$499.00

(AUD inc. GST)
75

3.7 based on 75 customer reviews

27
18
14
9
7
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Unfair reputation?

SELP1650 13 June 2015 by Apocryphon (USA)

This was one of two lenses I got when I initially purchased my a6000. I'm pretty nocturnal and, to be honest, I pretty rapidly got sick of and replaced it, even though I kept it. The slow aperture just left a lot to be desired and I didn't really find its low light performance to be overly exceptional. I was pretty disappointed. Barring the release of a cost-effective a6000s, many of us will be choosing such cameras for our all-purpose carry around, and that means struggling with light a bit. Slow apertures leave a bit to be desired. I've been playing with it again a good deal recently. I still harbor a pretty similar opinion of its low light performance. Though, as long as you don't mind not achieving a proper exposure (which, at night, is sometimes more accurate than what the light meter thinks is "properly exposed", anyway, but that is really beside the point - you can't increase the exposure quite as readily without relying on slow shutter speeds and high ISOs, the point being)... so it is definitely far from ideal as an action shooter at night. Long shutter speed stills on a tripod? Not as bad. You can get some great images out of it, in terms of that. Lately, where I've found it really excels after giving it another chance, is (duh, obviously) in good light at apertures between f/5.6-11. Ideally I've been trying for shots at f/8 or f/11. Under these conditions, I'm glad I reintroduced myself to this lens. I'm actually really impressed with the center detail and clarity I get out of it for what it is. Though, that said, I'm not mercilessly pixel peeping all the corners at 300% crop when I use it. If you're taking the kids out to the beach on a sunny day and need a portable lens? It is pretty good, and casual shooters looking for a portable lens shouldn't have a problem with it. Out with the friends at night in a poorly lit bar? Not so much. Throw up a solid color paper backdrop, get some good lights, stay between f/5.6 and f/11 and you could probably even do portraits and full body shots for a client were you to wish it.

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Smart compromise

SELP1650 23 June 2014 by maistora (United Kingdom)

I got the E PZ 16-50mmas the kit lens with a Nex 5R in early 2013. Before that I was using the 18-55 mm kit lens with a first-generation Nex-5. My first impressions were inevitably influenced by the comparison: - the 16-50 is significantly smaller and lighter than the 18-55. I love this, because compactness is a high priority for my needs. With this lens I had a truly pocketable camera, like the old Nex with the 16mm pancake, but with a versatile zoom instead. - the lens struck me as visibly sharper than the old kit. I hadn't updated the firmware of the 18-55 for phase focussing, and the new lens came witth this capability as native. And the old body didn't have phase focus at all, so the combination 5R+16-50 was notably faster to focus and produced sharper images than the Nex-5 + 18-55. - This is where the good news ended. I started discovering some of the lens's deficiencies. It produces less even focus from centre to periphery: while sharpness in the centre is higher, the corners more visibly lose fine detail than on the older kit. - Image quality challenges are most prominent at the wide end: at 16mm the RAW (ARW) image is much more distorted than the fixed-length 16mm pancake. It can look almost like 'fish-eye' (especially with urban shots with lots of off-centre straight lines). - There is also heavy vignetting - darkening of the periphery. In addition to the gradual darkening, a completely black circular vignette can occur from the thinnest add-on like a simple filter in front of the lens, or a (properly wide) lens hood. As the corners get less light and less detail, noise becomes more apparent there, even at moderate ISO values like 400-800. Any low-light shots of detail-rich scenes at the wide end of the zoom would disappoint with below-average image quality. Not what one would expect from Sony?.. -The workaround: shooting in JPEG produces, counter-intuitively, better images than RAW. How can this be? Simply, Sony are aware of the lens limitations and the in-camera conversion includes correction algorithms, that largely neutralise the geometric distortion and the darkening of corners. - This is when I discovered Lens Profils in Lightroom. I had never used them before, because other lenses needed less correction. With the correct lens profile for the 16-50 lens, post-processing corrections on the PC are even better than the in-camera ones. From 'bad' originals you can get results anywhere from 'acceptable' to 'very good'. The lens-specific corrections cover not only distortion and vignetting, but also chromatic aberration (colour fringing) and fine-tuning all parameters can produce crisp, excellent looking images. Conclusion: Knowing the lens limitations and applying the right post-processing corrections allows you to deliver high quality images with the E PZ 16-50mm. I own a number of higher-quality Sony and non-Sony lenses, prime (fixed-length) and zooms - but nothing beats the humble 'kit zoom' for the combination of versatility and compactness that makes it my go-to lens for all situations when I don't carry a camera bag and need a camera in my pocket or in my laptop case. Some of my images produced with this lens have won awards or were sold via Getty Images. Attached are examples of different subjects and light conditions;

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

24

0

75 Customer Reviews

0

One of the beat kit lenses up there, but...

SELP1650 04 October 2018 by Kstsjo (United Kingdom)

It is a great kit lens. It is sharper than most of the competition and small, although, the built quality isn't a 100%. It rattles, the adjustment ring has too little feedback and is easy to break.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

It came with defect, cannot focus precisely

SELP1650 23 September 2018 by tomcat_ave (United Kingdom)

I bought this 2 months ago amd all photos are NOT sharp. then making test with other lenses I realized that selp 1650 I bought is not working properly

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

It Broke!

SELP1650 18 September 2018 by sonyguyny (USA)

The lens got stock open a few months in and the camera doesn't recognize it.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good lens

SELP1650 03 August 2018 by Shell99 (USA)

This lens is good for sightseeing and close up potraits

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Incredibly Fragile

SELP1650 25 July 2018 by Suspense (USA)

amazing photos. drop it once and it's broken. needs more durability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Mixed Feelings - a little more con than pro

SELP1650 08 July 2018 by KeithTandy (USA)

Photo : This was my first kit lens that I got with by NEX6 camera. Its good outside daylight and produces crisp images. But indoors with reasonable lighting and evening/night this lens is a nightmare. All I see is black on the screen even with max aperture of 3.5 without compromising shutter speed or ISO (which ruins the quality of the image). Don't even try using the 50mm length for portraits and bokeh shots unless you have a tons and tons of light. Thats what the 50mm 1.8 lens is for (5 stars). I will give it credit for variable zoom however, and it gets good landscapes (lot of light required again) and long exposures are decent. Video: I imagine more videographers using this lens. The variable zoom is a plus and on auto you can get bright shots as the camera adjusts iso/shutter accordingly. The electronic power zoom noise is DISGUSTING and takes over the audio when you zoom in during a shot, thus i can see this one con ruining anyone using it for video (unless you decide to not use audio). The lens is nice and small and very lightweight too. It was frustrating using this kit lens for a long time, then I finally upgraded to 50mm 1.8 and never looked back. I love portrait/bokeh photography and the 50mm 1.8 is a very specific lens. I came back to this 16-50 and was able to appreciate what its strengths are though. But the lack of a fast aperture left a lot to be desired.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Reasonable results

SELP1650 23 June 2018 by Kinok41 (United Kingdom)

Not to bad if kept at f6.5 to f8 and avoid minimum and maximum focal length but does not allow an A6000 to show its league capabilities.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

poor quality but compact

SELP1650 09 June 2018 by CSOCSO (USA)

Got this as my first zoom lens for my sony camera. I only have prime lenses and I needed a zoom lens. Went on vacation in orlando and just took a ton of pictures at my son graduation. Compared to the prime lenses the quality on this one is pretty much disappointing and horrible. Lens is clean. Everything is always soft and nearly blurry.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

SELP1650 01 June 2018 by Anne211 (USA)

I love it, it’s my first and I’m so inlove! Great feature

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fully reliable lens

SELP1650 22 March 2018 by MrLaskez (USA)

Bought Sony a6000 with this lens. Outstandingly astonished.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great!!

SELP1650 12 March 2018 by Leshea (USA)

I use this at car events it is fast and gets the best photos it is wounderful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great starter lens

SELP1650 03 March 2018 by Rich in Lukang (USA)

Great little all-around lens! This lens came bundled with an ILCE-5100 camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good basic lens

SELP1650 28 February 2018 by AndrewBig (United Kingdom)

Handy to have when you can't carry around multiple lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact with great features

SELP1650 26 February 2018 by RaffyL (USA)

This was given to me as a Christmas present. It's my go-to camera for indoor and outdoor use. Images are sharp and crisp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good beginner lens

SELP1650 25 January 2018 by Jae1526 (USA)

It is a good beginners lens, and that just about where this lens would market well with. If your the typical point and shoot person, this is the lens for you. Also a good lens for people who travel a lot. Pros: It’s a small compact lens, has OSS, good for video, has a decent focal range from wide angle to about a portrait. Cons: Not the fastest lens, not good for night/dark photography, images are okay quality

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camera is too new to form an opinion.

SELP1650 22 December 2017 by JART (USA)

I'm still getting used to the controls on the camera, AND the PlayMemories, which was an unpleasant surprise.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sharp lens but build quality is sub par.

SELP1650 11 December 2017 by KCreativity (USA)

I will say that for a kit lens it is sharp but the barrel is very loose for a brand new lens I don't know if it is every on or just the lens I got.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great kit lens

SELP1650 09 December 2017 by LucasJ8 (USA)

This lens is probably the best way to go as your initial lens. It comes as a kit in most cases and is a great way to get a feel for the camera and photography before investing too much into the platform. It's not the sharpest lens but, for whats basically a kit, its pretty good. It is capable of utilizing the ClearView zoom that to go beyond the 16-50mm range in lieu of a longer zoom until you can purchase another lens for that reach. It also has built-in stabilization which helps on the a6000/a6300 which don't have sensor stabilization in the camera body. One of the best things about the lens is how compact it is. It's very easy to slip the camera with the lens on in a bag or a jacket pocket and take it with you for the day.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not sharp and image quality as expected

SELP1650 06 November 2017 by Devy (USA)

I bought this one month ago along with Sony a6000 camera...I am so disappointed from this image quality ..I bought this camera with lens after reading many reviews. But no one mentioned about this kit lens so bad which make this camera 1 star. I bought this camera even after knowing sony lens are very costly as compare to other brands...But i while buying never had intention to buy another lens and wanted to use only Kit lens. However. i saw some video in YouTube after purchasing it..They also mentioned that Kit lens is bad for this camera. By bad quality kit lens and other higher cost of Sony lens. I think may not turn back to sony again...I would suggest, Sony should sell only Camera body and let customer to decide to buy their other costly lenses before buying this camera. However, i am still not sure if its camera or kit lens is bad because i have to buy their costly lens to confirm it.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

6

0

Poor built quality

SELP1650 18 October 2017 by big_dave (USA)

I would have love loving it but unfortunately I can't. I bought this as an everyday portable lens but it got broken after a month or so. The side zoom lever got broken while detaching, carefully enough, the lens from the body revealing the poor built quality. Two ultra-thin (probably 0.5 mm) plastic pins poorly hold up the button to the lens. A part that: -It has a really heavy vignette (that can be corrected in camera). -The zoom lever is obviously electronic and it is quite slow I guess for video use. -The zoom ring is electronic too. Is is a lot faster than the lever but it has a delay anyway, but not a huge deal. -The optical quality is good though. It is true that is a cheap one but be extremely cautious using and storing this lens. I don't know what's the point of building something portable that's so fragile? I come from Canon DSLR and I never experienced anything like this.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Great camera

SELP1650 17 October 2017 by Kristenk (USA)

Great camera for a good price. I paid a little more than I wanted to but it was worth it. I do wish it had a view finder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for short range with good lighting

SELP1650 27 August 2017  (USA)

I recently bought the Sony A5100 mirror less camera for my 11 day trip to Italy. I took 2500 photos. This lens came with it. I just loved the ease of use, the size, the weight and everything about operating it. When it came time to share pictures with others, I realized that my pictures did not measure up to several of the other people who came on the trip. Short distance and good lighting - The pics were awesome Long distance and/or low lighting - It really lacked a lot. Although most of my pictures were short distances, I am really really disappointed in the lense. I am currently looking to somehow update the lense.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great vide quality

SELP1650 30 July 2017 by jackiechan (USA)

I got this lens with the camera and I definitely recommend it. It does a little bit of what every lens does.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still trying to get crisp photos

SELP1650 18 July 2017 by DelawareDon (USA)

I am excited to begin working with my ICLE-a6300. I am still testing how to take crisp photos but am not yet satisfied with the end results. If I can master all of the core cameras features I will be very happy. My overall rating will go to five at that time.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1