$999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
118

4.3 based on 118 customer reviews

62
37
14
3
2
Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Glass

SEL2470Z 03 April 2018 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom)

So glad I bought this lens over the 28-70. You get that little bit extra at the wide angle and the build quality is superb. Focusing is ultra fast and photos razor sharp particularly when stopped down a stop. This is my walk around lens of choice and complements my Sony a7 ii perfectly .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but not awesome.

SEL2470Z 26 September 2014 by AlfredoG (USA)

The quality is good but nothing out of this world. Lots of distorsion at 24mm (because it is a wide angle). My review would have been higher if the price would have been lower.

7

0

118 Customer Reviews

0

Nice light lens, with very good image quality.

SEL2470Z 13 October 2021 by snerkler (United Kingdom)

I've seen a number of 'reviews' saying that this lens is really poor at the edges but either I've got a good example or they have improved the lens over the years as my copy is pretty good. There is some softness at the edges, which doesn't improve by stopping down, but it's not as bad as a lot of other lenses I've used (mainly Nikon F-mount and Olympus M-Zuiko). Overall I would rate image quality at 8/10. The design is nice and simple, with a nice smooth zoom ring. Weather sealing has been great so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens for the price

SEL2470Z AE 18 August 2021 by Jsengfoo (Malaysia)

This lens is recommended if you don't wanna get any Alpha series cameras with the kit lens. It is great as an a rounder, and something to use before upgrading.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The greatest Value Normal Zoom lens of FE

SEL2470Z 11 January 2021  (Thailand)

Best on everyday, that you're bore to carry many lens. This's the greatest value FE Normal Zoom; Zeiss (logo), weight, material, quality of image and price. :- ) F4 may not good in night time, but with new A7 model, ISO can help lots. Nothing to complain. I love it!! P.S. You can also sell your kit 28-70mm when you have this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

zeiss is always good

SEL2470Z 24 November 2020 by orpilot (USA)

At the time I got this I had three alpha bodies. The a99ii , a7iii, and a7Riii. The a7iii came with the 28-70mm kit lens. I had been using the Zeiss 24-70 F2.8 on my a99ii. I tired of switching back and forth with the A mount 24-70 on a LA-EA-4 adapter. I sold the 28-70 and purchased the Zeiss 24-70 F4 E-mount. zI would give the edge to the Zeiss f2.8 but the smaller and lighter f4 has advantages in size and weight. Unless I need the extra f-stops I normally use the f4 on either E-body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent photo

SEL2470Z AE 01 September 2020 by Mksampang58 (Singapore)

I have used and it’s excellent, I like to recommend to all my friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great Lens

SEL2470Z 09 August 2020 by balducci (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens last month just for portrait but I discovered this is the best general purpose lens ever used on A7RIII

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very High Quality Build, Sharp, Quick Auto Focus.

SEL2470Z 30 April 2020 by NeveStudios (USA)

I decided that f/2.8 was not necessary for my applications. I also like the size and weight of this lens. It feel very durable and I would compare it favorably to other brands higher end lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Impressive Quality Lens

SEL2470Z AE 01 March 2020 by Andrew_S (Malaysia)

One of the most practical and balanced Zeiss zooms around for the FE mount. The lens is a little soft around the edges at the wide-end (24mm) due to optical compromises, but otherwise renders colours and details worthy of its Zeiss badge. The zoom ring is smooth and the AF is near instantaneous. At 426 grams, the lens balances nicely with my small A7II full-frame body. Most of the alternatives with equivalent or larger apertures render the A7II too front-heavy. Pity that my first copy was defective out of the box (the AF motor squeaked), but Sony Malaysia has graciously replaced it with a working copy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

best lens results ever

SEL2470Z 24 February 2020 by abdala35 (United Kingdom)

Been with other manufacturers for years but this was the first opportunity to purchase this Vario -Tessar T lens .The quality of photo is so brilliantly noticeable no question that this is a great lens to own

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Lightweight zoom...

SEL2470Z AE 18 January 2020 by tntrue (Singapore)

A great option when traveling light is a necessity. Has great Zeiss colors and micro-contrast. Only negative is unsharp corners at the wide end. Stabilization is very effective at all focal lengths.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this lens. Sharp, great contrast!

SEL2470Z 06 January 2020  (USA)

I purchased this lens at Best Buy. I was reticent because I wanted the more expensive one. I figured it would be better than the kit lens I was using for the last few years. I am not disappointed. I will eventually get the more expensive one but this one does well for the price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Excellent lens

SEL2470Z 05 January 2020 by MaritimePics (United Kingdom)

Being a Canon DSLR user I thought I would give mirrorless a try. I recently purchased a Sony A7ii, battery grip & this lens all new, and for less than the price of a Canon R body. I haven't given the lens a proper full on test but so far the shots I have taken, I am very pleased with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

price

SEL2470Z AE 24 September 2019 by DOP Eddy (Malaysia)

i bought months ago ! due to price affordable and the quality of lense normal below abit !! the colour coating of lense not sharp and poor.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Smooth

SEL2470Z 16 September 2019 by Phil88 (USA)

This lens is tiny, sharp & with a super smooth zoom action!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great compact standard zoom.

SEL2470Z AE 29 August 2019 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

For my copy of this lens, it's able to have the sharpness increased with the smaller aperture. Decent corner to corner sharpnes. The build quality is of metal and feels premium, nice smooth turning when zooming and when using the focus ring. It is light weight and compliments well with the 16-35 F4 Zeiss. It's a keeper in my kit.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Image

SEL2470Z AE 27 August 2019 by syd_chow (Indonesia)

The images result from this lens are excellent for my

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good lens

SEL2470Z 02 August 2019 by borolr (United Kingdom)

Good lens but not as good as the G Master lenses..

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

0

Excellent but not perfect.

SEL2470Z 08 July 2019 by Yin008 (United Kingdom)

After using this lens for a few times, I find it's quality is amazing, with good contrast and smooth to use zooming operation also takes stunning photos . It is also light and not too large to carry as it's my reason to buy this good Zeiss lens. But there are compromise that distortion contribute to the edges of the frame from 24mm and colourisation is much more exaggerate. I have used Canon 24-70 f4 USM, as it simply oozes quality to beat this Zeiss in terms of clarity and quality if I have to choose. Overall I'm happy with it and will keep it because it's a Zeiss.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Wedding

SEL2470Z AE 08 May 2019 by dmsapr (Indonesia)

Nice lens with good images quality. wide until tele range is very nice.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Early Days

SEL2470Z 15 April 2019 by notyet100 (United Kingdom)

Excellent Lens - Have yet to give it a proper test but so far Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good focal range, bad distortion

SEL2470Z 23 March 2019 by Chrismark1959 (United Kingdom)

I have been using this lens for several weeks and the results beyond 35mm have been good, clear and sharp. However, from 24mm to 35mm there has been some severe distortion which I have not been able to correct.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Good, but could be better

SEL2470Z 17 February 2019 by Lorbizzzz (USA)

It's very sharp and it has very good auto-focus which makes it very useful for shooting with gimbal. It' also very robust. On the other hand it has very bad bokeh and also manual focus is almost impossible to use due to manual focus acceleration which can not be turned off.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Quick and easy

SEL2470Z 03 February 2019 by Dickinson59 (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens . I have moved from nikon to Sony best decision I have made

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great lens for the price

SEL2470Z 24 January 2019 by altaf (USA)

I wanted to purchase 24-70mm F/2.8 lens which was out of my price range so I settled for this F4 lens and am very happy with its quality and constant F4 for action photography and or in low light situation, I have to use higher ISO due to faster shutter speed or low light but Sony's higher ISO & noise reduction is quite impressive. So having a F4 lens vs. F/2.8 isn't really a big deal and saving is enormous

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0