$799.00

(AUD inc. GST)
54

4.9 based on 54 customer reviews

48
5
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

54 Customer Reviews

0

Small and light

SEL35F28Z 01 August 2019 by Sucofni (United Kingdom)

Definitely my go to lens. You can keep all the big aperture lenses. I can be bothered taking my A7iii and this lens everywhere and anywhere.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb lens

SEL35F28Z 03 June 2019 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

I am particularly fond of 35mm lenses, they just suit what I do. A 35 and 85 are pretty much all I need. This lens is really good, sharp all the way through, although I don't tend to use it below 5.6. Light weight, easy to carry. When I'm feeling lazy and I just want a light, fast, simple set up for street type use, this lens on my A7iii is all I need, or want! As to whether the peculiar lens hood supplied with the lens does any good is debatable. I use it because it came with the lens, it hasn't caused me any problems and at least provides an unobtrusive solution. Good lens, highly recommended for anyone into street work. Price, a little bit heavy, but...........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Fantastic little lens

SEL35F28Z 22 April 2019 by Adi13 (Australia)

Bought it a month back and have used it few times. The sharpness, clarity are phenomenal for a lens this size. If you have a Sony full frame this is perfect companion. The colours straight out of camera are phenomenal. Just buy it ...

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Somnath T FE 35mm F2.8ZA

SEL35F28Z 18 March 2019 by helendee1408 (United Kingdom)

One of the first prime lens I purchased this so far I have been super impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL35F28Z 01 March 2019 by Guttersnapper (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for street work mainly but it hardly leaves the camera as I like to use it for portraits as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

What a Banger!

SEL35F28Z 28 February 2019 by MidweSteve (USA)

What a banger! I wish all primes were this good and this small. It's 35mm, so I don't care if it doesn't open up to 1.4 and neither should you, unless your goal is to impress people on Y**Tube. 2.8 is thin enough for most things that it's worth the tradeoff not to have a family-size can of soup sticking off the front of your camera. The *retail* price is a little high, but within the field of 35mm prime options, I think it was worth it. I just wish every lens came with a programmable focus hold button on the side. I know it's too much to ask, but seriously.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Good in parts

SEL35F28Z 16 February 2019 by Darkwright (United Kingdom)

A reasonable 35mm lens - but f2.8 is a little slow for a fixed focal length 35mm. Performance is reasonable but not outstanding. The external finish is fragile and scuffs easily. For the price this is slightly disappointing. I bought this for the compact size - which is the best feature of this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect - Great Street Photography and Much More

SEL35F28Z 06 January 2019 by JRHJohn47 (USA)

Equipped with my A7R III, I simply do not need an F-Stop lower unless I need more bokeh that a smaller aperture would offer for portrait photography with a 35mm lens. The bokeh on this lens is great for portraits. My typical day time street photography is usually done at a range of 4.0 to 8.0 and this lens is a beast such that a 2.8 F-Stop is just fine. An aperture of 1.4 or 1.8 on the 35 mm prime lens is much larger and would not accommodate my particular needs for size. The low light performance on my A7R III is spectacular as well as my older A7 using this 35 mm lens. I can toss this into my backpack being my go to lens for landscape and casual portrait photography. I use a 50mm or 85mm at 1.8 F-stop for posed portraits but usually I do more street photography, landscapes, and family candid shots such that the 35mm 2.8 works better for my needs with great resolution detail. A great overall lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Must have for Sony FF mirrorless camera owners

SEL35F28Z 03 January 2019 by lawphotog (United Kingdom)

I bought this days after I got my A73. this is my first lens for this body apart from the kit lens. I now own a few other Sony lenses for different purpose but this lens always stay on the camera. Good for travel and street photography. I have done landscapes and portraits too. As Martin Parr said, if i need to live with one lens for the rest of my life, it would be 35mm. The optics quality of Zeiss glasses needless to say, it's outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Nice all around lens

SEL35F28Z 09 November 2018 by PDYF (USA)

Lightweight, fast autofocus, an ideal travel lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and very sharp

SEL35F28Z 20 October 2018 by Dylthedog (United Kingdom)

I bought into Sony full-frame for something smaller than DSLRs deliver, and if you did the same, this lens is a gem. It's very sharp wide-open, and while f2.8 isn't a huge max aperture, you'll love the size and build quality. When fitted on my A7R3, it makes it a neat, compact package that is easy to take out on a social event when you want the best quality. It also makes a perfect travel companion to the FE 24-105 G OSS for when you don't want the weight. The lens hood seems odd to start with, but it works very well indeed, and it's easy to remove to get the true pancake size. I'm a little disappointed it didn't come with a lens bag, but this is by no means a deal-breaker (just a bit mean IMHO). I've been amazed at the colour rendition and sharpness, and while you can't quite get the separation that f1.8 or 2.0 would deliver, the size more than makes up for that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfection

SEL35F28Z 13 July 2018 by WattyG (United Kingdom)

The quality of this lens is exceptional. Crazy sharp, compact, light and looks great on the Sony A7ii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Small and might (sharp)!

SEL35F28Z 01 June 2018 by Canadapt (USA)

This has become my favourite Sony full-frame lens ... 35mm is a sweet spot for many genres of photography and this is a great 35mm among many others that are available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small, light and sharp.

SEL35F28Z 30 May 2018 by New Wave (United Kingdom)

This lens brings the compact A9 alive making a discete light combo but with ecellent IQ and resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My most used lens!

SEL35F28Z 21 March 2018 by Smalls (Australia)

This was the first lens I bought for my A7S2 and remains my most used lens. It's compact and has a nice weight to it making it perfect for gimbal use and light traveling. The build is solid, focus ring is super smooth and you can feel an overall quality to the lens. The image is super sharp even at higher apertures. A quality FF Prime

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great clarity for the money

SEL35F28Z 23 October 2017 by RedPea (USA)

Not the fastest but still very sharp. Made for a very compact high grade camera to take on vacation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens for the A6500.

SEL35F28Z 07 September 2017 by Sowellraider (USA)

Bought this lens when I purchased my A6000. Works great on the crop sensor. Almost I repeat almost a 50mm lens with the crop. But it's not. But almost. Looks great is very small. Great travel lens. Now I've upgraded to the A6500 and wow even better photos. Love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Crazy Sharp and So Compact & Discrete

SEL35F28Z 06 September 2017 by James99 (Australia)

The 1st Lens I purchased along with the 55 1.8 and this lens remains mounted permanently on my A7rII as the preferred default, the value and size of this Lens make it a hidden Gem and MUST be considered a nessesary part of your kit. It's possibly my most used when out and about. It's crazy sharp with stunning detail. You cannot be without this compact beauty. The $ value for speed f2.8 and sharpness is WOW.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great prime lens very sharp

SEL35F28Z 18 April 2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens only for 2 weeks but I was immediately impressed by the quality of images it produces - it's very satisfying to use. In addition, it is a small lens so, when mounted on my Sony A7r, it's no bigger than a lot of micro four thirds kit but with full frame and high resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Always wanted this lens

SEL35F28Z 07 April 2017 by MarkyM38 (United Kingdom)

As I am sure many owners know,when I purchased my A7R 3 years ago, this and the 55mm were the initial 2 lens releases. I got the 55mm first and it was/is a fantastic gem of a lens.Was not really impressed with the 2.8 aperture on this 35mm and thought I would hold out for a f2 or 1.4. These have come out but are HUGE (especially the latter one of course). And I kept seeing plenty of happy reviews about this lens so after 3 years decided to bit the bullet. Should not have worried. It is a beautifully small lens that fits the ethos of the compact A7R perfectly. It focuses silently and quickly but does not always lock on as quickly as my other lenses (hence the missing star). Surprisingly sharp also, and bokeh is ok at 2.8. It is so light and small you can carry the A7R and lens in a not very large coat pocket!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great in low light

SEL35F28Z 06 April 2017 by MPount (United Kingdom)

Been using this lens a few weeks now, and attached to my A7Rii is super fast in AF, and superb in low light conditions in an auditorium where I can't use flash, this lens gives me pin sharp images that I need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Product

SEL35F28Z 04 October 2016 by Sibs21 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic quality lens, offering stunning picture quality. Great for travelling compared to the larger lenses often provided alongside. A little expensive so do shop around for the best possible price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

35mm Zeiss Sonnar 35mm

SEL35F28Z 18 August 2016  (United Kingdom)

Really happy with the quality of this lens, although I'm disappointed because it the lens is not supported by my A7's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Really good, must have lens.

SEL35F28Z 25 July 2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

This is an older lens now but represents excellent VFM. Of course there are better wider portions around but the quality & size of this optic remain impressive. Whether in a A7 or Nex (52mm) it is small, light and delivers amazing results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6