$599.00

(AUD inc. GST)
423

4.4 based on 423 customer reviews

235
144
22
11
11
Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 20 March 2017 by Old Man1952 (United Kingdom)

Very good lens so much so that I have just sold off my Nikon 200-500mm zoom as this gives much better results in the real world

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could be better

DSC-HX90V 21 September 2015  (United Kingdom)

Bought this a couple of months ago to replace an HX50. Having a viewfinder is great though having to 'erect' it every time is a pain and also makes it vulnerable. The camera is a bit smaller than the previous one, perhaps a bit too small. It also doesn't seem to focus well with some subjects / light conditions. The GPS is nigh on useless, it takes too long to get a fix. One improvement over the HX50 is the ability to disable the movie button which is still badly positioned. It is also much more cumbersome to use - having to launch 'apps' to do things like control from your phone. It was so simple and much quicker with the previous camera.

2

0

423 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent

DSC-HX90V 19 October 2021 by Lesann (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few months ago and never looked back. My SLR had got a bit heavy for me so decided on the HX90V. It has everything I need and the quality is amazing.

0

0

0

Compact but takes amazing pictures

DSC-HX90V 13 October 2021 by R Tu (United Kingdom)

Needed a camera that had a view finder as find my mobile phone difficult to see the screen on bright days. It's so compact so easy to keep on you.

0

0

0

FANTASTI C. The best compact camera I have had.

DSC-HX90V 13 October 2021 by Reg Ling (United Kingdom)

I bought the HX90 about 18 months ago. Previously I was using a HX60 which is great. The HX90 has two other advantages: 1 The EV finder - beats the problem of screen reflections when the sun is behind me. 2 The tiltable screen - extends photographic compositions and avoids needing to kneel down to capture rectilinear shots.

0

0

0

HX90V

DSC-HX90V 13 October 2021 by enneo (United Kingdom)

Super compact camera, with many great features, would recommend

0

0

0

Small, high technology, excessively complex

DSC-HX90V 02 August 2021 by Michel8181 (United Kingdom)

I bought it a few weeks ago. This nice box has so many possibilities that it requires a 393 pages French user manual. I understand only part of the explanations ... and I still only use, with success, the all-automatic mode and the zoom. Note that I'have been taking picture for a very long time with simpler - and good - cameras. I would like to take training on this device. Where can I find a trainer ?

0

0

0

Classic Point and shot but is also so much more

DSC-HX90V 04 July 2021 by srj1969 (Australia)

Brought this as a second option to my main Camera, it’s just a pocket rocket that offers great value for its pricing point.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Steady Shot

DSC-HX90V 28 June 2021 by Horse legs (United Kingdom)

I am not too happy with the steady shot it doesn't work very well especially on video

0

0

0

Excellent features in a very compact form

DSC-HX90V 21 June 2021 by MH200 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to replace a Nikon S9700 that I had for several years. I wanted a camera with integrated GPS, good optical zoom, and a small size. After a lot of comparison, I went with it - although the model is few years old, I don't regret the choice. It is a really great compact camera - full of feature. It works very well and produce excellent pictures.

0

0

0

Great little camera, outdated software

DSC-HX90V 12 June 2021 by lewesian (United Kingdom)

Excellent for what I want it for, as a travelling camera. Installing the software was not easy and I'm still trying to work it out.

0

0

0

Takes a while...

DSC-HX90V 22 November 2020 by BJ96 (United Kingdom)

I had TWO Sony Cybershot DSC and have loved them. However, I wanted a viewfinder as well, so when I dropped and broke my beloved DSC50 I replaced it with the HX90. I usually shoot on APerture Priority but I just could NOT get this to work properly - it shot 2 frames instead of 1, the pictures were ridiculously blurred, couldn’t even make them work on AutoISO. So I managed to get my DSC50 working and copied all the settings from that across as far as I could. Now, so far, so good... somehow, things are better. I thought I understood how to use AP, but clearly not. The manual isn’t helpful. Now that I’m using it on these copied settings, though, I’m happy again.

2

0

0

Great Features!!!

DSC-HX90V 23 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought it a month ago. We are all excited about it. All of a sudden, this camera became the main one in the house. I don't carry a bigger one with me anymore. I don’t take photos with my phone anymore than this little wonder camera has. Great picture and video. Small. Easy. Excellent zoom and stabilization, eyepiece, ....

2

0

0

Great Upgrade

DSC-HX90V 30 August 2020 by Peeddoor (United Kingdom)

Purchased this as an upgrade form my WX100 which in itself was a fabulous little camera. This is a little larger and heavier so not as versatile in respects of being able to easily slip it into your pocket but purchased a basic small bag that I can hang around my neck/shoulder etc which gives easy access - not heavy etc. Functionality is very similar to my WX100 but what I needed was a viewfinder. On bright days I could not see the screen before but now I have the option to pop up the viewfinder which guarantees I can now see what I want to take a picture of. Not being a pro not quite sure why when I first look through the viewfinder everything is much smaller than with the naked eye but once you zoom in it vastly improves. In fact it is almost like a spy camera the zoom is so good. Little concerned how strong the viewfinder is so only using when I have to. Build quality is very good and altogether an excellent little camera that performs as good as my WX100 and better still. Compliments my RX10 which is exceptional but for everyday use, the HX90V is brilliant in capturing those moments which one might otherwise miss.

5

1

0

Too fiddly

DSC-HX90V 06 August 2020 by Buff1234 (United Kingdom)

I bought this two weeks ago and still can’t get to grips with it. Nightmare trying to download to smartphone. I’ve given up tak8ng it back

0

2

0

My Review for HX90V Compact Camera

DSC-HX90V 30 July 2020 by Activities4all (United Kingdom)

This Sony DSC-HX90VB replaces my Canon SX740 which in itself was a brilliant camera with a bigger screen and zoom range at 40x but this Sony DSC-HX90VB at 30x is more than enough for me. The main reason to change was because its easier to setup GPS and the use of the eye viewer similar to my SLR. The facilities of this camera are many and it would take me days to go though them all. I managed to get a kindle book download for the Sony DSC-HX90VB which is a great addition to help with setting up etc, but does not fully answer my questions about the GPS. There are loads of reviews on YouTube and I spent hours watching them before deciding to change. There was no Kindle for the Canon HX740. The Sony DSC-HX90VB is slightly smaller and the screen does not seem as bright as the Canon but it slips into the pocket more easier. After playing with the GPS I found that the corodinates on the EXIC data was not user friendly and was not easy to extract. It may be me, but I need to play around with it more to try and fing a program to sisplay the location. It semms that Sony are not supporting the Play Memories anymore. One problem I did have, the supplied USB mains adaptor to was not a UK one and was not the same as the images for this camera, never the less, the camera still warrants my 5 Stars.

1

0

0

A Lot Of Camera For Your Money

DSC-HX90V 02 July 2020 by DannyG600 (United Kingdom)

I used to carry a full sized SLR with a 600mm lens, very big, heavy, expensive and definitely not pocket sized. Then I found the HX90V in my local camera shop, it was pocket sized and had a zoom lens eqivalent to a 720mm telephoto and was not nearly as expensive. The zoom lens is great for wildlife photography and lets you get close up shots without frightening the animals. For fast moving subjects like birds, cars, airplanes it has a burst mode which takes 10 shots per second so there's a chance one will be good. Reflected glare is not a problem thanks to the pop up viewfinder which lets you see what your shooting in the brightest sunlight. Best of all the picture quality is great and it will fit any pocket big enough for your phone.

1

0

0

We love this camera!

DSC-HX90V 29 March 2020 by LouLou1000 (United Kingdom)

We cannot speak to highly of this product - its exceptional! We already had a HX90 and its been all over the world with us - taken some great shots, often surprised us by just how good it is particularly for the cost and its never let us down. We argue over who is going to have the camera as it gives both of us a lot of pleasure and so we decided to get another one so we've one each and whilst we considered getting a different make and model both of us wanted the other to have the new camera so we could continue to use the HX90 and so in the end we just bought another one.

2

0

0

A great pocket camera

DSC-HX90V 14 March 2020 by Indigodominion (United Kingdom)

I bought this to make sure I can always carry a camera with me. As with all things small it is a compromise of size / functionality / cost ... but this is one which works for me. Yes, I do carry my phone with me as well, but the HX90v has a x30 zoom and a flip-up screen, as well as a more powerful flash and larger CCD - so it does take better pictures. It has become my "go-to" camera and I use it most days.

2

1

0

Awesome features, easy to use, value for money.

DSC-HX90V/BCE32 09 March 2020 by Radzi (Malaysia)

An awesome camera for travellers. Easy to use, easy to carry. Execellent photo

0

0

0

Great value, great camera.

DSC-HX90V 06 March 2020 by Emperor Al (United Kingdom)

I bought this for travelling light and it has excelled in every respect, even the zoom is mighty fine.

1

0

0

Very impressed by the stabilisation on long focus

DSC-HX90V 20 February 2020 by FrankJ (United Kingdom)

I’m 90 and I began to feel overloaded with my SLR, three lenses and flash. My daughter bought an HX90 when it came out and I was struck by her results and the portability. I am probably still on the learning curve, but I’ve mastered a lot of the features and have some superb results. The only disappointment I have - and there may be a solution I haven’t found - is that I cannot find a way to transfer movies to my PC. Perhaps I need a new PC.

2

0

0

Ideal pocket size camera

DSC-HX90V 14 February 2020 by peck142 (United Kingdom)

As an avid walker I needed a camera that will fit in a pocket, is lightweight, has a decent zoom and preferably a viewfinder. The HX90V is the perfect solution as it fits my needs perfectly. So far everything about the camera is exactly as I wanted.

0

0

0

A good choice

DSC-HX90V 22 January 2020 by joja20 (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera when my old one packed up just before going on holiday. It has filled the gap very well.

0

0

0

Good compact camera.

DSC-HX90V 22 January 2020 by 1 None (United Kingdom)

Excellent Zoom but the buttons and control wheel are far too small and fiddley. Why wait to claim the £50.00 cash back?

0

0

0

Good digital.

DSC-HX90V 21 January 2020 by MYOBA (United Kingdom)

So far it's a nifty piece of kit with the 30x zoom really good.

0

0