Skip to Content

$1,199.00

(AUD inc. GST)
28

4.9 based on 28 customer reviews

27
0
1
0
0

28 Customer Reviews

0

Traveler's delight

DSC-RX100M3 05 January 2016 by Photobuff (Australia)

At last a quality camera ideally suited for traveling. For many years I struggled carrying a DSLR on my frequent trips. Not only was it heavy but it also occupied a large volume in my carry-on luggage. The RX100 M3 solved my dilemma. Not only is it pocketable but with the excellent Zeiss lens and the 1" sensor, it produces pictures on par with my DSLR. The only slight draw back is its limited focal length. With its 2.9X it is not suitable for wild life photograhphy. But as I am mainly interested in landscape and people photography, the RX100 M3 is ideal.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Wonderful Camera!

DSC-RX100M3 20 November 2015 by Moonbear (Australia)

I'll cut to the chase, the RX100M3 is the best pocketable compact camera, behind the RX100M4, but if you don't need the 4K and mostly video orientated features of the M4, go with the M3. However, it does lack quite a few manual controls, which are available on its competitors. This does mean that it is really easy to use though. And because of the release of the M4 and competing products, the price has been dropping down, and it is a really good buy.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent addition to your RX100M3

DSC-RX100M3 05 September 2015 by Dwayne (Australia)

I bought this together with the plastic foregrip for my RX100M3 and spent 2 months travelling overseas with it. The great thing about this cover is its thickness and durability AND its anti glare so I didn't haven't trouble viewing the screen. The adhesive is around the perimeter of the screen only so you get some airspace between the actual screen and the protective film, this may cause moisture to show in humid conditions but its no problem and makes it easier to remove and replace when needed. I used my camera for travelling and rarely carry it in a pouch, this is a must have accessory for protecting the screen.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Amazing camera!

DSC-RX100M3 15 July 2015 by JFun (Australia)

I was using NEX for years and very happy with it, but I wanted to buy something smaller. I often shoot concert photography at venues where the lighting is not necessary great. smaller, lighter and capable to take nice pictures at dark places and this is the perfect camera! I am still excited to find out how clearly it can capture images in dark places! simply amazing and thank you Sony!

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

DSC-RX100M3 01 July 2015 by Haych (Australia)

All my screened devices have a cover and the RX100 is no different. The cover is a lot thicker than you'd imagine, and in a good way as this will protect your screenfrom scratches and then some! I've paid more for phone screen protectors and none at quite as good as this.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great for the novice and pro user!

DSC-RX100M3 29 January 2015 by Lplau (Australia)

I recently got this camera as a birthday present and I got to say, the picture quality is astonishing for such a small camera. My old camera was a basic Sony camera and this camera is in everyway superior for the following reasons: - quick to turn on and start shooting. very little delay in starting up or between shots. - can capture sharp images at high ISO settings and low light. - autofocus function is very quick. - screen is very viewable in sunlight due to Sony's WhiteMagic technology and the display is sharp and vibrant. - DSLR quality without having to lug around a DSLR. - requires very little to no tinkering to achieve great photo results in any condition. - I personally really enjoy the preset functions which caters to the point and shoot crowd (such as myself). love setting it to food settings and taking pictures of my meals like a real foodie, with images similar to those seen in magazines. - for the pro users, the camera has many manual functions to tinker with to your hearts content. - video capturing is also another strong point. it can capture video at full 1080p at 60fps. The videos I've taken have been fluid and smooth. Overall: solid purchase and so far the best point and shoot camera I've ever owned. for those still on the fence, don't be. Purchase this camera knowing that its one of the best, if not the best within its class. there really is no competition.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Worthy upgrade from RX100M2

DSC-RX100M3 22 January 2015 by DonIsGood (Australia)

I loved my RX100M2 but when I heard Sony was going to release RX100M3, I had no hesitation to place an order within a heartbeat (this is supported by my wife too I might add, as she too loves the RX100M2). As mentioned above, RX100M2 is an awesome camera but the M3 is quite a step up when it comes to picture quality. The clarity and colour (generated by M3) are notably sharper than the M2. What impresses us the most is the focus speed of the M3 - it focuses faster than the M2 thus less blurry shots. The introduction of EVF is a welcoming addition especially under the bright summer sun. Other than the photos; videos taken by M3 is simply stunning - it is so good that we have decided to sell our video camera to keep the M3 instead. That's how good the M3 is! Despite all the good points stated above, there is one feature we wish the M3 did not omit - strangely, the ability to take photo during video shoot has been omitted from the M3 (yet it's a standard feature on the M2)... hopefully Sony will reintroduce this feature in one of the future firmware updates (Sony, if you are reading this, hint hint). All in all, this is a worthy upgrade from the M2... it's so good that we have sold our video camera (as mentioned above) and we are now planning to ditch our DSLR too!

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Perfect everyday camera

DSC-RX100M3 16 January 2015 by oweban (Australia)

Wow. Where to start? Bought this before a trip to Perth to avoid lugging an SLR around, and it's probably one of the best things I could have done. Fantastically small and light (admittedly compared to an SLR!), great image quality, shooting in RAW+JPEG so quickly is wonderful. Very easy to use, even the automagic mode captures amazing detail. There's all the usual assortment of modes that you'd expect, but I've found that 99% of the time, shooting in Auto is just as good. Wish I could post some of the photos I've taken with this! Probably the only downside I've found is that the "ring" on the front of the camera that lets you select various things (adjustable per mode, too) doesn't have tactile feedback, or clicks - a minor gripe though; when compared to everything else this camera does so well, it's negligible. I also bought one of these for my father-in-law's 70th birthday as his first digital camera (couldn't let go of the old SLR), and he hasn't touched the SLR since. A winner that can convert even the most rusted-on film fan :)

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

The Three is Top of the Tree

DSC-RX100M3 18 October 2014 by DaveX (Australia)

After testing the RX-100M3 camera, I migrated from the RX-100M2, because it continues Sony's tradition of producing the best compact camera the market has to offer. The stand-out change is that Sony have crammed an Electronic View Finder (EVF) into the body and that means even the brightest of sunlight is no longer an issue for me. Magically, the EVF, takes up zero space when folded down, so I can still pocket this amazing camera. Sony has incorporated the newer Bionz X image processing engine in the RX-100M3, which, among other things, means I now enjoy noticeably enhanced autofocus, and improved video (both of which are already superb in the RX-100M2). The brilliant Zeiss lens has been “opened up” (F1.8-2.8) and widened (24-70mm) compared to the M2, giving me the ability to take in more of the scenery. The only casualty, when comparing the RX-100M3 to it’s predecessor, is the hot-shoe - so if you want to use an external mic, video light, etc, I would suggest looking at the RX-100M2, or like me, you could keep one of each ;-) The RX-100 series means I can now carry a great camera with me everywhere I go. It is good enough that I sometimes even use it as my primary camera for special events, or whilst travelling. I have a mobile phone, but it is jealous of the images this camera produces, and so are some of my mates “proper” DSLRs…

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Nearly as good as an DSLR

DSC-RX100M3 02 October 2014 by toddster (Australia)

I bought this for the wife, she was keen on a DSLR, however she isn't a pro photographer and wouldn't properly use it's features. I would always be carrying the bag or it would be to big to take everywhere. So I got her this instead and glad that I did. The image quality is fantastic and the features are easy to use to produce great shots.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Small but BIG in features!

DSC-RX100M3 11 September 2014 by SonyFanBoi (Australia)

I have always been impressed since the first RX100 came out. I actually have all the three RX100-series camera. They all look the same from the outside but inside they're all different ! To make it simple; I will list all the positives and negatives I like about the camera. Now this might be different from yours as I use it the way I want it :) LIKE : - Popup EVF - what an ingenius way Sony! A big shoutout to the Sony engineers for making this. Although, there is a minor glitch in the implementation wherein when you push it back in, the camera turns off as well - Zeiss does MATTER! The perfect union of a camera and lens was the RX1! The fast Zeiss lens on the RX100M3 and the new BionzX comes close to the image quality of the RX1. - Movies, movies, movies!! This is a bit geeky but for an average user, the AVCHD (High-def) format is enough! But for those wanting to capture and edit their movies afterwards, no other digital compact camera has the XAVCS format. - SELFIE TIME! Yes! my daughter loves that she can flip the screen and take a perfect selfie all the time! DISLIKE : - HOTSHOE! Why do you have to remove this? :( Now I can't use any of my accessories like the microphone (https://www.sony.com.au/product/ecm-xyst1m), external LCD viewer. -CHARGER! I know that being able to charge your camera in a computer/laptop/power bank is convenient BUT you can't use the camera while it is charging? And shouldn't the price be lower because there is no more charger? :D - Lens Zoom. a bit disappointed when I found out that the optical zoom is only 2.9x compare to 3.6x compare to its older siblings. The rest of the features are almost similar/the same with the other RX100-series camera! I am sure that there are other great features of the camera, but for me this are the main points that really made me purchased this camera even though I have too many cameras already. All in all, shooting with the RX100M3 has been mixed for me, BUT defintely NO BUYERS REMORSE on my part!

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Best Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M3 10 September 2014 by redbaka (Australia)

Easily the best small pocket-able camera on the market with superb image and video quality. It is light weight and I carry it with me all the time. It is extremely easy to use at any level of expertise, suitable for amateurs and or professionals. One particular function that makes it outstanding is the tilt screen and NFC, which enables selfies to be easily taken and upload to the inter-web within a couple of clicks. The quality of the camera is amazing, both image quality (almost matching of full frames) and design build (slick and solid). Tru-Finder works great, battery life is long, in-built flash, great lens (24-70mm - F1.8-2.8) and plenty more design features. Real value for money. One thing that sticks out in my book is the X-type battery, I can use the same battery across multiple cameras - ie. RX1 and ActionCam. In my opinion, this makes it one of the best things, I can swap and trade them as needed when I'm short on time/power. Only extra features that it could possibly include is 4K video (possible future firmware update) and audio/mic jack and hot-shoe mount for those who really need it, not me.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100M3 09 September 2014 by Transter (Australia)

If there is a camera you ever buy, this is it. This is one of the best cameras I have owned. I work in a camera store and I go through quite a fair bit of cameras. This one stuck with me. The quality of the images that come out of this camera in low-light situations give DSLR's a run for their money. I get to pocket this camera, whereas my DSLR, I can't. I take this camera out with me when I head out at night and not wanting to carry a full size camera with me.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Once you pop you can't stop

DSC-RX100M3 09 September 2014 by Jono1984 (Australia)

The RX100 III is, you guessed it, the third iteration in a popular compact digital camera series from Sony and is my very welcome return to owning a dedicated point and shoot camera.After years of using a mobile phone to take some quick happy snaps I decided to take the plunge and am very happy to say it has met and blown my expectations way. Boasting a 20.1 Megapixel sensor, a 2.9x optical zoom, pop up flash and a 3" LCD screen this is a fairly stock standard camera on initial specs. Delve a little deeper and the improved sensor and lens help create a pocket sized camera that is more than capable of taking those night shots when light is often a problem. The LCD screen is bright and vibrant and more importantly easy to see in direct sunlight. A neat little trick sees the screen flip all the way out and up and turns the camera into something very capable of taking selfies, which is apparently important these days. The body is made of very high quality materials and has a certain heft and solid feel but it is by no means a heavy camera. The compact size makes slipping this into a jacket pocket a breeze and you will never notice it is there The star of the show though is the amazing electronic view finder hidden within the body of camera. You honestly would never know it is there. With a flick of a switch it pops up like magic and gives this camera a whole new feel and level of capability. I felt like I was using my DSLR camera when perfectly framing my shot on the RX100 and adjusting the aperture and shutter speed to right where I needed it to be. It really made a huge difference to my experience with this camera and I have found myself using it more than I thought I would. Of course it still has all the presets for various scenes, panorama shots and multiple auto modes to help the everyday photographer. I have been able to take some fantastic shots on the RX100 in as variety of scenarios. Colour reproduction is very good and detail even when zooming is exceptional. I've really found my photos to really pop off the screen when viewed back on my laptop. As mentioned earlier the new sensor and lens have really helped make night photos a possibility, The flash is bright and even and the level of detail is very good without having that night grey haze about the images. Video is also exceptionally handled with brilliant quality that looks great on the HD TV at home. One thing I also found handy was the inclusion of WiFi and NFC top pair with a smartphone. It works well, is simple to use and is great for wanting to quickly share pictures with friends and family. The RX100 has proven to be my everyday camera of choice and I rarely leave the house without it. Its compact design, fantastic image quality and amazing viewfinder really is a winning combination. Once you use this you will never go back to a mobile phone camera again, i definitely haven't

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

The Best Pocket Camera!

DSC-RX100M3 02 September 2014 by OllyT (Australia)

The RX100 III is easily the best pocket camera I have ever purchased not only because of it's small size and light weight but also the amount of power and features Sony have managed to squeeze inside the black metal shell. New features, added since the previous models, such as the popup viewfinder, or 'Tru-Finder' as Sony call it, make it clear that the RX100 III is not just a simple point and shoot, but rather a feature-driven strong competitor of much larger and more expensive cameras. Through my experiences, the Tru-Finder delivers an extremely high quality picture that is 'Tru' to what your final shot will look like. The large LCD screen on the back of the camera shows off your shots with deep blacks and vibrant colours. Not only this, but it also displays the menus and settings that have been revamped from the previous models. The only feature the RX100 III is missing is a hot shoe mount (which both of the previous models had). The camera takes stunning stills and full HD video so if you have the money and you're a photographer on any level, the RX100 III will seriously deliver for you!

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

RX100 : the Sleek Camera with All the Features

DSC-RX100M3 31 August 2014 by stvn89 (Australia)

The RX100 is Time Magazine’s best inventions of year 2012 with good reasons. First of all what can I say but WOW during my first on hand experience with the Sony RX100. I myself am not an avid photographer but do enjoy the occasional photographs on special occasions and holidays, which is why I can say it is great for casual users who like to point and go without the know it all in the photography world. It’s simple yet sophisticated at the same time. At first there are plenty of functions that may look complicated but the simple A (Automatic button) does wonders and simplifies your experience. The clarity and crisp quality of the pictures is what wins the camera for me especially at night, when it produces amazing backlit photographs. Excellent camera for its price range and value for money and would definitely recommend it to family and friends. I can go so far to say it can be a simple replacement to those who are not looking for a bulky DSLR camera. Having more than a year’s worth of experience with this camera, I am still receiving plenty of compliments for the quality and clarity of the pictures it produces. The newer version of this camera has launched in both DSC-RX100M2 and DSC-RX100M3 with additional features, but if you’re looking for simplicity and great value for money then look no further as this is the camera to have! In a nutshell, the RX100 camera is awesome with excellent features you’d see in a DSLR all compacted into a small shell that can fit into the size of your pockets.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

What a Camera!

DSC-RX100M3 18 May 2013 by Qua55 (Australia)

The RX100 is an amazing camera. That is about it. It works more efficiently than any other camera I have ever seen or used. The picture quality is excellent, as well as the video quality. I turned down much more expensive cameras for this one! Cons: It is a bit hard to use at first, with so many features, and unlike the new HX50V, it does not have an external flash. Apart from that, it is small, light, the pop up flash is a real party trick, and the colours that come out of it perfectly resemble real life. A brilliant camera. I would not want anything else.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Best Pocket Camera EVER!

DSC-RX100M3 02 May 2013 by TheMachine (Australia)

Love it. Not only does it feel good to hold because of the build quality but the images and videos this thing takes are amazing for a compact camera.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Simply Marvelous

DSC-RX100M3 01 May 2013 by AndersonC (Australia)

After using an SLR for a few years, I've always considered a compact but never talked myself into one due to the sensor size (RX100 has a 1 inch sensor). However after a friend wanted a new camera I looked into the RX100 as a recommendation. Upon research I fell in love with it and so grabbed one myself (This friend also got one and is beyond happy). After receiving this camera I went on a little trip to Victoria. The pictures from this trip was simply marvelous. Sharp images, lovely colours, Brilliant Video quality, easy to use auto function, also fully manual for the SLR lovers. Also the weight is excellent, its barely there and so it has become part of me. Lets say its an accessory now. The classic case which Sony provides with the camera (sold separately) gives it that retro look and makes it classy. I recommend the case as it adds as extra support for your camera and you can simply strap it around you and pick it up at ease when you want to shoot. For the technical side -ISO3200 is still usable (which is beyond believable) -Carl Zeiss Lens (Sharp images, and at times comparable to FF) -Superb Video (1080p video and gets away with $6,000 set up). -Contrast is very neat (night street photography was excellent). -Bokeh 'depth of field' with f1.8 and a 1 inch sensor it provides excellent depth of field and makes any macro pictures look lovely. -RAW files, its brilliant as it keeps so much detail. If you are an amateur or a happy snapper it is simple to use and produces pro like images. For a pro it allows you to use manual mode and capture images to your desire including long exposure to high speed photography. Film lovers: don't to miss that perfect shot but don't have your gear with you? The RX100 makes for a suitable substitute on the go. This camera is simply marvelous. The only possible upgrades would be GPS geo-tagging and wi-fi 'play memories' offered by later sony cameras.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Power-packed Surprise

DSC-RX100M3 01 February 2013 by Redfox (Australia)

I've used this camera for just over a month and while still getting to know all its features have found it to be quite remarkable for a small compact camera - largely due to its 1" CMOS sensor and processing engine. The main attributes of this camera I like are its: - high resolution images, - image clarity, - incredible wide colour range, - extremely low noise, - great HD viewing screen. I was amazed at the detail when zooming in on an image - I could read the words on signs that weren't even visible in the unzoomed image. Amazing detail! The colour range especially of people's faces were excellent - seems even better than my big DSLR. I used this camera, both movie and still, in snow conditions and it performed very well. What I'm not so keen on is the position of the ON/OFF and shutter buttons - too close together. One feature I miss is an edit feature in the camera - perhaps I haven't found it yet! Most other digital cameras I have used have an on-board edit feature. While there is a help ? menu for each feature, what is lacking is a manual. It would be good if a downloadable PDF manual could be made available - it may be on the website but I haven't been able to locate it! Any help would be appreciated! Overall an excellent addition to any photographer wanting a high resolution compact camera.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Best Zoom Compact

DSC-RX100M3 25 January 2013 by vufinder (Australia)

The RX100 fits my requirements almost perfectly. It's small enough to put in your pocket, yet the quality of the photos are comparable to many 4/3 cameras on the market. The auto options are convenient and logical but the deciding factor for me were the manual settings, together with the large sensor. You can also shoot in RAW and JPEG enabling post shoot tweaking. I only wish Sony had included a vufinder, even an optical one would have sufficed, also I wish SONY had covered the camera body with a "skin" such as leather or the equivalent enhancing the tactile feel of the camera. But I'm still giving it 5 stars. An incredible technological feat by Sony cramming all that technology in such a small body. In the end the results of the photos speak for themselves.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Amazing

DSC-RX100M3 18 January 2013 by Blazer (Australia)

It's really very straight forward. I could sit and write about how wonderful this camera is. But at the end of the day it needs to be seen to be believed!!! Without a doubt the best point and shoot I have ever had in my hands. Simply AMAZING. The only small problem I can see is the build quality on the slots that open. Power and Battery compartments, for this money a better build quality would have been nice in these areas.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

An Amazing Camera!

DSC-RX100M3 27 December 2012 by Robert (Australia)

I was looking for a camera to replace my existing digital, a Panasonic Lumix. I read in Time'magazine the best 25 inventions for 2012 and they had the RX100 as one of them. After finding our more about this gem, I pruchased it and have been using it for a month now and trying out all the features. The macro is superb, the Auto port framing a great idea and the picture effects, stunning. I have shown this to my friends and they are planning to buy one for themselves, that says it all. Thank you Sony.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

SONY DSC_RX100

DSC-RX100M3 05 October 2012 by Wills (Australia)

I use a Canon 7D for my main photography. I recently took the 7D on my travels to Middle East and Germany. Carrying a larger camera and an extra lens around the world on business can be a bit tedious,cumbersome and heavy so I was looking for an alternative just for long travel or carrying with me nearly everywhere I go.Don't get me wrong if I was traveling on holiday only then the 7D would go with me.Its just for regular business travel with all the extra baggage that causes the issue.Remember I have to carry an office around with me. I evaluated what was available as I only like a camera that will take good shots and particularly the higher quality shots. I chose the Sony DSC-RX100. I was not disappointed. The features are excellent for this pocket size camera and any professional would be happy with the performance. Its is quite amazing such a small camera can produce such high quality pictures.If you purchase you will not be disappointed.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0