39

4.7 based on 39 customer reviews

28
9
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

39 Customer Reviews

0

A true Camera for capturing moments of movement

DSC-RX100M5A 20 November 2020 by ShaneParkour (United Kingdom)

I brought this and used it for the projects on ascent 1 and 2 and it worked great capturing how i move.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great compact, a few tweaks would make it amazing

DSC-RX100M5A 14 October 2020 by acameraman (United Kingdom)

I have owned full frame DSLRs and now Mirrorless models since they came in the market. For many years I also had on APS C cropped sensor camera for when sized matters. A friend recommended one of the cameras in this series as a go to pocketable camera. After some use I understand his enthusiasm. It has a great lens, good functionality, an EVF which I find essential out of doors, and a sensor that is well ahead of most in compact cameras. I prefer dials to menus but compact means compromises. Used to bigger cameras, I find it tricky to hold safely but with a retro two piece case and neck strap those concerns went away. The only image quality issue I have found is trying to work indoors with natural light. Noise is noticeable at moderate ISO and the trade off with slow shutter speeds would be helped by better image stabilisation. That said, at the size and price, there is little competition other that the more recent versions with a longer zoom range.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Professional camera that fits in a jeans pocket

DSC-RX100M5A 16 July 2020 by GuyMP (United Kingdom)

These are astonishing little cameras: so small that they fit in the front pocket of a pair of jeans, and yet capable of full manual control and truly professional results. I knew the RX100M3 already. I deliberately chose the M5A over the M6 or M7 because I prefer the brighter, sharper lens of the original. M5A is a considerable improvement over the M3, being faster and more responsive in operation. Results, processed in Capture One Pro, seem sharper than ever, too. My only criticism is that the on-screen menus are awful, so that options are hard to find without reading every page, but custom menus help with that. It's a small niggle in an otherwise brilliant product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good features-tedious to use

DSCRX100M5A/B 12 April 2020 by jj19 (USA)

Great pictures but internal and external software are difficult to use--internally looking at your set up and externally difficult to transfer pictures or to use with phone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

DSC-RX100M5A 03 March 2020 by Nazrul (United Kingdom)

Very good for everything

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent camera

DSC-RX100M5A 01 March 2020 by PFThomas (United Kingdom)

Perfect combination of customisation and ease of use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Amazing

DSC-RX100M5A 17 February 2020 by RX100User (United Kingdom)

Love this camera, very easy to use on the go, fast and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M5A 25 January 2020 by JJJ1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera three weeks ago there are a lot features to work through . The picture quality is great fairly easy to navigate the menu .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great all round camera

DSC-RX100M5A 20 January 2020 by Brad123 (United Kingdom)

I bought this mainly for the wide appature. The photos in low light are just brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Outstanding little camera

DSC-RX100M5A 13 January 2020 by Condyk (United Kingdom)

Tiny camera but astonishingly capable and the ideal travel gadget.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent Quality

DSC-RX100M5A 09 January 2020 by Dougal Double Doodle (United Kingdom)

The SONY RX100VA packs such a lot of functionality into such a tiny device. Whether you want to completely master and control the image or just simply point and shoot and let the camera do the work, the RX100VA caters for both and all stops in between. Impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Wonderful photos

DSC-RX100M5A 27 December 2019 by Sollymydog (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera only 2 weeks ago and using on holiday now. The results are good but there are so many features that I need to become familiar with. I would have liked to have been supplied with a good old fashioned manual to help me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Expensive but full of features

DSC-RX100M5A 07 December 2019 by OldOne (United Kingdom)

I already have a Lumix Tz80 which is a great travel camera with a terrific zoom lens. However it has poor performance in low light and indoor sports shots were not great. Also I wanted to be more creative so a faster lens was needed. I like a camera I can slip in my pocket so I'm ready to take pictures at any time. The RX100 Va fits the bill. It is a high quality camera in a small size. I would like a longer zoom and a cheaper price then this would be the perfect camera for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Amazing camera

DSC-RX100M5A 30 November 2019  (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this camera 10 days and taken over 4000 pictures plus a hundred videos already. This has included some amazing gymnasts in quite poor night lighting. The results are staggering. Everything I have heard and read about this camera is true. Including the manual, which is horrendous. It is disjointed, difficult to read and looks like it’s been written by a committee. If you are using my review to base a buying decision on - I have 4 DSLRs and 3 compacts. This one is well worth the cost, but be prepared to do battle with the Sony supplied guide. Much of my work involves children’s sports, so unfortunately I can’t post any examples

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Quality is superb

DSC-RX100M5A 25 November 2019 by Tony1234567890 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a small quality camera and read most of the reviews and it was a toss up between the Panasonic Lumix and this one. Having previously owned the larger Alpha camera and the old cybershot, I chose the one I'm most familiar with and wasn't disappointed. Great camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quality images, compact design and super fun!

DSC-RX100M5A 03 November 2019 by Shoddy (United Kingdom)

Mega fun and easy to use! Packed full of brilliant features! And most importably a super quality to the images! Aperture mode is amazing! And the auto mode covers a lot of ground... Great video capabilities too - the built in mic isn't bad at all! Capture live performances very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fanastic Little Camera

DSC-RX100M5A 25 October 2019 by JohnFromLondon (United Kingdom)

I cannot believe that Sony has managed to fit so many features in such a small camera. The quality of the picture is excellent. It can be used as a point & shoot camera but it is capable of very much more. I particularly like the focus assist feature and the ability to manually focus a shot. The exposure is pretty accurate and the viewfinder is very good. The camers small size can occasional make it a little fiddly to use but that is only to be expected in a camera of this size. The video feature is similarly very good and produces exellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Little Camera

DSC-RX100M5A 06 October 2019 by wotnot (United Kingdom)

I already owned an RX100 and found to it be a great camera. Deciding to upgrade, I went for the RX100 V and it does not disappoint. The added feature of the video feature is a real boon, apart from the other upgrades. My first impressions are that is it is a brilliant little camera, which has been confirmed as its now my second one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality

DSC-RX100M5A 30 September 2019 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom)

Exceptional small camera with a bright, fast, sharp lens. Brilliant in low light which is why I bought it and the 24 frames per second is phenomenal. Can be used in full auto/semi auto/manual modes to suit all photographers needs and perfect to carry in your pocket at all times. The Sony grip is a must as the camera can easily slip out of your hands without it. I also went for the Sony LCS-RXG case which, out of the 2 available from Sony, is the most versatile. Yes, it's expensive, but this lovely camera deserves the best!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great but not perfect

DSC-RX100M5A 26 September 2019 by Jimjam7 (United Kingdom)

Traded in a Lumix LX100 - love the Sony's compact size and much better viewfinder but miss the LX100's exposure compensation wheel - so easy. Unfortunately a viewfinder faulty - waiting to get fixed. Remained stuck down and now freed up but will not retract completely.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

superb compact camera

DSC-RX100M5A 14 September 2019 by picture this (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera just a couple weeks. It takes high quality photos. The build quality is also excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

So many features

DSC-RX100M5A 11 September 2019 by Lads 8387150 (United Kingdom)

Happy but W I P that are going to take time to but will persevere

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Simplicity personified

DSC-RX100M5A 25 August 2019 by Peripatetic Scribe (United Kingdom)

At age 76, I decided to become "minimalist" in my photography whilst at the same time retaining those features of a DSLR that I felt to be important to me. Thus, I came to the SOny RX100 V and can say in all honesty that my choice has been 100% successful. It does all that I demand of it, producing some excellent results for example, over the last few days here in Dartmouth Devon we have had some wonderful "autumnal" morning with splendid layers of mist over the river and surrounding hills. My little Sony has been remarkably faithful when reproducing a feeling of "softness" inherent when photographing under such conditions especially in monochrome which I enjoy greatly. To summarise, I have nothing but praise for the all-round quality the camera gives me, and would not hesitate to encourage others to purchase.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Pocket powerhouse

DSC-RX100M5A 11 July 2019 by Digital David (United Kingdom)

I've had an earlier model of the RX100 and was so impressed with it that I have upgraded to the VA model. The improvement in spec is certainly worth the higher price and I as looking forward to some even better photographs. When buying a camera I will always look for a viewfinder as I do not like using the screen when talking pictures, the VA viewfinder is a dramatic improvement on the M3 and is great in use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0