FE 50MM F1.8

Product Reviews

$499.00

(AUD inc. GST)
73

4.3 based on 73 customer reviews

43
16
10
2
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great value.

SEL50F18F 20 April 2017 by ewoodsphoto (USA)

Older tech focus motor is a bit noisy and a tad sluggish compared to some of Sony's speedier lenses, but it is not that bad in either regard. But... Sharp on center. Great bokeh. Thin DOF. Great colors. Exactly what I expect from a nifty fifty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

nice lens but noisy

SEL50F18F 21 February 2020  (United Kingdom)

It is a nice lens with good results both in still image and on video. Unfortunately, everything stop there! The lens is too noosy for use in with friends in an event like wedding. Even on video you can hear the focus micro-adjusting. Due to the noise, i learn to shoot with the back button focus and that only in single focus as the continuous focus sounds like a tractor. I prefer my manual off brand 50mm f1.4!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

74 Customer Reviews

0

It is sharp and fast

SEL50F18F 09 January 2021 by Partick Express (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for a month and use it for street photography and some close ups at high aperture. It has nice bokeh, it focuses fast and it is perfectly fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great and well priced

SEL50F18F 25 November 2020 by SDPhotography (United Kingdom)

Quick delivery, great lens & great price

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great value

SEL50F18F 18 November 2020 by Chris Bucks (United Kingdom)

For the price, a good buy. There are better options out there but not at this price.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great quality! Sharp Lens for good price!

SEL50F18F 26 August 2020 by Belle (United Kingdom)

First lens for my Sony A7III, and being a full frame “nifty fifty”, native to Sony, you can’t go wrong.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Unhappy

SEL50F18F 14 June 2020 by mhunt94 (USA)

I bought this about 3 1/2 months ago and the F stop showed up with dash lines and made the picture blurry. I'm not happy with this. Something so new should not look blurry.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4

0

Fabulous little lens

SEL50F18F 08 June 2020 by Cameramark (United Kingdom)

I had this a few weeks now and it's well made, good value for the price and excellent in lower light, pretty much a bag essential!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Affordable Lense

SEL50F18F 07 May 2020 by Carol195 (USA)

Happy with the quality of the pictures. Sadly, 3 months into using, the lense has developed a "tik", where after focus, it jumps around. So far, unable to get the issue taken care of through original seller or Sony, and since Sony Warranty Claims are shut down, hoping I can get it resolved/repaired/replaced soon as it is entirely annoying. Even so, one of my favorite lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent if Pricey Lens

SEL50F18F 05 May 2020 by Snaphappy (United Kingdom)

Used a few times now. Picture quality is excellent and focussing fast silent and accurate. I love prime lenses and this one does not disappoint

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

nice lens but noisy

SEL50F18F 21 February 2020  (United Kingdom)

It is a nice lens with good results both in still image and on video. Unfortunately, everything stop there! The lens is too noosy for use in with friends in an event like wedding. Even on video you can hear the focus micro-adjusting. Due to the noise, i learn to shoot with the back button focus and that only in single focus as the continuous focus sounds like a tractor. I prefer my manual off brand 50mm f1.4!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Lovely Lens for the price!

SEL50F18F 18 February 2020  (USA)

I just bought this lens and it is awesome! The price I paid is well worth it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice bokeh in a small lens (and affordable)

SEL50F18F 12 February 2020 by jojim (United Kingdom)

Very handy little lens to have at hand. I use it for street photography and portraits all the time, the bokeh is good enough unless you are a professional. You need to get closer to the subject than with an 85mm but this works for me. Small lens to carry around, which means is pretty much always with me, even if the focal range is covered by some other more expensive lenses. And that's one of the best things about this lens, the price is fantastic, I bought mine for £130 on a quick sale on Amazon and couldn't be happier. For that price is a steal. Best price per value I've seen on Sony lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An excellent value lens

SEL50F18F 08 February 2020 by scuddriver (United Kingdom)

This was on offer at Amazon, and is a great little lens for the price. To improve on it you would need to spend 4 times the cost. It is very light and compact, and I found the autofocus speed to be quite acceptable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Takes great portraits on my Sony A7ii.

SEL50F18F 30 January 2020 by SuperDave54 (USA)

Good fast focus. Great lense for portraits and all around use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Quality

SEL50F18F 19 December 2019 by DC77 (United Kingdom)

This is my first full frame camera having switched from a Canon Apsc camera. I was a little concerned how I was going to cope with the change in system however so far things have been smooth running. The camera is amazingly light and the eye focus, animal and human is amazing. It is an expensive camera however well worth it and I’m looking to develop my photography skills with this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love this Lens

SEL50F18F 02 December 2019 by Spf1675 (USA)

I bought this in early November along with my Sony A7iii and could not be more pleased. Great performance in a very affordable prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great optical perfomance across the aperture range

SEL50F18F 30 October 2019 by AmiranB (United Kingdom)

Great to see such a great perfomance of not very expensive lens. Thank s

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for money

SEL50F18F 15 October 2019 by aggiee (United Kingdom)

I bought it few months ago and I'm fairly happy with this lens. It is light and does have sufficient max aperture. However it is not that sharp as my previous nifty fifty from Nikon. I would say you get what you pay for and if you are able to accept that you will be happy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slow focus

SEL50F18F 28 August 2019 by aaphotography (United Kingdom)

it have the slower focus i ever used ,and on dark is more slower :)

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great Prime Lens

SEL50F18F 23 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I use this lens primarily for portraits and the fact that it can open up to f1.8 is fantastic. I love the bokeh it gives and the rich vibrant colours as well. The images I have are all pin sharp. The autofocus works well and am now looking forward to trying it with my new A7iii. I would certainly recommend this lens. Great value and great pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great for Beginner and casual

SEL50F18F 17 July 2019 by faizan (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago for casual photography, which i was not sure my iphone was giving me the results, with variety i need. This is a great lens although the i will also be buying a 28mm FE F2.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor focusing

SEL50F18F 07 July 2019 by Compton (United Kingdom)

I bought this to go with my A7. But the focusing speed is abit of a let down.

Picture Quality

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Excellent for the price!

SEL50F18F 06 July 2019 by michalbajza (USA)

Bought it a month ago. Very sharp at the center even at f1.8. Great value for the price but the AF is a little slow sometimes and hunts in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent !!!!

SEL50F18F 06 July 2019 by ljcolina (USA)

This is an excellent lens, light, bright, and is perfect for any occasion

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony-FE 50mm F1.8

SEL50F18F 29 June 2019 by ALeebar11 (United Kingdom)

Very good lens had it about two weeks, And it is never of my camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0