$999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
418

4.6 based on 418 customer reviews

285
104
14
9
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome except doesn't support iOS8

DSCRX100M3/B 13 October 2014 by gmanjapan (USA)

I really really want to use the WiFi features but apparently the software broke with iOS8. Please update your software Sony! Otherwise so far I love it. I had an RX-100 for 2 years. Just upgraded to the model 3. That in itself is a glowing review because if I didn't like the RX-100 series I wouldn't have been willing to upgrade.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony RX1003M A Great Camera if You Have a Ph.D.

DSCRX100M3/B 18 January 2017 by muskturtle (USA)

We got this camera in 20150505 and it's currently 20170117. I'm writing to offer this up in hopes it might be of some benefit to those considering one. The operating system for the camera is quite complex. Granted, considering I come from a film background, for years having used a top of the line competitor's camera, I learned about f-stops, shutterspeeds, exposure values and ISO and so a jump into the foray of things digital was, for me the second digital camera we owned. The first was a point and shoot. This camera, the Sony RX1003M is hardly a simple point and shoot. The imaging technology is excellent as would be expected however, the operating system is challenging and hardly intuitive at all. There are many videos on youtube that can be viewed and I suggest watching as many as possible. I suspect other manufacturers have similar problems. It would be useful if Sony had a series of video tutorials on this camera. The camera as I said is excellent for what its capabilities are. But if you want to set up the camera using Manual settings be prepared for let's see, using mathematical combinations 10 modes x 118 Menu Items! Meaning if you factor this out there are 118 menu items possible (not in reality) factorial. So for you mathematicians out there, correct me if I'm wrong, that means (118x10)! different possibilities. Still, all in all the camera is truly amazing considering one eventually begins to grasp its capabilities. The problem is how to set up the camera with the way one wants to make photographs since it has so many wonderful features. The other problem is recalling exactly where everything is in the event one wishes to 'tinker' with things like shutterspeed, ISO, f-stops and so on. For example finding the photographer can set up the 'control ring' which can be set to govern f-stops or aperture and other things is a challenge. Finding that the Menu button brings up icons like the Gear icon and then on page 4 of the Gear icon, finding Custom Key settings and then clicking on Shutter Speed gives the photographer the option to select it, or Aperture or Creative Style (I thought Creativity was in the eye of the photographer). But given the complexity of choices and how much is possible with this camera at best it is a challenge for users to remember all it is capable of doing. Clearly the developers are attempting to appeal to as many markets as possible. It should appeal to those who are familiar with the Sony product line and also to very advanced digital photographers. All in all this is an excellent camera. The technology is first rate. The camera feels solid and seems responsive and yet it is light and appealing to me and would seem the ideal camera to carry around. It's WiFi abilities are amazing. But again, this requires considerable tinkering once the cell phone operating system is aligned with its Sony Play Memories software, which can be put on the phone, desktop or tablet in accordance with the operating system. My experience was with the Android system on the HTC 626 Desire Cell Phone. The ability to turn the phone into a WiFi hot spot the phone can recognize was somewhat challenging but do-able. The camera's logic seems convoluted and deviates from historical film photography with its many nuances. It is a great camera if you need one to carry around with great still and movie capabilities. Just be prepared to spend a lot of time learning your way around the ropes. Perhaps upwards of 1000 hours. At least that was my experience. And consider this. My view is based on my experience as an amateur. Pros no doubt will have their opinions. Considering all the work that went into its design and production, the quality of the electronics and the legendary quality of the Zeiss lens and the machining involved, it is a first rate camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

418 Customer Reviews

0

Compact and versitile

DSC-RX100M3 07 July 2018 by JMD1 (United Kingdom)

Two things stand out in the month or so that I have had the camera it's portability , it easley fits in my breast pocket of my waistcoat, and IQ It's very close to my mid-range DSLR overall I am very happy with my product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony rx100ii

DSC-RX100M3 07 July 2018 by Sukhy (United Kingdom)

I bought this Sony rx100iii about two weeks ago good camera good picture quality for a 1 inch sensor camera only thing is would of been better if had headphone and microphone connection and hot shoe connection otherwise good product hopefully Sony will bring out Rx100 mark 7 with these connections

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional camera.

DSC-RX100M3 06 July 2018 by Fr666 (United Kingdom)

Professionals comment on superb depth of field and crispness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M3 05 July 2018 by DesO57 (United Kingdom)

Had my new camera about 6 weeks now, used it quite a bit and very satisfied with results. What I wanted was something small, so I would be more likely to have it on me when opportunities arise; this fits in jacket pocket or bum bag (fanny pack for US readers). I also wanted good LCD screen, viewfinder, ability to shoot RAW, decent megapixel count and full manual controls. No issues on any of these fronts, haven't used viewfinder as much as I expected as rear screen so good (and good range of movement). Happy with low light performance which is so much better than the 11 year old camera it replaces. Cannot comment too much on video as I have only just purchased a 64G SD card which seems to be required to use highest quality mode, my one test video did look look very clear and smooth. Overall very pleased with camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Compact EVER!

DSC-RX100M3 03 July 2018 by Poohmonster (United Kingdom)

Bought it for my daughter to walk the hills with, she is over the moon with the quality of the images and how easy it it to use. My friend has bought one, after seeing the quality of the images, for himself!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I'm Over the Moon

DSC-RX100M3 27 June 2018 by MInnie Bannister (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera so that it can stay with me wherever I go. I have used it all the time in Intelligent Auto - frankly, it does such a good job I have not felt the need to interfere. If you do get the urge to tweek, you have immediate access to the main adjustments for depth of field, exposure compensation, white balance, etc. I have been blown away by the quality of both still photographs and video. Even the sound is better than I would have expected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good hardware - rotten software

DSC-RX100M3 27 June 2018 by Paul444555666777888 (United Kingdom)

It's obviously a very good camera with high quality optics. I eventually found a setting which saves movies to MP4 format and how I could download them from the camera without needing additional software, but I wasted a lot of time in the process registering for the bloated Sony software. I am very disappointed that the video recording shuts off automatically after 29 minutes with no possibility to override this 'feature'.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Superb camera!

DSC-RX100M3 22 June 2018 by GoengRSV (United Kingdom)

So far I have been ver pleased with the camera. At widest aperture (F1.8), the results are simply brilliant. However, Sony could have built in the grip and not having to add as an extra option. Anyway, I dodn’t bother, because I sensed that it would not look right! Well done, Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

DSC-RX100M3 19 June 2018 by angelika_anna (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera a week ago and I already love it, takes amazing photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-RX100M3 18 June 2018 by 3000 oldboy (United Kingdom)

It's expensive, but a great little quality compact. To me it was worth every penny and saves carrying around a heavy DSLR or CSC, at times when you think you may need a camera, but don't need the weight or bulk

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great pocket size camera

DSC-RX100M3 18 June 2018 by Paul 61 (United Kingdom)

I bought the Sony RX100 m3 a few weeks ago for our holidays, so far I’ve Taken photos of the Dog & photos at a wedding has a guest . Great camera easy to use & produces lovely photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good feature set, but a bit complicated

DSC-RX100M3 14 June 2018 by PoppyCat (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera to supplement Nikon D7100 where baggage allowance makes it difficult to carry. Good quality camera with long battery life. I particularly like the pop-up focussing len which has a good range of optical correction. Normal focussing is good, but only has about 4x optical, then digital which uses quite a large area. The large picture capacity (abt. 22Mb means using 4x optical you can still zoom in a good way. The main draw backs to me, a DSLR user is that all the functions have to be set on the screen, rather by feel and dial and button controls. Me and you have to select the settings before taking the foto. Otherwise ok. A bit expensive with all the competition available. I always use my DSLR where practicable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M3 13 June 2018 by Judith 49 (United Kingdom)

Still getting to know the camera, a holiday coming up soon and it will then be really tested.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice looking camera

DSC-RX100M3 01 June 2018 by seacooky (United Kingdom)

Haven’t really used it yet but great build and easy to use .. I think lol

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Not as good as reviews say!

DSC-RX100M3 26 May 2018 by Horvath2500 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a super quality point and shoot, i normally buy canon but this sony was getting good reviews and thought it would suit us. All i wanted is to put in auto and let the camera do the work, results seem varied im not a photographer but some pictures are better using my phone? Whilst the odd one is good. I previously had the canon g7x mk2 pics from that were super nice great vibrant colours but was bulky with the original case, opted for the sony as it felt smaller but actually nearly the same, unless im doing something wrong but i only use it on auto modes its nowhere near as good as the Canon. Sorry sony but not as good as i was expecting on the auto modes, in the future i will just stick with Canon

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Handy pocket sized camera

DSC-RX100M3 25 May 2018 by Metgirl1 (United Kingdom)

Never miss a shot again. How often have you seen something and thought "Wow that would make a great photo - shame I didn't have my camera with me" This powerful pocket sized camera gives crispy sharp photos and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice little compact with class

DSC-RX100M3 18 May 2018 by Willy xxx (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera since 8th May. I have mostly spent my time with the camera checking it out. The photo's I have taken have been excellent. Compared to my Nikon Compact they match for quality. The flash on the Nikon burns the subject. The flash on the Sony is excellent. I like the built in explanations built into the camera. I am sure I will be having a lot of enjoyment using my RX100

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new camera

DSC-RX100M3 18 May 2018 by JC226 (United Kingdom)

I am very pleased with my purchase and am still exploring all the features o& the camera. Two points 1 a larger print leaflet that accompanied the camera would be an ad vantage.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality and ease of use

DSC-RX100M3 10 May 2018 by JeromeS (United Kingdom)

I've got more out of this little gem in 4 weeks than in years with previous cameras. The quality in RAW is excellent, but not quite as good in jpeg so I just shoot in RAW. I found the menus fairly straightforward to navigate. The controls used frequently, such as the lens ring and the rotary control (on the rear) are beautifully easy to use, compared with another well-known brand where I found the rotary control tricky because I found myself pressing "right" or "left" instead of "rotate". Not so on this little camera. I've enjoyed the focussing ability with "peaking" and "magnifying the focus area" which allow great detailing and coupled with the bright lens, I've had some wonderful bokeh effects. The speed with which you can shoot is something else I am delighted with. Without setting up "continuous shooting" I can take individual shots repeatedly, I guess at about half-second intervals or faster. Fantastic for getting informal shots - at least one of the sequence will catch the right facial expression! And of course, the size and weight and physical handling are a delight too, although I have fitted the extra handgrip (only a few ponds extra) and strongly recommend it. The EVF and screen, which is in a "pantograph" hinge are great too. I've never been into DSLR but am a serious amateur always searching for quality photos, with a degree of manual control, ease of setting up and physical handling, and with an EVF. This is it. It's great. I'd have liked a bit more zoom ability (without compromising the lens quality) and better jpeg's. But I don't regret the purchase at all. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best pocketable compact camera

DSC-RX100M3 10 May 2018 by Denzzzxxx (United Kingdom)

If you want a truly pocketable replacement for you heavy and unwealdy DSLR then this is the compact to go for. Expensive but you get an awful lot for your money, excellent lens at especially once you stop down below f2.8 it can be simple to use or very complicated, to access all the availiable functions you need to buy a book! l like the moveable viewing screen and the electronic view finder, very useful in bright sunlight. You do need a spare battery or 2 and a mains charger. The zoom is a very useful 24 to 70mm, fairly limited at the long end, but the quality of the image makes up for it and can be adjusted later by cropping. The tiny little pop up flash works remarkably well, and you can bounce it by tilting it up with your thumb, l really like this feature. The camera feels very well constructed and solid, and feels like it will last for many years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overpriced but very effective.

DSC-RX100M3 08 May 2018 by Michael Emery (New Zealand)

My camera retailer (and repair agent) fitted this to my A7iii for me, as watching me clean my screen with my T-Shirt was too much for them to bare. It looks like part of the camera, and the clarity is excellent. I haven't noticed any negative effects. There are no air bubbles. The fit perfectly matches the glass on the camera screen, and if you install it slightly crooked, which is easy to do, you will have some time to straighten it afterward. Do not peel it off and start again, just nudge the edge with your fingernail until it is perfect.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great camera -easy to use

DSC-RX100M3 03 May 2018 by JamieM (United Kingdom)

Great photos .. lots of features .. very portable .. sturdy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Perfect Travel Companion!

DSC-RX100M3 30 April 2018 by GaryW in MK (United Kingdom)

Bought two days before a holiday, it was the perfect travel camera. Easy to use, the viewfinder was so useful in bright sunlight and the images it produced from its small 1.0" sensor are superb. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My go to camera for street photography

DSC-RX100M3 27 April 2018  (USA)

I bought this camera almost a year ago specifically for street photography. Before this, I was lugging a Canon DSLR around the city. This camera is small and silent, and doesn’t draw attention on the streets... oh, and the image quality is SUPERB! Probably even better than some entry level DSLRs with a kit lens. I’ve started packing this along with my DSLR when I go shooting landscapes, and I’m surprised at how well it performs. If you’re a landscape photographer, it’s not going to replace your DSLR by any means, but it’s definitely worth keeping in your pocket or bag. Overall, this little camera is a versatile beast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0