12

4.8 based on 12 customer reviews

10
2
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12 Customer Reviews

0

Useful at work and home

DSC-RX100M5A 19 May 2019 by sdey66 (United Kingdom)

Excellent for family photos and video but also for my work. I work with museums and it's small size, low light capabilities, angled screen and SLR quality images mean it is very useful to me for imaging ancient artefacts and specimens. I take 100's of images of each object and turn them into 3d models using photogrammetry. These models are then 3d printed. The RX100v is now my first choice tool in this work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic little camera capable of so much

DSC-RX100M5A 11 May 2019 by Adz34 (United Kingdom)

Having owned a few Sony’s in the past like the A7 and A72 it’s packed with so many features and the menu system is a lot more user friendly only wish it had the time lapse features of the earlier models.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, light, pocketable

DSC-RX100M5A 10 May 2019 by JimboGC (United Kingdom)

In a couple of months, started to get used to the camera, not yet explored its full capabilities. Decided to go small, after losing DSLR bag and kit, which was used largely for wildlife in South Africa. Back in UK, wanted a go anywhere, small light camera, better base image quality than my Pixel 2 phone. Challenging myself to take proper photos, to think about photography again, but without the paraphernalia. So far, so good. Went for the 5a rather than the 6, partly on price, but also on reviews, and size. Thought about the Lumix 100 LX100 II, which has some nice features, but was too big for my pockets. I'm still working on the menus and buttons, and the ring, but everything appears possible with practice, which has been limited. Only accessory so far is a case, LCJ-RXF, which works well, except I'd like to be able to detach the shoulder strap with clips, to put the camera in pocket. Like that you can detach most of the case, if required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M5A 28 April 2019 by Jess2019 (USA)

I was thinking about buying the RX100 V or the RX100 VI. I wanted a camera that would take the best pictures within my budget. Sure the RX100 VI has a superior zoom lens, but at the expense of losing low light quality, which the RX 100 V has. I had to prioritize.. So, I decided on the the V. And, I'm glad I did. The pictures are stunning!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing little camera

DSC-RX100M5A 18 April 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this little camera to go with my DSLR but to use this when carrying a big camera isnt an option and I’m afraid to say but this is now my go to camera over the dslr. The auto focus is super fast and the quality of the image is just amazing and you can just slip it in your pocket it’s crazy!! Also really love the portraits this camera can achieve :) I’m always have a RX100 in my pocket from now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Greta featres and a compact size

DSC-RX100M5A 08 April 2019 by mnra (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera over 3 weeks ago and so far I am really please with the resaults especially slow motion, 4k,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony RX100VA, a little gem!

DSC-RX100M5A 31 March 2019 by AlBG (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera three months ago after six months of agonising over which camera to buy. I watched loads of Youtube videos of this and other manufacturer's cameras and finally settled on the Sony RX100 Mk VA. I had to keep reminding myself that I wanted a quality camera that would slip in my pocket so that I am not always tempted to carry a heavy (Canon 5D Mkll) DSLR. This one fits the bill perfectly and now goes with me everywhere. It's great for street and travel photography and is so much more versatile than a phone camera. I chose the Mk VA rather than the Mk 6 because of the faster lens (f1.8 - f2.8) as I looked at most of my Photo subjects (people and landscapes) and decided that this one fell into the category of what I use most when using my DSLR. This doesn't mean I don't use the DSLR anymore, I now reserve that one for really serious photography when I don't mind walking around with a heavy backpack full of gear.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent Quality with Some Quirks

DSC-RX100M5A 21 March 2019 by GregTurnbull (United Kingdom)

My Sony RX100VA is an amazing camera, very small, great fast lens which can zoom from wide-angle (24mm) to portrait (70mm). Obviously no telephoto optical zoom for this size & speed which is OK by me, I just move closer to the subject if possible or crop the image if not. It does have some quirks though, no GPS chip to record my location on the images, which is a shame, the essential handgrip should be included & not an extra at this price. The battery does run out fast in cold weather so you need a couple of spares. However, the worst issue for a landscape photographer is the annoying overexposure by -0.3 to -0.7, which is a mistake that should be fixed by a firmware update to the sensor &/or the processing S/W. I hate having to set a general -0.3 compensation, because you can forget when shooting darker subjects. :-) Obviously with such an expensive camera you should be shooting in RAW so some of these issues can be fixed by post-processing in Lightroom, Photoshop, etc., but this should not be necessary. Sony, please listen to the reviews in this regard! Overall a great camera, but one that takes a little effort to think about your subject, lighting conditions, etc., and make adjustments in the camera before taking any pictures, but then this is not a bad thing. Be aware that you are going to spend some time later on fixing some of the issues in S/W on the computer, so budget for this accordingly...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great camera

DSCRX100M5A/B 12 December 2018 by cowpoke (USA)

user interface is challenging takes grewat pictures even at iso6400 and above

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Loaded with quality but still fits in your pocket

DSC-RX100M5A 07 December 2018 by denso pemburthy01 (United Kingdom)

Well built with an easy menu system.Takes good pictures in low light (for a compact) and great video. Loaded with quality and has all the features I need but still fits in my pocket.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Brilliant but complex

DSC-RX100M5A 27 September 2018 by Pauler (United Kingdom)

My initial reaction is that it will be highly suitable as a compact holiday camera instead of my Sony APS-C. In the early stages it seems very complex although versatile might be a fairer description. One seemingly mean feature is the obvious need to buy an (admittedly low cost) grip for such an expensive camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

A small camera with a lot of impact

DSC-RX100M5A 12 August 2018 by Marcia G (USA)

I bought this camera to take with me while I walked over 635 miles across Northern Spain last Fall. I needed something compact (fits in pants pocket) yet took good quality photos. It's spoiled me....though I still love my DSLR and lenses this little camera has proven itself over and over again for quality and impact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0