$599.00

(AUD inc. GST)
377

4.5 based on 377 customer reviews

248
95
14
9
11
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Powerful Camera -- Perfect for Baby-Boomers

DSCRX100/B 26 July 2012 by BeJay (USA)

This review comes after my having read all of the pre-release and early on-line reviews, then buying an RX100 in a local Sony Store -- it totally exceeds my expectations. This product review is probably different from most others. I am a Senior Citizen with very specific needs, needs which the RX100 is satisfying brilliantly, for instance: (1) I have been experiencing vision issues which challenge my use of a DSLR's eyepiece. The huge and hugely bright LCD display on the RX100 aides my composition and focusing comfort (as does the quick and accurate autofocus). (2) The combination of several features in one compact camera body precludes my needing other equipment. In particular, the 28mm-100mm optical zoom together with the digital zoom extension to 200mm; the ultra-wide angle panorama mode; and, its breath-taking 1080 HD video with full active camera functions and still frame capture ability. I'm using its MP4 format and Mac computers. (3) Also, besides adding years to its "Obsolescence Window" by jumping to 20Mpixel resolution [my last Nikon digital camera works but has only 5Mpixel, hence obsolete], having such large images allows me to crop down to smaller sections of the image and still have plenty of pixels to print -- effectively increasing the RX100's "magnification" even more than it's stated optical and digital zoom ranges. (4) The combination of a very large sensor and the F1.8 lens, together with the camera's uncanny ability to adjust for strong backlight, has allowed me to minimize the need for any flash at all. I'm taking pictures that my previous equipment simply couldn't handle w/o fill flash. (5) And, finally, the fast internal processor and support for large, fast memory cards, encourages me to use the RX100's 10 image per second burst capture, which is a major aide in getting just the right expression when I am photographing blinking adults and/or typically hyperactive Newborn to 4-year-old granchildren. The price of having to kill all of the "extra" stills in the burst is small compared to getting the perfect shot, or not getting it. I'm using a 16Gb Class 10 but intend to try a 95Mbps Extreme Pro memory to see whether the Rx100 is even faster! So, although there are a few "shortcomings" as mentioned in the on-line and other customers' reviews (i.e., weak on-camera flash, no hot shoe, HDMI port next to the tripod mount, weak user manual so far), this camera truly is top of its class and an excellent investment for people like me who do a lot of grandchild photos and vacation/travel photos -- I started photographing my latest grandson's birth the same afternoon that I bought the RX100; and I can hardly wait for next February to take this little beauty along to New Zealand and Australia (for this active vacation I am buying a trekking pole with a camera mount to use as a monopod).

72

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Takes some getting used to...

DSC-RX100 11 July 2018 by Garryzxl (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a travel camera having read lots of positive reviews. Certainly feels solid and well built, but the location of the pop-up flash is awkward, and I am having to re-learn how to hold a camera. Lack of a hard copy manual makes learning the camera's features quite tiresome.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

383 Customer Reviews

0

RX100

DSC-RX100 12 November 2019 by Boomer31 (United Kingdom)

Purchased prior to a recent holiday to replace old camera. Extremely happy with the camera and quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing pictures in a compact package

DSCRX100 02 November 2019 by GeminiPlus (USA)

I managed to purchase the first version of this model, and was really surprised by the versatility and quality of pictures the 1 inch sensor manages. It gives complete control of modes as you can easily adjust Manual, Aperture, Shutter and of course the Intelligent Auto and Superior Auto. Also it has a great Tracking Focus feature, and a very useful function ring. Add that to the convenience of size and you have one of the best travel cameras out there. Only lacking in this model are the wifi function which would enable transfer to Imaging Edge app, a hot shoe for expanding functions via accessories, and the optical viewfinder, but you can get those from the Mark II onwards.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pin Sharp

DSC-RX100 20 October 2019 by Mirtna (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this camera after looking at reviews it received in regard to similar cameras by other manufacturers. I have to say that I am delighted with the camera, it was bought to replace carrying a DSLR camera. I wanted something that had manual control functions in addition to point and shoot settings. To conclude the camera is easy to navigate through setup and shooting modes and the end product of large photographic prints which are 'Pin Sharp'. Exactly want I wanted, so delighted with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony is so far ahead - it's mind blowing

DSCRX100 03 October 2019 by CraigI (USA)

This is my 2nd one of this model - I bought the first when it came out back in 2012 or so - and yet this camera is still superior to most all of the competition. For 90% plus of photographers this is the line (any of the RX100 model) to get. Everyone is always impressed with the pictures AND video that come out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect camera

DSC-RX100 03 October 2019 by ClareW (United Kingdom)

I love this camera! It's so compact but very substantial. I can slip it into my bag or even my pocket so that it's to hand whenever I need it. It takes really good quality images, has a wide range of features and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small body, great photos and many features

DSCRX100 30 September 2019 by Tim in Texas (USA)

I purchased this camera when looking for a new memory card. Saw it on the shelf and asked about it. I really liked the many features, the solid, metal body and how it took photos. It also has a nice, large viewer screen in the back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera, great price for the quality.

DSC-RX100 27 September 2019 by Fried Buffalo Wings (United Kingdom)

Needed a good quality point and click - this does the job nicely.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

TRULY A FIRST CLASS CAMERA

DSC-RX100 24 September 2019 by GR91 (United Kingdom)

It might be very small but it certainly packs a great punch

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-RX100 24 September 2019 by Otpsyche (United Kingdom)

Excellent and minimalist design. Great travel camera. Excellent photos for a compact cam

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful camera, but macro is a weak point

DSCRX100 22 September 2019 by rombarom (USA)

As for me (photos of family, photos of nature, photos of flowers, photos in museums, occasionally videos) this is a great camera that makes wonderful photos in automatic and in manual regime. One minus is that it is very difficult to make macro photos of small objects, otherwise I'm really fascinated by the quality of camera. O, one should buy second battery to make photos all day! One battery will hold only few hours of intensive work. There is good help built in also.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-RX100 22 September 2019 by Eric80 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera two weeks ago and are very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A very handy camera

DSC-RX100 19 September 2019  (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera a couple of months ago to take away with me, as my phone camera is not very good. Having just come back from a trip I found this a great little camera, it slips easy into my pocket or handbag, weights next to nothing and takes good quality photo's. My usual cameras are Sony a7 II or a6500 so the RX100 fits nicely along side these. I would recommend the RX100 for it size, easy of use and the quality of the pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

One of the best compact cameras.

DSC-RX100 18 September 2019 by Marin (United Kingdom)

Plenty of settings, automatic and manual. Good quality photos.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Takes great pictures!

DSC-RX100 30 August 2019 by Liz25 (United Kingdom)

Took lovely clear photos..easy to use , good playback onvideo

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

This really is a good small camera to carry around

DSC-RX100 29 August 2019 by nicholas57 (United Kingdom)

I bought this nearly a month ago and am really impressed with it's quality and size. The images are great and I needed a quiet mode which it has. When the sound's turned off it doesn't make much noise at all! Fantastic. Can't wait to explore this camera's other features soon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pros and cons

DSCRX100 03 August 2019 by Emarie (USA)

Photo quality was good. The color was amazing as well. However, I could not transfer any videos taken by this camera for some unknown reason.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Easy to use and great results

DSC-RX100 27 July 2019 by Ippy (United Kingdom)

I am only beginning to learn all the features of the RX100 but am impressed so far and even leaving it on auto produces some great pictures. Easy to connect to other devices

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

rx100

DSC-RX100 19 July 2019 by asdd (United Kingdom)

good camera but first one broke very easily so had to buy another

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100 14 July 2019 by Last chhance (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace the exact one that went swimming in Australia when i fell in the creek

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

DSC-RX100 08 July 2019 by Hil 15 (United Kingdom)

Bought for my husband. Very pleased. Picture quality really good. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pocket Rocket

DSC-RX100 27 June 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought my RX100 on a popular auction site for what seems like a song. In the few weeks of using it, I've found it produces sharp DSLR quality photos with as much or as little fuss as you wish to do. The controls are set out the same as my Sony a6000 but slightly smaller. I do wish it had a viewfinder but it hasn't been a tremendous hindrance so far. Would definitely recommend it as a handy travel camera for those who do not wish to lug loads of hear around with them on their travels !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worst camera ever

DSCRX100 20 June 2019 by danm41 (USA)

When I first got the camera a couple of months ago it seemed to work reasonably well, but very soon I started getting messages about no memory device and unable to display. I'd open the door to the memory card, close it, and then it would be okay for a little while. Soon the same thing would happen again. In the last week it hasn't been able to save anything. I have three cards. They all work on my other camera, and none of them are working on the RX-100. I've checked online and see that I'm far from the only one to have this problem. I've tried all the suggestions given to fix it, and of course I wouldn't be writing this if any of them worked. How can I get a replacement or a refund?

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

A true Pocket Rocket

DSC-RX100 15 June 2019 by Doc98 (United Kingdom)

1 was amazed at the quality of both photos & build / pocketability. It is the only camera in my 60 years of having cameras that is always to hand and can satisfy an amateur or a professional. Truely a perfect package. However, Sony have improved on perfection with their later versions that I list after and will be on my Xmas list.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb images

DSC-RX100 15 May 2019 by the snapper (United Kingdom)

Having read many positive reviews about this RX100 camera I decided to purchase. What a revelation. I have only had the RX100 for about three weeks trying every setting including both RAW and Jpeg fine with excellent results.I find the controls just right as is the size which is important as we do a lot of walking. The camera feels sturdy but not heavy. Macro photos of flowers, landscape and people are pin sharp with good colours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0