$2,099.00

(AUD inc. GST)
29

4.4 based on 29 customer reviews

17
9
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sharper than you think

SEL70300G 05 October 2016 by Luccombe Lad (United Kingdom)

I bought this about 6 weeks ago. The stabilisation works a dream. Obviously not pin sharp in low light at 300mm. But, given good light, it is very acceptable at 300mm. Probably limited indoors, but for bird photography etc...it's great

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

28

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No tripod mount

SEL70300G 03 August 2017 by tfpernar40 (USA)

I could really like this lens and would give it a higher rating if it had a tripod mount. It's heavy weight requires me to aim higher when composing to overcome the tendency creep downward. It usually takes three or more tries to get the image centered. I also notice that the rear of the base of my a6000 tips up slightly even after everything is tightened very firmly. I don't think the camera with its non-metal frame was meant to stressed in this manner. I never use this lens for tripod shots, not even with my a7ii. I previously had the a-mount version and I was able to make a tripod mount, however the changes made on the e-mount made that impractical.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

6

2

29 Customer Reviews

0

Good lens

SEL70300G 01 July 2018 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I bought a fortnight ago and have not yet used it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Longer reach

SEL70300G 18 June 2018 by mel157 (United Kingdom)

I was torn between the 70-200 f4 and the 70-300 f4.5-5.6mm after hours of soul-searching backed by dozen of lens reviews, I still couldn't split these superb lenses. In the end however I went for the longer reach of the Sony 70-300mm unit mainly for wildlife and football (soccer) photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Lighter than my Sigma

SEL70300G 12 June 2018 by Spokekey39 (United Kingdom)

Up until I purchased this FE lens I have been adapting a Sigma 120-400 zoom lens via the LA-EA4 adapter. That worked ok for me and my A7ii but it was quite heavy. The 70-300 G lens is about half the weight of my old setup and fits niceley in my camera bag. As a result I find that I take it out with me more often than the Sigma zoom. I am also very impressed with the focusing speed and I am getting the use of all my focusing options that my A7ii can provide. I have a couple of Sony primes lenses already and after my experience with this G lens I will be adding another one to my kit in the not too distant future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great features

SEL70300G 09 June 2018 by rdm2 (USA)

very clear focus, very quiet, lighter then most lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very Dissapointing

SEL70300G 16 May 2018 by picflic (USA)

Having had the lens for about a month now all I can say is that I am extremely dissapointed with my purchase. Even to the extend that I am completely questioning my switch to Sony all together (That is how bad it is). This lens is just not sharp and every shot again gives a dissapointing result. At the pricepoint of this lens I expected a much better performance and I feel that the value of this lens certainly doesn't match the pricepoint. The lens looks and feels great but the optical performance is on par with some of the worst lenses i have ever used when i was starting out with cheap APS-C cameras.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Overall good lens

SEL70300G 27 April 2018 by mikesnaps (United Kingdom)

Sharp across range, good contrast, quick auto-focus, solid stabilisation, BOKEH reasonable, overall a good lens. Combined with A6500 not too heavy and can be comfortably hand held for hours. Minor con, cannot access zoom ring with hood reverse fitted, so fit for sunny conditions or leave in bag. Lens Recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Terrific lens!

SEL70300G 26 April 2018 by surreality87 (USA)

I've had this for a few weeks now and I am impressed. I have it on an A6500 body and while this is much larger than the camera I have no complaints as this is expected from a zoom lens with this range and capability. An F4 constant would perfect this lens but would also drive up the cost so as it stands I'm happy with the variable aperture. The optics and image quality are stellar for what you pay for this lens but be careful with low lighting situations as this lens can suffer a bit without a tripod (you'll still get the shot but don't have high hopes for the 100% crop). Sharpness seems constant and across the whole frame but to be honest i get such beautiful shots at low aperture and wonderful bokeh that i don't find myself stopping up very often much above F8. I'm very happy with the feature set of focus limiter, AF/MF override, image stabilization which works really well in tandem with the in body OIS, and the manual focus lock (although I'd prefer a toggle switch as compared to holding the button down). The AF/MF switch is very handy due to other E-mount lenses relying on switching the focus in the camera body due to being an electronic focus (this can get old even if you have have it saved as a quick button). My one complaint, and i don't know if this would be fixable anyways due to how much has to be crammed onto the lens body, is that the lens hood is so big that when its reversed over the lens body to be stored it covers the entire zoom ring when it's at 70mm (also the only time the zoom lock can be engaged). this can be very frustrating when you want to take the camera from not in use to zooming in quickly. think of hiking along and seeing an animal in the distance for example, you don't want to leave the lens zoomed out while walking but can't get at the zoom ring to zoom in. so you're left with having to find a place to stow the hood or awkwardly disconnecting the hood briefly to start the zoom and then reattaching it in storage mode. the only thing i could think of is a slightly more trim hood or a petal style which i don't think this lens would benefit from. Overall though I highly recommend this lens for a reasonably compact zoom (smaller than the 70-200 F4 lens) with great image quality and mostly easy usability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great quality

SEL70300G 21 April 2018 by viola2572 (United Kingdom)

I needed a good quality lens that was good value, it does the job very well is very sharp and quite shallow depth of field, this ticked all the boxes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Initial Review

SEL70300G 03 April 2018 by holbrook tech (United Kingdom)

I've only had this lens for just under a month. I purchased it in conjunction with a Sony A7ii camera to utilise the full advantages of a full frame CSC. Due to the weather I've had a limited chance to fully test this combination but, on that limited basis, I'm very happy with the lens. The quality of photos demonstrates the value of full frame and a high quality lens. In addition my video is improving with the combination and the ability to stabilise by using excellent viewfinder. I fully expect the lens will justify its (to me) high cost. The lens is fairly heavy but easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great Zoom

SEL70300G 22 January 2018 by Niggly (United Kingdom)

A great lens with really good zoom range. Well made with very useful lock on the zoom to prevent it moving from any preferred focal length at any chosen time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

love it!!

SEL70300G 26 December 2017 by Fabro (USA)

I've only owned this lens about three weeks but from the pictures I've taken so far,I find it amazing! I bought an A6500 at the same time and it has been glued to it ever since! The combination is awesome! the IQ is great, the focus is very fast, [ except in very low light as expected ]. I hear people complain about the price, that Canon and Nikon sell similar lenses for about half the price but also have them for more! well, take into consideration that the IQ is better than those less expensive lenses with more ED glass and the three toggles and a focus hold button that allow you many more quick adjustments and there you have it, a better quality lens overall!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality

SEL70300G 17 December 2017 by Ady669 (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for a couple of weeks so not had much good weather to get out and test it fully. From what I have seen the auto focus is quick and the manual side nice to fine tune.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good telephoto reach

SEL70300G 30 August 2017 by Topgun11 (USA)

Lens mechanics works well, image quality is very good. Balanced and quite compact for a 300mm lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good performance v weight

SEL70300G 28 August 2017 by Singingbike (United Kingdom)

The focal range, combined with OSS makes this a good addition to my bag. I use it with A6500 and the camera & lens combined weighs much less than my DSLR and standard lens. I can hand hold at much slower shutter speeds and find it great for close up work as well as wildlife.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

No tripod mount

SEL70300G 03 August 2017 by tfpernar40 (USA)

I could really like this lens and would give it a higher rating if it had a tripod mount. It's heavy weight requires me to aim higher when composing to overcome the tendency creep downward. It usually takes three or more tries to get the image centered. I also notice that the rear of the base of my a6000 tips up slightly even after everything is tightened very firmly. I don't think the camera with its non-metal frame was meant to stressed in this manner. I never use this lens for tripod shots, not even with my a7ii. I previously had the a-mount version and I was able to make a tripod mount, however the changes made on the e-mount made that impractical.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

6

2

0

Very useful

SEL70300G 27 July 2017 by HeRog (USA)

Overall it's a great lens, but there is one thing I don't like: It seems you can peel off the serial number and that is not a good thing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Brilliant

SEL70300G 08 July 2017 by sgfj (United Kingdom)

I use this on an A6500 and so I cannot tell what the edge definition is, nevertheless, on the APS-C format, I get superb definition and high contrast across the whole image. Bokeh is good, too. This is an excellent lens but a criticism is that it does not have a tripod mounting, however that would have added to the weight and for its zoom range, this is a relatively lightweight piece of kit. The second annoyance is that although normally focus is fast and accurate, sometimes it "hunts" before finding correct focus. This is the second "G Master" lens I've used and both are truly excellent. Both are easy to manually focus, both have easy OSS, AF/MF and fix-focus buttons and the ability to set focus-ranges for speedier focussing. It would be nice if Sony would offer a 2X tele converter to go with this lens !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

1

0

Nice all round lens

SEL70300G 07 July 2017 by Lmcder (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens just over a month ago and I am really pleased with the results I am getting. The only negative thing I can say about it is that I feel it's a bit heavy for the body of the Alpha6500, and it gets heavy for me after 2-3hours of shooting handheld but this doesn't warrant rating in down to four stars. It is now my lens of choice when heading out and about and it has opened up a whole new world of shooting options including insects, butterflies and wild life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Sony 70-300G

SEL70300G 18 June 2017  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to give me the reach at 300mm it is very sharp, it's first use was at Donnington Park motorbike racing when fitted to my A6000 it makes me a 450mm lens in a very small package. The only draw back is that a tripod mount which the lens needs would make the lens perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Compact fast lens with a cutting edge

SEL70300G 31 May 2017 by Jackie S (United Kingdom)

I received this lens 2 weeks ago. I've taken more than one thousand images with it in this short period of time, using it with both the a7 and the a6000. Fits and balances well with both cameras though I prefer its handling with the a7. Weight and size of the lens are just right in my opinion. Optically, it performs to a high level of performance. Build quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Travel friendly 70-300mm Zoom lens

SEL70300G 22 April 2017 by whisky ago (Australia)

I bought this lens for my travel pictures three months ago and it has taken some great shots even under reasonably low light its image stabilization and lightness make it the ideal lens for travell.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

First Experience with Sony

SEL70300G 11 April 2017 by Lowbox (United Kingdom)

Two weeks into ownership and I just love this lens. Used for architecture, landscape, wildlife it's just fun to use with good results. I would recommend this product 9/10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Good zoom coverage

SEL70300G 09 February 2017 by Muggins530 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to replace 70-200g. Although this new lens is heavier, the extra focal length is worth the extra weight. Very good quality both in build and results. The only reason I can't give five stars is the absence of a tripod mount. It's quite a weight on the lens mount. Overall I'm very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

5

0

Great performance, exceptional sharpness

SEL70300G 04 February 2017 by Alfie1942 (United Kingdom)

I have only had this lens a few days so this review is necessarily limited. However so far the optical quality has proved outstanding. At 300mm against a bright sky the tracery of a winter tree is rendered perfectly with no visible chromatic abberation. Al round lives up to expectation and the existing reviews. Concerns - it is a heavy lens, I have used it only handheld which is fine and well balanced but I am concerned about putting the camera on a tripod. A removable tripod bracket would be nice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

0