$528.00

(AUD inc. GST)
383

4.4 based on 383 customer reviews

218
127
19
9
10
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 20 March 2017 by Old Man1952 (United Kingdom)

Very good lens so much so that I have just sold off my Nikon 200-500mm zoom as this gives much better results in the real world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could be better

DSC-HX90V 21 September 2015  (United Kingdom)

Bought this a couple of months ago to replace an HX50. Having a viewfinder is great though having to 'erect' it every time is a pain and also makes it vulnerable. The camera is a bit smaller than the previous one, perhaps a bit too small. It also doesn't seem to focus well with some subjects / light conditions. The GPS is nigh on useless, it takes too long to get a fix. One improvement over the HX50 is the ability to disable the movie button which is still badly positioned. It is also much more cumbersome to use - having to launch 'apps' to do things like control from your phone. It was so simple and much quicker with the previous camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

384 Customer Reviews

0

A Lot Of Camera For Your Money

DSC-HX90V 02 July 2020 by DannyG600 (United Kingdom)

I used to carry a full sized SLR with a 600mm lens, very big, heavy, expensive and definitely not pocket sized. Then I found the HX90V in my local camera shop, it was pocket sized and had a zoom lens eqivalent to a 720mm telephoto and was not nearly as expensive. The zoom lens is great for wildlife photography and lets you get close up shots without frightening the animals. For fast moving subjects like birds, cars, airplanes it has a burst mode which takes 10 shots per second so there's a chance one will be good. Reflected glare is not a problem thanks to the pop up viewfinder which lets you see what your shooting in the brightest sunlight. Best of all the picture quality is great and it will fit any pocket big enough for your phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

We love this camera!

DSC-HX90V 29 March 2020 by LouLou1000 (United Kingdom)

We cannot speak to highly of this product - its exceptional! We already had a HX90 and its been all over the world with us - taken some great shots, often surprised us by just how good it is particularly for the cost and its never let us down. We argue over who is going to have the camera as it gives both of us a lot of pleasure and so we decided to get another one so we've one each and whilst we considered getting a different make and model both of us wanted the other to have the new camera so we could continue to use the HX90 and so in the end we just bought another one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A great pocket camera

DSC-HX90V 14 March 2020 by Indigodominion (United Kingdom)

I bought this to make sure I can always carry a camera with me. As with all things small it is a compromise of size / functionality / cost ... but this is one which works for me. Yes, I do carry my phone with me as well, but the HX90v has a x30 zoom and a flip-up screen, as well as a more powerful flash and larger CCD - so it does take better pictures. It has become my "go-to" camera and I use it most days.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great value, great camera.

DSC-HX90V 06 March 2020 by Emperor Al (United Kingdom)

I bought this for travelling light and it has excelled in every respect, even the zoom is mighty fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very impressed by the stabilisation on long focus

DSC-HX90V 20 February 2020 by FrankJ (United Kingdom)

I’m 90 and I began to feel overloaded with my SLR, three lenses and flash. My daughter bought an HX90 when it came out and I was struck by her results and the portability. I am probably still on the learning curve, but I’ve mastered a lot of the features and have some superb results. The only disappointment I have - and there may be a solution I haven’t found - is that I cannot find a way to transfer movies to my PC. Perhaps I need a new PC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Ideal pocket size camera

DSC-HX90V 14 February 2020 by peck142 (United Kingdom)

As an avid walker I needed a camera that will fit in a pocket, is lightweight, has a decent zoom and preferably a viewfinder. The HX90V is the perfect solution as it fits my needs perfectly. So far everything about the camera is exactly as I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good choice

DSC-HX90V 22 January 2020 by joja20 (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera when my old one packed up just before going on holiday. It has filled the gap very well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good compact camera.

DSC-HX90V 22 January 2020 by 1 None (United Kingdom)

Excellent Zoom but the buttons and control wheel are far too small and fiddley. Why wait to claim the £50.00 cash back?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good digital.

DSC-HX90V 21 January 2020 by MYOBA (United Kingdom)

So far it's a nifty piece of kit with the 30x zoom really good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not used yet!

DSC-HX90V 17 January 2020 by Valorium (United Kingdom)

I haven’t used it yet I’m waiting for some decent weather but I’m sure it’ll be fine, this is my third one, the only thing I’m disappointed with is there’s no crop option as I used to use it a lot but I’m pleased that it has a view finder as you can’t see a thing on the screen when it’s sunny it’s pure guess work! I’m rating it on my previous ones as I said I haven’t used it yet!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect Allrounder

DSC-HX90V 17 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

This is my third HX90V, and it is by far the most used model of the three cameras I use (hence why I've now had tree, it gets a lot of work). It has excellent picture quality, easily exploited features and is very portable. I only use my DSLR and Bridge cameras for any particularly special requirements. I'm dreading the day Sony chooses to discontinue it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera, so many features in small size.

DSC-HX90V 15 January 2020 by Dot 70 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera because my son has one and he loves it. It has so many features in such a small light camera. I'm only an amateur photographer but have found it very straightforward to use. The only problem I had was with the wifi connection to my phone and tablet. The store where I bought the camera (Castle Cameras) were very helpful and I'm now sorted. Would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice compact camera, easy to use

DSC-HX90V 14 January 2020 by Jake65 (United Kingdom)

Got this camera for Christmas. Really easy to use and takes great photos. Video footage is exceptional quality. Would highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Camera

DSC-HX90V 07 January 2020 by KenCamera (United Kingdom)

Had one before but, for some reason, it has developed a 'spot' over the years. Probably a speck of dust has got onto one of the lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera. Quality product.

DSC-HX90V 17 December 2019 by BarbaraA (United Kingdom)

Very pleased to have a pop up viewfinder (compact that this replaced didn't have one). Especially pleased with viewing screen that opens out making it easy to take photos at different angles. Wide and telephoto ranges both excellent. Would recommend the case to protect it - fixes onto the camera and everything bar access to the card is available without having to remove the case at all. Image quality is brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great zoom, great size, great camera

DSC-HX90V 16 October 2019 by BeaP (United Kingdom)

I have been a Sony DSC compact camera fan for many years now and this is my latest purchase. For the price this is definitely the best option to go for and the zoom is fantastic compared to other small cameras. The negatives compared to my previous Sony DSC is that the dial on the top is slightly smaller and the on/off switch is in a less convenient place, but this redesign is partly to do with the shrinking in size of the body of the camera. The one feature that I really miss which the older versions offer is the ability to crop and re-save both photos and video stills (making them into pictures). Sony - if you can include this in the next version, it will be a 5-star review!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Telephoto lens is great as is the viewfinder

DSC-HX90V 14 October 2019 by tony2525 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as a compact camera with a pop up viewfinder and telephoto lens. previously had a HX60 and that was good, but suffered in sunny conditions where I couldn't clearly see the image on the screen. The viewfinder overcomes this issue. Its the same problem with a mobile phone camera. The HX90 should link to my iPhone to put images on the phone for convenient viewing, but I can't get this feature to work. I think it's an android v apple issue. If I could get this to work, it would be great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best one so far

DSC-HX90V 03 October 2019  (United Kingdom)

I've used several compacts with 1/2.3 sensors and I'd say this is the best so far in terms of lens quality and noise performance. I also like the tilting screen, which is handy for low-light shots.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

What an impressive performer

DSC-HX90V 28 September 2019 by Awsderftg (United Kingdom)

I am very impressed with the capability of my HX90V. It will take me a while to get up to speed with all its features, but until then I-auto will sort it out for me. I enjoy having a view finder, but am a bit concerned with how fragile it seems, and it is a bit fiddly to open up and close down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Camera great but cashback difficult

DSC-HX90V 25 September 2019 by PaulAndClaireD (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera to replace a faulty Leica It works great, lightweight and easy to use Tried to claim £50 cashback but website refuses to accept photographs of receipt and serial number

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Good first camera

DSC-HX90V 19 September 2019 by hihihi (United Kingdom)

This is my first camera that I have bought and I think it's great for beginners who don't really know all the technicalities of photography as this camera has a guide built into it which I thought was useful. The automatic modes were also really helpful when I didn't know what I needed to do to get a good picture out.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A good replacement

DSC-HX90V 07 September 2019 by 7stripesprite (United Kingdom)

My previous compact camera (quite a few years old) developed a fault - it went to video EVERY time I tried to zoom in - so I was advised this Sony was a very good replacement. Having now used it for a coupe of months, I can agree it's features do exactly as described to me. It has been used to good effect at football matches and photographing small insects (it's main uses). I think, over time, I will be very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Too many to use when taking quick photos.

DSC-HX90V 06 September 2019 by bb472 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera in July and had a lot of problems with the battery.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good small camera

DSC-HX90V 03 September 2019 by photowiz (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera just over a month ago and have found it to be easy to use and navigate through the menus. The pop-up viewfinder is good although does not seem over solid in construction. The only irritating point is that the activation button for video is right under where your thumb would normally be and is easy to activate accidentally.Generally a great small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0