E 35MM F1.8 OSS

Product Reviews

$599.00

(AUD inc. GST)
23

4.7 based on 23 customer reviews

16
6
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23 Customer Reviews

0

Good lens, but could be better

SEL35F18 25 January 2018 by Jae1526 (USA)

This is a good lens, but I think it is overpriced. I bought this lens and it is a good quality lens good for video and photos. I find it better for video than photos because this lens can be a bit soft (might just be my copy don’t have another lens to compare it to). If I were to rate the sharpness out of 10 I’d give it a 7-7.5 depending on the circumstances. It is a good focal length for walking around, especially for street photography. It is a fast lens that creates creamy bokeh and has quick AF. The lens is a little bigger than the kit lens so it is compact and does not take up much room. Good size I would say. It is overpriced in my opinion, but for the money you are getting a compact small lens, good focal length, fast aperture for good bokeh, and OSS.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great starter lens

SEL35F18 06 December 2017 by foodiepicsarebest (USA)

As someone who is new at photography, this lens provides a great experience as a first lens. Its better than the starter kit one and worth the money if you want something better than the default.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent

SEL35F18 05 December 2017 by MalckyB47 (United Kingdom)

This is my first prime lens, why oh why didn’t I buy it sooner. Excellent quality lens, Sharp and brilliant Bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Small - Simple and Effective

SEL35F18 01 November 2017 by MorganUK (United Kingdom)

Only a dabbler in photography but having this 35mm lens on a crop body sensor camera gives me a 1:1 with what I see. I did think of the 50mm Prime but as an indoor / general walk about lens this 35mm is small enough and gives great detail. Using it indoors is superb as it offers more than the 50mm for my needs.Works well with the A6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best native prime

SEL35F18 06 June 2017 by Krav (USA)

Pros: Small & light Easy to use focal length Excellent image quality Great in low light No distortion Fast focusing & start-up Cons: May hunt for focus if the area is too dim (low contrast), but that's probably the camera's fault (A6000)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Crisp and clear lens!

SEL35F18 13 October 2016 by Antgermer (USA)

Bought this to take pictures at my niece quince few months ago. Got really great pics of the event and was a great complement to my a6000!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great photos from a small body

SEL35F18 05 September 2016 by A S Ranjan (United Kingdom)

Pros, Small lens with OSS, big enough aperture, nice bokeh, sharp photos when subject are near. Cons. I wish it was 30mm, also wish it was sharper when subject are further away, slightly high price. But, still the best lens I have and I will surely recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great fast focus

SEL35F18 17 April 2016 by No Nick (United Kingdom)

Really pleased with the product. Its 52mm equivalent on 35mm film camera has taken be back to my original Olympus with 50mm lens, and I am enjoying moving my feet to get great shots! Fast focus and lots of light in the lens is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

The most used prime lens in my set

SEL35F18 01 September 2015  (United Kingdom)

I really appreciate the compact design and solid build of this lens. Its combo with an a5000 can easily fit into a jacket pocket. The image quality is great overall. SEL35f18 features remarkable sharpness and clarity. The only negative about it are noticeable axial chromatic aberrations which are visible at maximum aperture as green edges around high-contrast objects behind the focus point and magenta edges in front of it. Most of the time you won't notice this on portraits, but you should keep this in mind when shooting wide open under bright light. P.S. to sony.co.uk team: please note that the MTF charts on this page http://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/camera-lenses/sel35f18 belong to the SELP1650 power zoom, not the 35mm prime.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

4

0

Excellent Definition

SEL35F18 21 June 2015  (United Kingdom)

This lens is a bit of a luxury. I was able to justify it when my SELP1560 was mugged and I needed a lens in Japan. It gets rave reviews and I am not disappointed. I have added one photo chosen at random that shows the results hand held at f1.8 and 1/60sec.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

24

0

0

Just what I wanted

SEL35F18 03 June 2015 by 2808drp (United Kingdom)

I wanted a sharp lens with a similar view to the natural eye which was small and light but gave a sharp image. This one meets all requirements, it's a great lens for those dark places and when you want to be unatrusive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

0

Amazingly sharp and fast

SEL35F18 29 January 2015 by RedDay (Australia)

This lens is sharp, small, and fast. It is amazingly versatile, for taking portraits that pop, with amazing bokeh, and even in low light, this is perfect. For those with the a6000, it is also compatible with the fast hybrid autofocus, so is a must have lens. Main thing to consider when getting this, is the field of view can be slightly too narrow to use indoors, or when taking landscapes (equivalent to 52.5mm), so it's not the lens to end all lenses, but is definitely one to complement a wider lens.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great for portrait work

SEL35F18 24 November 2014 by el gringo (United Kingdom)

Recent convert to E mount with the twin lens a6000 kit (16-50 and 55-210 lenses) these can take good quality images, but the 35mm f1.8 really nails it for sharpness and low light work. Would ideally like to see a shorter design however it's not a big problem..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

This lens is GLUED on to my a6000

SEL35F18 28 October 2014 by andrew714oc (USA)

Awesome lens and a huge upgrade from the standard 16-50mm kit lens that comes with the a6000. Being a prime you can't zoom in but the amount of light this thing is able to get fr that wide f1.8 aperture is insane! Again, comparing this to the kit lens, it's like night and day. Kit at 35mm is f5.6 vs f1.8. That alone is a huge difference. Very sharp as well, great color rendition and looks and feels great - doesn't matter parts of it are plastic, it's good quality. Also with the optical steady shot (OSS), this thing is the real deal. It is pretty pricey, specially comparing it to the 50mm f1.8 prime (which is just as amazing) but as I understand it, the 35mm is more complex with more glass elements which is harder to make etc. I think it's worth the money. I thought about off brands which are half the price, but you lose the OSS and it's not as fast and bright. So overall great lens, go buy one for your a6000 or any NEX camera and see the difference/improvements! If you have any questions for me just comment on my review and I'll try to get back to you. ps attached is a sample pic that were taken with my a6000, shot in FINE jpeg mode and was not post processed.

64

3

0

Great for a beginner wanting to try new lenses.

SEL35F18 19 October 2014 by justin91 (Australia)

After owning a nex-6 (my first proper camera) for a few months, I decided it was time to add a lens to my collection. I knew that I wanted a fixed focal length lens that could be used in many situations. I decided on the SEL35F18 after reading positive reviews and recommendations on online forums. The SEL35F18 has exceeded all my expectations. The large aperture (F1.8) allows for nice bokeh when wide open. The 35mm focal length is equivalent to 50mm on a full frame sensor. This makes it very versatile as a street shooting lens - not too wide and not too long. Autofocus speed is great and images turn out nice and sharp. The lens is well packaged and comes with a hood in the box. I would highly recommend this as a first lens to other beginners looking to expand their photography skills.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

If you only buy one lens make sure its this one!

SEL35F18 01 September 2014 by mifn21 (United Kingdom)

I bought this along with an A6000, and am very impressed with the build quality as well as the images. AF is very quick, and OSS is a major bonus. The bokeh at 1.8 is pretty creamy too

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

This is a worthy lens

SEL35F18 03 May 2014 by TerryMcKenna (USA)

Now that I have a zoom kit lens, zoom telephoto and wide angle, I started to consider prime lenses. I tried this one (and the 50mm Sony lens). The f1.8 is useful. And the limit to one focal length is helpful in that it forces me to frame shot. The quality is excellent. And yes, I am aware of off brand 30mm lenses for half the price. Still, I am enjoying this one.

13

2

0

Great lens, but questionably spendy

SEL35F18 16 September 2013 by Village3602 (USA)

I bought this lens based on the reviews, and it is no doubt one of the best lenses I've ever owned. Very sharp and has an almost ideal focal length for the NEX. The autofocus is a little slow in lower light, and I'm more dependent on continuous AF than other lenses. While the lens is generally amazing, I think it is only marginally better than other lenses that cost much less, including the Sigma 30 (though it doesn't have OSS). In my opinion, it is not as good as the SEL 50 1.8, which costs less as well. Granted, the 35mm focal length has a different "look", but you have to question the price difference compared to the 50. In all, it is the essential prime for the NEX (IMO) and it stays attached to my NEX 6 almost all of the time, which says something.

34

2

0

Clear , Crisp and alright!

SEL35F18 29 July 2013 by RalphNJ (USA)

Got this lens last April 2013 and so impressed with the quality of the pictures I had taken. Lens was so quick to focus and shots were so crisp. Low -light shots for indoors is now less of a problem.

20

1

0

Sony Prime Lens

SEL35F18 26 January 2013 by Bigd66 (United Kingdom)

I also have the 50mm F1.8 & the 85mm F2.8, this 35mm lens IS easily the better lens, it comes with a good sized hood, is sharp wide open & more useable for wider angle shots, if I had to make a choice of which 2 to get rid of the 35mm would'nt be it. In short; it's fast, sharp & excellent value for money.

Taken from tesco.com

0

0

0

High price, average performance.

SEL35F18 23 January 2013 by randyh360 (USA)

This lens is just average. The Sigma 30mm is sharper at f2.8, and at nearly a third the price it's a much better value. If you can do without the extra stop and image stabilization, skip this one until the price comes down (if it ever does). Additionally, I think the color of the lens is ugly. It's somewhat shiny so it doesn't really match the matte finish of any of the black NEX bodies. You end up with a shiny black lens, silver lens mount, and a matte black body. Ugly. And if you have a camera body that isn't black it just looks ridiculous. Why did they start making lenses that only come in black while still releasing different color bodies with a silver lens mount? It doesn't make any sense at all.

27

89

0

with VG-20

SEL35F18 11 October 2012 by serhat (USA)

can i use this lens with my vg20? vg20 is not on the compatible cameras list

3

156

0

correction of title / description

SEL35F18 12 September 2012 by Snappur (USA)

The editor made a mistake. This is a 35mm lens. With a so-called crop factor of 1.51 it may be compared to a 52.5mm lens on a full-frame camera, but nevertheless this is a 35mm lens.

32

73