$1,298.00

(AUD inc. GST)
85

4.3 based on 85 customer reviews

49
22
10
2
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Superb quality lens that is sharp and well made

SEL2470Z 08 September 2018 by Iansky (United Kingdom)

This lens compliments the A7iii very well, it is an all metal lens with Carl Zeiss glass that delivers super sharp images in a size that compliments the camera and makes it an easy carry unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but not awesome.

SEL2470Z 26 September 2014 by AlfredoG (USA)

The quality is good but nothing out of this world. Lots of distorsion at 24mm (because it is a wide angle). My review would have been higher if the price would have been lower.

6

0

85 Customer Reviews

0

Smooth

SEL2470Z 16 September 2019 by Phil88 (USA)

This lens is tiny, sharp & with a super smooth zoom action!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good lens

SEL2470Z 02 August 2019 by borolr (United Kingdom)

Good lens but not as good as the G Master lenses..

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent but not perfect.

SEL2470Z 08 July 2019 by Yin008 (United Kingdom)

After using this lens for a few times, I find it's quality is amazing, with good contrast and smooth to use zooming operation also takes stunning photos . It is also light and not too large to carry as it's my reason to buy this good Zeiss lens. But there are compromise that distortion contribute to the edges of the frame from 24mm and colourisation is much more exaggerate. I have used Canon 24-70 f4 USM, as it simply oozes quality to beat this Zeiss in terms of clarity and quality if I have to choose. Overall I'm happy with it and will keep it because it's a Zeiss.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Early Days

SEL2470Z 15 April 2019 by notyet100 (United Kingdom)

Excellent Lens - Have yet to give it a proper test but so far Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good focal range, bad distortion

SEL2470Z 23 March 2019 by Chrismark1959 (United Kingdom)

I have been using this lens for several weeks and the results beyond 35mm have been good, clear and sharp. However, from 24mm to 35mm there has been some severe distortion which I have not been able to correct.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good, but could be better

SEL2470Z 17 February 2019 by Lorbizzzz (USA)

It's very sharp and it has very good auto-focus which makes it very useful for shooting with gimbal. It' also very robust. On the other hand it has very bad bokeh and also manual focus is almost impossible to use due to manual focus acceleration which can not be turned off.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quick and easy

SEL2470Z 03 February 2019 by Dickinson59 (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens . I have moved from nikon to Sony best decision I have made

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens for the price

SEL2470Z 24 January 2019 by altaf (USA)

I wanted to purchase 24-70mm F/2.8 lens which was out of my price range so I settled for this F4 lens and am very happy with its quality and constant F4 for action photography and or in low light situation, I have to use higher ISO due to faster shutter speed or low light but Sony's higher ISO & noise reduction is quite impressive. So having a F4 lens vs. F/2.8 isn't really a big deal and saving is enormous

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice Lens at a good price point

SEL2470Z 15 January 2019 by Heart of Chaos (USA)

Good lends for the money. Great clarity. As Always Sony makes great products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So far, so good.

SEL2470Z 20 December 2018 by idiot1 (United Kingdom)

Contrary to some reviews it functions well and is good value for money.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL2470Z 22 November 2018 by Brunobear (United Kingdom)

Only used a few weeks but fantastic results, focus fast and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL2470Z 05 November 2018 by PLST (United Kingdom)

Haven’t had a chance to give the lens a proper workout yet, but I can see from the test shots I’ve made so far that the lens is going to outperform me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb lens

SEL2470Z 15 October 2018 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens for about 3 months now. Right from the start it suited my purposes well. A very good walk about lens which covers my most used range 24-70. Its sharp! Very sharp! Centre is superb throughout the range, its a zoom so one has to expect some fall out toward the edge and corners, which in my opinion is acceptable. Not so great wide open, 4.5 starts to improve noticeably, 5.6 is my optimum for what I do, 8 slightly better again. I have found it to be very good around the 35mm, 50mm and approx 68mm. That said, 24 to 28 does a good job on my architectural shots, no complaints! Slow at f4 but, I don't do much low light stuff and if I do I crank the ISO up, deal with any noise in PS/LR and shrink the file slightly, job done, perfectly acceptable. Downsides, few. Expensive! Build quality ok, alloy outside plastics inside, don't like plastic! Bulky, but not necessarily heavy. Close to hitting the 5* but, I think for the money I would expect slightly better from a lens with the name Zeiss on it. Good all round lens. If you're getting into Sony full frame, I would say go for this lens as a starter, you are unlikely to be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb quality lens that is sharp and well made

SEL2470Z 08 September 2018 by Iansky (United Kingdom)

This lens compliments the A7iii very well, it is an all metal lens with Carl Zeiss glass that delivers super sharp images in a size that compliments the camera and makes it an easy carry unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

so clear

SEL2470Z 27 August 2018 by glynnejh (United Kingdom)

great lens shame about the cash back scheme it spoils it with all the rubbish you need to do to claim it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing!

SEL2470Z 06 July 2018 by FF78 (USA)

Excellent sharpness throughout the range, beautiful colors and fast AF! Love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL2470Z 23 June 2018 by LizzieO (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens about 2 years ago and have used it nearly all the time since then. It is a great lens and produces great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pretty good

SEL2470Z 19 June 2018 by Martsla (USA)

Coming from canon L glass quality is slightly inferior. But like the size and weight

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful colours, quality glass

SEL2470Z 19 June 2018 by Pete Lonsdale (United Kingdom)

Having moved over to a7 cameras completely this lens was the perfect choice between size, quality and price. I know the GM version is better but it’s much larger and pretty expensive! This lens hits the sweet spot for me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Review after 3yrs of use....

SEL2470Z 29 April 2018 by Brian1972 (USA)

I picked this lens up to match up with my A7ii for a travel camera as at the time I was driving across the United States. I use this lens for anything from portraits, smaller landscapes, photographing events, and for feature photos when I’m photographing properties. It’s been a great travel and all around lens that captures dimension very nice images. But... during my last event shoot I decided to shoot in Auto as it’s easier when trying to photograph a lot of people in a short period of time, I noticed a grinding type noise within the lens as the lens was trying to focus. I tried turning on/off my camera, firmware update, etc but nothing helped the noise and the focus hunting. I took the lens to a couple repair shops to compare repair costs and both places quoted me $300 just to take the lens apart and investigate with what I was told would most likely be a part in the focus mechanism that will need to be replaced. The total repair cost would be around $700-800. Well why would I pay that much when a new lens is a few hundred bucks more... And most importantly why is there an issue with my lens after a few years use when my other Sony/Zeiss lenses with the same amount of use do not have the same issue. Sounds like an assembly issue and there should have been a recall on them as I’ve read numerous other reviews with people having the same issue. And no I never dropped the lens and it lives in a heavily padded case when not in use or during transport.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Feels good on the A7 M2.

SEL2470Z 04 April 2018 by Seaton Carew (United Kingdom)

Would like to have bought the F2.8, two reasons i didn't expensive, and balance on the A7 m2 not good. Overall very pleased with the F4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Glass

SEL2470Z 03 April 2018 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom)

So glad I bought this lens over the 28-70. You get that little bit extra at the wide angle and the build quality is superb. Focusing is ultra fast and photos razor sharp particularly when stopped down a stop. This is my walk around lens of choice and complements my Sony a7 ii perfectly .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL2470Z 01 March 2018 by flyingal (United Kingdom)

I got this lens for closeup work. The quality is excellent. Zeiss lens is great, well made and images are sharp and crisp. Used with Sony A7II, it has a very smooth connection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

still doing the job

SEL2470Z 28 February 2018 by yorkey (USA)

I Bought this lens two weeks ago and had used it several times and formed an opinion that it is not an exceptional quality lens but it is half of the price of 2.8mm and still doing 80% of the job instead 50% it is.Good enough for candid photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1