$499.00

(AUD inc. GST)
94

4.4 based on 94 customer reviews

55
31
4
2
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Value

SEL55210 26 December 2013 by UserNex7 (USA)

I purchased this lens as a part of the A3000 bundle after reading the reviews here and in several sites. Over the holidays, I used the lens to take photos from Inspiration point on my NEX 7. Viewing them on my Mac, I was blown away. Images were extremely sharp, great color and the zoom was useful in capturing birds and the sunset. Considering the cost, this is a great purchase and I am very pleasantly surprised. It does need a lot of light and is not lightning fast to focus. But the photos were great throughout the zoom range. I would highly recommend this lens. It is a tremendous value for money.

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Works

SEL55210 15 July 2014 by Mudoch (USA)

THe lens works just great with the A6000, gets the shots as expected. I have just one disappointment, it sucks the life out of the Battery. With only a few shots, under 5, I loose as much as 20% of the Battery. I mostly manual adjust the lens and then let it auto focus once I've framed the shot. Not sure If this is normal or just how I use it.

11

1

94 Customer Reviews

0

Sony E 55-210mm

SEL55210 13 September 2018 by Midland (United Kingdom)

Nice compact size, easy to use with smooth focusing. Great addition to the camera bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works well on a6500

SEL55210 23 August 2018 by DaveAerialPhotography (United Kingdom)

First tried on NEX 5N and it was never sharp. Using the a6500 gives me extremely sharp images even handheld. The lens is light weight yet very well built. Good auto focus and usable in low light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Query on Serial Number

SEL55210 21 August 2018 by DHANASEKAR (USA)

I bought this by Sunday as package ILCE 6000 Y (A6000 with 16-50 mm and 55-210 mm)but I am wondering the serial no specified in the unit and box are different how to make sure I have purchased the right one. Thank you Dhan

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL55210 20 August 2018 by treebeard46 (United Kingdom)

I brought this lens a month ago and it is a very good lens and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens, Good value.

SEL55210 17 August 2018 by Smoothyman (United Kingdom)

I've been a keen photographer for many years specialising in aviation and travel. I use high end Nikon kit but felt it was time to have the convenience of a compact system camera for those shorter trips abroad. This lens is just the job and is ideal travel companion. Sharp results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Lens for the money

SEL55210 25 July 2018 by Johncw41 (United Kingdom)

I brought this to complement my A6300 with kit lens. The Sony 55-210mm has done amazing job, I was really pleased with the abilities to capture wildlife, after seeing some reviews that said it wasn’t it’s strongest suit. I’ve also been using it for capturing flowers and cruise ships. Much sharper than the kit lens!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabulous zoom lens

SEL55210 09 July 2018 by BobLee (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens for a month or so, and I am very satisfied with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great zoom

SEL55210 20 May 2018 by Mg20i (United Kingdom)

I bought this 55-210 lens and I am blown away at the quality great lens would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I needed.

SEL55210 18 March 2018 by Tommeasor (United Kingdom)

I bought a Sony A6000 that came with a 16-50 kit lens. However, I needed a lens that I could use to videos of garden birds, so decided to purchase the 55-210 lens which is perfect for my requirements. Being an amateur I'm not that experienced in using a camera but the Sony A600 with the 55-210 lens is so easy to use plus when I'm more experience, I have the option of using the camera in manual mode. The only thing that concerned me was the lens box didn't have a seal on it which I had when I bought the camera, but I guess there's a good reason for that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Entry Level that is Respectable

SEL55210 05 March 2018 by Jae15 (USA)

I got this lens because I had only prime lens and wanted to have a simple zoom lens when the occasion needed it. I know it’s not the fastest lens there is, but if it were the price of this lens would almost double. It is a great lens in well lit photos, and you might be able to get away with some poorly lit photos. It is phenomenal with long exposures, which I long doing. It can be a bit soft sometimes, but nothing too disappointing for what your paying for. It’s obviously not a G lens, but it gets the job done. Can be good for sports and nature for the casual photographer. When you zoom to it’s max the lens does extend out a bit, but nothing too crazy. Also, the part that extends is made out of plastic. It has OSS making it good for pictures and video, really helps when zoom out to 210mm and trying to take a picture. It’s aperture isn’t that fast to create good bokehlike a 1.8 prime lens, but a tip is to by pass that is zooming into your subject to compress distance and it will in turn give you a low aperture bokeh effect.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good zoom entry level lens

SEL55210 07 December 2017 by Msl67 (United Kingdom)

Only used it twice good results so far will continue to try it out

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Good but not the best!

SEL55210 09 July 2017 by Butcherboy (United Kingdom)

Very good compact lens, not the fastest and can be a bit hit or miss at long focal length with the clarity of the photos.Auto focus works fine and is light and very simple to use.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens for the money

SEL55210 23 June 2017 by Adturb (United Kingdom)

I recently replaced my ageing A55 with an A6300, but sadly my old A mount lenses are not directly compatible. While in the camera shop I was shown the 55-210 lens and had to have it. The pictures are crisp (to my eyes!) and better than those from my A55 with Sigma and Tamron zoom lenses. This lens is quite slim, not too bulky and isn't particularly heavy- so ideal when travelling!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great light weight lens

SEL55210 21 June 2017 by friatpaul (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and am very pleased with it. Produces very clear sharp images across the entire focal length. It is also light weight and very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super for safari

SEL55210 17 April 2017 by RosemaryS (United Kingdom)

I took this to Kenya on a safari and have the most amazing shots of lion, cheetah, giraffe, elephant, rhino, warthogs and many more animals. So easy to use with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Value for money zoom branded telephoto lens

SEL55210 23 February 2017 by Old_wump (United Kingdom)

Affordable compromise of branded telephoto zoom lens. Good finish. Smooth feel. Sharp enough for significant cropping with A4 prints. Light enough to carry in gadget bag "just in case" . This 55-210 has shorter reach, smaller max aperture & lower resolution than the 70-300 I would really like BUT a quarter of the price. My "go everywhere" lens is the Sony Zeiss 16-70 which sets a high bar which I don't expect to match with a budget lens. But pleased with this 55-210 lens. Branded choice of zoom telephoto is rather limited

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Product and excellent quality

SEL55210/B 18 February 2017 by Natandjaan (USA)

Or profession photographer neighbor recommended this camera for our adventures as a good all around camera as we step up from point and shoot into the future of manual controls and post processing. We're really happy with the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy to Use

SEL55210 26 January 2017 by stueeh49 (United Kingdom)

Recent purchase into the SONY alpha 6000 camera. So I wanted an easy to use lens - which this is. I am a newbie to this compact system camera concept, so I still am on a learning curve as to getting the best out of the lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Product

SEL55210 08 January 2017 by Eric 39 (United Kingdom)

I have not yet had this lens long enough to thoroughly evaluate it but first impressions are all good, eg. build quality and image quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great for the price.

SEL55210 06 December 2016 by robbiebee (United Kingdom)

from the a5000 kit lens, I needed something else to get closer, especially wildlife and landscape photography, the 210mm tele, was first option for me, from the kit lens. overall from 1st month, very impressed, opens a different set in pics I take, quality is excellent and the overall use of the lens, straightforward and ease of use. overall very pleased with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not used much but has done quite well so far

SEL55210 11 November 2016 by stueyuey (United Kingdom)

I have only taken this out a couple of times but I have managed to get some nice pictures, the autofocusing is not super reliable but when it does pick up the images are punchy and sharp. Good rendition of the light. Would be better with more controls on it eg focusing information on the ring.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

So far so GOOD

SEL55210 21 August 2016 by londonlad (United Kingdom)

It is very early days yet, but as Sony have asked for a review, i will give one. Good size, good weight, easy to use and value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Nice Zoom

SEL55210 13 June 2016 by Magpie2016 (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens about two weeks ago after testing a borrowed one. It is better to use this lens on a tripod when using the maximum distance to avoid camera shake. It has a good range 55-210 and is very useful for portraits.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Lovely, small, light and great images

SEL55210 24 May 2016 by Sharon 71 (United Kingdom)

I love this little camera. It is my first camera away from the DSLR. I love how compact and versatile it is. It takes a great picture two, with really high ISO ratings that actually look like they add texture to the image.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0