$499.00

(AUD inc. GST)
88

4.5 based on 88 customer reviews

52
29
4
1
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Value

SEL55210 26 December 2013 by UserNex7 (USA)

I purchased this lens as a part of the A3000 bundle after reading the reviews here and in several sites. Over the holidays, I used the lens to take photos from Inspiration point on my NEX 7. Viewing them on my Mac, I was blown away. Images were extremely sharp, great color and the zoom was useful in capturing birds and the sunset. Considering the cost, this is a great purchase and I am very pleasantly surprised. It does need a lot of light and is not lightning fast to focus. But the photos were great throughout the zoom range. I would highly recommend this lens. It is a tremendous value for money.

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Works

SEL55210 15 July 2014 by Mudoch (USA)

THe lens works just great with the A6000, gets the shots as expected. I have just one disappointment, it sucks the life out of the Battery. With only a few shots, under 5, I loose as much as 20% of the Battery. I mostly manual adjust the lens and then let it auto focus once I've framed the shot. Not sure If this is normal or just how I use it.

11

1

88 Customer Reviews

0

Fabulous zoom lens

SEL55210 09 July 2018 by BobLee (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens for a month or so, and I am very satisfied with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great zoom

SEL55210 20 May 2018 by Mg20i (United Kingdom)

I bought this 55-210 lens and I am blown away at the quality great lens would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I needed.

SEL55210 18 March 2018 by Tommeasor (United Kingdom)

I bought a Sony A6000 that came with a 16-50 kit lens. However, I needed a lens that I could use to videos of garden birds, so decided to purchase the 55-210 lens which is perfect for my requirements. Being an amateur I'm not that experienced in using a camera but the Sony A600 with the 55-210 lens is so easy to use plus when I'm more experience, I have the option of using the camera in manual mode. The only thing that concerned me was the lens box didn't have a seal on it which I had when I bought the camera, but I guess there's a good reason for that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Entry Level that is Respectable

SEL55210 05 March 2018 by Jae15 (USA)

I got this lens because I had only prime lens and wanted to have a simple zoom lens when the occasion needed it. I know it’s not the fastest lens there is, but if it were the price of this lens would almost double. It is a great lens in well lit photos, and you might be able to get away with some poorly lit photos. It is phenomenal with long exposures, which I long doing. It can be a bit soft sometimes, but nothing too disappointing for what your paying for. It’s obviously not a G lens, but it gets the job done. Can be good for sports and nature for the casual photographer. When you zoom to it’s max the lens does extend out a bit, but nothing too crazy. Also, the part that extends is made out of plastic. It has OSS making it good for pictures and video, really helps when zoom out to 210mm and trying to take a picture. It’s aperture isn’t that fast to create good bokehlike a 1.8 prime lens, but a tip is to by pass that is zooming into your subject to compress distance and it will in turn give you a low aperture bokeh effect.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good zoom entry level lens

SEL55210 07 December 2017 by Msl67 (United Kingdom)

Only used it twice good results so far will continue to try it out

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Good but not the best!

SEL55210 09 July 2017 by Butcherboy (United Kingdom)

Very good compact lens, not the fastest and can be a bit hit or miss at long focal length with the clarity of the photos.Auto focus works fine and is light and very simple to use.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens for the money

SEL55210 23 June 2017 by Adturb (United Kingdom)

I recently replaced my ageing A55 with an A6300, but sadly my old A mount lenses are not directly compatible. While in the camera shop I was shown the 55-210 lens and had to have it. The pictures are crisp (to my eyes!) and better than those from my A55 with Sigma and Tamron zoom lenses. This lens is quite slim, not too bulky and isn't particularly heavy- so ideal when travelling!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great light weight lens

SEL55210 21 June 2017 by friatpaul (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and am very pleased with it. Produces very clear sharp images across the entire focal length. It is also light weight and very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super for safari

SEL55210 17 April 2017 by RosemaryS (United Kingdom)

I took this to Kenya on a safari and have the most amazing shots of lion, cheetah, giraffe, elephant, rhino, warthogs and many more animals. So easy to use with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Value for money zoom branded telephoto lens

SEL55210 23 February 2017 by Old_wump (United Kingdom)

Affordable compromise of branded telephoto zoom lens. Good finish. Smooth feel. Sharp enough for significant cropping with A4 prints. Light enough to carry in gadget bag "just in case" . This 55-210 has shorter reach, smaller max aperture & lower resolution than the 70-300 I would really like BUT a quarter of the price. My "go everywhere" lens is the Sony Zeiss 16-70 which sets a high bar which I don't expect to match with a budget lens. But pleased with this 55-210 lens. Branded choice of zoom telephoto is rather limited

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Product and excellent quality

SEL55210/B 18 February 2017 by Natandjaan (USA)

Or profession photographer neighbor recommended this camera for our adventures as a good all around camera as we step up from point and shoot into the future of manual controls and post processing. We're really happy with the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy to Use

SEL55210 26 January 2017 by stueeh49 (United Kingdom)

Recent purchase into the SONY alpha 6000 camera. So I wanted an easy to use lens - which this is. I am a newbie to this compact system camera concept, so I still am on a learning curve as to getting the best out of the lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Product

SEL55210 08 January 2017 by Eric 39 (United Kingdom)

I have not yet had this lens long enough to thoroughly evaluate it but first impressions are all good, eg. build quality and image quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great for the price.

SEL55210 06 December 2016 by robbiebee (United Kingdom)

from the a5000 kit lens, I needed something else to get closer, especially wildlife and landscape photography, the 210mm tele, was first option for me, from the kit lens. overall from 1st month, very impressed, opens a different set in pics I take, quality is excellent and the overall use of the lens, straightforward and ease of use. overall very pleased with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not used much but has done quite well so far

SEL55210 11 November 2016 by stueyuey (United Kingdom)

I have only taken this out a couple of times but I have managed to get some nice pictures, the autofocusing is not super reliable but when it does pick up the images are punchy and sharp. Good rendition of the light. Would be better with more controls on it eg focusing information on the ring.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

So far so GOOD

SEL55210 21 August 2016 by londonlad (United Kingdom)

It is very early days yet, but as Sony have asked for a review, i will give one. Good size, good weight, easy to use and value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Nice Zoom

SEL55210 13 June 2016 by Magpie2016 (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens about two weeks ago after testing a borrowed one. It is better to use this lens on a tripod when using the maximum distance to avoid camera shake. It has a good range 55-210 and is very useful for portraits.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Lovely, small, light and great images

SEL55210 24 May 2016 by Sharon 71 (United Kingdom)

I love this little camera. It is my first camera away from the DSLR. I love how compact and versatile it is. It takes a great picture two, with really high ISO ratings that actually look like they add texture to the image.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good zoom lens.

SEL55210 30 March 2016 by dane6492 (United Kingdom)

A good match with the a6000, in good light this lens can produce excellent results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Pretty good lens

SEL55210 25 January 2016 by 55bloke (United Kingdom)

This is a nicely sized, reasonably light lens giving god to excellent results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony E-Mount 55-210 Lens

SEL55210 21 January 2016 by John (United Kingdom)

This lens extends the capability of the excellent Sony alpha 6000 camera without loosing the advantage such a competent compact system allows. The E mount lens is quick and easy to change with a quality feel from the moment you pick it up. The image quality doesn't disappoint even in low light conditions.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Wrong product picture

SEL55210 19 January 2016 by STP (United Kingdom)

The listing shows a silver lens which although I actually wanted the black it was more expensive. Upon receiving the lens it was the black version. Good for me but perhaps not so good if you actually wanted the silver model to match your camera.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good Quality Zoom

SEL55210 18 January 2016 by AAG1 (United Kingdom)

Good quality images considering this is a low cost zoom. Not particularly compact but very lightweight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant lens

SEL55210 06 January 2016 by Jaffo (United Kingdom)

Absolute excellent addition for my A5000 camera. Pictures are sharp and clear with great image stabilisation even at maximum zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0