$1,999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
47

4.4 based on 47 customer reviews

28
14
2
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

47 Customer Reviews

0

Difficult to use.

SEL70300G 21 September 2019 by desking (United Kingdom)

I have had the lens for one month and found it to be good quality and well made there are for me some handling issues.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Does the job well

SEL70300G 28 August 2019 by jameslf1989 (United Kingdom)

Brought this about a month ago - wanted that extra bit of reach for landscapes, and the small amount of sports photography I do for my baseball team. Considered the 70-200 F4 but couldn't justify the extra expense, bulk and weight when I don't really need the constant F4 aperture. Used it a few times and it's performed well, you get good sharpness up to 200mm, a little soft towards 300mm (and the one time I've shot distant city lights at blue hour) but overall I'm happy. Did well on my A7iii when I shot some baseball, was able to use a fast shutter speed and ISO 500-1000 dependent on light to freeze the action. Clearly anyone looking for a specialist sports lens would consider one of the other options Sony offer but I was really pleased with the results. Couple of cons - not sure how well sealed it is, worried it may have sucked in a little dust / grit already. Also wish it came with a tripod collar, it's a big heavy lens and very long when extended, hope it'll last on the A7iii mount. Won't carry it with me on every shoot but glad I have it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

All round good performing lens

SEL70300G 26 August 2019 by Les11038 (United Kingdom)

Perfect for my style and use. Sports and action, a little wildlife and landscapes. The lens is acceptably sharp at all focal lengths. It is fast focusing paired with my Sony A7III. Perfect for my needs at this time. It’s not a heavy lens but a tripod collar would be beneficial in some circumstances which Sony unfortunately does not manufacture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

GREAT IMAGE QUALITY

SEL70300G 30 July 2019 by KEN206 (USA)

I BOUGHT THIS TO GO WITH MY A7RIII CAMERA SEVERAL MONTHS AGO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

This lens is a must, don't leave home without it!

SEL70300G 30 July 2019 by Robaudiology (United Kingdom)

Bought this one month ago and captured some amazing shots on safari. So easy to change lenses and the steady shot is a great feature.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

8

0

Superb lens

SEL70300G 30 July 2019 by Arfabike (United Kingdom)

Without doubt a professional lens capable of delivering that special shot. Just been on holiday to the French Alps and took some stunning landscape shots with some fantastic wildlife shots. Very versatile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Ouch - Sharp!

SEL70300G 24 July 2019 by JKPhoto100 (USA)

Lens is very sharp, results so far have been better than expected. Focus not as quick as I would have liked, however, if you are shooting in good light, the results are super sharp. Very happy so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very versatile

SEL70300G 06 July 2019 by Mott (United Kingdom)

I am extremely pleased with it and now I am getting used to itmotty

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great lens for both APS-C and FF Sony cameras

SEL70300G 20 June 2019 by CGEaton (United Kingdom)

I used a Sony 55-210mm lens on a NEX6 for about 5 years but wanted something with a longer reach. The 70-300 gives me that reach in a relatively compact package, so now I have 100 -450mm which perfect for my needs. Build quality is excellent and it's obvious this is a great little lens which doesn't break the bank.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony FE 70-300

SEL70300G 17 May 2019 by Fiona M (United Kingdom)

I brought this lens a couple of weeks ago and I am very impressed with it. Bonus is it is dust and moisture resistant. Light enough for my A6000 and very good for my garden birds photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

So far so good!

SEL70300G 09 May 2019 by Carter209 (USA)

Pretty stoked at the sharpness this lens gives me at 300mm. I was a little hesitant at first to purchase it but it truly is a great lens so far. I would love the 100-400 but it is way out of my price range. If your looking for the budget friendly option without sacrificing sharpness this is the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Performance and Value!

SEL70300G 17 April 2019 by RedlandsGreg (USA)

I’m an amateur photographer so I wanted a telephoto lens but didn’t have the budget to spend on the 400. I picked this lens up and could not be happier with the performance. It is heavy, but so is any good telephoto lens. I found the focus crisp, the image stabilization worked great and the 300mm zoom worked great to capture the images I was looking for. I used this lens while shooting from the deck on a river cruise on the Nile in Egypt. I was able to catch some great images on the river and on shore. I got just what I wanted out of this lens. I also picked up an aftermarket tripod mount that works great. If you’re on the fence about this lens don’t hesitate. It is a phenomenal performer and a great value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

the 70 to 300 is Ideal for my work

SEL70300G 17 February 2019 by MERV B (United Kingdom)

I can photograph several building defects from one spot and if I need a bit more length I switch my Sony a9 to APS/C super and they make a perfect team. I am unable to send photoes today but if you want some can send some later this week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL70300G 28 January 2019 by Sony long lens (United Kingdom)

Had it about six weeks and I use it for wildlife, clear and sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good initial impressions

SEL70300G 16 January 2019 by Noys (United Kingdom)

This review is based on the first few weeks of usage: winter months and frequently difficult lighting conditions

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good sharpness & resolution.

SEL70300G 20 November 2018 by B photo (USA)

The lens is a bit bulky as expected because of the stabilizer. Only wish the lens has a tripod mount since it was much heavier than my α6000. Taking picture with a reasonable quality tripod in a vertical position is a bit awkward to keep the lens from tipping down due to the weight. Otherwise the stabilizer works reasonably well at slower shutter speeds. The focus response is quick. Once had a similar lens from Tokina without the stabilizer. Even shooting still subjects on a tripod the quality is not nearly as good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Sony FE 70-300 F4.5-5.6 G OSS REVIEW

SEL70300G 07 September 2018 by Shootist (United Kingdom)

This isn’t really a review as I’ve only recently bought this lens and haven’t used it a great deal (my Sony 24-105mm f/4 being used as my regular walk around lens. The 70-300 has performed very well however, when used. Much like the other Sony lenses I purchased to go with my new Sony A7iii, I stayed away from the large/heavy (f/2.8) optics in favour of a lighter kit. The image quality has not disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Great features

SEL70300G 01 September 2018 by redmum (United Kingdom)

much lighter than the 100-400, which is what I needed. I like the lock on the lens very handy. Very pleased with it, a great asset to my camera bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good lens

SEL70300G 01 July 2018 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I bought a fortnight ago and have not yet used it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

29

0

Longer reach

SEL70300G 18 June 2018 by mel157 (United Kingdom)

I was torn between the 70-200 f4 and the 70-300 f4.5-5.6mm after hours of soul-searching backed by dozen of lens reviews, I still couldn't split these superb lenses. In the end however I went for the longer reach of the Sony 70-300mm unit mainly for wildlife and football (soccer) photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

10

0

Lighter than my Sigma

SEL70300G 12 June 2018 by Spokekey39 (United Kingdom)

Up until I purchased this FE lens I have been adapting a Sigma 120-400 zoom lens via the LA-EA4 adapter. That worked ok for me and my A7ii but it was quite heavy. The 70-300 G lens is about half the weight of my old setup and fits niceley in my camera bag. As a result I find that I take it out with me more often than the Sigma zoom. I am also very impressed with the focusing speed and I am getting the use of all my focusing options that my A7ii can provide. I have a couple of Sony primes lenses already and after my experience with this G lens I will be adding another one to my kit in the not too distant future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

great features

SEL70300G 09 June 2018 by rdm2 (USA)

very clear focus, very quiet, lighter then most lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very Dissapointing

SEL70300G 16 May 2018 by picflic (USA)

Having had the lens for about a month now all I can say is that I am extremely dissapointed with my purchase. Even to the extend that I am completely questioning my switch to Sony all together (That is how bad it is). This lens is just not sharp and every shot again gives a dissapointing result. At the pricepoint of this lens I expected a much better performance and I feel that the value of this lens certainly doesn't match the pricepoint. The lens looks and feels great but the optical performance is on par with some of the worst lenses i have ever used when i was starting out with cheap APS-C cameras.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

28

0

Overall good lens

SEL70300G 27 April 2018 by mikesnaps (United Kingdom)

Sharp across range, good contrast, quick auto-focus, solid stabilisation, BOKEH reasonable, overall a good lens. Combined with A6500 not too heavy and can be comfortably hand held for hours. Minor con, cannot access zoom ring with hood reverse fitted, so fit for sunny conditions or leave in bag. Lens Recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

1