$1,049.00

(AUD inc. GST)
659

4.5 based on 659 customer reviews

425
177
32
15
10
Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome except doesn't support iOS8

Body Only 13 October 2014 by gmanjapan (USA)

I really really want to use the WiFi features but apparently the software broke with iOS8. Please update your software Sony! Otherwise so far I love it. I had an RX-100 for 2 years. Just upgraded to the model 3. That in itself is a glowing review because if I didn't like the RX-100 series I wouldn't have been willing to upgrade.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony RX1003M A Great Camera if You Have a Ph.D.

Body Only 18 January 2017 by muskturtle (USA)

We got this camera in 20150505 and it's currently 20170117. I'm writing to offer this up in hopes it might be of some benefit to those considering one. The operating system for the camera is quite complex. Granted, considering I come from a film background, for years having used a top of the line competitor's camera, I learned about f-stops, shutterspeeds, exposure values and ISO and so a jump into the foray of things digital was, for me the second digital camera we owned. The first was a point and shoot. This camera, the Sony RX1003M is hardly a simple point and shoot. The imaging technology is excellent as would be expected however, the operating system is challenging and hardly intuitive at all. There are many videos on youtube that can be viewed and I suggest watching as many as possible. I suspect other manufacturers have similar problems. It would be useful if Sony had a series of video tutorials on this camera. The camera as I said is excellent for what its capabilities are. But if you want to set up the camera using Manual settings be prepared for let's see, using mathematical combinations 10 modes x 118 Menu Items! Meaning if you factor this out there are 118 menu items possible (not in reality) factorial. So for you mathematicians out there, correct me if I'm wrong, that means (118x10)! different possibilities. Still, all in all the camera is truly amazing considering one eventually begins to grasp its capabilities. The problem is how to set up the camera with the way one wants to make photographs since it has so many wonderful features. The other problem is recalling exactly where everything is in the event one wishes to 'tinker' with things like shutterspeed, ISO, f-stops and so on. For example finding the photographer can set up the 'control ring' which can be set to govern f-stops or aperture and other things is a challenge. Finding that the Menu button brings up icons like the Gear icon and then on page 4 of the Gear icon, finding Custom Key settings and then clicking on Shutter Speed gives the photographer the option to select it, or Aperture or Creative Style (I thought Creativity was in the eye of the photographer). But given the complexity of choices and how much is possible with this camera at best it is a challenge for users to remember all it is capable of doing. Clearly the developers are attempting to appeal to as many markets as possible. It should appeal to those who are familiar with the Sony product line and also to very advanced digital photographers. All in all this is an excellent camera. The technology is first rate. The camera feels solid and seems responsive and yet it is light and appealing to me and would seem the ideal camera to carry around. It's WiFi abilities are amazing. But again, this requires considerable tinkering once the cell phone operating system is aligned with its Sony Play Memories software, which can be put on the phone, desktop or tablet in accordance with the operating system. My experience was with the Android system on the HTC 626 Desire Cell Phone. The ability to turn the phone into a WiFi hot spot the phone can recognize was somewhat challenging but do-able. The camera's logic seems convoluted and deviates from historical film photography with its many nuances. It is a great camera if you need one to carry around with great still and movie capabilities. Just be prepared to spend a lot of time learning your way around the ropes. Perhaps upwards of 1000 hours. At least that was my experience. And consider this. My view is based on my experience as an amateur. Pros no doubt will have their opinions. Considering all the work that went into its design and production, the quality of the electronics and the legendary quality of the Zeiss lens and the machining involved, it is a first rate camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

659 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic upgrade to Sony RX100 II

Body Only 01 August 2022 by Mart157 (United Kingdom)

Have used Sony RX100 II for almost 7 years. Bought this as an upgrade and am very happy. The lens is wider and faster, allowing for good low light shooting. There is a pop-up viewfinder which helps a lot with composition, especially in bright sunlight. And the sensor is better to my previous model. Overall, RX100's are very strong and robust cameras and perfect small size to take with me when I'm out and about. Indeed, because it is so small it's easier to take photographs without being spotted and this makes it perfect for street photogaraphy. Having used it for some weeks now I am very happy with Sony RX100 III.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Defective and poor

Body Only 04 June 2022 by Katok2 (Singapore)

Defective and poor................................

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Buggy after three years' use

Body Only 17 May 2022 by SMSH (USA)

My DSC-RX100M3 has been a workhorse for the past three years--I bought it for wide angle and low-light uses, and it has been great in those respects--but in the past year the C/Delete button has started triggering the recording function (incredibly annoying) and the software stopped working (terrible software, but the only way to transfer files from the camera via wifi). There have been no firmware updates while I've had the camera, it's out of warranty, etc. Sony should do more to stand by their products.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does exactly what I need

Body Only 11 May 2022 by G York (United Kingdom)

I this bought a month ago as an alternative to my A7, so I could always have a decent fully manual camera with me. This is a great compact camera, so far I can't find fault with it!

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Features Very Fragile

Body Only 26 April 2022 by Camera Owner (USA)

I bought this camera 4 months ago. I was very satisfied and took stunning pictures with it. To my bad luck I mistakenly dropped the camera once. The edge of the viewfinder got misshaped which caused that I cant open the viewfinder and the camera constantly monitors that its open (viewfinder starts working). Its still under the one year warranty. I hope to contact Sony soon and see what's my further steps.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact camera

Body Only 04 April 2022 by Brian 70 (United Kingdom)

This is the ideal camera to suit my lifestyle as a walker and cyclist. It is small, versatile and easy to use. Transferring photos from camera to my sony smartphone is quick and easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

iPhone Integration appalling

Body Only 09 March 2022 by S hite (United Kingdom)

Tried to send pictures over wi fi to an iPhone XR no joy according to Sony it’s apple’s fault apple Sonys fault Cannot connect by qr code as the camera doesn’t show any qr code There is another way I can’t remember the name of where you point the iPhone at a symbol on the side of the camera that doesn’t work either Taking it to fixation in south London if that doesn’t work I’m sending it back to Amazon Peace in Ukraine!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Very pleased with my RX100 - as good as my DSLR

Body Only 15 February 2022 by Petrichor (United Kingdom)

The RX100 has an astonishing range of features compared to my DSLR. The benefits of the 1" sensor are apparent when viewed on anything other than a computer screen. A3 prints are crisp and show no signs of pixels appearing. It is a tad heavier than I had expected, but this is more than made up for by the solid feel to the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed. I sent it back

Body Only 08 February 2022 by gary stoddard (United Kingdom)

I had been thinking of buying a RX100 for some time, the size, quality and especially the viewfinder appealed. Unfortunately it did not live up to my expectations. The viewfinder was too small for me and I never managed to open or close it up properly first time. I could see it getting damaged quite easily. The biggest issue for me was the minimum aperture of f11. Any photo taken towards the sun was a complete washout. Shame as other than that metering, focussing and general usability were great.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony RX100 III Camera

Body Only 13 January 2022 by RJFW (United Kingdom)

Bought a few weeks ago, first photos superb, nice compact camera, with lots of features,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely Compact Camera

Body Only 29 December 2021 by PaulSE (United Kingdom)

The camera is a compact go anywhere camera. Solid build with both auto and manual settings for the more experienced user. The feature which attracted me was the retractable viewing lens so much like a typical SLR camera. So far the pictures taken have been faultless. Very pleased with the camera, grip and camera case supplied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great all round camera

Body Only 16 December 2021 by Mono man (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as a carry everywhere in my pocket camera. It out-performs my previous Canon 5D mark1 and mark2 cameras, and, so far, appears to be the equal of my Fujifilm XT3. I have just left it on ai+ auto, a first time for me, as I grew up in manual 35mm SLR photography, and am pleased with the results, although my intention is to fully explore and understand all of its possibilities n

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Pocket sized camera

Body Only 11 December 2021 by tom2Malta (United Kingdom)

I bought this about a month ago, happy up to now. I owned this camer previously.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent small camera

Body Only 06 December 2021 by tim125 (United Kingdom)

I am still exploring the many features, and am very pleased with image quality. I would have liked GPS location, but was aware this was absent. A great little camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great pocketable camera

Body Only 14 October 2021 by Boblet17 (United Kingdom)

I bought this used from a well-known internet market place as a replacement for my previous RX100 Mkii, and it is a definite improvement over the earlier models (I owned a RX100 Mki for some years). I like the pop-up viewfinder and the fact that it starts up very quickly. The sensor is defintely an improvement over earlier versions, being better in low light. My onnly gripe (and it's a minor one) is that the lens is prone to flare, but that just needs some care when shooting into the light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good pocket- sized camera

Body Only 13 October 2021 by Joe25 (United Kingdom)

Excellent quality pictures. Software needs simplified for downloading.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Exactly what I wanted…..

Body Only 13 October 2021 by sloughsteve (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a broken DSC-HX60 which was going to cost a small fortune to repair despite it being a common problem with those cameras. I spotted this bargain in Currys and just had to go for it. It had mostly the same features which I was happy about but the enlarged sensor has improved the photo quality substantially over the HX60. So no complaints from me on this even if the magnification range isn’t as great. It it turns out, it has been more than adequate in this area too…

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rx100 111 camera

Body Only 05 October 2021 by Lazyfred (United Kingdom)

A good camera which is a nice small size and fits easily into the pocket. It has many functions and settings as my previous DSLR big camera. I have not had the camera very long so have not used all of the functions. The main reason I bought it was for the pop up viewfinder being tired of not being able to see viewing screens in bright sunlight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent point and shoot camera

Body Only 03 October 2021 by Purejammy (United Kingdom)

I was after a point and shoot camera because carting around my SLR was sometimes cumbersome. Following a bit of research, I choose the Sony RX100M3 because it shot RAW and had a full range of automatic and manual settings. The camera menus are well designed and can be navigated with ease. Function and Camera buttons can be assigned by the user to suit their individual needs. Outputs are excellent both in RAW and JPEG formats. The only negative aspects I could find (and they are in the blinking nuisance category, rather than being show stoppers) were the replacement of the electronic viewfinder switches the camera off. And, the transfer of images to a smartphone was cumbersome. Overall I am very pleased with this camera. It is easy to use and produces fantastic images. If it is a point and shoot you are after, then the RX100M3 will fit the bill.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent camera for the price

Body Only 20 September 2021 by A246 (United Kingdom)

I shoot still photos with the very occasional video so, was more interested in image quality. Once I discovered that the quality is pretty much on par with the mk7 RX100, at £379, it was an obvious choice to go with the mk3. Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Disappointing

Body Only 09 September 2021 by Mel39 (United Kingdom)

It is too early for me to comment on the quality of the camera, as I am still getting used to it, but the picture quality certainly does look very good. However, I am very disappointed with the lack of wi-if facilities. Following advice from Sony, I started to install PlayMemories, which I found to be an unnecessary complicated process. I then read devastating reviews from almost all other users, and was completely put of the whole business. I would have thought that Sony could have come up with a much better system to match the quality of their cameras. I am now wondering if I made a mistake in buying this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony RX100 III Big Camera Pocket Sized

Body Only 10 August 2021 by Stephen S (United Kingdom)

Really pleased I bought the RX100 III amazed by its really powerful performance that fits easily into my pocket. Where ever I go it will travel with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent features and quality

Body Only 08 August 2021 by Cioch (United Kingdom)

I bought this 18 months ago and have taken hundreds of photos since so easy to use and produces lovely sharp images every time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This camera offers so many features it's amazing.

Body Only 19 July 2021 by 999A (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera primarily to take on holiday. And I'm very impressed with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0