$2,899.00

(AUD inc. GST)
170

4.6 based on 170 customer reviews

132
24
5
3
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20 June 2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great build and features. Soft copy.

SEL200600G 05 September 2019 by SkySpades (USA)

I love the feel and ease of use of the 200-600, it can't be beat in that regard. Unfortunately I received a soft copy. I also own a Nikon 200-500 and my copy of the 200-600 is noticeably softer in all situations; good light, bad light, near and far. I really had high expectations for this lens. I've read about others who have received soft copies as well as many who have received exceptional copies that are sharp even with the 1.4x. Hopefully Sony gets the quality control in order, but maybe that's why it's a G and not a GM lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

5

170 Customer Reviews

0

So very quick from 200 to 600

SEL200600G 26 August 2021 by daltaf (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for more than a month, focus is amazingly fast. Picture quality is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Such a sharp lens!

SEL200600G 21 August 2021 by LDMillican (USA)

I expected this to be a great lens, but it is better than that! Focus is quick, and quiet. Very happy I bought it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sharp focus

SEL200600G 20 August 2021 by Toby2 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for bird and other wild life photography

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good value.

SEL200600G 20 August 2021 by Disco30045 (United Kingdom)

Only had this a few weeks. Description clearly gives the weight but carrying it about really brings home what I’ve taken on. Rested it in bird hides and can just about manage hand-held. Balances OK on a tripod (must take the load: camera plus this closing in on 3 Kg). Much easier on a gimbal. Bought a cheaper one with no fancy stuff and it’s fine. I’ve still much to learn. I have the camera on auto everything thus far. Got some spoonbills (the knowledgeable ones told me). Missed a bittern! Come back to me in a few months when I can hopefully supply a better critique.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worth the price, sometimes prioritizes far things

SEL200600G/CSYX 15 August 2021 by Miradj (Singapore)

Upgraded from a Sigma 100-400mm and even though it is twice the price, the quality is so much better. More rugged, weather-sealed, no change in length, creamier out of focus backgrounds/bokehs, faster focus, much better image stabilization and sharper details. Definitely recommend this to step up your photo quality if you feel like you've reached the limits of a cheaper lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SHARP!!!!!!!!!!

SEL200600G/CSYX 10 August 2021 by Jonathan Ho (Singapore)

Awesome lens, couldn't wait to get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality and great with internal zoom

SEL200600G 10 August 2021 by Hadden78 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a month ago to go with my A9, the lens is great, the image quality is perfect and along with the intetnal zoom, this is my perfect lens for wildlife and sports.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A real value lens

SEL200600G 03 August 2021 by Stickman 1 (United Kingdom)

Having purchased a Sony 200-600 lens I have found it to be a great usable lens, producing quality results. It is a good match for my Sony a7riv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

poor tripod collar design.

SEL200600G 30 July 2021 by ifxbonz (USA)

The loaner 200-600 suffers from the same problem as my copy . You have an issue with tripod collar loosening making the lens unstable and un able to use on a monopod or tripod.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great lens for the price

SEL200600G/CSYX 30 July 2021 by porkini (Singapore)

I love this lens, it gets really close to a subject and when paired with the A7rIV, it comes up with some amazing shots. Just a couple of times, it kid of gave me a 'black screen' as it it was somehow shut down and I had to turn the camera off and on again but the vast majority of the times it works really well. It's heavy... there's no disputing that so you'll really want to use a tripod if you are waiting around but have to stay focused.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A fantastic lens

SEL200600G 27 July 2021 by Josie163 (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this for a few weeks now and am constantly being blown away by how good it is, especially considering the price. I’m not going to go into full technical details as there are people who know way more about that than me who will have posted that info already, but as someone who has been using the lens for wildlife photography, I can say it is absolutely fantastic. If you’ve not used a focal length as long as 600mm before, it can take some getting used to but I absolutely love this lens and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of buying.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens so far, BUY IT!

SEL200600G 21 July 2021 by Eyeintheart (United Kingdom)

I brought it end of May, took a month to deliver but was well worth the wait. I have used it a few times and I'm very impressed. Make sure you have a tripod that can handle the weight. Photo examples are taken on the a7 mark one. I would love the a7iii or the a7riii but can't afford them yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Could end at 500 and f5.6

SEL200600G 17 July 2021 by Piotreknik (United Kingdom)

Bit heavy , we'll build and very sharp . Could be f 5.6

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best telephoto birding lens I have used

SEL200600G/CSYX 16 July 2021 by Nathanshutterbug (Singapore)

The best all round telephoto lens. Fast focus, internal zoom, excellent clarity and almost no distortion at all ends of the zoom range. Also use it for landscapes at time! Have loved shooting with this lens and would highly recommend it….

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Affordable plus decent image quality

SEL200600G/CSYX 16 July 2021 by Philip Loh (Singapore)

Owned this lens for ~3weeks and using it with my A7R4A for birding. Still trying to get use to its weight when doing handheld shoot - but should be manageable over time. One shortcoming - no click for its rotating collar mount - caused some inconvenience due to use of lens coat which covers the marking dots. Mounting leg is too short and it would be nice if it is arca-swiss compatible so no need to buy a replacement leg. Overall, I am satisfied with the price/performance of this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A solid lens

SEL200600G 14 July 2021 by Nutsaboutbirdz (United Kingdom)

Purchased on 30th June 2021 to link to my new Alpha 1. So far so good but I also bought a TC 1.4 and am disappointed with the quality of photos. The photo included with this review is not with the TC.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL200600G 07 July 2021  (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens 6 weeks ago very pleased with it very sharp pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice lens for a knowledgeable amateur!

SEL200600G 01 July 2021 by The auditor (United Kingdom)

I looked at reviews for AGES and didn’t want to spend thousands on a top of the range upper glass (yes glass) lens. The Sony 200-600 is magic for me, produces really really good images which with my Sony Alpha 7ii (yes 2) full frame can be cropped as well. I also have a Sony 24-240 zoom which is magic too and a Mindshift backpack which is perfect. I am very pleased indeed, and don’t need to use a tripod most of the time for the 200-600. The 5 axis stabilisation (in camera) plus the image stabilisation in the lens is very good indeed. OK max aperture is 5.6 but I don’t want to pay a HUGE amount for and F2.8 or even F4.0 and I certainly don’t want the weight. I can adjust ISO as required. Autofocus is very good indeed. So I am a happy bunny. I take pictures of boxing hares (and bunnies) all sorts of wildlife and birds. I have not used an adapter yet and probably will not. Well done SONY yet again! Oh and I got £100 cash back as well which paid for the backpack. Even better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantasic quality producing outstanding images.

SEL200600G 22 June 2021 by rav56 (Australia)

Only purchased this lens but already out producing wonderful images. This lens has been at the top of my list for some time and can't rate it highly enough. With my 7III body i find the focus fast and accurate allowing me to pursue my love of wildlife with outstanding results.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great Product

SEL200600G 21 June 2021 by Ghost Wolf (United Kingdom)

Took this lens to Cornwall, took some fantastic photos especially of Longships, St. Micheal's Mount and at Tintagel Castle. I would highly recommend this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Monster of a lens but does the Job

SEL200600G 10 June 2021 by Packtraveler (USA)

This lens will put some serious weight on your camera but it does get the job done. I do not use a tripod. It would get in the way for shooting wildlife where you more often than not have to follow the action. I use it on the Sony ARIV. It is nice and sharp. My gripes are that the lens hood does not attach securely. I lost it on my second outing while hiking. Sony could provide a longer strap for the lens. Finally the supplied lens bag could be a lot better. What is important is that I have no gripes about the lens. Make sure you try this lens before purchasing it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best lens ever!

SEL200600G 06 June 2021 by CindyS (USA)

This lens is absolutely awesome. Amazingly fast focus, crisp photos, and beautiful bokah. And, truth be told, I bought this lens a month ago after the exact same lens met with an untimely accident after 2 years. I can't live without it! I love the fact that the barrel of the lens does not move. Everything is internal which makes for a smooth transition. I shoot hand held and, yes, this is a heavy lens but nothing I can't handle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 28 May 2021  (Singapore)

I brought this lens for about two months, a lens a must to have for portrait, macro and wildlife. Auto focus works perfect, is value for money! Attached some of the photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

SEL200600G 26 May 2021  (Australia)

Fanastic Lens...This zoom has been a bug in my pocket for some time, and I finally bit and got this fantastic lens... that Lens is so versatile. What's the first thing people do with a zoom of this caliber? I use this Lens for my Aviation , Bird and Sport photography. I traded in my Sigma 150-600mm for this Lens because of its internal zoom and because i don't like those heavy zoom lens that grow in length when Zooming . All that wear and tear of those moving parts moving a tube with heavy glass in it. This Lens skips all that. Zoom is quiet and very smooth. This lens is heavy, as one would expect. Considering what it does it is very acceptable. It has a lot of features I need to look into further. What I do like is that big ring on the lens is the zooming ring. It is in an excellent place, right where you would hold the lens when shooting. The smaller ring is for manual focusing. Now, is it sharp? Yes, very sharp. The pictures I took of detailed objects show extremely good sharpness for a zoom lens. I took photos ranging from the moon, birds eating my persimmons, tree trunk and leaves. All very good and even handheld, the lens performed greatly. The images stabilization built in the lens did a great job when handhold camera and lens when shooting. While this lens is a 200-600mm lens for a full frame Sony camera, it becomes a 300-900mm lens when hooked up to a Sony a6000 series of crop sensor cameras. That can come in handy for those needing to reach way out there for a photo. I am exceedingly happy with this lens. It fits in nicely with my 70-200 f2.8 and 18-105 f4.0 zoom lens. All with internal zooming. I would say the price may be high for some, but it is worth it as it works perfectly with my Sony A9 cameras. Zooming is fantastic and focusing is fast and spot on.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0