Skip to Content

$899.00

(AUD inc. GST)
9

4.9 based on 9 customer reviews

8
1
0
0
0

9 Customer Reviews

0

DSC-RX100M2 01 July 2015 by Haych (Australia)

I was always DSLR person but with kids and travelling being a bit more challenging I needed a point and shoot which could provide me similar quality and functionality. The RX100MK2 has really ticked all the boxes with just how it packs in such a small unit. The brilliant optics combined with the magnificent sensor result in some really impressive pictures. I've been most impressed with it's low light capabilities and the great blur/bokeh you can get. It's come to a point that instead of upgrading my old DSLR, I rather just grab the RX and shoot. One of the features which has been most handy is the in built NFC and WiFi which paired with my phone makes remote shooting a cinch. I've used the camera in combination with my phone countless times to take group shots by just tapping the phone and camera nfc chips, then walking away and controlling the camera from wherever the group is standing. No timed shots followed by a mad run to get in place, I just check that it all looks right on my camera, tell everyone to smile and tap the screen from below. Sharing images has never been simpler with being able to just view the photo on the camera and tapping my phone for the picture I like and bam, it's sent across ready to be shared wherever I want. The camera delivers on so many levels and really is the best alternative to a DSLR and a must for travellers or those who love to shoot and share.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Big quality from such a little camera

DSC-RX100M2 16 January 2015 by Bigmac (Australia)

I bought this camera in preparation for an overseas trip; before this, all of my photos were taken on a smartphone or a much older camera, which yielded blurry results. My experience with cameras is pretty limited, but the menu on this camera was pretty simple to learn, and I kept it to the intelligent auto mode for most photos. If you are planning on getting this and don't know much about cameras, the intelligent auto does the job 99% of the time. All I can say is... wow, this is an incredible camera, especially considering the size. I managed to take a number of night photos which turned out spectacular considering I didn't have a tripod, as well as a HD movie of a fireworks display, which captured both the fireworks and the accompanying music brilliantly. I took the photos in RAW+JPEG mode, and I look forward to delving into the world of RAW editing (without having to shell out for a DSLR). The convenience of the Wifi can not be overlooked. Each night during my holiday I would pair my tablet to my camera and download the photos from the day, so that I could have a closer look at them. There is a slight learning curve to using this camera, especially for specialised shots (e.g. macro, photographing text), but I feel like the more I use it, the better I will get. The camera is a little pricey for a point and shoot, but I see it less as a point and shoot, and more as a DSLR replacement; I would rather carry around my camera on my belt than around my neck. I am looking forward to continuing to use this camera, and learning the ins and outs of all of the various features. Overall, this camera is well worth the money, and I managed to get some amazing photos with it.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Near DSLR quality at a fraction of size

DSC-RX100M2 12 September 2014 by DonIsGood (Australia)

I needed a good camera to take with me to an overseas trip that is comparable to the quality of DSLR, and the Sony DSC-RX100 II did not disappoint. Granted that the RX100 II doesn't have interchangeable lenses but it wins on form factor and that in itself is a big plus when going on holidays where luggage space is at premium. Plus, there are enough manual adjustments (on the RX100) I can fiddle around with. On top of all, auto focus is fast and it takes beautiful photos comparable to DSLR. RX100 II is an awesome pocket size camera and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to capture holiday memories or day-to-day life.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Hard pressed to bring my crop sensor with me

DSC-RX100M2 03 September 2014 by Proph85 (Australia)

With the purchase of a flash trigger, paired with my HVL-F43 flash, I'd have little use for my DSLT camera anymore. The RX100-m2 performs so well at the wide end of the lens for scenery photos, I went out and bought an ultra wide lens for my a-65 as it could not keep up with the 18-55 kit lens. Every time I use this little pocket monster of a camera my expectations are exceeded, low noise star photos at iso-800 from a compact camera is astonishing, I lent mine to a family member to take overseas and photos taken in mostly automated settings still left room enough for some cropping without looking like mobile phone pictures. A crop-sensor killer that fits in your pocket for sure, unless you're prepared to buy a plethora of lenses, this outstanding little piece of tech will go toe to toe with the more expensive end of non full-frame cameras that require transporting in a backpack. The battery is the same as found in the sony action cameras so I have 3 between the 2 products for full day use. Perfect for any occasion where you want to leave the camera bag at home, weddings, restaurants, holidays etc, without compromising on taking a great photo, the tiltable flash bounced off a white ceiling helps to avoid those flat looking 'deer in the headlights' party photos where lighting isn't ideal. A must addition for any hobbyist or anyone who wants CMOS performance from a top pocket sized camera.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Constant Companion ;-)

DSC-RX100M2 31 August 2014 by DaveX (Australia)

The DSC-RX100Mk2 is part of a unique camera range (it’s siblings being the Mk1, and the Mk3) that seems to interest many I have shown it to, both casual users and professionals alike. It has the innards of a “big camera” with it’s 1” sensor, full manual control with RAW mode, and quality Carl Zeiss optics, but has an exterior similar to many compacts and easily fits in an average sized pocket. I also make use of the “big camera” style “Multi-Interface Shoe” with an external microphone for video recording, which this camera excels at. It includes many options and bit-rates including some that exceed Blu-ray standards. The shoe can also be used for external flashes, video lights, etc. The only “big” camera feature this camera lacks is a viewfinder, but this is an optional (but somewhat costly) extra. The screen actually does remarkably well, even on a bright sunny day, and you can swivel it up or down to a limited degree, but if you truly love to use a viewfinder, maybe you should put the DSC-RX100Mk3 on your list – the Mk3 forgoes the “Multi-Interface Shoe” for a pop-up viewfinder. The RX100Mk2 is priced cheaper than a similarly specced DSLR with comparable lens, but sits more towards the top of the compact pricing tree. The RX100Mk2 has been my companion for many overseas trips and local events, because I know I can rely on it to give me good quality images, and I know I won’t get a sore back carrying it around – and it has proved remarkably reliable from hot steamy Singapore or Hong Kong in the wet season, to the snowfields of Europe. I actually find myself deciding to take it, rather than my big bulky “real” camera in many cases now. It produces pleasing Bokeh, handles low light with ease, and allows for bouts of creativity with options like HDR, panorama, etc. For travelling, I purchased an extra battery, but the battery life has exceeded my expectations, and I rarely find myself needing the 2nd one, even when I take hundreds of shots throughout the day. I particularly like that I can just hand it to someone to take my photo (whilst travelling) and be reasonably sure I will get a good shot even if the person using it has little experience with cameras. For these travel shots others take of me, I place it in Portrait mode, engage “Soft Skin Effect – Mid Level” (to produce a mild airbrushing effect that feeds my vanity), and turn the flash on to “fill mode”. I also use this mode for “selfies”, holding the camera out at arm’s length, with great results. I find the NFC pairing with WiFi control to be amazingly useful for group shots at dinner tables, parties, etc, and for shooting at unusual angles, such as above people’s heads in a crowd. A simple tap of the phone pairs it with the camera, and then I can see everything on my phone – zoom, compose, and take the shot. All in all, I really LOVE this camera, and apart from the minor issue of the lack of an affordable hot-shoe viewfinder (which the Mk3 provides in lieu of the hot-shoe, if that is a must for you), I would wholeheartedly recommend it to both beginners and professionals and everybody in between.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

The Best Compact Camera Ever

DSC-RX100M2 30 August 2014 by illuzn (Australia)

If you know nothing about cameras, chuck this camera into intelligent auto mode and click away. This camera could not be any easier to use. The tilt screen, NFC and Wi-Fi make this the perfect camera for selfies, facebook and instagram. If you are coming from a DSLR, this camera is frankly the compact camera designed by DSLR users for DSLR users. The best camera is the one you have on you; I can quite honestly say that this camera has never let me down before. Where I wouldn't always bother carrying my DSLR around, this camera is pocketable and goes with me everywhere. This camera was so good that I've bought 3 from this series (1 as my own, 1 gift and 1 hand me down). My only complaint about this camera would be that the extra hand grip should come with the camera at this price range rather than being an extra accessory.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

The point-and-shoot to have

DSC-RX100M2 29 August 2014 by satish89 (Australia)

This little camera punches way above it's weight for it's size. It's fast, versatile, and the image quality is remarkably good - you'd get away with telling people you shot some of the pics it takes with a DSLR and they'd probably believe you most of the time! I picked this up as a suppliment to my other much more serious photography gear, but since then have been just grabbing this to take with me to parties and the like purely because it's more than adequate to eliminate the need for me to lug around a bag full of gear everywhere. Highly recommended.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent for Underwater Photography but...

DSC-RX100M2 13 April 2014 by JMAsydney (Australia)

I bought the RX100 Mk2 with a Nauticam housing and a complete set of accessories for underwater photography. The first photography trip was in the Solomon Islands during NYE 2014. Very good pictures for such a small camera. I like: - full control in M-mode - RAW format - Programmable rings (in the back and surrounding the lens), usually in M-mode I set the ISO at 125 and manually adjust the shutter speed and aperture with these 2 direct controls. - Very good low light sensitivity - Very big sensor - I believe is among the biggest in compact cameras - Very fast and precise auto-focus I didn't like: Despite an extremely careful maintenance during my trip the spring that actions the pop-up flash is badly corroded. The camera works properly but I guess the spring will sooner or later fail. This gives me some doubts about other parts been affected by rust inside the camera. Other bad point: its price. The Sony RX100 Mk2 is expensive. Some buyers may go for a entry level DLSR instead. Anyway I recommend the camera for any one looking for DSLR quality in a pocket size digital compact. I bought some accessories such as additional battery, leather case, recharger and the Sony FDA-EVM1K electronic viewfinder: useful but crazy expensive.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Worth every penny

DSC-RX100M2 10 August 2013 by PRO1DX (Australia)

This rx100m2 is quite good for hobbyist and a walk around point and shoot camera. Doesn't create too much attention when you take it out to take a photo. Comparing to my canon 1DX everybody looks at me. If you already have the mark 1 and have got extra spare money than buy this otherwise the mark 2 is not much different from the mark 1. Reason I'm saying this is that I also own the mark 1. I have compare from image quality and video quality. They are both very similar. The sony rx100 mark ii is just a minor upgrade from mark i.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0