E 30MM F3.5 MACRO

Product Reviews

$399.00

(AUD inc. GST)
26

4.6 based on 26 customer reviews

18
6
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

economic wonder

SEL30M35 03 May 2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom)

Having recently moved from a heavyweight major brand to a lightweight Sony mirrorless camera, I have purchased the Sony E30mm F3.5 macro intending to see how good the macro facility was, as I have done quite a bit of such work in the past. The macro is very good (see the attached crop of a bee) but also the general usage is excellent. It is now my attached lens for walkabouts because the clarity and resolution appear to at least equal to my other walkabout Sony Zeiss zoom which does not have the macro function. The only snag I have experienced is the nearness required for animated subjects which usually ends up with a blank subject (but not always..!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

30mm Macro win NEX-7

SEL30M35 08 April 2012 by ReporterPorter (USA)

I’ve used a Canon 100mm macro lens and the Sony 50mm macro lens for many photos; this lens does not have the image quality of either of those two lenses. The borders are particularly soft on my NEX-7. And yet, I’ve used and enjoyed this lens plenty in the last month. It’s the overall package of the lens and camera that make for a winning combination. The 30mm lens allows for exceptionally close focusing, while the NEX-7 lets one get down low to the ground for photos of spring wild flowers and such. The new perspectives afforded by the small package size has been somewhat of a revelation for me. If Sony ever improves the image quality of the 30mm lens to the quality of my other macro lenses then this lens would be worth more than 5 stars.

32

15

26 Customer Reviews

0

On the Sony a6300, a wonderful lens

SEL30M35 10 July 2018 by Outdoorman (USA)

Bought this lens several months ago to use on my a6300. Great results--sharp subjects, wonderful bokeh. Not just a macro lens, but also a nice walk-about one too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens fo jewelry photography

SEL30M35 30 June 2018 by 1bwana1 (USA)

Great size, easy to use. This lens produces very sharp images, and the focal length gives a decent depth of field for my primary use of gemstone, and jewelry photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Standard macro

SEL30M35 03 January 2018 by sgfj (United Kingdom)

Generally good, however using the lens hood with a filter is virtually impossible due to the fit of the hood - if this was not a problem, I'd have given the lens 4 stars.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Love this macro

SEL30M35 17 September 2017  (USA)

Haven't had a true macro before, and some are saying this is to short to be considered a true macro but it focuses so close that even at this short 30 mm (35mm equivalent to 45mm with APS-C sensor in my a6000) I can see pollen grains, so whats the issue! Fabulous resolution! Haven't worried about edge to edge but getting great stuff with florals and insects

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great macro lens

SEL30M35 05 September 2017  (USA)

I've been using this lens for ca. 2 years already, mostly underwater. The pictures are extremely sharp and I actually adore it. I really like the focal distance - 30 mm, thus I'm not also able to make nice pictures of small critters, but also film some average size animals.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great macro lens that doubles as a standard

SEL30M35 19 July 2017 by SteveB1959 (United Kingdom)

I've had this over a year and it's brilliant for all types of close up or landscape with my a6000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

This is a good lens

SEL30M35 19 July 2017 by Nyoongen7 (USA)

This is original file Im just try to use this lens to hunting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens for the price

SEL30M35 21 June 2017 by luke72 (USA)

I am just an amateur when it comes to photography, but I have really enjoyed using this lens for closeups of flowers, insects, etc. I love just how close I can get and still get a great looking picture. On the flip side, I've even used this lens for portraits with great results. The photos I've included are some of my favorites as a beginner. Only the first two photos have had some minor enhancing done in editing. The others are JPEGs straight from the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great value but not a perfect macro

SEL30M35 06 June 2017 by Krav (USA)

Pros: Affordable Sharp center Good as an allrounder Cons: Too wide for a macro (limits use to non moving subjects) Soft corners Ugly appearance

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Good value macro

SEL30M35 18 July 2016 by deegee2006 (United Kingdom)

First tests suggest it does a good job at a realistic price. Works well with the A6000

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Nice little macro lens

SEL30M35 20 September 2015 by Norbee (United Kingdom)

It's an affordable yet quality built macro lens, perfect for close up pics and videos. Using it with Sony A7S I'm happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Value for money

SEL30M35 14 July 2015 by DavidH6269 (United Kingdom)

I bought this for my daughter a month ago and she is so pleased, it is great value for money. The lens takes amazing, crisp photos. After you have taken a photo, when you zoom in the picture is just as crisp as when you were zoomed out. It is worth the money, she is so pleased with the lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Light weight

SEL30M35 15 June 2015 by grandkids6 (United Kingdom)

Have been using the lens for almost two weeks mainly for botanical close ups. Brilliant. Works so well with my Sony a6000. The best macro lens I have ever used.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

economic wonder

SEL30M35 03 May 2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom)

Having recently moved from a heavyweight major brand to a lightweight Sony mirrorless camera, I have purchased the Sony E30mm F3.5 macro intending to see how good the macro facility was, as I have done quite a bit of such work in the past. The macro is very good (see the attached crop of a bee) but also the general usage is excellent. It is now my attached lens for walkabouts because the clarity and resolution appear to at least equal to my other walkabout Sony Zeiss zoom which does not have the macro function. The only snag I have experienced is the nearness required for animated subjects which usually ends up with a blank subject (but not always..!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

0

0

SEL30M35

SEL30M35 18 March 2015 by Macca (Australia)

I purchased this lens in order to perform miniature photography and film recording. I am using mostly it with a basic a3500, but even on that camera it performs excellently. I have been able to take clear footage of the tiniest details, and the film footage is excellent. The only downside to the lens is that movement tends to blur and once dialed in the focal range is quite small, meaning objects can quickly become blurry in the background. This is an excellent macro lens, and I could not recommend it more highly.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great Macro Lens

SEL30M35 29 September 2014 by scatrdj (Australia)

Love this lens, it is a very good macro lens, and great as a fixed focal length lens too. I have used it for both, and never been disappointed with the results. There is one feature lacking, that is OSS (Optical Steady Shot), for which I have marked it down by one star. That said I would happily recommend it.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great thing, nice to use

SEL30M35 12 September 2014 by Dalia G (United Kingdom)

It's a great macro lens. Great quality of photos, it's also sharp. I'm happy that it's also quite small, so doesn't make any problems often carrying it with me. The only drawback that I know is slow autofocus. And often when I want to focus on something rather small it doesn't get it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

0

Great Camera for Aspiring Photographers

SEL30M35 14 December 2013 by TheMortallyWounded (USA)

I purchased the Alpha A3000 on a whim, after having looked at it for some time and imagining the possibilities. I've been hoping to find an inexpensive camera to do some long-exposure photography, and this baby has impressed me immensely. It may not be a high-end Nikon or Canon, but the quality of the photos is very impressive and I think the final product will rival most professionals. With that in mind, this is NOT a professional camera. You may be able to attach it to some very, very nice lenses, but it is still a high-quality entry level unit. The features are kept to a minimum but it has some interesting creative options, stuff that you can do better with the right software on your PC. For me though, it's all I could want in a camera for now.

4

22

0

The next level

SEL30M35 12 September 2013 by Teamdeez (USA)

I always wanted a macro lens and had tried out reverse rings in the past. The experience with this lens blows them away and is totally worth it... Does well as a prime portrait too. I use this with the NEX 3n

13

1

0

An entirely satisfactory purchase

SEL30M35 03 February 2013 by LFMichael (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens with a pretty good idea what to expect. It was bought for my Sony Nex-3 camera; and I had already been using several Pentax 35mm film lenses with an adaptor, including a 28mm (non-macro) lens and a classic 50mm macro lens. I don't like zoom lenses. This lens is entirely satisfactory, in particular as the camera can be set to manual focus if necessary. With a tripod, macro photography is successful with this combination. The lens also works well as a slightly long standard lens. The integral/removable lens hood is fine; and both it and the lens itself accommodate 49mm filters. For anyone who owns one of the Nex series cameras, I happily recommend this lens.

Taken from tesco.com

0

0

0

A great macro lens

SEL30M35 31 January 2013 by Roohalla (United Kingdom)

Advantages: High quality photos, as with most Sony lenses. Small, and convenient. Comes with a special hood. Disadvantages: Not a very bright lens. In other words, the maximum aperture is not big. To get a 1:1 magnification you would need to put the lens just few millimetres away from the subject. Not very suitable for photographing small living creatures, since the focal length is only 30mm.

Taken from tesco.com

0

0

0

30mm Macro win NEX-7

SEL30M35 08 April 2012 by ReporterPorter (USA)

I’ve used a Canon 100mm macro lens and the Sony 50mm macro lens for many photos; this lens does not have the image quality of either of those two lenses. The borders are particularly soft on my NEX-7. And yet, I’ve used and enjoyed this lens plenty in the last month. It’s the overall package of the lens and camera that make for a winning combination. The 30mm lens allows for exceptionally close focusing, while the NEX-7 lets one get down low to the ground for photos of spring wild flowers and such. The new perspectives afforded by the small package size has been somewhat of a revelation for me. If Sony ever improves the image quality of the 30mm lens to the quality of my other macro lenses then this lens would be worth more than 5 stars.

32

15

0

A macro Lens I love

SEL30M35 27 February 2012  (USA)

There isn't a moment I love using this lens :) I took a picture of this fern in the process of unrolling. This is a macro lens you can't pass up with the nex-5n :) - Armando

23

7

0

Swell

SEL30M35 25 February 2012 by DalekSec (USA)

I really enjoy this lens, I have been using it on my VG10 to take head-shots and the results are stunning. The images come out nice and are easily editable in photoshop if I want to remove/change the background or touch-up the subjects.

6

1