$599.00

(AUD inc. GST)
388

4.5 based on 388 customer reviews

256
96
15
9
12
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Powerful Camera -- Perfect for Baby-Boomers

dscrx100-b 26 July 2012 by BeJay (USA)

This review comes after my having read all of the pre-release and early on-line reviews, then buying an RX100 in a local Sony Store -- it totally exceeds my expectations. This product review is probably different from most others. I am a Senior Citizen with very specific needs, needs which the RX100 is satisfying brilliantly, for instance: (1) I have been experiencing vision issues which challenge my use of a DSLR's eyepiece. The huge and hugely bright LCD display on the RX100 aides my composition and focusing comfort (as does the quick and accurate autofocus). (2) The combination of several features in one compact camera body precludes my needing other equipment. In particular, the 28mm-100mm optical zoom together with the digital zoom extension to 200mm; the ultra-wide angle panorama mode; and, its breath-taking 1080 HD video with full active camera functions and still frame capture ability. I'm using its MP4 format and Mac computers. (3) Also, besides adding years to its "Obsolescence Window" by jumping to 20Mpixel resolution [my last Nikon digital camera works but has only 5Mpixel, hence obsolete], having such large images allows me to crop down to smaller sections of the image and still have plenty of pixels to print -- effectively increasing the RX100's "magnification" even more than it's stated optical and digital zoom ranges. (4) The combination of a very large sensor and the F1.8 lens, together with the camera's uncanny ability to adjust for strong backlight, has allowed me to minimize the need for any flash at all. I'm taking pictures that my previous equipment simply couldn't handle w/o fill flash. (5) And, finally, the fast internal processor and support for large, fast memory cards, encourages me to use the RX100's 10 image per second burst capture, which is a major aide in getting just the right expression when I am photographing blinking adults and/or typically hyperactive Newborn to 4-year-old granchildren. The price of having to kill all of the "extra" stills in the burst is small compared to getting the perfect shot, or not getting it. I'm using a 16Gb Class 10 but intend to try a 95Mbps Extreme Pro memory to see whether the Rx100 is even faster! So, although there are a few "shortcomings" as mentioned in the on-line and other customers' reviews (i.e., weak on-camera flash, no hot shoe, HDMI port next to the tripod mount, weak user manual so far), this camera truly is top of its class and an excellent investment for people like me who do a lot of grandchild photos and vacation/travel photos -- I started photographing my latest grandson's birth the same afternoon that I bought the RX100; and I can hardly wait for next February to take this little beauty along to New Zealand and Australia (for this active vacation I am buying a trekking pole with a camera mount to use as a monopod).

72

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Takes some getting used to...

DSC-RX100 11 July 2018 by Garryzxl (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a travel camera having read lots of positive reviews. Certainly feels solid and well built, but the location of the pop-up flash is awkward, and I am having to re-learn how to hold a camera. Lack of a hard copy manual makes learning the camera's features quite tiresome.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

388 Customer Reviews

0

Let down by viewfinder

DSC-RX100 04 February 2020 by Captain Snaps (United Kingdom)

I find it difficult to use the view-screen in sunny conditions, so I went for a camera that has a viewfinder. I wear glasses, so have to adjust the dioptre of the viewfinder. It only works when the adjustment section is pulled out, which you have to push back in when you want to close the viewfinder. This is a serious design fault, and should have been noticed when it went through pre-introdution trials.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great camera. Dated though.

DSC-RX100 13 January 2020 by Justdan84 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera after my A5000 screen died. I was excited to get to use it, however, the software was dated. No options to send the images via an app or the ability to control the camera. It’s no fault of Sony, I blame the camera shop for not informing me on this even though I explained what I needed and what I was using it for.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great pictures taken.

DSC-RX100 11 December 2019 by Paul 4 (United Kingdom)

Packed with features, easy to use on auto. As a point and shoot user I am getting good results and have tried using various settings with differing success but enjoying experimenting. I have had problems setting up WiFi transfers to iPad and android phone but after help from Sony customer support it seems to be sorted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small and great pic's

DSC-RX100 11 December 2019 by Beej59 (United Kingdom)

great pocket camera when not carting round with my Nikon and lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tiny gem

DSC-RX100 18 November 2019 by LeDoc (United Kingdom)

Bought as an upgrade to my RX100 mk3. Top notch camera. Unrivalled range of features and the best autofocus available in this type of camera. New longer length lens first rate. There is a trade off with the handling in that the camera is tiny and that it has a staggering range of features but in reality it is no great problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

RX100

DSC-RX100 12 November 2019 by Boomer31 (United Kingdom)

Purchased prior to a recent holiday to replace old camera. Extremely happy with the camera and quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing pictures in a compact package

DSCRX100 02 November 2019 by GeminiPlus (USA)

I managed to purchase the first version of this model, and was really surprised by the versatility and quality of pictures the 1 inch sensor manages. It gives complete control of modes as you can easily adjust Manual, Aperture, Shutter and of course the Intelligent Auto and Superior Auto. Also it has a great Tracking Focus feature, and a very useful function ring. Add that to the convenience of size and you have one of the best travel cameras out there. Only lacking in this model are the wifi function which would enable transfer to Imaging Edge app, a hot shoe for expanding functions via accessories, and the optical viewfinder, but you can get those from the Mark II onwards.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pin Sharp

DSC-RX100 20 October 2019 by Mirtna (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this camera after looking at reviews it received in regard to similar cameras by other manufacturers. I have to say that I am delighted with the camera, it was bought to replace carrying a DSLR camera. I wanted something that had manual control functions in addition to point and shoot settings. To conclude the camera is easy to navigate through setup and shooting modes and the end product of large photographic prints which are 'Pin Sharp'. Exactly want I wanted, so delighted with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony is so far ahead - it's mind blowing

DSCRX100 03 October 2019 by CraigI (USA)

This is my 2nd one of this model - I bought the first when it came out back in 2012 or so - and yet this camera is still superior to most all of the competition. For 90% plus of photographers this is the line (any of the RX100 model) to get. Everyone is always impressed with the pictures AND video that come out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect camera

DSC-RX100 03 October 2019 by ClareW (United Kingdom)

I love this camera! It's so compact but very substantial. I can slip it into my bag or even my pocket so that it's to hand whenever I need it. It takes really good quality images, has a wide range of features and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small body, great photos and many features

DSCRX100 30 September 2019 by Tim in Texas (USA)

I purchased this camera when looking for a new memory card. Saw it on the shelf and asked about it. I really liked the many features, the solid, metal body and how it took photos. It also has a nice, large viewer screen in the back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera, great price for the quality.

DSC-RX100 27 September 2019 by Fried Buffalo Wings (United Kingdom)

Needed a good quality point and click - this does the job nicely.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

TRULY A FIRST CLASS CAMERA

DSC-RX100 24 September 2019 by GR91 (United Kingdom)

It might be very small but it certainly packs a great punch

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-RX100 24 September 2019 by Otpsyche (United Kingdom)

Excellent and minimalist design. Great travel camera. Excellent photos for a compact cam

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful camera, but macro is a weak point

DSCRX100 22 September 2019 by rombarom (USA)

As for me (photos of family, photos of nature, photos of flowers, photos in museums, occasionally videos) this is a great camera that makes wonderful photos in automatic and in manual regime. One minus is that it is very difficult to make macro photos of small objects, otherwise I'm really fascinated by the quality of camera. O, one should buy second battery to make photos all day! One battery will hold only few hours of intensive work. There is good help built in also.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-RX100 22 September 2019 by Eric80 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera two weeks ago and are very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A very handy camera

DSC-RX100 19 September 2019  (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera a couple of months ago to take away with me, as my phone camera is not very good. Having just come back from a trip I found this a great little camera, it slips easy into my pocket or handbag, weights next to nothing and takes good quality photo's. My usual cameras are Sony a7 II or a6500 so the RX100 fits nicely along side these. I would recommend the RX100 for it size, easy of use and the quality of the pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

One of the best compact cameras.

DSC-RX100 18 September 2019 by Marin (United Kingdom)

Plenty of settings, automatic and manual. Good quality photos.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Takes great pictures!

DSC-RX100 30 August 2019 by Liz25 (United Kingdom)

Took lovely clear photos..easy to use , good playback onvideo

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

This really is a good small camera to carry around

DSC-RX100 29 August 2019 by nicholas57 (United Kingdom)

I bought this nearly a month ago and am really impressed with it's quality and size. The images are great and I needed a quiet mode which it has. When the sound's turned off it doesn't make much noise at all! Fantastic. Can't wait to explore this camera's other features soon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pros and cons

DSCRX100 03 August 2019 by Emarie (USA)

Photo quality was good. The color was amazing as well. However, I could not transfer any videos taken by this camera for some unknown reason.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Easy to use and great results

DSC-RX100 27 July 2019 by Ippy (United Kingdom)

I am only beginning to learn all the features of the RX100 but am impressed so far and even leaving it on auto produces some great pictures. Easy to connect to other devices

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

rx100

DSC-RX100 19 July 2019 by asdd (United Kingdom)

good camera but first one broke very easily so had to buy another

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100 14 July 2019 by Last chhance (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace the exact one that went swimming in Australia when i fell in the creek

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0