E 50MM F1.8 OSS

Product Reviews

$499.00

(AUD inc. GST)
45

4.7 based on 45 customer reviews

37
6
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

45 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing value for money

SEL50F18 04 July 2018 by KeithTandy (USA)

After frustration from the kit lens in achieving those creamy bokeh portrait images, I figured I needed this lens. Best decision ever. For this reduced price you're getting some quality glass that has sharp focus, super crisp images, is incredible in low light, and gets those creamy bokeh shots for portraits or any other object. You do have to do the "zooming" with your feet however, but I couldn't ask for more. For this price and what this lens has to offer it is a must have in any persons camera bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent as i imagine

SEL50F18 02 May 2018 by Ionut (United Kingdom)

Very satisfied of that lens, use it on my Sony Alpha 5000

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

nice little lens

SEL50F18 08 February 2018 by Fabro (USA)

I've owned this lens for 3+ yrs and can tell you it is very sharp,,, I don't know if the others are as sharp or sharper because I don't own them! As far as focus distance, I have focused { manually} at 5-6" so their 1.2' distance in the spec's could be off, so you could use it as a macro lens as far as I'm concerned! I do think it does a better job if you manually focus it but even in auto it does a great job! It does seem to be a little sharper at F4! It's also a very small and light lens as well!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great portraits lens

SEL50F18 25 January 2018 by Jae1526 (USA)

This lens is incredible for the price. Truly a nifty fifty. This was my first prime lens I bought and I didn’t regret it. Lens is a good focal length for portraits and with the f1.8 creates creamy bokeh. It is a good bang for the buck in my opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great lens

SEL50F18 29 December 2017 by Pkc23 (United Kingdom)

Really excellent lens and performs very well on my A6000. Very fast focus as you would expect. Good value for money. Recommended

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

A Useful Prime

SEL50F18/B 12 November 2017 by Ash87 (USA)

The apsc 50mm matches the field of fiew of the view finder of both the a6000 and the a7s perfectly. The OSS works well with the a7s. It’s a useful prime to use with a apsc sensor or a cropped 35mm sensor. With a 1.4x crop factor it produces images with an equivilent field of view as a 70mm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

LOVE

SEL50F18 08 November 2017 by Bekah4 (USA)

This was my first lense purchase outside the 16-50mm the Sony a6000 comes with. It has taken some amazing pictures for me so far!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quick and bright.

SEL50F18 25 September 2017 by JimmyWhirlwind (United Kingdom)

Works really well as a prime lens. Great bokeh and quick to focus even in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent pictures and video

SEL50F18 12 July 2017 by pbm8 (USA)

I am no expert in photography, but this lens is very easy to use and gives some awesome pictures from the first day of use without too much digging about how to use it. I would totally recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Good, but very specific use

SEL50F18 06 June 2017 by Krav (USA)

Pros: Excellent image quality Great for posed portraits/ stationary subjects Cons: Very slow to focus for a prime, thus unusable for candid/ street photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Sharp and good price

SEL50F18 30 May 2017 by Eddie2k2 (United Kingdom)

I like this lens nice and sharp, price is reasonable, works perfectly with my a6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

beauty of a lens

SEL50F18 03 April 2017 by pugsly (United Kingdom)

i have not had it long but the photos i have taken were sharp and crisp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

great lens

SEL50F18 20 February 2017 by pash47 (United Kingdom)

excellent lens very good build and light weight and takes excellent crisp photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Quality images

SEL50F18 08 February 2017 by Davpand (United Kingdom)

Wanted a decent prime lens for a good price. Great image quality. Ideal for portrait work and low light. You cannot go wrong with this lens and a great addition to my a6000

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great lenses

SEL50F18 06 February 2017 by Lifeishappy (USA)

I am very happy with this purchase. This is a definitely daily use lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

E50mm F1.8

SEL50F18 09 January 2017 by Fergie7 (United Kingdom)

I purchased the 50mm f1.8 as I wanted a fast prime lens that I can use for travel and portrait photography. I am please with the compact size of the Sony lens. The built in optical stabilisation system will aid when shooting in low light conditions. As I have on recently bought this lens I have only used it for some family portraits but was please with the sharpness and clarity of these.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

Great Lens

SEL50F18 05 January 2017 by Phase9 (United Kingdom)

This is a great prime lens for the price and it's fast at 1.8 so you can really make use of existing light and still get a reasonable ISO level. Perfect for portraits at 50mm (75mm equivalent) and really a lot of city scape shots if you can get away with not going wide.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Nice lens, great images.

SEL50F18 26 July 2016 by GilesM (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently, while it offers great images with bokeh produced by the wide range of f stops, the lens is noisy, (as in sound, not image noise) and uses the camera battery at an alarming rate. Something is working hard in the lense. Even with pre-focus turned off, it is still noisy and a real drain on the battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

15

0

good product

SEL50F18 17 June 2016 by lilian (United Kingdom)

nice performance! works well with Sony 5100.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

It is nice precise build

SEL50F18 07 February 2016 by Dzeky (United Kingdom)

I did try some portraits and it did go well, price is good for what You getting, it is way way better in low light than one came with my a6000, for this price point I Am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL50F18 06 January 2016 by Aidan123 (United Kingdom)

Really sharp even when wide open. Solid metal construction, feels nice in the hand. Autofocus speed is fine. Leaps and bounds better than the kit lens on the a5000 camera.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great additional len

SEL50F18 18 August 2015 by Kevin (United Kingdom)

Perfect len for sony. Loving the look and ease of use. Superb for portrait, close up and low light situations.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

50mm

SEL50F18 07 July 2015 by Dr Do (United Kingdom)

Lovely bright lens great to work with in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

4

0

As a prime it does the job well.

SEL50F18 07 July 2015 by Seaton Carew (United Kingdom)

Bought this E50mm F1.8 oss fore my A7 so far had excellent results would highly recommend this lens if you are into prime's being an E-Mount fits the A7 perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0