FE 24mm F1.4 GM

Product Reviews

$2,099.00

(AUD inc. GST)
33

4.7 based on 33 customer reviews

30
0
0
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

33 Customer Reviews

0

Believe the hype - brilliant lens

SEL24F14GM 14 October 2020 by STNT (United Kingdom)

There is nothing thing I can add that hasn’t already been said - this truly is a brilliant lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little lens

SEL24F14GM 26 September 2020 by MrJingles (United Kingdom)

Have only had the lens for about a month. Used it a couple of times on my A6500. very happy the sharpness and quality of the lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love this lens!

SEL24F14GM 26 July 2020  (USA)

Exceed expectations in all ways, this lens is super sharp, minimal distortion and literally I can't say anything negative. The weight, the feel, the look all surpass expectation and it's 1.4 ... it's priced perfectly as well, you get a lot of bang for the buck with this lens. All the high reviews are definitely justified, this makes me excited to save for another G Master to add to my growing lineup of lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

At Last!

SEL24F14GM 23 July 2020 by zaperture (USA)

I had been renting various lenses to find the perfect wide angle and decided on the 24mm. So happy I did. The clarity and F1.4 aperture give me the feel I am always looking for in my images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Disappointing in design

SEL24F14GM 21 May 2020 by mwalidt (USA)

Initially I was extremely excited to get my hands on this lens having read the various reviews and seeing footage/images taken using the 24mm 1.4 GM. However this lens, and it may be that I received a faulty lens from Sony, produces an unbearable rattling noise as you change aperture. I've tried adjusting it both manually and automatically yet this noise is persistent. After searching the issue up online I was directed to download and install both firmware updates for my Sony A7RIII body and 24mm 1.4 GM lens, which I did. But to no avail, the noise was persistent even after putting the Aperture to silent priority mode. I'm not sure if this is normal for this lens as none of my other lenses have this issue and work just fine. This is my first Sony lens, let alone my first G Master lens, purchase and I'm actually really disappointing. I would love to hear some input from anyone else on this matter/issue. I would especially value a response from a Sony representative as to whether this is normal for such an expensive lens. I've attached a video below of the issue. (Note: The camera is in Silent priority mode)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

SEL24F14GM 08 May 2020 by Telfer (Australia)

The word that come to mind when describing this 24mm G-Master lens is stunning & beautiful. It makes photos look slick. it has an expensive depth to the image. Focus and sharpness are both spot on. Definitely 5 Stars

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent Quality

SEL24F14GM 28 February 2020 by ThirdSelf Always (USA)

Images are very high quality, compensate the mediocre skill of amateur photographers like me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Incredible focus control, great lens.

SEL24F14GM 24 February 2020 by blackcat69 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a few weeks ago and the results are incredible with pinpoint focus accuracy and incredibly shallow depth of field at f1.4. Versatile lens, definitely recommend for anyone with a Sony A7R IV camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Light and bright 24 for the street

SEL24F14GM 16 February 2020 by JCK19 (USA)

Great lens on the A7R2 for the extra angle and compositions indoor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect Walking Around Lens

SEL24F14GM 09 February 2020 by dan0513 (USA)

I bought this lens a few months ago because I needed a high quality lens that was easy to travel with. I use this lens with my A7 M3 and it does not disappoint. It's lightweight and compact. I was surprised by the survivability of this lens. On more than one hike I've stumbled or dropped it and this lens has held up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Unbelievably sharp

SEL24F14GM 03 February 2020 by JoePhoto (United Kingdom)

After toying between this and a 16-35 I am very pleased with my choice. It’s the sharpest lens I’m yet to use and the 1.4 shallow depth is absolutely bokehlicious. It’s a beautifully crafted lens and feels good in the hand and on the camera. 16mm would sometimes be nice for landscapes but most of the time this is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Lens

SEL24F14GM 28 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

Fantastic lens, superb bokeh, fast autofocus.... but I just wish they would not take 60+ days to give me my £100 cash back (... I'm still waiting Sony...)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Astro and landscape lens

SEL24F14GM 20 January 2020 by Curtis2020 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to try out Astro and use as a walk around lens it’s really easy to get good shots and I’m sure with practise they will great shots there was a bit of focus issues at first but I think that was user error and now I use spot focusing I’m getting better results. Dust on the sensor ruined a lot of shots but that’s a full frame issue it seems

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Beautifully made lens, expensive, but superb

SEL24F14GM 07 January 2020 by WK reviews (United Kingdom)

I made the switch from an aging M43 Olympus OMD EM5 to the Sony A7iii recently and went through the whole deliberation of what lenses to purchase for it.. Coming from a M43 where my body + 3 lenses would only weigh roughly 1.7KG's in total (which is the reason I went M43 from a Canon DSLR) I didn't want to stray too far away from that sort of weight. I travel quite a bit from morning until night and weight is something I need to consider, this may differ from your needs though. I had three lenses (or three focal area's I'd like) in mind when purchasing my A7iii: This 24mm 1.4 GM (9cm long / 445g), Sony's 16-32 2.8 GM (12cm long / 680g) & Sony's 24-70 2.8 GM (13cm long / 886g) After much thought and research, I opted for the 24mm focal length due to this being my go to length according to my Lightroom Metadata statistics, as well as the weight/size differences between them all, not to also mention the additional 2 f-stops which I would need for low light shots. The 24mm came in at the shortest and lightest vs the other two zoom lenses, this is probably no surprise there. The 16-32mm was a close second and I spent a while umming and arring, though the price was another £700 odd extra, so I opted for this 24mm. After deciding the focal length I wanted, I looked at alternatives such as the Sigma 24mm 1.4 ART lens which was pretty much half the price of the Sony 24mm. After reading a ton of reviews, I felt the Sony came off as a better lens in terms of build quality, picture quality and the additional size/weight of the Sigma version (11.5cm long / 780g), that's an extra inch in length and 340g's more, which is 75~% heavier than the Sony 24mm, even more than the 16-32 2.8 lens I was considering. A decent comparison review of both lenses I found could be read at lightandmatter org and DPreviews had good user comments if that helps someone else in the same choice as myself. Enough about my personal sitational choice, and moving on to actual lens itself... Build quality is solid, for something that weighs only 445g it feels dense and well balanced. Mounted onto my A7iii, it has a nice weight to it, not too heavy at the front, though single handed shooting is still something I need to adjust to coming from a M43 body + lense which weighs around 600-700 grams. the A7iii and the 24mm weighs in roughly around 1.1KG in total, which is not too bad for a mid-high end body and lens. The lens features an aperature ring, many many reviews mention that the ring gets rotated during transport etc, though I haven't found that happening to myself (as of yet), I quite like having the aperture ring. There's a switch which allows you to transition from a clicky feedback to smooth ring rotation, great for videographers as it wont create noise/vibration when turning the aperture ring. Not something I would need, so I leave it on the click feedback so I can tell when I'm changing apertures if using the ring. There's also an A position on the ring to allow you to control the aperture via the camera body like you would normally do. Vignetting appears slightly when wide open, but not really noticable after f2 or so, not that big of a deal as it can be controlled post processing anyway. Center sharpness is exceptional and corner sharpness too is great across the image even at f1.4. Corner sharpness gets even better past f2.8 which amazes me even more so. Autofocus is super quick and accurate 99% of the times, though this may also be situational depending on your body, but on the A7iii it's a huge huge huge step up from my 7-8 year old OMD EM5. The bokeh is absolutely stunning, it features 11 aperture blades which create beautifully round circles which you may notice on lenses with 9 or less blades. Creates stunning creamy bokeh if that's what you're after, doesn't suffer from onion ring bokeh that the Sigma 24mm has a touch of. The filter thread required is 67mm, quite a standard across the Sony lenses. The lens comes with a nice little lens carry case, which is a nice touch, though given the amount you're spending for the GM lenses, it's about right. A well designed lens hood is also included, it has a nice release button you need to press in order to take it off, making it a bit more secure. Overall, yes it's an expensive lens, though if you're looking at the GM series of Sony lenses, you don't expect cheap. The overal quality, I feel personally, warrants the price. The Sigma is a great alternative and if pushed for money, I would have bought that instead and sacrificed on weight and size for money. Quite a long winded review, though hopefully this helps someone that was in the same situation as myself!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL24F14GM 04 January 2020 by Mckellar (United Kingdom)

I was a little hesitant when first buying this lens but since it’s arrival I’ve fallen in love, if that’s even possible! using for portraits and weddings. Using on a full frame camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

First Wide Angle Lens

SEL24F14GM 12 November 2019 by eldongeb (USA)

Extremely happy with this lens. I have shot indoors and out with the lens and it is sharp as a tack.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp, compact

SEL24F14GM 07 November 2019 by JamesL (United Kingdom)

Fantastic Sharp lens, compact size. I like the aperture ring on the lens with the ability to revert to using the thumb wheels by switching to A on the ring.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sharp,

SEL24F14GM 07 October 2019 by Malcey (United Kingdom)

Although I prefer a more long term usage before making judgments. All I can say for now is that this lens could probably be the best lens purchase I’ve ever made and I used a lot of premium lenses from most brands. Small and lightweight and so sharp wide open. Just buy it it’s just amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Brilliant

SEL24F14GM 29 September 2019 by Ninirockx (USA)

I borrowed this lens once. On the basis of great reviews. I shoot rockn roll concerts very often and wanted to try it out. I was absolutely excited and convinced. What a quality. Sharp from corner to corner, and that wide open. Even the drummer who is further away is clearly visible. It was clear I had to buy it. I'm a fan of the G-master lenses and that's my first prime lens. The quality is brilliant!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best investment

SEL24F14GM 08 August 2019 by kenny2000 (USA)

G Master lenses are expensive but rightly so. This beast is sharp and extremely lightweight so travel and walk-arounds is less stressful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Astrophotography Use

SEL24F14GM 27 July 2019 by gpsranger (United Kingdom)

Used for astrophotography on my A7s incredible photographs my best ever for detail and pin point stars also used it for a few snapshots on my A6300 again very good clear clean photographs

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Outstanding for landscapes and astrophotography

SEL24F14GM 20 May 2019 by Loic Reunion (USA)

I am an astrophotographer in Reunion Island, and own many f1.4 or f1.8 primes of other brands, from 14 to 50 mm range. The first time I made a photo with this lens (of course it was at night and at f1.4 ) I was simply shocked by the sharpness of the image, even in the corners. Pinpoint stars everywhere, even in the corners, moonlit landscapes perfectly rendered and tack sharp at f1.4. Just couldn't think this would be possible one day... Definitely a new standard for fast wide angle prime lenses and by far the best wide angle astro lens I own. Just hope now it will soon have fast G Master sisters like this in the 15-50 mm range for night photography and landscape photography in general !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Brilliant lens does everything I expected.

SEL24F14GM 16 May 2019 by Nick_B (USA)

Still getting used to the lens in terms of composition at 24mm. But brilliant sharpness, bokeh with good colour and contrast. Sometimes knock the aperture ring, but now aware, it's not a problem, cant fault it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Nice travel prime.

SEL24F14GM 10 April 2019 by Amateur Sketch (USA)

Recently used this lens on a trip in se Asia. This lens is sharp and performed superbly in low light. The only lens I brought on my trip. Size and weight of the lens is a positive for travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0