$1,299.00

(AUD inc. GST)
85

4.9 based on 85 customer reviews

79
4
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

85 Customer Reviews

0

New Zeiss 55mm lens

SEL55F18Z 15 July 2018 by Jim4848 (USA)

This my first Sony Lens and it is wonderful and very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning lens, amazing sharpness

SEL55F18Z 29 June 2018 by Pete Lonsdale (United Kingdom)

This has to be one of the sharpest lenses you can buy. but for me it's not just about that. With great micro contrast, beautiful colour and the Zeiss "pop" you will love the images. It's small enough to work well with any of the a7 models and unlike some other lenses out there you can use it wide open a f1.8. Such a lovely walk about lens if you don't want the bulk of anything larger. Well worth the money paid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 21 May 2018 by Asela (United Kingdom)

Really please with this lens. It's lightweight and portable. The pictures are crisp and sharp, autofocus is fast - overall a very good versatile lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

If You Love Street Photography, Must Have.

SEL55F18Z 15 May 2018 by Whyment (USA)

Great prime lens for street photography, food, people and any daily use. Pro: Sharp, excellent pic quality Beautiful Bokeh Light weight Tiny size Con: N/A

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Compact lens

SEL55F18Z 05 May 2018 by Lees123 (United Kingdom)

A very high quality lens which is not only light but I’ve found it be very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice lens

SEL55F18Z 13 April 2018 by Clived (United Kingdom)

It is a lovely lens, images are really crisp with nice bokeh. Focus is fast. It is everything I hoped it would be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Gorgeous Lens!

SEL55F18Z 13 April 2018 by craigbrandau (USA)

Extremely bright, light and feels solid. I just got it and it will use it everywhere!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

outstanding fast prime

SEL55F18Z 01 April 2018 by drewp (United Kingdom)

The Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 is sharpest lens I've experienced in 50 years of photography. What would make it better is to have non focus-by-wire, because (occasional) manual focus is tiresome. Small compact light fast and extremely high performance. Love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens. Wonderful pictures.

SEL55F18Z 29 March 2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom)

Great lens for all styles of pictures. Wonderfully sharp and wonderful bokah. At first look it seems pricey but this is one lens that wont gather dust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact brilliance

SEL55F18Z 24 March 2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom)

Brilliant image quality in a compact size. Amazing resolution and IQ. Lenses are generally getting larger in order to achieve the resolution figures required for today's high megapixel sensors, but this lens proves that it can be done in a compact design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp. Really sharp

SEL55F18Z 20 February 2018 by SiegSpace (Australia)

This lens makes me want to be a better photographer... and hopefully it'll help me become one!

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent all rounder

SEL55F18Z 11 February 2018 by Grandysandy (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens primarily for portraiture, but it excels in most situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the best lens ever !

SEL55F18Z 30 January 2018 by Nick1212 (United Kingdom)

Very satisfied with the optical quality . A very precise lens .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well designed

SEL55F18Z 26 January 2018 by Ceeque73 (USA)

Light, easy to use, excellent image quality! Can use for portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid

SEL55F18Z 03 January 2018 by gater27 (United Kingdom)

very pleased with overall quality and images, if I was to ask for one more thing it would be a slightly closer focussing distance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens at a sensible price

SEL55F18Z 12 December 2017 by morse4 (United Kingdom)

Simply put this lens is stunning and the image quality does not match the way it looks. When I first saw it I thought it might be a kit lens .... how wrong could i be. I tend to shoot weddings with 35/85 but I occasionally switch and use the 55mm 1.8 and i am never left disappointed. The focus is fast and when paired with the A7R2 or 3 the image quality is very professional. Something I really love about it is the size.... again something that I thought in the old days was a negative but now I know clients could not care less I use it a lot as a versatile lens. If I could only have one lens it would be this one, and I have some amazing G master and Ziess glass. The only downside is for manual focus for video. Focus by wire is not good to rack focus or be creative as its just strange.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning contrast, colour and sharpness

SEL55F18Z 07 December 2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom)

Excellent and relatively lightweight prime for full-frame Sony cameras. Beautiful IQ.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great portrait lens

SEL55F18Z 12 November 2017 by Andrydeen (United Kingdom)

With Sony 6500 it is perfect combo , especially for portraits

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent picture quality - noisy focusing

SEL55F18Z 18 October 2017 by Greg007 (USA)

The only negative I can say about this lens is it can get a little noisy when it's focusing. Coming from G Master lenses which are completely quiet, this may be important for video people. For them I would recommend the ZEISS Loxia 2/50 which is manual only focus lens. Little cheaper. About the same small size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL55F18Z 28 September 2017 by OwenP (United Kingdom)

I needed a low light lens for filming on my A7RII and this is the perfect solution. The Lens is sharp wide open and produces decent bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Clean and Clear.

SEL55F18Z 01 September 2017 by ScottPhotoNYC (USA)

I bought this now knowing if I would use this on a regular basis. I actually find this to be a go to lens for me. It's small enough to use almost anywhere. I find it to be fast and give me the clean results I'm looking for. It worked great on my A7 & A6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight

SEL55F18Z 26 August 2017 by Stables3 (United Kingdom)

Nice lightweight lens on my A6500, good sharp image with nice contrast. Too early to give a long review as just had the lens a few couple of weeks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is my all time favourite Prime!

SEL55F18Z 19 June 2017 by Residentevilzerofan (United Kingdom)

Having owned the SEL55F18 Zeiss Plannar for 18 months it's my favourite lens - it's the sharpest lens I have ever come across and this is also reflected in DXO Mark for the E-Mount series. I cannot highly recommend this lens enough - The Bokeh is insane.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceptional lens for a6000

SEL55F18Z 19 June 2017  (United Kingdom)

Bought this FF lens in anticipation of buying A7x camera. On a6000 gives excellent sharpness, nice colours. Also very light and compact and remarkably 'thin' for a FF lens. Satisfactory only for macro, but very good for portraits with especially nice bokeh. A bit expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0