$699.00

(AUD inc. GST)
179

4.5 based on 179 customer reviews

114
52
6
3
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great job Sony!

DSCRX100M2/B 12 October 2013  (USA)

In cause of very good, almost euphoric reviews the Sony RX100 II gained my attention. I bought the camera one month ago and after a few hundred shots I'm more and more fascinated by the image quality. Especially at night the large sensor shows its power. Noticeable are also the well working automatic scene detection and useful features at manual mode like peak mode, that marks parts of the image which are in sharp focus. The camera body is perfectly finished, but for my taste the mode selection wheel is a little bit too stiff, At least I have to admit that I'm missing one feature a little bit: A built in gps sensor for geotagging. But overall I can only fall in line with most of the other reviews: Great job Sony!

43

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Needs major improvements

DSCRX100M2/B 04 December 2013 by RSM1988 (USA)

I owned and loved the RX100 but the RX100M2 has some really bad pitfalls. 1) Their new "autofocus" is worse than in the RX100. It prioritizes the background and objects in the foreground are often out of focus. For example, I can be recording video in auto-mode with a person 2 feet in front of me and it will focus on the background half the time, even when the person takes up 90% of the frame. It makes no sense why the camera would focus on something that takes up 1/10th of the picture! 2) Whites really, really throw off blacks. If someone is wearing a white shirt and black pants, their legs turn out like black shadows because it messes up the exposure. There 'should' be an option for backlight compensation or something that de-prioritizes whites and compensates for blacks. Blacks are always hard to pick up and this makes it that much worse. 3) Wi-Fi is really spotty. I'm using a Samsung Galaxy S3 so maybe an iPhone is more consistent but when you start recording, it's very laggy and almost impossible to use the zoom function. Thanks for hearing my feedback, Sony. Can't wait for the RX200!

53

5

179 Customer Reviews

0

Brilliant specs, that's why i bought it.

DSC-RX100M2 23 September 2018 by Sirikishna (United Kingdom)

Great specs that do not deliver their best. The camera was bought for it's wide angle and low aperture ability.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome Camera

DSCRX100M2/B 23 September 2018 by ARJ61 (USA)

A great camera, I was shocked by the quality of the pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don't know yet.

DSC-RX100M2 31 July 2018 by Gardenia (United Kingdom)

I can't download the software so I can't upload photographs . It takes beautiful photographs but is a disappointment .

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good value-for-money, excellent image quality

DSC-RX100M2 11 July 2018 by Tim (United Kingdom)

After playing with it for a few weeks I'm still very happy with this camera. Good value, not too complicated but still plenty of options and settings to play with, light and small yet excellent image quality.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great for a beginner

DSC-RX100M2 26 April 2018 by Dibs (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera for my holidays and now because I’ve been enjoying my photos I’m thinking of moving on and do this as a hobby and maybe buy something like the a6000,

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony DSC-RX100M2

DSC-RX100M2 28 March 2018 by Saxman68 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera second hand after some research. I compared the speifications of the entire RX100 range along with similar offerings from Canon and decided that the Mark 2 offered what I needed. I wanted a large sensor compact camera for travel as I was fed up having to compromise on quality using a noisy small sensor in a standard point and shoot camera. The RX100M2 offers everything I wanted and I opted for the Mark 2 because it had the longest battery life, biggest zoom and an MI shoe for a flash gun and other accessories. I already have a Sony flash gun and another (Sony) camera that takes the same battery and remote control. I have been very happy with the camera since I have had it and it produces very good low noise pictures. RAW format files are editable in Sony's latest software offering. The size and weight of the camera are ideal for travel. There are a couple of negative points - the electronic eyepiece (should you want it) is extremely expensive compared to the current price of the camera, so remote shooting via WiFi will have to suffice. The image stabilisation is good, but still requires a very steady hand in low light. There have many improvements to image stabilisation in the last 5-6 years which I am sure are installed in the later cameras in this series. That said, this camera packs a massive punch in a tiny package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

although old very good

DSC-RX100M2 26 February 2018 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I had one some time ago and have now replaced it as I liked it so much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant

DSC-RX100M2 24 February 2018 by Ronald A (United Kingdom)

Had this camera about six weeks,just getting used to it,takes great pictures.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple and Good

DSC-RX100M2 07 February 2018 by Wilfred (United Kingdom)

Easy to use and set up, and I've been able to incorporate into my University work and my lecturer's talk about my quality change.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

light wieght

DSC-RX100M2 29 January 2018 by tricia56 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a previous model which had broken and I have found the up grade to be worth the extra particularly the wyfi

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality images made easy

DSC-RX100M2 05 January 2018 by The joiner (United Kingdom)

Been looking at this range of camera for a while and the lower price was just too tempting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy menu

DSCRX100M2/B 30 December 2017 by anflem (USA)

Excellent pictures. Camera is solid and menu is not hard to understand even for me. I am not technically savvy. Although I know a lot about photography I get lost when I try to figure out electronic cameras. But this one irrelatively easy to figure out and has some actual buttons for features only accessible on menus not other cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Much inside a little package

DSC-RX100M2 24 December 2017 by Alrid (United Kingdom)

The camera was bought to replace a Panasonic equivalent which frankly, failed on many fronts. There`s a huge line up of facilities packed into the camera but the only criteria that matters is the sensor & Zeiss T star lens. Image quality is very good and in good light, clear. Anything else depends on the subject matter and available light. You may need some type of camera support for low light images. Still, that`s what image software`s there to rectify and there`s a large menu in the camera itself, relating to options. Maybe too many? I haven`t used the video as, 1 it doesn`t interest me and , 2 if I did want video I`d buy a real video camera. Overall, the camera`s possibly a wee bit small for hands used to say, a DSLR. A future version really needs better hand gripping, as standard, especially at the price. However, most will use it for routine pictures. There are programmed settings for that. A neck strap allows a waist level view with the tiltable screen and steadies the camera better. Almost like going back to the old days of Rolleiflex & Hasselblad picture taking. Good for group pictures but not vertical image viewing. Easily transported and handy, bar the pop up flash`s tendency to appear under a finger when the technology decides it`s time for it to appear. Possibly best carried in one of these cases attached to a belt. It`s a good 2nd camera for those who need this facility but its limitations are defined when compared to bigger cameras say, the DSLR. Overall, good quality and well made. Better than spending a fortune on expensive camera technology in a phone but maybe a bit steep on price?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

No regrets

DSC-RX100M2 05 October 2017 by soundoftheseagull (United Kingdom)

My faithful carry and holiday camera came to its end and with a holiday quickly approaching I put my research head on. Lots to choose from re compacts but from the positive response from all and its manual features it was a no brainer.I have a full DSLR and all the lenses so this is for putting in my pocket which it goes well into. I carry it with me at all times, fantastic picture quality, low light is fantastic, I don't want a menu with effects its my point and shoot.Highly recommend it, my first Sony very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Powerful camera in such a small body

DSC-RX100M2 16 August 2017 by Rinzler (United Kingdom)

This camera is worth considering for its image quality, having features like RAW Support, but in the price range it struggles against other competitors with a lack of an articulated screen, WiFi and NFC, which make things like vlogging way easier. Zoom length could be a tad longer on both ends to be really useful, but this camera has great potential, and can Produce wonderful films and videos in the right hands

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good pocket sized camera

DSC-RX100M2 16 August 2017 by Tgg (United Kingdom)

Fairly easy to use compact camera . Good zoom and focusing abilities . Missing wifi and a viewfinder like the later models but for the price of the camera , that is understandable. I paired it with an iPhone sd card reader to transfer pictures on the go which works fine

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

I love it

DSC-RX100M2 12 July 2017 by MAG Max (United Kingdom)

I've got the camera 2 months ago and I'm making great pictures and videos with it in low light conditions which was my goal. It packs a lot of quality in a small box, the scene menus are quite usable and of course you can operate manually when you need/have the time for it. I bought a belt pouch for it and for other situation a microfiber pouch so that I can safely carry it in a pocket without risking damages. A micro pod stays permanently mounted until I know there will be a particular situation when I need a higher tripod. I'm totally satisfied with it, the only minus point is the pretty unuseful User Manual, but after a quick search I've found an excellent one which in the electronic form I always have with me inside my smartphone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small but perfectly formed

DSC-RX100M2 24 June 2017 by A horse with no name (United Kingdom)

I have several Sony cameras - A6000 plus many lenses, RX10iii, and an HX50 compact. They are all good at what they do. They are all a pleasure to use and all very different. The RX100ii is a great compact camera with excellent picture quality in most circumstances. It's lightweight solid construction with perfect lens any more features than most people will ever need. It's truly pocket sized and because of this it can be used very discretely. It's a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing camera

DSC-RX100M2 30 May 2017 by Nas176 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic camera pic quality great video great all in a neat little package that will fit most pockets just get one you will not be disapointed

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

RX100 M2

DSC-RX100M2 22 May 2017 by oggysplosh (United Kingdom)

I've had this camera for a month and it is so good that my Nikon DSLR is not seeing the light of day. This camera is just brilliant!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

DSLR in you pocket

DSC-RX100M2 04 May 2017 by russ0112 (United Kingdom)

I've had people comment how good my pictures are and when I tell I took with this little camera rather than my bulky dslr camera they are always shocked. The main I bought it was to take with me on my motorcycle rides. I don't want to take my dslr as it's to big and bulky where as the rx100 II slips away in a small bag and takes stunning pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

camera

DSC-RX100M2 01 April 2017 by Paul (United Kingdom)

excellent build quality and easy to use good choice of settlings' for taking pictures

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great features...great photos..good video.

DSCRX100M2/B 17 January 2017 by kwc813 (USA)

I'm just not sure what the competition is with this one. HIGH Quality pics, better than average video, great glass. Sharp as a tack. Manual control for those who wish, certainly good enough to use only on Auto, though. The view screen pulls out and adjusts (truly a wonderful part of this camera) to get PERFECT shots. Nothing negative about it, easy to use and can be as complex as you make it. I don't have much else that competes directly with it's features...it's kind of like dynamite wrapped in glass...looks good, great lens, great pictures and good video, lots of control...but at the price, not something you want to drop. There's a lot going on with this small body that could get fouled up, but until that happens I'm sold!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100M2 15 January 2017 by Ade Price (United Kingdom)

First time I've used point & shoot compact camera, unbelievable quality images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0