$299.00

(AUD inc. GST)
93

3.7 based on 93 customer reviews

36
23
15
10
9
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Unfair reputation?

SELP1650 13 June 2015 by Apocryphon (USA)

This was one of two lenses I got when I initially purchased my a6000. I'm pretty nocturnal and, to be honest, I pretty rapidly got sick of and replaced it, even though I kept it. The slow aperture just left a lot to be desired and I didn't really find its low light performance to be overly exceptional. I was pretty disappointed. Barring the release of a cost-effective a6000s, many of us will be choosing such cameras for our all-purpose carry around, and that means struggling with light a bit. Slow apertures leave a bit to be desired. I've been playing with it again a good deal recently. I still harbor a pretty similar opinion of its low light performance. Though, as long as you don't mind not achieving a proper exposure (which, at night, is sometimes more accurate than what the light meter thinks is "properly exposed", anyway, but that is really beside the point - you can't increase the exposure quite as readily without relying on slow shutter speeds and high ISOs, the point being)... so it is definitely far from ideal as an action shooter at night. Long shutter speed stills on a tripod? Not as bad. You can get some great images out of it, in terms of that. Lately, where I've found it really excels after giving it another chance, is (duh, obviously) in good light at apertures between f/5.6-11. Ideally I've been trying for shots at f/8 or f/11. Under these conditions, I'm glad I reintroduced myself to this lens. I'm actually really impressed with the center detail and clarity I get out of it for what it is. Though, that said, I'm not mercilessly pixel peeping all the corners at 300% crop when I use it. If you're taking the kids out to the beach on a sunny day and need a portable lens? It is pretty good, and casual shooters looking for a portable lens shouldn't have a problem with it. Out with the friends at night in a poorly lit bar? Not so much. Throw up a solid color paper backdrop, get some good lights, stay between f/5.6 and f/11 and you could probably even do portraits and full body shots for a client were you to wish it.

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Smart compromise

SELP1650 23 June 2014 by maistora (United Kingdom)

I got the E PZ 16-50mmas the kit lens with a Nex 5R in early 2013. Before that I was using the 18-55 mm kit lens with a first-generation Nex-5. My first impressions were inevitably influenced by the comparison: - the 16-50 is significantly smaller and lighter than the 18-55. I love this, because compactness is a high priority for my needs. With this lens I had a truly pocketable camera, like the old Nex with the 16mm pancake, but with a versatile zoom instead. - the lens struck me as visibly sharper than the old kit. I hadn't updated the firmware of the 18-55 for phase focussing, and the new lens came witth this capability as native. And the old body didn't have phase focus at all, so the combination 5R+16-50 was notably faster to focus and produced sharper images than the Nex-5 + 18-55. - This is where the good news ended. I started discovering some of the lens's deficiencies. It produces less even focus from centre to periphery: while sharpness in the centre is higher, the corners more visibly lose fine detail than on the older kit. - Image quality challenges are most prominent at the wide end: at 16mm the RAW (ARW) image is much more distorted than the fixed-length 16mm pancake. It can look almost like 'fish-eye' (especially with urban shots with lots of off-centre straight lines). - There is also heavy vignetting - darkening of the periphery. In addition to the gradual darkening, a completely black circular vignette can occur from the thinnest add-on like a simple filter in front of the lens, or a (properly wide) lens hood. As the corners get less light and less detail, noise becomes more apparent there, even at moderate ISO values like 400-800. Any low-light shots of detail-rich scenes at the wide end of the zoom would disappoint with below-average image quality. Not what one would expect from Sony?.. -The workaround: shooting in JPEG produces, counter-intuitively, better images than RAW. How can this be? Simply, Sony are aware of the lens limitations and the in-camera conversion includes correction algorithms, that largely neutralise the geometric distortion and the darkening of corners. - This is when I discovered Lens Profils in Lightroom. I had never used them before, because other lenses needed less correction. With the correct lens profile for the 16-50 lens, post-processing corrections on the PC are even better than the in-camera ones. From 'bad' originals you can get results anywhere from 'acceptable' to 'very good'. The lens-specific corrections cover not only distortion and vignetting, but also chromatic aberration (colour fringing) and fine-tuning all parameters can produce crisp, excellent looking images. Conclusion: Knowing the lens limitations and applying the right post-processing corrections allows you to deliver high quality images with the E PZ 16-50mm. I own a number of higher-quality Sony and non-Sony lenses, prime (fixed-length) and zooms - but nothing beats the humble 'kit zoom' for the combination of versatility and compactness that makes it my go-to lens for all situations when I don't carry a camera bag and need a camera in my pocket or in my laptop case. Some of my images produced with this lens have won awards or were sold via Getty Images. Attached are examples of different subjects and light conditions;

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

24

0

94 Customer Reviews

0

Lovely lens

SELP1650 13 October 2019 by Mr Smoothy (United Kingdom)

Really pleased. Switching from SLR to mirror less with Sony a6000 and 2 lenses. Great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Little Lens

SELP1650 25 August 2019  (United Kingdom)

For a kit lens, this produces some great photos. Mainly use for landscapes with a CPL filter to reduce glare

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Neat little lens

SELP1650 07 July 2019 by Carmot (United Kingdom)

Great little starter lens does what it says on the tin

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

FLASH IS WONKY DOESN'T ALWAY WORK

SELP1650 02 July 2019 by Jujuzelda (USA)

I HAVE SO DISAPPOINTED AFTER OWNING SEVERAL OTHER Sony CAMERAS. including the mauvica which used a disk. DOWN TO THE DETAIL OF THE LENS CAP DOES NOT HAVE A TETHER AND CAN BE SO EASILY LOST AND REPLACEMENT IS EXPENSIVE.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

It broke

SELP1650 05 June 2019 by JeffG53 (United Kingdom)

OK it was after three years of use that it broke - till then as a standard kit zoom it was alright. I didn't like it enough to seriously consider having it repaired.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Happy with my sony

SELP1650 05 May 2019 by lali1004 (USA)

I got my mother's day gift yesterday, I am very happy with my SONY camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Epz 16 -50mm soft focus

SELP1650 29 April 2019 by Johnnykid (United Kingdom)

Sorry to say I have not been happy with this lens at all. Straight out the box it has been very soft. As this is the kit lens that came with the camera I very nearly sent the whole lot back. This lens should not be sold with new cameras as it hides the quality that can be achieved with the camera itself. Very disappointing lens. The build quality is not bad for a kit lens but watch out for the power zoom button as this can be pulled off and lost.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Terrible lens

SELP1650 05 April 2019 by Woodburn (USA)

This is the lens which comes in the kit. Although the focal length is very useful, the inability to add a lens hood or filter although fitted with a threaded front makes this lens useless. I had the lens back to warranty twice, both times they found nothing wrong. the third time they replaced the lens with a new one and I'm sure the problems will continue. I had hoped that this would be the camera I could travel with for years to come but now I feel I need to search for a company who provides good products. Oh, by the way, I am not a disgruntled amateur photographer, spent many years as a stringer for a large newspaper and 27 years in Forensic Science investigating homicides etc. and everything in forensics must be photographed. I also taught photography at the college level.

Picture Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

3

0

Its a Lens

SELP1650 18 March 2019 by Nala yes ME (United Kingdom)

Its quite compact - which is what I wanted - and covers the range I was after. Pictures so far are OK but still getting used to using it. Just been using it on "auto" until I get more used to the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact but excellent lense

SELP1650 15 March 2019 by Koichi (United Kingdom)

I bought this product 1 month ago. I really like it!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all round lens

SELP1650 25 February 2019 by CPMS (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for when I travel, and so for I’m happy with it, however, it’s still early days. I’m not a professional photographer, just an amateur and for the price I thought this lens was a good choice.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

stunning clarity

SELP1650 21 January 2019 by Devon lad (United Kingdom)

I have this lens as part of a kit with a 6300 body. This is my first Sony lens, and I used it properly for the first time in difficult light conditions. The images were crystal clear and the overall clarity was amazing. I look forward o using more often in the future, but first impressions are wow!

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

This was an upgrade for me

SELP1650 19 January 2019 by Clifford3504 (USA)

I bought it about a month now I’m happy with it but I’m still Learning

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good kit lens & works with underwater housing

SELP1650 16 January 2019  (United Kingdom)

This was bought with a Sony A6500. It's a good lens & produces nice results both above the water & below, using an underwater housing. There are only a few combinations that give 4K video for underwater work with a reasonable price & this has been a good combination. Good zoom range & reasonable close up work with a minimum focus length of around 9" is good for marine life

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice lens with zoom features

SELP1650 15 January 2019 by MAK53 (United Kingdom)

Came with the Camera, as a first lens and is very useful at the lowest aperture, the zoom feature is very helpful on this small compact lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Starter Lens!

SELP1650 04 January 2019 by pauldues (USA)

Great starter lens for the Sony Alpha series, make sure to get the package deal!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera, but one big con

SELP1650 04 January 2019 by StephLuv (USA)

The quality is AMAZING!! However, one of the biggest cons for me is that, I do youtube videos so when I'm filming my vidoes tend to be a little long and the camera does overheat and cut off after about 15 mins or so.Therefore I have to record (and then edit) my videos in pieces. Other than that, this camera is the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Kit lens

SELP1650 02 January 2019 by trevor533 (United Kingdom)

I bought this with the camera, and have found it perfect for all my photos. The 16-50mm lens is more than adequate for most shots. The auto focus/aperture/lens zoom is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Lens the 55-210mm optical Steady Shot

SELP1650 08 December 2018 by Gio423 (USA)

When I purchased this last month I was truly excited for the purchase I made, mainly because I knew these lens are quite pricey, but they are worth every dollar! I'm now a proud owner of the 55-210mm lens from Sony! And truly can't wait to try out a prime lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the beat kit lenses up there, but...

SELP1650 04 October 2018 by Kstsjo (United Kingdom)

It is a great kit lens. It is sharper than most of the competition and small, although, the built quality isn't a 100%. It rattles, the adjustment ring has too little feedback and is easy to break.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

It came with defect, cannot focus precisely

SELP1650 23 September 2018 by tomcat_ave (United Kingdom)

I bought this 2 months ago amd all photos are NOT sharp. then making test with other lenses I realized that selp 1650 I bought is not working properly

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

It Broke!

SELP1650 18 September 2018 by sonyguyny (USA)

The lens got stock open a few months in and the camera doesn't recognize it.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Good lens

SELP1650 03 August 2018 by Shell99 (USA)

This lens is good for sightseeing and close up potraits

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Incredibly Fragile

SELP1650 25 July 2018 by Suspense (USA)

amazing photos. drop it once and it's broken. needs more durability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

1