$1,599.00

(AUD inc. GST)
70

4.3 based on 70 customer reviews

40
19
7
2
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Glass

SEL2470Z 03 April 2018 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom)

So glad I bought this lens over the 28-70. You get that little bit extra at the wide angle and the build quality is superb. Focusing is ultra fast and photos razor sharp particularly when stopped down a stop. This is my walk around lens of choice and complements my Sony a7 ii perfectly .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but not awesome.

SEL2470Z 26 September 2014 by AlfredoG (USA)

The quality is good but nothing out of this world. Lots of distorsion at 24mm (because it is a wide angle). My review would have been higher if the price would have been lower.

6

0

70 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing!

SEL2470Z 06 July 2018 by FF78 (USA)

Excellent sharpness throughout the range, beautiful colors and fast AF! Love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL2470Z 23 June 2018 by LizzieO (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens about 2 years ago and have used it nearly all the time since then. It is a great lens and produces great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty good

SEL2470Z 19 June 2018 by Martsla (USA)

Coming from canon L glass quality is slightly inferior. But like the size and weight

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful colours, quality glass

SEL2470Z 19 June 2018 by Pete Lonsdale (United Kingdom)

Having moved over to a7 cameras completely this lens was the perfect choice between size, quality and price. I know the GM version is better but it’s much larger and pretty expensive! This lens hits the sweet spot for me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Review after 3yrs of use....

SEL2470Z 29 April 2018 by Brian1972 (USA)

I picked this lens up to match up with my A7ii for a travel camera as at the time I was driving across the United States. I use this lens for anything from portraits, smaller landscapes, photographing events, and for feature photos when I’m photographing properties. It’s been a great travel and all around lens that captures dimension very nice images. But... during my last event shoot I decided to shoot in Auto as it’s easier when trying to photograph a lot of people in a short period of time, I noticed a grinding type noise within the lens as the lens was trying to focus. I tried turning on/off my camera, firmware update, etc but nothing helped the noise and the focus hunting. I took the lens to a couple repair shops to compare repair costs and both places quoted me $300 just to take the lens apart and investigate with what I was told would most likely be a part in the focus mechanism that will need to be replaced. The total repair cost would be around $700-800. Well why would I pay that much when a new lens is a few hundred bucks more... And most importantly why is there an issue with my lens after a few years use when my other Sony/Zeiss lenses with the same amount of use do not have the same issue. Sounds like an assembly issue and there should have been a recall on them as I’ve read numerous other reviews with people having the same issue. And no I never dropped the lens and it lives in a heavily padded case when not in use or during transport.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Feels good on the A7 M2.

SEL2470Z 04 April 2018 by Seaton Carew (United Kingdom)

Would like to have bought the F2.8, two reasons i didn't expensive, and balance on the A7 m2 not good. Overall very pleased with the F4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Glass

SEL2470Z 03 April 2018 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom)

So glad I bought this lens over the 28-70. You get that little bit extra at the wide angle and the build quality is superb. Focusing is ultra fast and photos razor sharp particularly when stopped down a stop. This is my walk around lens of choice and complements my Sony a7 ii perfectly .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL2470Z 01 March 2018 by flyingal (United Kingdom)

I got this lens for closeup work. The quality is excellent. Zeiss lens is great, well made and images are sharp and crisp. Used with Sony A7II, it has a very smooth connection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

still doing the job

SEL2470Z 28 February 2018 by yorkey (USA)

I Bought this lens two weeks ago and had used it several times and formed an opinion that it is not an exceptional quality lens but it is half of the price of 2.8mm and still doing 80% of the job instead 50% it is.Good enough for candid photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Compact and lightweight for an excellent lens.

SEL2470Z 08 February 2018 by Stoneyguy (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens very recently to pair with a new A7RII bought at the same time. I got them to reduce weight and enable me to carry around absolutely top quality kit when I don't want to be weighed down with other DSLR equipment. Combined with my FE 55 F1.8 ZA this is perfect combo for my needs and I can already see this will fast becoming my 'go to' kit for street, landscape and general photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Sony

SEL2470Z 13 November 2017 by Pedunki80 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product and haven't put it down it's the best purchase I made in a long time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Just OK

SEL2470Z 01 October 2017  (USA)

Bought this to replace the 16-55mm kit lens. I'm disappointed with the relatively small improvement for the cost. For a Zeiss lens I expected much better IQ compared to the kit lens- it is a modest improvement but should be much sharper especially in the corners.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Ziess glass

SEL2470Z 28 September 2017  (United Kingdom)

I have wanted some Zeiss glass for a long while and have been very please not only by the quality of the image but also the great design, it feel good in the hand and has a very smooth action

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Do "good copies" really exist?

SEL2470Z 24 September 2017 by Rick DS (USA)

I've returned or resold 4 copies before giving up. I would buy another instantly if I thought it might be as good as some tested on DXO and other websites - even or close. The lens is small, well built, and with excellent IQ in the center of the field at most apertures. 3 copies we too soft at the edges and corners for printing large at both ends of the zoom at all apertures. The 4th copy was noticeably better only in that the edges sharpened up a little at f8-11 at wide and telex settings. All brands of 24-70mm f2.8 lenses are significantly sharper across the field at all apertures. The distortion level is another story that may be of greater concern to some. Hopefully a lens maker will come up with a small standard zoom that lives up to the abilities of the A7r/A7rII cameras like they have with primes.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Average Lens

SEL2470Z 29 July 2017  (United Kingdom)

Expected this lens to be sharper. Am disappointed in the quality of the pictures I get from it. Paid a premium for a Zeiss badge!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

2

0

Versatile Standard Zoom Lens

SEL2470Z 22 July 2017 by ipollen (United Kingdom)

This is an ideal lens for travel photography as the focal lencth range of 24mm to 70mm will cover 80% of my needs. There are plenty of reviews out there complaining of poor image quality but I have not found this to be the case. I will say it is a little over priced but at present there are not many alternatives.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

A lens to go everywhere with.

SEL2470Z 03 July 2017 by anthony71571 (USA)

I bought this lens a couple of months ago to shoot a volleyball game out of a A6300. The results were great even under poor lighting. I did edit most of the pictures on Lightroom, but that's just more for artistic interpretation. Great lens and highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Awesome Lens

SEL2470Z 10 January 2017 by ac058 (USA)

This was the very first lens I bought for my Sony A7r. I've been using it constantly for the past 2 years and I have to say it's one of my favorites. The new 24-70 G master might be better but, for the price you can't beat the sharpness you get with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

0

Solidly Built

SEL2470Z 27 November 2016  (United Kingdom)

I bought this as part of a light weight solution for my outdoor photography, I cover some miles and need high quality but at a lighter weight. This along with the A7ii body has more than achieved this. Initially this was for test shooting and site surveying, it has now become the main camera for the shoot saving me a lot of back ache! Each opportunity it gets it shines.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

2

0

THE LENS THAT MADE A6000 more AWESOME !!!!!!!

SEL2470Z 15 November 2016 by dexdor (USA)

This lens brings out more detail..with the a6000 for me it's well balanced.. even when I need to use digital zoom pics are acceptable .hard to add photos to this review.. as the files are tooo big ...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Lens

SEL2470Z 11 August 2016 by A Rainy Night in England (United Kingdom)

Good to use although it would be nice if maximum aperture was f2.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

10

0

Great Lens

SEL2470Z 11 August 2016 by Jacquib (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens before going to India for a wedding...the lens performed great and the photos were precise, sharp with beautiful colours. Focus is easy and precise..love this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

3

0

Good for the money

SEL2470Z 02 May 2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

It's a delight to own, as a light weight moderately priced walk around travel zoom. Not as sharp as expected but good colour rendering. Not bothered about bokeh myself, but it can deliver in the right conditions. uf you want an 'ace' 24-70 go for the G.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Lens for Sony a7RII

SEL2470Z 02 April 2016 by Malky6 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens at the Photography show just over 1 week ago. Recommended by retailer. It has so far proved to be a great buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3