$1,999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
55

4.3 based on 55 customer reviews

32
17
2
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

55 Customer Reviews

0

Brooks Review

SEL70300G 20 October 2020 by BBR20 (USA)

I have had this lens for a little over a year and enjoy it's almost my 1st choice in any scenario. I want to find out if I bought 300 mm or 400 mm lens which should I get and why one over what im using now.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ideal lens for my needs

SEL70300G 21 July 2020 by Morpheus 1955 (United Kingdom)

I have updated from the Canon 5D mk 3plus a few L Series Lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great reach

SEL70300G 19 July 2020 by kram0173 (USA)

I bought this lens a few months ago and really love the reach and detail.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony quality!

SEL70300G 22 March 2020 by Wieloryb73 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago and I'm glad I did, I'm using this lens with A7M2,optical quality is amazing also build quality is fantastic!Sony you didn't disappointed me again !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

I enjoy using this product

SEL70300G 29 January 2020 by Radish (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens just over 2 months ago and have used it frequently to photograph wildlife in the garden and locally, it has exceeded expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Extremely versatile lens

SEL70300G 24 January 2020 by Joyce61 (United Kingdom)

whenever I invest in a new lens I worry that I will get sufficient use to warrant the cost. However, this lens is proving to be a sound investment as it is light enough to have in my bag whenever I travel or go hiking - ie with my 24-70 on the camera. I also use it weekly for sporting and wildlife trips out. So far, I’ve been impressed with sharpness and ease of focusing throughout its range. Here’s 3 examples:

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Bad Copies

SEL70300G 25 November 2019 by AdamB2020 (USA)

So far I am returning my 2nd bad copy of this lens. Hopefully 3rd time is a charm

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

the right size

SEL70300G 08 November 2019  (United Kingdom)

my problem is my neck , can no longer carry a big camera and lens with out pain, but love to take photos of birds and jets , so had to compromise. the 70/200 f4 is very good i have one but not long enough , i use a a7iii so the crop will put it to 10mp!! , so trying the 70/300 g was impressed to the point I got one. can carry it most of the day without pain.it takes brilliant Images . I know it's not in the class of the 100/400 GM. but if you can't carry it you're going to miss out. I'm 74 and got to the mach loop so a good walk up hill before you get camera out ,plus sometimes a long wait before any jets turn up!! , so you can see the big lens setup can lose it's appeal. would love to have a 600 f4 GM but my neck says no . oh plus the small matter of £10,000 the wife says no

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Difficult to use.

SEL70300G 21 September 2019 by desking (United Kingdom)

I have had the lens for one month and found it to be good quality and well made there are for me some handling issues.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

6

0

Does the job well

SEL70300G 28 August 2019 by jameslf1989 (United Kingdom)

Brought this about a month ago - wanted that extra bit of reach for landscapes, and the small amount of sports photography I do for my baseball team. Considered the 70-200 F4 but couldn't justify the extra expense, bulk and weight when I don't really need the constant F4 aperture. Used it a few times and it's performed well, you get good sharpness up to 200mm, a little soft towards 300mm (and the one time I've shot distant city lights at blue hour) but overall I'm happy. Did well on my A7iii when I shot some baseball, was able to use a fast shutter speed and ISO 500-1000 dependent on light to freeze the action. Clearly anyone looking for a specialist sports lens would consider one of the other options Sony offer but I was really pleased with the results. Couple of cons - not sure how well sealed it is, worried it may have sucked in a little dust / grit already. Also wish it came with a tripod collar, it's a big heavy lens and very long when extended, hope it'll last on the A7iii mount. Won't carry it with me on every shoot but glad I have it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

All round good performing lens

SEL70300G 26 August 2019 by Les11038 (United Kingdom)

Perfect for my style and use. Sports and action, a little wildlife and landscapes. The lens is acceptably sharp at all focal lengths. It is fast focusing paired with my Sony A7III. Perfect for my needs at this time. It’s not a heavy lens but a tripod collar would be beneficial in some circumstances which Sony unfortunately does not manufacture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

GREAT IMAGE QUALITY

SEL70300G 30 July 2019 by KEN206 (USA)

I BOUGHT THIS TO GO WITH MY A7RIII CAMERA SEVERAL MONTHS AGO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

This lens is a must, don't leave home without it!

SEL70300G 30 July 2019 by Robaudiology (United Kingdom)

Bought this one month ago and captured some amazing shots on safari. So easy to change lenses and the steady shot is a great feature.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

30

0

Superb lens

SEL70300G 30 July 2019 by Arfabike (United Kingdom)

Without doubt a professional lens capable of delivering that special shot. Just been on holiday to the French Alps and took some stunning landscape shots with some fantastic wildlife shots. Very versatile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Ouch - Sharp!

SEL70300G 24 July 2019 by JKPhoto100 (USA)

Lens is very sharp, results so far have been better than expected. Focus not as quick as I would have liked, however, if you are shooting in good light, the results are super sharp. Very happy so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Very versatile

SEL70300G 06 July 2019 by Mott (United Kingdom)

I am extremely pleased with it and now I am getting used to itmotty

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great lens for both APS-C and FF Sony cameras

SEL70300G 20 June 2019 by CGEaton (United Kingdom)

I used a Sony 55-210mm lens on a NEX6 for about 5 years but wanted something with a longer reach. The 70-300 gives me that reach in a relatively compact package, so now I have 100 -450mm which perfect for my needs. Build quality is excellent and it's obvious this is a great little lens which doesn't break the bank.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony FE 70-300

SEL70300G 17 May 2019 by Fiona M (United Kingdom)

I brought this lens a couple of weeks ago and I am very impressed with it. Bonus is it is dust and moisture resistant. Light enough for my A6000 and very good for my garden birds photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

So far so good!

SEL70300G 09 May 2019 by Carter209 (USA)

Pretty stoked at the sharpness this lens gives me at 300mm. I was a little hesitant at first to purchase it but it truly is a great lens so far. I would love the 100-400 but it is way out of my price range. If your looking for the budget friendly option without sacrificing sharpness this is the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Performance and Value!

SEL70300G 17 April 2019 by RedlandsGreg (USA)

I’m an amateur photographer so I wanted a telephoto lens but didn’t have the budget to spend on the 400. I picked this lens up and could not be happier with the performance. It is heavy, but so is any good telephoto lens. I found the focus crisp, the image stabilization worked great and the 300mm zoom worked great to capture the images I was looking for. I used this lens while shooting from the deck on a river cruise on the Nile in Egypt. I was able to catch some great images on the river and on shore. I got just what I wanted out of this lens. I also picked up an aftermarket tripod mount that works great. If you’re on the fence about this lens don’t hesitate. It is a phenomenal performer and a great value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

the 70 to 300 is Ideal for my work

SEL70300G 17 February 2019 by MERV B (United Kingdom)

I can photograph several building defects from one spot and if I need a bit more length I switch my Sony a9 to APS/C super and they make a perfect team. I am unable to send photoes today but if you want some can send some later this week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens

SEL70300G 28 January 2019 by Sony long lens (United Kingdom)

Had it about six weeks and I use it for wildlife, clear and sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Good initial impressions

SEL70300G 16 January 2019 by Noys (United Kingdom)

This review is based on the first few weeks of usage: winter months and frequently difficult lighting conditions

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good sharpness & resolution.

SEL70300G 20 November 2018 by hoasjoe (USA)

The lens is a bit bulky as expected because of the stabilizer. Only wish the lens has a tripod mount since it was much heavier than my α6000. Taking picture with a reasonable quality tripod in a vertical position is a bit awkward to keep the lens from tipping down due to the weight. Otherwise the stabilizer works reasonably well at slower shutter speeds. The focus response is quick. Once had a similar lens from Tokina without the stabilizer. Even shooting still subjects on a tripod the quality is not nearly as good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0