FE 85mm F1.4 GM

Product Reviews

$2,199.00

(AUD inc. GST)
36

4.6 based on 36 customer reviews

28
5
0
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very nice focal length

SEL85F14GM 05 March 2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Great focal length for head to full portrait. The f1.4 aperture draws my subject out from the diffused background.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very bad performance and old technology

SEL85F14GM 21 February 2020 by Diaa eldin (USA)

Very bad performance and old technology compared to the value 1. Slow focus 2. Hunting in low light 3. Can't breath to nail the focus 4. Very noisy 5.weather sealing is not guaranteed to be protected from the dust 6. Too much chromatic and colore fringing 7.very heavy 8. Expensive compared to the compatitors 9. Not the sharpest of the class

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

4

36 Customer Reviews

0

Sharp and clear images.

SEL85F14GM 05 September 2020 by DWRC (United Kingdom)

Not had this lens for long but absolutely love it. The images are really sharp, as I expected, and the build is chunky so not too long. This balances my mirrorless camera better. I love the neat lens hood. It has a little safety catch that works well. I have lost too many on my travels.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Image quality is superb, autofocus could be better

SEL85F14GM 22 April 2020 by TSPhoto (United Kingdom)

Image quality is superb, but the autofocus could be better. It's fairly slow and noisy, feels a bit clunky. But for the superb image quality it's something that you may feel fine overlooking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very bad performance and old technology

SEL85F14GM 21 February 2020 by Diaa eldin (USA)

Very bad performance and old technology compared to the value 1. Slow focus 2. Hunting in low light 3. Can't breath to nail the focus 4. Very noisy 5.weather sealing is not guaranteed to be protected from the dust 6. Too much chromatic and colore fringing 7.very heavy 8. Expensive compared to the compatitors 9. Not the sharpest of the class

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

4

0

Great features!

SEL85F14GM 08 February 2020 by Kjennifer (United Kingdom)

Bought this because I love portraiture and it is a great lens, not as good as I hoped for low light but I’m still getting used to it and the photos are coming out looking very professional.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

GMaster Lens has a focusing noise issue

SEL85F14GM 17 January 2020 by John253 (USA)

The lens has focusing lens noise problem that I have never heard before. Sony needs to step up and resolve this problem. On the internet there are countless people complaining about this issue. This is not a cheap lens. (Never had problems like this with NIKON)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

6

0

Magic Lens

SEL85F14GM 15 January 2020 by ChadMichael (USA)

I call this the magic lens. That's all i have to say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Lens great - not happy with Sony

SEL85F14GM 14 September 2019 by Dave951753 (United Kingdom)

I'm happy with this lens - expensive - but good. Cash back is a problem. You have to wait 30 days (hoping we forget maybe?) Then type in serial number and photography serial number etc. They seem to look for any tiny reason not to pay out cashback. Bit shabby since we pay a lot to become Sony customers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

10

0

Absolutely beautiful depth of field!

SEL85F14GM 02 April 2019 by NickNick1 (USA)

It is a touch slower to eye focus than the 70-200 2.8 but it produces gorgeous images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

7

0

Insane Image Quality!

SEL85F14GM 18 March 2019 by ac058 (USA)

Unfortunately the majority of my camera gear was recently stolen :( However, while I had this lens it was fantastic. The separation you can achieve at F1.4 is simply stunning! It really does make ordinary pictures look phenomenal. One day ill buy another copy of this incredible lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

FE85mm F/1.4

SEL85F14GM 12 March 2019 by Fletcher8 (United Kingdom)

The Sony FE85mm F/1.4 is a stunning lens and is capable of producing some stunning images in relation to portraits. I love the rendering of this lens and how it feels. I hope Sony provide an update firmware to improve the speed of this lens and its low light performance. To be fair though most 85 lenses are not speed demons, but I am sure Sony could improve this lens with a future firmware update.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL85F14GM 06 February 2019 by shotbyIV (United Kingdom)

After switching from Canon to Sony and using my old Canon 85 1.2L this lens along with my Sony a7iii focusing much better and is tack sharp! Very sharp and wide aperture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

#BEALPHA

SEL85F14GM 27 January 2019 by multimediamel (USA)

One of my favorite lenses for portraits by far. It was my first G Master lens and it hasn't let me down during my portrait sessions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

My all time favorite lens!

SEL85F14GM 11 January 2019 by babystenerud (USA)

Hands down my favorite lens. It's kind of heavy and the autofocus is a little noisy, but the image quality is outstanding. The bokeh is sooo smooth and the sharpness is out of this world. Owning this lens makes me so happy. If you shoot video or have a limited budget or want to travel light, go with the 85mm 1.8 which is also a super lens. But if your main focus is stills and you want the best out there, this is your goto lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Too Sharp For me

SEL85F14GM 17 October 2018 by Trapboifuse (USA)

Had this Len for bout 2 years all i can tell you is......check out my gallery on Instagram @trapboifuse don’t know why it’s not $2500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

15

0

Creamy Bokeh and very sharp

SEL85F14GM 14 October 2018 by purephotoni (United Kingdom)

Having recently moved from Nikon to Sony I needed to purchase a new 85mm lens. As a wedding photographer the 85mm range is an important one for me and most of the portraits of our couples are taken using this focal length. I first purchased the Sony FE85MM f/1.8 which is also a strong performer with very quick autofocus and is razor sharp but I missed the better bokeh that I was able to get when using my previous 85mmm f/1.4. After looking in store I decided on 85mm GM Lens after comparing it to another third party lens. This lens was a little more compact than the third party option and also has the focus hold button which I really like as it I assign eye a.f to this button. Since purchase we have photographed a few weddings and engagement sessions with this lens and I have been extremely happy with the performance. It renders out of focus areas beautifully and is very sharp. The autofocus speed isn't as quick as the f/1.8 Sony but that would be the case with most 85mm lenses. For me this is the best 85mm lens available for e-mount. It's an expensive lens but well worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Manual focus won't work

SEL85F14GM 29 September 2018 by cbaillie (USA)

I bought this lens and the manual focus doesn't work. Auto focus will, but in manual the focus ring does nothin.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

8

0

85 1.4 gm

SEL85F14GM 28 September 2018 by Unalom (United Kingdom)

It's not cheap but optical preformance is out of this world.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Remarkable lens

SEL85F14GM 05 September 2018 by phillipsrsk (USA)

It seems that all great glass is heavy and normally expensive. The 85 F1.4 GM is both great and heavy. If you don't want to settle, it is the 85 to get for the Sony FE system. I do have the Sony 85 F1.8 as well if I want to travel light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

One the best portraits lens in the game!

SEL85F14GM 13 August 2018 by AJMCRPhoto (United Kingdom)

One the best portraits lens in the game! Game changer and faster than other brands at focussing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

1.4 fastness

SEL85F14GM 05 August 2018 by Apogee (Australia)

I needed a lens that could handle low light and work with fast moving subjects in blue and red ambient light on stage. To me the nightmare of shoots. this lens surpassed my expectations and that half stop between the 1.8 and 1.4 balanced out the light perfectly.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

All I hoped for.

SEL85F14GM 09 July 2018 by Sussexandy (United Kingdom)

After much deliberation I part exchanged all of my APS-C equipment and bought an A7-3 and this lens. The lens is magnificent, it is heavy but re-assuringly so, the quality of the images are all that I hoped for. I take many pictures in low light (dawn and dusk) and prefer to avoid external light sources, absolutely no problem for this lens. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharpest and Colourful 85 on the market!

SEL85F14GM 20 April 2018 by GMAN2018 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely LOVE this lens! Skins tones and colour pop is second to none - truly beautiful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Very nice focal length

SEL85F14GM 05 March 2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Great focal length for head to full portrait. The f1.4 aperture draws my subject out from the diffused background.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Portrait photography

SEL85F14GM 02 March 2018 by Rudy M (USA)

I’ve been using this lens with my Sony A7rii and it’s my go to set up for my portraits photos. Nice solid lens. Amazing bokeh affect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0