers wide angle and a decent zoom for walkabout purposes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0