$1,359.00

(AUD inc. GST)
83

4.7 based on 83 customer reviews

63
18
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

83 Customer Reviews

0

Great small lens

SEL35F28Z 18 July 2023 by SuperSnapper (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens a few weeks ago and loving it, Its compact and ideal for fitting in your pocket if using a different lens, Ideal for street photography or close up photos of things like Museum artifacts.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and sharp

SEL35F28Z 13 January 2023 by Mugshots (United Kingdom)

I bought this for street photography due to its size. I am very happy with it, it produces some great images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent

SEL35F28Z 18 October 2021 by Ljcolina (USA)

I use this lents in my A7III and this is excellent combination

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfectly formed!

SEL35F28Z 13 October 2021 by Rob06 (United Kingdom)

An extremely light, small size, sharp lens at all f stops

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great size and sharpness

SEL35F28Z AE 27 August 2021 by eeee_zzzz111 (Singapore)

Zeiss Lenses never make you disappointed! -Sharpness > Great -Focus > Great -Size > Great -Build quality > Great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Now in-camera RAW editing?

SEL35F28Z 23 May 2021 by sirfabio (United Kingdom)

It came unexpected so disappointed by the lack of this feature. Even for only test image profiles for generating a JPEG to use when in mobility. This is a basic feature that lower price camera has and the lack of it surprised me very negatively

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

compact and sharp

SEL35F28Z 08 May 2021 by Geo99 (United Kingdom)

purchased mainly as compact lens for urban/street photography - great little lens, Not especially wide but compensated for by camera's high iso capabilities.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great portability and image quality

SEL35F28Z AE 27 January 2021 by sguser (Singapore)

Best Buy for portability and Image quality. Great general purpose lens with high image quality and at great cost

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice compact lens with good image quality

SEL35F28Z 10 March 2020 by TobyG (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens so that I can travel with a small lightweight prime for general shooting and it fits this bill nicely. Image quality is very good and I haven't noticed much in the way of distortion or CA's. Autofocus seems a little slow, but perfectly acceptable for this type of lens. In an ideal world it would be F2 but of course that would add to size, weight and cost. I do think that UK RRP is too much for tis lens though.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL35F28Z 07 March 2020 by LePetomane (USA)

This lens is sharp from edge to edge. Lightweight and well built as one would expect from Sony/Zeiss.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Small and light

SEL35F28Z 01 August 2019 by Sucofni (United Kingdom)

Definitely my go to lens. You can keep all the big aperture lenses. I can be bothered taking my A7iii and this lens everywhere and anywhere.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great for street photography

SEL35F28Z AE 16 June 2019 by smloo (Malaysia)

Using for street photography with family, the lens is small and superb for travel use

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb lens

SEL35F28Z 03 June 2019 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

I am particularly fond of 35mm lenses, they just suit what I do. A 35 and 85 are pretty much all I need. This lens is really good, sharp all the way through, although I don't tend to use it below 5.6. Light weight, easy to carry. When I'm feeling lazy and I just want a light, fast, simple set up for street type use, this lens on my A7iii is all I need, or want! As to whether the peculiar lens hood supplied with the lens does any good is debatable. I use it because it came with the lens, it hasn't caused me any problems and at least provides an unobtrusive solution. Good lens, highly recommended for anyone into street work. Price, a little bit heavy, but...........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

Excellent quality in a tiny package.

SEL35F28Z AE 10 May 2019 by gohrhyyan (Singapore)

Small and discrete, with stunning sharpness and exceptionally punchy colour. This lens is fantastic for travel. Without the hood attached it's not much thicker than the grip of my A7ii. It's great lens to slap on for street photography for the standard focal length and low profile or when you're going out and don't want a bigger, heavier lens getting in the way. Autofocus is also really snappy- in good light, subjects come into focus nearly instantly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic little lens

SEL35F28Z 22 April 2019 by Adi13 (Australia)

Bought it a month back and have used it few times. The sharpness, clarity are phenomenal for a lens this size. If you have a Sony full frame this is perfect companion. The colours straight out of camera are phenomenal. Just buy it ...

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Somnath T FE 35mm F2.8ZA

SEL35F28Z 18 March 2019 by helendee1408 (United Kingdom)

One of the first prime lens I purchased this so far I have been super impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL35F28Z 01 March 2019 by Guttersnapper (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for street work mainly but it hardly leaves the camera as I like to use it for portraits as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

What a Banger!

SEL35F28Z 28 February 2019 by MidweSteve (USA)

What a banger! I wish all primes were this good and this small. It's 35mm, so I don't care if it doesn't open up to 1.4 and neither should you, unless your goal is to impress people on Y**Tube. 2.8 is thin enough for most things that it's worth the tradeoff not to have a family-size can of soup sticking off the front of your camera. The *retail* price is a little high, but within the field of 35mm prime options, I think it was worth it. I just wish every lens came with a programmable focus hold button on the side. I know it's too much to ask, but seriously.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Good in parts

SEL35F28Z 16 February 2019 by Darkwright (United Kingdom)

A reasonable 35mm lens - but f2.8 is a little slow for a fixed focal length 35mm. Performance is reasonable but not outstanding. The external finish is fragile and scuffs easily. For the price this is slightly disappointing. I bought this for the compact size - which is the best feature of this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Perfect - Great Street Photography and Much More

SEL35F28Z 06 January 2019 by JRHJohn47 (USA)

Equipped with my A7R III, I simply do not need an F-Stop lower unless I need more bokeh that a smaller aperture would offer for portrait photography with a 35mm lens. The bokeh on this lens is great for portraits. My typical day time street photography is usually done at a range of 4.0 to 8.0 and this lens is a beast such that a 2.8 F-Stop is just fine. An aperture of 1.4 or 1.8 on the 35 mm prime lens is much larger and would not accommodate my particular needs for size. The low light performance on my A7R III is spectacular as well as my older A7 using this 35 mm lens. I can toss this into my backpack being my go to lens for landscape and casual portrait photography. I use a 50mm or 85mm at 1.8 F-stop for posed portraits but usually I do more street photography, landscapes, and family candid shots such that the 35mm 2.8 works better for my needs with great resolution detail. A great overall lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Must have for Sony FF mirrorless camera owners

SEL35F28Z 03 January 2019 by lawphotog (United Kingdom)

I bought this days after I got my A73. this is my first lens for this body apart from the kit lens. I now own a few other Sony lenses for different purpose but this lens always stay on the camera. Good for travel and street photography. I have done landscapes and portraits too. As Martin Parr said, if i need to live with one lens for the rest of my life, it would be 35mm. The optics quality of Zeiss glasses needless to say, it's outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Nice all around lens

SEL35F28Z 09 November 2018 by PDYF (USA)

Lightweight, fast autofocus, an ideal travel lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice and small

SEL35F28Z AE 01 November 2018 by kctsang2 (Singapore)

Have not got to use it yet as I am busy using my other sony lens ...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great len

SEL35F28Z AE 24 October 2018 by Limliewlim (Singapore)

Use for a month and found good images and ease of use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0