FE 50MM F1.2 GM

Product Reviews

$2,999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
18

4.8 based on 18 customer reviews

17
0
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

18 Customer Reviews

0

I-Love-This-Lens

SEL50F12GM 27 November 2021 by TWKPhotography (USA)

I have never been so blown away by a lens before.. it is my fav go-to lens by far...

0

0

0

Great 50mm Len Ever

SEL50F12GM/QSYX 08 November 2021 by Peater (Thailand)

The best 50mm F1.2 in the market. It's sharp, beatiful bokeh and light weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

near perfect lens

SEL50F12GM 22 October 2021 by Dr L Prasad (United Kingdom)

Very fast focussing, great clarity, contrast very sharp, beautiful bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Fast, sharp 50.

SEL50F12GM 13 October 2021 by Echecles (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens for about 5 months now, and taken over 2k pictures with it. I'm consistently happy with the results that I get, no matter what I am shooting. The image is always edge to edge perfect with no abortions, and beautiful bokeh. This lens has quickly become a favourite, and invariably packed as part of my kit for most trips.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Outstanding 50mm lens - best 50mm lens

SEL50F12GM/QSYX 07 October 2021 by bkkish (Thailand)

I've had a number of 50mm lenses including the Zeiss Otus 55/1.4, Zeiss 2/50 Makro Planar, Nikon AF-S 58 1.4G and this is easily my favorite. This lens is sharp corner to corner wide open (sharper I think than the Otus), has a beautiful rendering and has incredibly fast AF. Incredibly it's also reasonably compact and light, for a 50/1.2.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best 50mm Len from Sony

SEL50F12GM/QSYX 27 September 2021 by SgPhoto (Singapore)

This len produced sharp image and beautiful bokeh even at f1.2. Compact and lightweight compared to other brands. It created 3d pop just as good as the Sony Zeiss 50mm f1.4 len.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall perfect lens

SEL50F12GM 21 September 2021 by Xiao (Australia)

[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Bought a month ago, arrived on time. Sharp image, super fast focus, great color, the f1.2 depth of view is irreplaceable by any other lenses. Shoot some indoor photo due to the lockdown, looking forward to being them to the field and shoot more

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Next Level

SEL50F12GM 01 September 2021 by egillbjarki (Hong Kong)

This lens is not only incredibly sharp, almost flawless, but also blazing fast auto focus on the Sony A1. If I could only choose one lens, this would be it! The lens is about the same size as the 85mm GM, but much sharpar wide open.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The Finest 50mm Lens for Sony E-Mount, The Best!

SEL50F12GM/QSYX 13 August 2021 by Harn (Malaysia)

If you are Sony Alpha user, invest yourself a good 50mm prime is important, as 50mm lens is very versatile focal length for your daily usage and not hard to use, you don't need to stand far away or too close either. It's moderate distance and very easy to communicate, especially for portrait. It can also be very useful for street or even landscape, or product or even food. it really cover a lot of genre for shooting at 50mm lens, it's the normal look. Investing prime lens, rather than zoom lens that most people would buy at the start, is the flexibility of bigger aperture, allowing more light, more subject separation, more bokeh, more background blur, and better image quality than zoom lens in general. This FE 50mm F1.2 GM, simply the finest 50mm lens right now for Sony Mirrorless Camera and E-Mount, no other 50mm lens is as good as this, especially it is a F1.2 lens in Full Frame, it's a crazy science behind this lens, to make it so sharp and very usable at F1.2. No sign of chromatic abberation is also simply insane, where most of other normal prime with bright aperture like F1.4, you would have noticed the color fringing issue or purple color fringing, those are CA issue. This lens handle so well at F1.2. Then, pair with latest XA element, and XD Linear motor from Sony! It gives ultimate image quality and ultimate autofocus speed you can imagine. Just best of the best from what Sony can offer now. The image quality is like my other lens that cost around RM17000 and it was the ultimate perfect example of image quality for DSLR spectrum. FE 50mm F1.2 GM is exactly like that, and yet it is better, because 50GM has blazing fast AF where the RM17k lens only manual focus. Don't forget to update your lens firmware too, Sony has been updating lens firmware on most of the lens in Sony E-mount. Please check out Sony Support page on Sony Malaysia. If you are Alpha camera user, save up and get this ultimate 50mm prime from Sony! Best in industry.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Wide aperture f1.2

SEL50F12GM/QSYX 31 July 2021 by albertdb (Singapore)

Sharp even at f1.2 with low chromatic aberration. Still using (learning) it to appreciate its bokeh as Canon f1.2 lens bokeh seems more creamy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sharp and fast focus

SEL50F12GM/QSYX 27 July 2021 by Alzzy (Malaysia)

Fast and spot on focus, sharp images and good quality build

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent quality!

SEL50F12GM 08 July 2021 by Anisha (USA)

Amazing picture quality, can’t wait to create more preciousclicks!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best Lens I Have Even Owned

SEL50F12GM/QSYX 19 June 2021 by Toolman192 (Singapore)

This lens is spectacular! When you pick it up and feel the weight and quality you know it is going to be awesome. At f1.2 is is the fastest lens I have ever owned. It is incredibly sharp. And the autofocus is so fast, and precise. It is so fast and good it just makes you smile to use. Bokah is off the charts. Love every thing about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great lens

SEL50F12GM/QSYX 06 June 2021 by Tarakorn (Thailand)

So far so good. Very high quality in a compact size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First Gmaster

SEL50F12GM 25 May 2021 by Okplayer (USA)

Owning the zeiss 55 F1.8 I was spoiled with sharpness but this 50 just has that extra umph to the rendering. Colors pop and focus is blazing fast! if you have the zeiss 55 I would highly recommend this as an upgrade

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

Dead on Arrival

SEL50F12GM 18 May 2021 by Svaraman (USA)

Just picked up my FE 50mm f1.2 GM lens last night. Popped it on my A7RIII as soon as I got home. The AF hunts around for 2-3 seconds and then gives up. When set for single-focus, it does this every time I press the back-button-focus button. Clearly, this copy is not ready for prime-time. I will be returning it for a refund or exchange. Unfortunately, the exchange could take many weeks and I'm not sure if I want to see if the next copy will work or not.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

21

0

50mm 1.2 Gmaster

SEL50F12GM 15 May 2021  (USA)

I got my Sony Gmaster 50 1.2 today when the camera is off and I rotate the lens the inside elements move around is that normal?

13

4

0

Great size

SEL50F12GM/QSYX 11 May 2021 by Nyxeventus (Singapore)

No regrets so far. The fast AF speed makes the f1.2 so easy and reliable to use. Great lens overall. I will recommend this lens for anyone doing portraits and weddings !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1