$1,954.00

(AUD inc. GST)
28

4.5 based on 28 customer reviews

20
4
2
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

28 Customer Reviews

0

Awesome lens!

SEL50F14Z 21 October 2023 by Adder89 (United Kingdom)

This lens delivers great results. It is heavy, solid and big. You will love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

awesome Len

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 08 February 2023 by tchoonyong (Singapore)

I Like how vivid and realism this Len capture image. But what make me bought it is becoz of the bokeh taken from this Len.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Resolution on A7r ii is stunning

SEL50F14Z 08 May 2021 by Geo99 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to complement my other prime lenses - the sharpness wide open is amazing. Whilst this is an expensive lens I made the purchase on the basis that it will suite the A7riv when I can afford to buy one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A cracking lens in Manual mode!

SEL50F14Z 27 January 2021 by Reel (United Kingdom)

This lens is a superb, quality, solid 50mm I use on the A7s3 to film. BUT, the eye autofocus on this lens is crazy jittery. I have adjusted all settings on camera but have come to two conclusions. Either this lens is in dire need of a Firmware upgrade to work with the new AF in the Sony A7s3 or I have a faulty lens, which I need to get tested by Sony. Lock down has stopped me from doing so but I will once I get the chance. That problem a side this lens is a solid 50mm!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very noisy

SEL50F14Z 23 November 2020 by storm_33 (United Kingdom)

i bought this lens, very expensive - the noise of the focusing motor makes it practically impossible to use for video

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

7

0

Super Lens with a big flaw

SEL50F14Z 22 July 2020 by Drift (USA)

I was so happy with this lens until 2/3's of the lens detached fell off and pulling out the two ribbon cables with no stress on the lens when it happened. I am so bummed this lens was incredible

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Sony's Top 50mm

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 15 March 2020 by Pususuti (Singapore)

A7 system dedication, and delivers excellent sharp pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great prime lens!

SEL50F14Z 17 November 2019 by KW78 (Malaysia)

I bought this 2 months ago and used it on my A7R2. It’s a great combination and deliver good picture quality at F1.4, great sharpness at focus center and bokeh at surrounding. Ease of manual f value adjustment while using A mode. Switching button between AF and MF on the lens is also very simple to reach. This is convenient while I want to use manual focus with less depth of field. This is definitely a heavy lens but really deliver great picture, which my 24-70mm F4 couldn’t compete at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 04 September 2019 by rhysdury (Malaysia)

Fast focusing, but locking focus is a little slow at times, Sharp and contrast image. 90% autofocusing efficiency.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic image quality

SEL50F14Z 18 May 2019 by Jodek (United Kingdom)

I had my first shoot with this lens, along with my A7III and the images produced are absolutely beautiful. My model was over the moon with them. I would recommend this lens to any portrait photographer, whatever their experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Best of the best

SEL50F14Z 13 May 2019 by Munkproduction (Thailand)

I told myself i dont need sony zeiss 50mm F1.4 But I was wrong. My 29th E mount lenses got it this morning. I already own 50 mm f1.4 sigma emount 55 mm 1.8 ziess emount 50 mm f1.8 emount 50 mm f0.95 noc 50 mm f1.2 Voigtlander 50 mm f1.1 Voigtlander 50 mm f1.8 nikonD 50 mm f1.8 nikon #munkproduction #munkphotography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 17 April 2019 by Sallehin (Malaysia)

I'm very happy with sony lens fe 50mm f1.4. The color & bokeh is very superb. Use sony lens with sony cam for excellent performance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The absolute best 50mm

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 25 February 2019 by Pojam (Malaysia)

I researched this lens a lot before buying and once I was finally ready to, I find them all to be useless as the image quality I got from this lens simply never fails to put a smile on my face. I rarely use f1,4 unless I really need it. This lens works best at f2,0 and even that is plenty enough light. The circular aperture is cream of the crop! I'm also a sucker for micro-contrast and trust me this lens have it by loads. The perfect balance between sharpness and micro-contrast gives you that Zeiss 'POP' 3D rendering. I didn't mind the weight because I am in love with the Image Quality. GET THIS LENS. You will never regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

From Sonnar to Planar

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 15 February 2019 by Suddenlee (Singapore)

After 3 years of using the Zeiss 55mm and also getting a Zeiss 35mm 1.4 Planar, I was interested to switch to the 50mm Planar especially since the 35mm was an impressive lens. However, there are a few things I did not like about the 50mm. Weight balance is terrible, lens hood is very flimsy and feels cheap in comparison to the 35mm and also the lens is overpriced. I hope to see a lighter lens design like the 24mm 1.4 GM which is a very good design lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect for video and portraits

SEL50F14Z 26 January 2019 by Nicko65 (Australia)

Bokeh is very pleasing and lacks severe onion-ring effect. Chromatic adoration is hardly evident and sharpness is, well, sharp at all f-stops. A little heavy but I like the weight which makes it feel like pure quality. Best prime I've owned so far.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Lens Gives True To Life Pictures & Video

SEL50F14Z 15 January 2019 by Les864 (United Kingdom)

I Just Purchased This Prime Lens And Found It To Be Brilliant For Creating Good Bokeh. I Will Be Using It Now For Stills & Video. Feels And Is Well Made

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great Bokeh, very sharp!

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 20 November 2018 by Nurasya (Singapore)

I bought this lens a month ago for my trip as I was trying to level up my skills. Receive good review online and I thought I should try out myself. Going overseas is the best time to hold and try out camera capabilities. I was shocked by it's outcome to give out sharp images and good quality bokeh just as what I wanted it to be. My friend was tempted to buy this lens too!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Best IQ of all Sony's lenses

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 09 November 2018 by ErikB88 (Singapore)

You won't regreg it. It's the best lens for pure inage quality if you don't mind the price and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too heavy!

SEL50F14Z 24 August 2018 by emi2018 (USA)

I bought this lens and it worked great with Sony A7iii, but returned it because it was too heavy along with the camera. I love Sony cameras...but the lens with bigger aperture are way too big and heavy. Could you make them a bit more portable? Thank you!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

30

0

Excellent lens

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 04 August 2018 by M Piccolo (Thailand)

I just move from Canon lens to use FE lens that make me very surprised for about sharpness and smooth angel. I love this lens combine with my A9

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

lens keep hanging

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 01 August 2018 by Wei123 (Singapore)

Bought this lens recently, and for the past few weeks, it kept hanging and freezing both my A7iii intermittently. The lens hunt in dim lighting, much slower focusing when compared to sony 55mm f1.8. Sent it to sony svc centre, their technician said its a mount issue (they werent sure whats the issue), changed the mount. Afterwhich, i used it for a few shoots, and the problem became worse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Perfect Quality, Perfect Design

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 24 June 2018 by Bumblebeehome (Singapore)

This is a focal length that makes me headache. I have to choose between Planar T* FE 50mm F1.4 ZA and Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA because both are great lenses, whether focused accuracy or image quality, Bokeh, etc. There is no absolute winner. But extremely extreme in terms of size and price. The final deciding factor is the aperture adjustment function on the Planar T* FE 50mm F1.4 ZA lens, which I really like. The size and weight are still acceptable, and the price is actually less than half of Otus, so this baby is now my good companion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

The story so far

SEL50F14Z 27 April 2018 by willow walk (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens a few weeks ago, I am not sure yet where this lens sits in my collection, too short for my liking in my studio for portrait work, too long for my commercial property work and too heavy in my opinion for street photography although this is where it excels, it has only had a couple of outings on the street so far and I have been blown away by the quality at all apertures, wide open for candid people shots can yield very good results with pleasing bokeh.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

7

11

0

Perfect

SEL50F14Z 07 June 2017 by Sup3r (USA)

50mm is my favorite focal length. It's very versatile and great for travel, street photography and portraits. The images I get from this lens is truly amazing with very good sharpness throughout the frame, especially the center, even when shot wide open. CA is controlled well, distortion is almost non-existent and while there is obvious vignetting at f/1.4, it doesn't bother because it's correctable in Lightroom. The build quality is amazing. I love the aperture control ring that Sony has been adding with their current lenses and the focusing ring is super smooth. The AF/MF switch is such a welcomed addition as well. Overall, if money is no object, and you're looking for a bokehlicious lens with excellent light-gathering capability, this is the way to go. Albeit it's more expensive and larger than both the 50mm f1.8 and 55mm f1.8, it's really the best native 50mm lens for the FE mount I have used to date. It's permanently affixed on to my A7II.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

3