$649.00

(AUD inc. GST)
368

4.5 based on 368 customer reviews

241
93
14
9
11
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Powerful Camera -- Perfect for Baby-Boomers

DSCRX100/B 26 July 2012 by BeJay (USA)

This review comes after my having read all of the pre-release and early on-line reviews, then buying an RX100 in a local Sony Store -- it totally exceeds my expectations. This product review is probably different from most others. I am a Senior Citizen with very specific needs, needs which the RX100 is satisfying brilliantly, for instance: (1) I have been experiencing vision issues which challenge my use of a DSLR's eyepiece. The huge and hugely bright LCD display on the RX100 aides my composition and focusing comfort (as does the quick and accurate autofocus). (2) The combination of several features in one compact camera body precludes my needing other equipment. In particular, the 28mm-100mm optical zoom together with the digital zoom extension to 200mm; the ultra-wide angle panorama mode; and, its breath-taking 1080 HD video with full active camera functions and still frame capture ability. I'm using its MP4 format and Mac computers. (3) Also, besides adding years to its "Obsolescence Window" by jumping to 20Mpixel resolution [my last Nikon digital camera works but has only 5Mpixel, hence obsolete], having such large images allows me to crop down to smaller sections of the image and still have plenty of pixels to print -- effectively increasing the RX100's "magnification" even more than it's stated optical and digital zoom ranges. (4) The combination of a very large sensor and the F1.8 lens, together with the camera's uncanny ability to adjust for strong backlight, has allowed me to minimize the need for any flash at all. I'm taking pictures that my previous equipment simply couldn't handle w/o fill flash. (5) And, finally, the fast internal processor and support for large, fast memory cards, encourages me to use the RX100's 10 image per second burst capture, which is a major aide in getting just the right expression when I am photographing blinking adults and/or typically hyperactive Newborn to 4-year-old granchildren. The price of having to kill all of the "extra" stills in the burst is small compared to getting the perfect shot, or not getting it. I'm using a 16Gb Class 10 but intend to try a 95Mbps Extreme Pro memory to see whether the Rx100 is even faster! So, although there are a few "shortcomings" as mentioned in the on-line and other customers' reviews (i.e., weak on-camera flash, no hot shoe, HDMI port next to the tripod mount, weak user manual so far), this camera truly is top of its class and an excellent investment for people like me who do a lot of grandchild photos and vacation/travel photos -- I started photographing my latest grandson's birth the same afternoon that I bought the RX100; and I can hardly wait for next February to take this little beauty along to New Zealand and Australia (for this active vacation I am buying a trekking pole with a camera mount to use as a monopod).

72

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Takes some getting used to...

DSC-RX100 11 July 2018 by Garryzxl (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a travel camera having read lots of positive reviews. Certainly feels solid and well built, but the location of the pop-up flash is awkward, and I am having to re-learn how to hold a camera. Lack of a hard copy manual makes learning the camera's features quite tiresome.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

368 Customer Reviews

0

Pros and cons

DSCRX100 03 August 2019 by Emarie (USA)

Photo quality was good. The color was amazing as well. However, I could not transfer any videos taken by this camera for some unknown reason.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Easy to use and great results

DSC-RX100 27 July 2019 by Ippy (United Kingdom)

I am only beginning to learn all the features of the RX100 but am impressed so far and even leaving it on auto produces some great pictures. Easy to connect to other devices

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

rx100

DSC-RX100 19 July 2019 by asdd (United Kingdom)

good camera but first one broke very easily so had to buy another

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100 14 July 2019 by Last chhance (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace the exact one that went swimming in Australia when i fell in the creek

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

DSC-RX100 08 July 2019 by Hil 15 (United Kingdom)

Bought for my husband. Very pleased. Picture quality really good. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pocket Rocket

DSC-RX100 27 June 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought my RX100 on a popular auction site for what seems like a song. In the few weeks of using it, I've found it produces sharp DSLR quality photos with as much or as little fuss as you wish to do. The controls are set out the same as my Sony a6000 but slightly smaller. I do wish it had a viewfinder but it hasn't been a tremendous hindrance so far. Would definitely recommend it as a handy travel camera for those who do not wish to lug loads of hear around with them on their travels !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worst camera ever

DSCRX100 20 June 2019 by danm41 (USA)

When I first got the camera a couple of months ago it seemed to work reasonably well, but very soon I started getting messages about no memory device and unable to display. I'd open the door to the memory card, close it, and then it would be okay for a little while. Soon the same thing would happen again. In the last week it hasn't been able to save anything. I have three cards. They all work on my other camera, and none of them are working on the RX-100. I've checked online and see that I'm far from the only one to have this problem. I've tried all the suggestions given to fix it, and of course I wouldn't be writing this if any of them worked. How can I get a replacement or a refund?

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

A true Pocket Rocket

DSC-RX100 15 June 2019 by Doc98 (United Kingdom)

1 was amazed at the quality of both photos & build / pocketability. It is the only camera in my 60 years of having cameras that is always to hand and can satisfy an amateur or a professional. Truely a perfect package. However, Sony have improved on perfection with their later versions that I list after and will be on my Xmas list.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb images

DSC-RX100 15 May 2019 by the snapper (United Kingdom)

Having read many positive reviews about this RX100 camera I decided to purchase. What a revelation. I have only had the RX100 for about three weeks trying every setting including both RAW and Jpeg fine with excellent results.I find the controls just right as is the size which is important as we do a lot of walking. The camera feels sturdy but not heavy. Macro photos of flowers, landscape and people are pin sharp with good colours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

We have 2 x RX100 V1's

DSC-RX100 12 May 2019 by DaveK 2019 (USA)

I bought my RX100 within 1 year of its introduction and I'm still really happy with the photo and video image quality. It is so small and compact that it is my first choice to grab as I head out to family events or when traveling. My Sony a99 is even more capable, but I bring it only 25% of the time. About 2 years ago I bought my wife one as well so she can a a very capable compact camera when she wants something more than an iPhone. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100 07 May 2019 by Gary666 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to have a good quality camera that would fit in my pocket. Needed fast speed and low light so this was the best choice at f1.8

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Takes great pictures,makes constant whirring noise

DSC-RX100 27 April 2019 by Malia (USA)

Bought this camera a couple years ago. It had great reviews and takes great pictures, but it has started whirring non-stop (like it is constantly trying to track or focus), and that is audible in all videos and makes it difficult to hear anything in the video over the whirring.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Best Point & Shoot Camera money can buy.

DSCRX100 16 April 2019 by bk1951 (USA)

This camera takes beautiful pictures.It comes at a price,but if you take some time to learn the features, you won't be disappointed.Annotherthing is the size is so small that it does fit in most pockets.If buying,check a lot of sites and you should find it on sale for around $900.00 with no tax or shipping.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Terrific camera - this is my second one!

DSC-RX100 15 April 2019 by lucyspop (United Kingdom)

The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 (MK 1 - the original) is a great camera. I brought one just over 2 years ago and though it failed just outside the 2 year warranty with the well-known problem of the lens mechanism failing to open/retract properly, it's such a good camera and such good value at £299 from John Lewis, I decided I'd stick with the same model rather than pay a lot more for the later models. It takes great pictures, has a good battery life (the spare I bought rarely gets used) and is small enough for the jacket pocket. A great camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony cash back deal - rip off

DSC-RX100 06 April 2019 by JJG1 (United Kingdom)

Camera seems fine. However, very annoyed that when we bought two cameras, there was no clear indication that cash back was maximum of one per customer. We may not have bought two if this had been made clearer as was for a school and funding is tight.

0

3

0

Good but

DSC-RX100 04 April 2019 by RX500 (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera for a couple of weeks and found it to be everything advertised. It feels good and has more than enough functions. But, it is awkward to hold - you naturally hold the camera where the pop-up flash is located and the fragile gantry supporting it will damage very easily. A small rubber grip can be purchased for a scandalous additional cost which doesn't really help and should be included with the purchase price

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Easy to use for ordinary users and compact.

DSC-RX100 14 March 2019 by Dennis46 (United Kingdom)

We bought this 2 months ago for our holiday in Australasia and the ease of use and compactness of the camera plus picture quality is just right for amateurs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Brilliant definition & clarity

DSC-RX100 09 March 2019 by bones3 (United Kingdom)

Really impressed with results so far - only minus is buttons a little close together.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good compact

DSC-RX100 06 March 2019 by sbon (United Kingdom)

has good lens and many features,maybe too many! easily pocketable bad points battery life only average,should of had a grip to improve handleing,dad to buy one

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Small compact but with big camera features

DSC-RX100 06 March 2019 by Bruce (United Kingdom)

Really good quality easy to use and not heavy for carrying around but with features of a much larger bridge camera without the weight

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Ease of use

DSC-RX100 02 March 2019 by Ronsrob (United Kingdom)

I got it taken on holiday and it’s give me some great pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent pocket sized camera at a good price

DSC-RX100 22 February 2019 by Sgt_Bilko (United Kingdom)

This is an excellent little camera you can take almost anywhere and with a bit of work in post production, you can obtain results that are close to a decent DSLR in good light, but without the bulk, hassle or expense. All of this makes it pretty fantastic for general purpose photography and I say this as a professional photographer with 30 years of experience, shooting everything from the original half frame Olympus Pen, right up to 10x8 film and Leaf digital backs. My next camera will be a Sony for sure.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-RX100 22 February 2019 by MG92 (United Kingdom)

It's a very good product. Easy to use and very simple.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality Pocket Camera

DSC-RX100 17 February 2019 by Fred 69 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera as a go anywhere camera to supplement my DSLR. So far I have been very impressed with the results.The 1.0 sensor gives excellent results .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0