FE 50MM F1.8

Product Reviews

$449.00

(AUD inc. GST)
61

4.3 based on 61 customer reviews

36
13
9
2
1
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great value.

SEL50F18F 20 April 2017 by ewoodsphoto (USA)

Older tech focus motor is a bit noisy and a tad sluggish compared to some of Sony's speedier lenses, but it is not that bad in either regard. But... Sharp on center. Great bokeh. Thin DOF. Great colors. Exactly what I expect from a nifty fifty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nice lens on a budget

SEL50F18F 31 December 2017 by Gobs (United Kingdom)

This is nice budget lens, sharp and light, but AF is terribly slow on A7 body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

61 Customer Reviews

0

Brilliant Quality

SEL50F18F 19 December 2019 by DC77 (United Kingdom)

This is my first full frame camera having switched from a Canon Apsc camera. I was a little concerned how I was going to cope with the change in system however so far things have been smooth running. The camera is amazingly light and the eye focus, animal and human is amazing. It is an expensive camera however well worth it and I’m looking to develop my photography skills with this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love this Lens

SEL50F18F 02 December 2019 by Spf1675 (USA)

I bought this in early November along with my Sony A7iii and could not be more pleased. Great performance in a very affordable prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great optical perfomance across the aperture range

SEL50F18F 30 October 2019 by AmiranB (United Kingdom)

Great to see such a great perfomance of not very expensive lens. Thank s

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for money

SEL50F18F 15 October 2019 by aggiee (United Kingdom)

I bought it few months ago and I'm fairly happy with this lens. It is light and does have sufficient max aperture. However it is not that sharp as my previous nifty fifty from Nikon. I would say you get what you pay for and if you are able to accept that you will be happy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slow focus

SEL50F18F 28 August 2019 by aaphotography (United Kingdom)

it have the slower focus i ever used ,and on dark is more slower :)

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great Prime Lens

SEL50F18F 23 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I use this lens primarily for portraits and the fact that it can open up to f1.8 is fantastic. I love the bokeh it gives and the rich vibrant colours as well. The images I have are all pin sharp. The autofocus works well and am now looking forward to trying it with my new A7iii. I would certainly recommend this lens. Great value and great pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great for Beginner and casual

SEL50F18F 17 July 2019 by faizan (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago for casual photography, which i was not sure my iphone was giving me the results, with variety i need. This is a great lens although the i will also be buying a 28mm FE F2.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor focusing

SEL50F18F 07 July 2019 by Compton (United Kingdom)

I bought this to go with my A7. But the focusing speed is abit of a let down.

Picture Quality

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Excellent for the price!

SEL50F18F 06 July 2019 by michalbajza (USA)

Bought it a month ago. Very sharp at the center even at f1.8. Great value for the price but the AF is a little slow sometimes and hunts in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent !!!!

SEL50F18F 06 July 2019 by ljcolina (USA)

This is an excellent lens, light, bright, and is perfect for any occasion

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony-FE 50mm F1.8

SEL50F18F 29 June 2019 by ALeebar11 (United Kingdom)

Very good lens had it about two weeks, And it is never of my camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Small Lens

SEL50F18F 18 June 2019 by Turpin (United Kingdom)

Great quality lens as you would expect from Sony, well made. What more can you say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value sharp prime lens but slow focus

SEL50F18F 04 June 2019 by Benzas (United Kingdom)

I got this along with a new a7iii. It takes fantastically sharp bright photos with good bokeh, especially for the cost. My one negative is it's quite slow to focus and has to hunt a bit. I thought this was just a feature of the camera until I got a 24-70 too but that focuses instantly and silently. Still, great value and a good focal length day to day and nice and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL50F18F 18 May 2019 by James001 (United Kingdom)

Brilliant lens and fast

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Not actually a 50mm - 75mm? Very unclear.

SEL50F18F 13 May 2019 by Annon09 (United Kingdom)

Sent this back because despite doing endless research and this lens being specially for crop sensor cameras such as the A6000 or A6300 - this is not a 50mm lens as advertised! It still crops into a 75mm. Not impressed! I assumed that if I bought a lens that was made for the crop sensor camera's, that the lens wouldn't crop in. Clearly that's not the case! Stupid system!

0

64

0

Excellent optics, slow AF!

SEL50F18F 11 May 2019 by snowy151 (United Kingdom)

This must be about the cheapest "native" Sony-mount lens for full-frame, so I wasn't expecting Leica-quality. However the optics are excellent and the build-quality is a notch above most manufacturers' "nifty-fifty" lenses. The only real downside is the AF which is slow but it's accurate and not particularly noisy. For the price I don't think anyone could complain.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good quality for lower price

SEL50F18F 02 May 2019 by Andre L (United Kingdom)

Best quality for Manual Focus setting, autofocus working too, but only in best light, for allday, autofocus must be off.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

average

SEL50F18F 28 April 2019 by manage (United Kingdom)

Purchased a couple of months ago. Optically it is okay, but focussing is slow and hit and miss.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

What do you want a title for? No title.

SEL50F18F 22 April 2019 by None again (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens as a portrait lens for my 6500 a job it does very well. Good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for the price!

SEL50F18F 19 April 2019 by Pedroteixeira (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple months ago and i happy with it because I'm using it for product pictures with static scenes. The only complaint i have is the focus delay.. Its just to much to take picures like in a weeding or for people that need a rapid response on their photo. Despite this is a quite sharp lens and overall I'm happy with this 18F50. I'm using it with v3.0 firmware and in a Sony a7ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good nifty fifty

SEL50F18F 03 April 2019 by GWhitehouse (United Kingdom)

Paired with the Sony A7iii I think this is really worth it for an affordable prime. Nice and sharp with good autofocus speeds despite some reviews I read

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Gets the job done

SEL50F18F 03 April 2019 by TK (United Kingdom)

Nice little lens, that's cheap and lightweight however the built quality is not so great.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic portrait lens

SEL50F18F 26 March 2019 by Rodnie (United Kingdom)

Very sharp and amazing bokeh! Definitely in. my kit bag for everyday use.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Amazing Bokeh, good autofocus

SEL50F18F 19 March 2019 by msn815 (USA)

I bought this camera for my Sony aps-c camera. This is my first purchase of any lens. I am really impressed by the picture quality. And the best thing I liked is the Bokeh that this lens can produce.Price is a little high as compared to Canon 50mm lens.In my opinion, the size of the lens is a little big for a 50mm lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0