$1,499.00

(AUD inc. GST)
41

4.0 based on 41 customer reviews

17
17
2
2
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best single lens FE solution at this time.

SEL24240 22 March 2015 by ebookman (USA)

SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s The lens, appears to me, to be surprisingly sharp for a super zoom. I think I am going to stop reading graphs and charts. After several days out on the desert with this single lens I am really impressed with the convenience of framing shots quickly over a broad focal range. Many shots would be very difficult to obtain in the rough terrain without a backpack full of lenses and a lot of hiking time. I never go on the desert alone and I almost never go with fellow shooters who would be patient. You can make the shot and keep moving. It is also easier to protect a single camera and lens from wind, dust and rain. As to the images themselves, the SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s creates an amazing raw file with wonderful shadow detail. I keep forgetting that I am working with smaller images than my A7r. There is also an image quality that I can not describe. This lens likes this camera. Having said that, the lens is certainly not perfect. It has a very stiff zoom. Wide aperture enthusiasts need not inquire. It is a great landscape lens. If the lens performs as well on the A7r, a compact super wide along with this lens would (pardon the pun) cover the whole landscape in a small package.

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Wonderful Lens, Inferior Mount

SEL24240 16 April 2015 by ArtisticCreator (USA)

I was so excited to get this lens. It fit my needs perfectly. Unfortunately it didn't fit the camera perfectly. Basically the mount on the lens is made from an inferior material that hasn't been accurately machined or heat treated. (I'm an Aerospace Quality Manager and I know a little bit about this type of thing) There is an unacceptable amount of play in the locking mechanism. Using the telephoto ring causes the play to be very noticeable. And as you turn the ring back and forth over time, the locking pin pushes into the metal on the lens mount pushing metal up and widening the slot for the pin. In the one month I had it, that slot continued to widen. Yes I returned it. For this price, the mount must be hardened stainless that should be machined to a tighter tolerance and fit snugly. If they fix this problem I will buy it in the future. But I will take a close look before I do.

60

12

41 Customer Reviews

0

Many features but unfriendly manual

SEL24240 03 October 2018 by Manny c (USA)

After one month I am learning the many features of this camera and lens combination but the instruction manual is hard to follow and using the camera built guide is very unfriendly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great All Round Lens

SEL24240 20 September 2018 by msp0924 (United Kingdom)

This was the first lens I've ever bought. I bought it for my Sony a7rIII camera. I've only used on one road trip in the US. I had a lot of fun using it. Very comfortable and easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything I wanted and more...

SEL24240 25 August 2018 by Longbowman (United Kingdom)

Was looking for a good quality lens better that the 24-70mm f4 that I bought with the camera. This is that lens. Better reach and image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

One lens for all type of photography.

SEL24240 01 August 2018 by Ajay P (USA)

I bought this lens, 20 days back, just before going on vacation and used it on my Sony A7iii. +Ve: Excellent performance. Amazing focus tracking. Very sharp, Vibrating colour reproduction. -Ve: Very heavy to carry. Little soft at 240mm Lens jets out at longer range- so difficult to rotate polarized filters if one is using

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Much heavier then expected!

SEL24240 08 July 2018 by Sam552 (USA)

Lens is awesome. Too heavy. Wish it did not wiegh so much. Hard to change big lens on small a6500 body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

10x Zoom

SEL24240 23 June 2018 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom)

Great quality lens for a 10x zoom. I bought to use on holiday and as a walk around lens on my Sony a7mk2 and possibly my a6300. It's a surprisingly large lens and heavier than expected but I'm pleased with the AF speed and sharpness. It's the best 10x ish zoom I've used. On the a7mk2 it's reasonably well balanced. On the a6300 acceptable. APSC focal range is 36-360mm so pretty good for wildlife and nature. Great addition to my e mount lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Super functional

SEL24240 11 June 2018 by mikeygrn (USA)

I recently switched from Nikon D700 to a Sony A7II. Over the years I had acquired a lot of lenses for my Nikon. Starting over was rough but I am so happy I did. I know I will invest in some quality primes over the next few years but because of my previous experience I knew that starting with a long range telephoto zoom was a no brainer. It’s the type of lens that was kept on my Nikon 80% of the time. Dxomark has the 24-240 ranked last for all of the tested Sony full frame lenses. I have never been a pixel peeper. I am an avid hobbyist and I primarily shoot my family, vacations and the awesome activities we get to do living in Alaska. Whatever technical quality and sharpness you sacrifice with a long range zoom is easily outweighed by the convenience of having one lens that can do it all. Another feature that I appreciate is that the barrel extends ever so slightly (maybe 2-3mm) as you widen out fully to 24mm. This prevents the possibility of lens creep without the need for a locking switch. The A7 series of cameras are amazing and the photos that I get out of Lightroom definitely exceed all of my needs for quality. I have yet to take a picture and think to myself, I wish the corners were a little sharper. By winter I will pick up an ultra wide prime because the only photos that I take where I value that corner to corner sharpness are of the night sky and the aurora. For the first lens after the kit however, unless you have a primary type of photography that you shoot an overwhelming majority of the time, it only makes sense to start with a decent quality lens that can do it all. I can’t imagine any photographer not having use for a lens like this in their collection.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Takes great pictures

SEL24240 01 June 2018 by Millerhill (United Kingdom)

One of the best zoom lenses I've bought. Takes great pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

A great fit for my sony alpha

SEL24240 15 May 2018 by vwbeetle (United Kingdom)

I needed this lens for my new sony frameless camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

General purpose zoom

SEL24240 30 April 2018 by Delboy321 (United Kingdom)

I recently bought a Sony Alpha 7ii body and wanted a broad range zoom to go with it. This 24-240mm zoom lens was the perfect solution given the limited supply of zoom lens designed to work with full frame camera’s. The lens is slightly bigger, and heavier, than desired but still gives me the versatility that I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great multi purpose lens

SEL24240 11 April 2018 by Ralston88 (United Kingdom)

Brought it to travel Thailand with, got some fantastic shots on the A7ii, only issue is that there is heavy vignetting on certain zooms / aperatures, although easily corrected in post editing can be annoying to some. Buy a pack of Globe fliters, essential add on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great lens!

SEL24240 17 March 2018 by Gehr (USA)

I bought this lens to use on my Sony a7r. This is a great, all-around lens. It resolves the 36mps quite well, and the fact that I don't have to keep changing lenses is a super reason for my buying this lens. I am quite pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

VERSATILE BUT HEAVY

SEL24240 15 March 2018 by Urleyn (United Kingdom)

I bought this versatile lens for my A7Rii body because it offered a wide range of focal lens and because, given Sony prices, it was the only one I could afford. In use, its proved its worth with excellent quality shots across its range.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Like very much

SEL24240 11 January 2018 by Mojazz (United Kingdom)

I bought in December I really happy with it a good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Overall good for every situation

SEL24240 06 January 2018 by dujekavier (USA)

A fantastic lens that covers any situation.Landscapes, Portraits and even some macro situations. Could be a tad sharper, though.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great travel lens

SEL24240 25 December 2017 by Island scot (United Kingdom)

Needed a zoom lens to take photos of red squirrels that come into my back garden Great with my A7ii

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Superb

SEL24240 12 December 2017 by JayAP (United Kingdom)

Very handy as a travel lense with no need of carrying different zooms. Very good picture quality and solid built. Very much impressed with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Lens does not produce sharp photos

SEL24240 21 November 2017 by dobrorod (USA)

The lens does not produce tack sharp images that I would expect from Sony equipment. It is good for snapshots but not for art work.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

4

0

Very versatile

SEL24240 28 September 2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom)

Sharp enough across the zoom range on both full frame and APSC.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Very slow

SEL24240 11 July 2017 by Ashuuk (United Kingdom)

Compared to the cannon very slow very basic and not very easy

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

20

0

Good zoom range lens

SEL24240 03 July 2017 by Marcus67 (USA)

Excellent zoom range and very good picture quality. Not excellent, but very good. Build quality superb. The only minus "is big and heavy"...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Way Better than Expected! I'm Very Impressed!

SEL24240 13 June 2017 by AFREEMAN (USA)

This was the first lens I bought for the A7RII when I switched over from Nikon June of 2016. I was amazed how sharp and how fast the focus was. It got even faster after the software was updated on the camera. I have seen some youtube reviews of this lens where they try and talk down it's abilities due to the fact it's not a 2.8 lens throughout the zoom like on the G Master zoom lens. Don't listen to this as this lens performs fantastically! Well worth every penny! You will use this on every trip you take where you don't want to keep swapping lenses! Also I shot in the rain, at night, holding an umbrella, at DisneyWorld during the fireworks at a 1/50th of a sec, 6400 ISO and the shots were excellent! Get this lens! (OK, it is a bit heavy but you won't miss the shot!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Great All-Around Lens

SEL24240 26 May 2017  (USA)

After soaking my and frying my NEX-5, and selling my Nikon stuff, I decided that the a7 was the choice for me. A quick stint with the kit lens left me disappointed, a new lens was needed. The 24-240mm F3.5-6.3 OSS immediately caught my eye. I love the extreme versatility of the lens, and the 10x zoom makes it great at tackling all types of challenges. I use it form sports to astrophotography, and everything in between. The only downfall is the weight, but I only really notice it after a full day of shooting, so nothing that hinders the lens too much. It was my only lens for about 1.5 years, and even now, with two other lenses in my kit, it still likely spends the most time on my camera than any of the other two. If your looking for one lens to cover all bases, this it the one for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

Excellent versatile lens

SEL24240 24 May 2017 by Dashy (United Kingdom)

A heavy lens with a good solid feel, I use it with my Sony a6500 camera. Slightly heavier than I would have liked but worth it for getting close to the subject. You can also take reasonable wide shots without changing the lens. So far I have not used a tripod with the lens and find the photos straight from the camera need very little sharpening if any. Glad Paul at UK Digital recommended I buy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0