$599.00

(AUD inc. GST)
258

4.4 based on 258 customer reviews

152
80
14
6
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 20 March 2017 by Old Man1952 (United Kingdom)

Very good lens so much so that I have just sold off my Nikon 200-500mm zoom as this gives much better results in the real world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could be better

DSC-HX90V 21 September 2015  (United Kingdom)

Bought this a couple of months ago to replace an HX50. Having a viewfinder is great though having to 'erect' it every time is a pain and also makes it vulnerable. The camera is a bit smaller than the previous one, perhaps a bit too small. It also doesn't seem to focus well with some subjects / light conditions. The GPS is nigh on useless, it takes too long to get a fix. One improvement over the HX50 is the ability to disable the movie button which is still badly positioned. It is also much more cumbersome to use - having to launch 'apps' to do things like control from your phone. It was so simple and much quicker with the previous camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

258 Customer Reviews

0

fantastic features in tiny body

DSC-HX90V 18 July 2018 by Jitb (United Kingdom)

I have a Sony nex 7. However this has become my go to day to day camera. The picture quality in day light is fantastic and the view finder is high quality. The size is so ideal for evenings. The auto focus is quick and responsive. it even has an editing function to make teeth whiter. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A lot of camera in a small package

DSCHX90V/B 16 July 2018 by Big O (USA)

I have been using an SLR camera for over 40 years and I never thought I'd be happy with a "point and shoot". This camera is amazing! It has more features than any of my SLRs (including a 24 mm to 720 mm optical zoom) yet it actually fits in my pocket!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A nice camera... with one glaring omission

DSC-HX90V 14 July 2018 by chrisc23 (United Kingdom)

I'm really enjoying this camera - it's a neat size with a nice lens. Love the pop-up viewfinder and tilting view screen too. However, I really miss not being able to shoot in RAW format and only in jpeg. This is a glaring omission on Sony's part.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-HX90V 10 July 2018 by Wellyscot (United Kingdom)

Lots of features which are easy to use. Very hoary indeed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pocket camera

DSC-HX90V 06 July 2018  (United Kingdom)

I wanted a small camera that would fit into a pocket. This fits the bill.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb little camera with big features!

DSC-HX90V 29 June 2018 by Moggie_P (United Kingdom)

Bought for me as a gift, superb features usually found in a dslr camera. fantastic optical zoom range in such a small camera, wifi is excellent and easy to setup. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A really high-end small camera - superb

DSC-HX90V 28 June 2018 by PALL (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a small high quality camera with an optical viewfinder; this surpasses my expectations as the quality of the design is so slick and smart. A real find! And an excellent quality lens, too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

DOES WHAT IT WAS DESIGNED TO DO...

DSC-HX90V 28 June 2018 by LaGrangeJim (USA)

I have owned so many cameras over the past 10 years. The first was actually a 5-Star , the Fuji F30. Went thru Canon SX130, 230, 260, Fuji F900, Lumix ZS15, FZ150. I love to travel, and even tho I take my A6300+ Neewer 35/1.7+ Sony 55-200 on serious outings, I always have had those pocket zooms for long range stuff. Look at all those I have owned. Only the FZ150 was not pocket capable. The HX90 earns 5 stars because it has 30X really nice outdoor zoom. I do not require a 30X pocket camera to do indoor low light, but the HX90 can frequently surprise me. It does as well as my son's Nikon 1 J5. A./ Good 30X zoom B./ EVF small but usable (I'm 68), with tiny but okay diopter maybe +-2.0.... C./ Flip-up LCD that is vari-angle (but not swivel). D./ Focus Peaking (like my A6300 ) E./ Very, very nice video and on-board mic has great pick=up. F./ GPS tagging , nice for travel review when back home G./ Very capable Auto WB in 90% of indoor and outdoor scenes H./ Quick Menu key shows most functions with one press. Bad: A./ No RAW ( but for tiny sensor seems rather pointless to me) B./ Can miss focus in tree branch bird shots, shots against the open sky, etc. C./ No touchscreen. D./ Slow after-shot write time...need superfast memory card. In summary, Just don't see any real competition in this physical size class. I carry the HX90 inside its Sony case in the same bag with my A6300 and lenses for international travel. In the US, it goes everywhere, andf the bigger camera often stays home...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Apps what Apps

DSC-HX90V 27 June 2018 by nzjohn (New Zealand)

the older cameras have better Apps ,the HX60V has 5 multiple shot Apps HX90V none!!!!!

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent

DSC-HX90V 23 June 2018 by 1514 (United Kingdom)

Very pleased indeed so far on the basis of one months use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Holiday treat

DSC-HX90V 15 June 2018 by Pig nose (United Kingdom)

Found my DSLR kit rather heavy to carry around on holiday, bought this as a birthday present for myself...and what a little marvel it has turned out to be...great zoom...stabilisation certainly as good if not better than my more expensive gear...packed with features...very user friendly and first class results under all conditions...downside I can’t get it back from my wife!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wish I hadn’t bought this camera

DSC-HX90V 12 June 2018 by Animal lover uk (United Kingdom)

I wish I hadn’t bought this camera. I am very disappointed. I spent a long time in the shop deciding on it and after using it I decided it could be so much better. I was told the auto setting would do everything I needed but using that the pictures aren’t great. I upgraded from a Kodak that only has 4mp and x10 zoom yet it takes much better photos. When I take a close up photo of a flower and leaves it doesn’t register that it is a close up shot and takes it as a landscape instead of using the macro setting. It means I have to mess around with the manual settings and that isn’t want I wanted from my new camera. it’s such a shame you can’t return these items if you can’t get on with them.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great little marvel

DSC-HX90V 27 May 2018 by Footy k (United Kingdom)

Brilliant features, all you could want in your pocket. Good results, my Nex 7 stays at home now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camera

DSCHX90V/B 25 May 2018  (USA)

I bought my first Sony HX90V camera over two years ago. It started malfunctioning when it was almost a year old and Sony replaced it. I was recently on vacation and accidentally dropped it. I immediately ordered another one as I couldn't be without this camera on my trip. It takes awesome photos and I use it 99% of the time and my "big" camera 1% of the time. It's easy to take anywhere without xtra lenses, etc. I would highly recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera,but started having issues after 2 yrs

DSCHX90VB 19 May 2018 by Franklin55 (USA)

I have had this for a little over two years. I love the view finder feature. Unfortunately it started doing strange things this year. Sometimes when I go to shoot the screen inverts the picture and forces the camera into the timer mode. Four hours later or the next day it is back to normal. I have checked everything I could. Great pictures and options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Camera takes good photos but has problems

DSC-HX90V 13 May 2018 by Cameraman45 (United Kingdom)

The camera is lightweight and compact, takes good photos the zoom is great but has other problems: 1. My PC doesn't recognise it when connected. So I have to take out the SD card and plug it in seperately even using the "play memories Home" 2. I took 100 photos and the camera locked up twice so had to reset it. 3.The power button is far too slow - takes 5 secs to respond. So it is unclear if the power button has been pressed firmly enough. 4. The other buttons are far too sensitive and if caught will alter the display settings. 5. When returning the zoom setting too quickly it brings up the calander. Overall a good camera but I think the chip is far too slow to respond to commands.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Fantastic travel camera

DSC-HX90V 07 May 2018 by BlueBiker (United Kingdom)

Purchased as a point and shoot superzoom camera that is small enough to go with me to Europe without lugging around a bag full of photo equipment. The camera takes beautiful pictures and the extra features such as the Wifi and GPS make this a perfect camera for taking pictures on the go. Well impressed,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well made and compact

DSC-HX90V 05 May 2018 by NonicknameFred (United Kingdom)

Only had the HX90V for a couple of weeks, but am pleased with it so far. There are plenty of options to adjust to your particular preference, but Auto produces very good images for quick shots.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

All I ever wanted in a camera

DSC-HX90V 04 May 2018 by BNoddy (United Kingdom)

Bought camera in June last year to replace my bulky digital Nikon Best thing I ever did Has all I want in a camera at my level (and more) Should done it sooner

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great allrounder for Travel

DSC-HX90V 17 April 2018 by JAM13 (United Kingdom)

Great camera with some features that help with taking photos. Just love the OLED as you can use this when sun is out and you can't see the screen.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small camera with big features

DSC-HX90V 11 April 2018 by Sinner (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to replace a damaged Panasonic. The camera does an excellent job, the viewfinder is all that you would expect, but the auto switch from monitor to viewfinder is a bit strange to get used to. The GPS recording is accurate. The photo quality is great, not sure yet about the auto focus when at maximum zoom, it sometimes gets confused(whether there are settings to change the I've not found out yet). The camera size is absolutely perfect, it almost fits in your shirt pocket, and the weight is also very reasonable. The power on time is also excellent.All in all a good buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent small camera

DSC-HX90V 26 March 2018 by IanJ (New Zealand)

This camera is very simple to use & takes excellent pictures. Great zoom to clearly capture far-away subjects

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Superb pictures but difficult and fiddly to use.

DSC-HX90V 18 March 2018 by selside45 (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is superb but the product is extremely difficult to use and there is a serious lack of useful documentation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

A great multi-featured compact

DSC-HX90V 18 March 2018 by spiketheoriginal (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a reasonably priced compact travel camera with an electronic viewfinder (I hate not being able to see the screen image in the sun); GPS (to keep a record of where I've been) and a good zoom (to capture photos of places I can't reach). All delivered in this great little camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0