$999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
247

4.8 based on 247 customer reviews

207
31
4
1
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Super sharp and fast lens

SEL55F18Z 04 March 2015  (United Kingdom)

This is a beatuful lens for me. It's fantasticaly sharp (almost too sharp - a nice problem to have). The colours transfer is brilliant and holds the whites tremendously well. Well built solid lens too. You can feel the quality when you hold the lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07 February 2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom)

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

247 Customer Reviews

0

Sony Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8

SEL55F18Z 02 February 2024 by Martin the reviewer (United Kingdom)

Fantastic Sony ZEISS Lens, great autofocus and pinsharp pictures. A great versatile lens that is a great addition and upgrade from Sony kit lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Value Nifty Fifty!

SEL55F18Z 19 January 2024 by Indyboy (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens about 2 months ago and I couldn't be happier with it. I primarily wanted a small, lightweight fifty millimeter for travel and this fits the bill perfectly. Outstanding build quality and gorgeous images in both photo and video. Excellent (Zeiss) contrast with fantastic sharpness and beautiful fall off. This lens can't be beaten at this price point. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lenst

SEL55F18Z 06 January 2024 by Ljcolina (USA)

This 55 mm has an excellent focal length, a fast and very sharp focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp and clear

SEL55F18Z 29 October 2023 by HuwWG (United Kingdom)

Easy to use, sharp, clear and still has life left in it despite its age

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Sonnar FE 55mm

SEL55F18Z 15 October 2023 by Mike And (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens at the end of last month after advice from camera shop what a lens fantastic portrait photos sharp as anything very impressed with this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and sharp.

SEL55F18Z 17 September 2023 by Digital Al (United Kingdom)

Well made, easy to operate, with image quality to suite even the most demanding project.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL55F18Z 04 September 2023 by ozhelen63 (Australia)

[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this lens nearly 3 years ago and Sony just last week notified me that it was registered. That said my review is one that has given me ample time to review. It’s the lens that is on my camera most of the time. I love it

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Just great

SEL55F18Z 09 August 2023 by Iliyaniz (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens 6 months ago and very happy with the performance, sharp photos and fast autofocus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Sharp!

SEL55F18Z 26 July 2023 by Moe H (Australia)

Bought this lens with my first Sony body and it does not disappoint. Amazingly sharp for any photography type but really shines with portraits. Very smooth bokeh all around with little distortion effects

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Best prime

SEL55F18Z 24 June 2023 by PRPhoto (United Kingdom)

Just used this lens at a wedding and absolutely blown away by the image quality. Best prime I've ever used

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Image

SEL55F18Z 25 May 2023 by AndiPopa (United Kingdom)

i love de Image of this lens ,the size and de bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Zeiss Stunner

SEL55F18Z 02 May 2023 by Sony Geezer (United Kingdom)

Superb lens, very useable focal length for family, portrait, street and small events. Very sharp, great in low light, super build quality. MF switch would be a nice addition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Absolutely love it

SEL55F18Z AE 18 April 2023 by rahul631 (Singapore)

I wanted a 1.4 or 1.8 with fast and reliable AF and got what I wanted crisp images too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens after all !!

SEL55F18Z 22 January 2023 by Yippies (Australia)

With no previous exposure to Sony Alpha system. I am pleasantly surprised how well this Len performs despite it was launched years ago. One of the sharpest lens ever used with pleasant colour and bokeh. The AF is doing well wide open. Only the 55mm focal length makes it slightly tele compared to the 40/50mm lens

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Performance & Price are outstanding

SEL55F18Z 17 January 2023 by Commodore_65 (USA)

I bought the FE 55 mm F1.8 ZA about two years ago originally for my A7-III and now I use it on my A7-IV. It's a great lens for a variety of use cases. Sharp from corner to corner and great bokeh too. If I'm traveling and want to "go light" with only one prime lens, this is it! It is so small and light, it's a joy compared to other lenses with similar performance at half the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

SEL55F18Z 08 January 2023 by lordmustill (Hong Kong)

Fulfils my daily photography needs and far exceed my expectation!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Produce sharp images & light weight

SEL55F18Z AE 05 January 2023 by Keem (Singapore)

Produce sharp images and it's lightweight which makes perfect for travelling.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The nifty fifty-five.

SEL55F18Z 03 January 2023 by Drbester (United Kingdom)

This is a fantastic lens. It's light and razor Sharp. Even used it for a landscape recently and it rocked. I love it and it goes everywhere with me. Highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

failed in cold Weather

SEL55F18Z 01 January 2023 by Uli UKP (United Kingdom)

I used this model in cold conditions under -5°C. Unfortunately in cold temperatures the Lens stopped working. Only after warming up and restarting the Cam, the lens operated as usual.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent street and low light lens

SEL55F18Z 13 December 2022 by Julesc (United Kingdom)

Perfect street set up with my a7riii, very small and light. So far low light performance has been excellent. Instant AF with my touch screen. Some CA in extreme circumstances, but easily corrected in post. I would have liked an aperture ring, but just being picky! Great lens, I anticipate using it a lot.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Beautiful lens

SEL55F18Z 06 September 2022 by DCRX (Australia)

This was the first lens i purchased for my A7iii. It's a fantastic lens, creates beautiful depth of field and is great in lower light conditions. Highly recommend.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent lens in all respects

SEL55F18Z 18 August 2022 by gnomen (United Kingdom)

I recently came to Sony from Leica and was so pleased to discover this lens which has similar character - fine detail, subtle gradations, excellent colour rendition. If I had one design request it would be to add an aperture ring to the next iteration.

0

0

0

Goog lens

SEL55F18Z AE 26 July 2022 by Narongrat (Thailand)

It’s good lens because Good Picture Good quantity Light weight

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp

SEL55F18Z 21 July 2022 by Stuart63 (United Kingdom)

Love this lens. Not up for paying for the 1.4 GM. This is so close in my view at the fraction of the price. Fantastic lens.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0