FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM

Product Reviews

$2,729.00

(AUD inc. GST)
109

4.6 based on 109 customer reviews

84
15
3
3
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Outstanding

SEL2470GM 21 June 2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

Being in transition from Nikon to Sony; I was hoping to use the Commlite adaptor on my 24-70E f2.8 VR as it is an amazing lens. However, the adaptor proved next to useless, particularly as the recent upgrade excluded E lines!! So my 24-70 was sold as soon as I could obtain the GM. It is as good as and even better in certain ways. Where as the E had a 'thin' Leica style rendering; the GM has more contrast and depth, i.e.3D. It has a solid build, and does add considerable weight to the A7. Not as large or heavy as the Nikkon E. I don't use the AF freeze button as I back button focus, which makes a lot of the AF modes redundant. If your budget can stretch a bit this lens will cover a large chunk of your needs, with pleasure and style!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

49

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Mixed

SEL2470GM 10 March 2020 by Gresham (USA)

I’ve had this lens’s for less than a year (approximately 8 months) and was extremely excited when I got this lens. Initially, it was working just fine with out of focus images here and there, I attributed it to user error. However after 8 months of this being my primary lens I am still experiencing blurring images when attempting to capture both moving and still subjects. Not sure if I bought a dud when I purchased this lens or if the motor in the lens is malfunction and shifts my focus when I press the shutter release. This occurs on continuous AF and single shot AF on my A7rIII.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

109 Customer Reviews

0

SONY FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM

SEL2470GM 25 February 2021 by Nik Rodrigues (United Kingdom)

This is my first lens in the GM Series, I've only used it a few times, but the quality of the lens is outstanding, however I do own other Sony Lenses as well. This GM Lens can be used for the following: Video Food Real Estate 'Interior & Exterior' Weddings Landscapes Astro Headshots Events Sony has a lot of lenses for the type of work you do, but this one Sony 24-70mm F2.8 GM is one of the best lens you can have in your bag, that will cover the most type of work you're doing and/or something new that you wanna get into. This lens is a bit heavy, but I don't mind that at all, the only reason why I'm even mentioning it is because I use a Gimbal and would like other Gimbal users to know that, especially for the ones who are looking to buy this lens and are doing their research. This lens will work on a gimbal, but you'd have to decide at what focal length you're gonna be at, because you'd need to balance it. If you can afford it through finance, then you should. This lens won't disappoint you. I hope this review helps you in deciding if you should or shouldn't go for this lens, but once again this lens will cover the type of work you're currently doing at the moment. I've given this GM Lens a 10/10 Score. HAPPY SHOOTING :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Tack sharp, and clear

SEL2470GM 22 January 2021 by Zoltan the Magnificent (USA)

Bought it with my new A7RIV. Impressed with it from the first few shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great picture

SEL2470GM 20 January 2021 by Ulyssesf16 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens over one month ago, it was great and I would love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Love my 24-70 GM

SEL2470GM 15 January 2021 by Thibault_Portland (USA)

This lens is amazing. The optical quality is one of the best I've ever seen, and with such a fast lens you can get perfect portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High Quality...

SEL2470GM 11 January 2021 by Funkster (United Kingdom)

High Quality product that prior to lockdown I used in the studio where it provided excellent quality...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great versatile lens

SEL2470GM 02 December 2020  (USA)

I bought the lens a year ago and am very satisfied. Its my to go lens at any event

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to have connections problem

SEL2470GM 06 November 2020  (USA)

I brought it for little over a year. Only use few times. And it had problem with connecting to Camaro. Because it was over the warranty time. Cost me over 700 to repair it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Excellent lens

SEL2470GM 05 October 2020 by Sasimahapatra (United Kingdom)

Delighted and pleased to have purchased it.Looking forward to using it once the current restrictions were lifted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Extremely Sharp. Great contrast

SEL2470GM 23 September 2020 by lloyds3 (USA)

I could not be happier with the images from this lens. Sony, it's a real winner

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

F--- issue guarantee don't cover damage

SEL2470GM 21 July 2020 by Medeirosju (USA)

Got a lens brand new and thought at first that I didn't knew how to manage or work with the lens and put it aside while working in another projects. When I got the chance to try the lens again F--- F stop issue. Out-focus problem, which with a little research I identified, my friend who advice me to buy this lens had the same problem, but out of guarantee. Now the repair service is saying that my initial issue is "Package damage" and the problem with my out-focus came from that, they can't tell me if my camera got there in pieces or with any damage besides the one that was the reason that I put my lens to repair. So it feels pretty unfair, and not something to trust in Sony guarantee.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

The "one lens" to rule them all.

SEL2470GM 29 June 2020 by Grecco (USA)

I bought this lens over a year ago and it barely ever comes off my A7riii - I've done product shots, portraits, video, landscape, time-lapses, long exposures - you name it I've done it all with this lens. Photography is expensive and I get that the price tag is nothing to scoff at but if you're truly looking for that "do it all" lens this really can't be matched. The only minior complaint that I have with this lens is that is basically ruins the form factor of a mirrorless camera. It's very big and heavy and does not play nicely with most gimbal set ups

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Did not really like it unless Sony reply’s

SEL2470GM 05 June 2020  (USA)

I bought it a couple of weeks ago but not sure why did not like it ? I know I can use it with Sony a6600 but not sure if I can just shoot videos with my PXW-FS5M2 I know it isn’t supported for photos but is it supported for videos . I can’t get one lens that brings objects very close when zooming inn? I asked many people on YouTube and some gave me wrong information just wasted over $12K buying lenses where my last was a Sony FE PZ 28-155mm F4 G OSS but don’t know how to use it yet trying to learn how to set it up for video shooting and how to use it . Now I am trying to buy a 70-350mm hope this will bring objects close when zooming . I just don’t know where to get help ? But saw responds from Sony here so I’ve decided to post here hoping to hear from Sony .

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

34

0

Stunning Lens

SEL2470GM 24 March 2020 by Nigel01606 (United Kingdom)

Beautifully sharp images, edge-to-edge, even wide open at 2.8. Beautiful bokeh. Good resistance to lens flare. All-in-all, a fantastic lens if you’re a serious amateur who cares about their gear and wants the best image quality you can get in an all-in-one zoom lens, especially coupled with full-frame A7 series. The only down-side to the lens is it's big and heavy, so not the most ideal walk-about lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

9

0

Mixed

SEL2470GM 10 March 2020 by Gresham (USA)

I’ve had this lens’s for less than a year (approximately 8 months) and was extremely excited when I got this lens. Initially, it was working just fine with out of focus images here and there, I attributed it to user error. However after 8 months of this being my primary lens I am still experiencing blurring images when attempting to capture both moving and still subjects. Not sure if I bought a dud when I purchased this lens or if the motor in the lens is malfunction and shifts my focus when I press the shutter release. This occurs on continuous AF and single shot AF on my A7rIII.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb images

SEL2470GM 01 March 2020 by multimediamel (USA)

Been using it since Sept. 2018 Its my number one go to lens for weddings and events

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony GM 24-70 custom settings

SEL2470GM 02 February 2020 by Pedro 1205 (United Kingdom)

This is my 2nd of these lenses (first one was stolen in London), it is generally the one fitted most of the time to my A7R3, perfect all round lens, with precise sharp and rapid focus. I have custom set this focus hold on the lens to EYE AF, which better suits my work in portraites

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

18

0

Great feature

SEL2470GM 22 January 2020 by Xweza (United Kingdom)

Excellent quality...................................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Still clunky

SEL2470GM 01 January 2020 by Kkkkkeeev (United Kingdom)

Still very clunky after 20 year with canon, every thing is there it’s just a matter of finding it,, and the focus hit rate is better,,, and it’s little lighter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

46

5

0

Sharp

SEL2470GM 31 December 2019 by Leonid12345 (USA)

Great lens, Super Sharp, all around versatile! I use this for walk arounds and architecture! Best

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazingly Sharp

SEL2470GM 09 November 2019 by Daniel957 (USA)

I bought this lens before having a full frame camera, but thinking that I would replace my APS-C one as soon a as I could. Finally, I bought a 7RM4, and tried the lease in both cameras. I was surprised by the resolution extent given in my AOS-c, and completely astonished, when I used it on my 7RM4. The only cons I find is its weight and size. Anyway, they are justified once you see the results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Tack sharp!

SEL2470GM 05 November 2019 by Charlie679 (USA)

I just purchased the Sony alpha 7 R iii and the G series 24-70 zoom and this camera and lens combination has made a believer out of me for full-frame mirrorless platform. Hoping to switch completely to G-series lenses and the Sony platform.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic quality, very sharp

SEL2470GM 25 October 2019 by Chick49 (USA)

I replaced an older lens. The Sony is much better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL2470GM 25 October 2019 by jon01 (United Kingdom)

this is one of the best lenses i have had in all my years as a Photographer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great features

SEL2470GM 07 October 2019 by mdee1964 (United Kingdom)

Solid feel to the lens. Easy to use. Good quality in terms of sharpness. Quick to focus when used with Sony A7r iii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8