$1,699.00

(AUD inc. GST)
206

4.4 based on 206 customer reviews

118
60
17
6
5
Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 July 2018 by Plasticmat (United Kingdom)

Excellent product, an upgrade on my previous Leica DLux. I bought it as I wanted the small form factor, but also wanted zoom telephoto, built in flash, excellent optics and best sensor size. I have not been disappointed- fantastic focus times, great colour rendering and very sharp telephoto zoom shots of birds in my garden. Only disadvantages over my previously owned Leica are poorer battery life, and strange inability to bulk delete all images short of reformatting every time. All the rest are pluses!

19

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Excellect camera spoiled by terrible app

DSC-RX100M6 04 August 2019 by PHSSheffield (United Kingdom)

I like the camera - powering on by popping up the viewfinder is very intuitive and the results are great. It is wonderful to have so much power in a tiny carry everywhere camera. However, the supporting app is very poor - there is no facility to control the camera from the phone, nor to automatically transfer photos every time you power the camera off - both of which I was used to in a previous sony camera. You have to remember which photos you have transfered - the app does not keep track, so it is easy to find you have left some pictures in the camera. I also expected to be able to load apps to the camera, but this feature has been removed from this model - it was there in earlier iterations of the RX100. So there is no intervalometer, which I use frequently on my a6500.

4

0

206 Customer Reviews

0

Brilliant compact but still some faults.

DSC-RX100M6 26 May 2022 by H2O1 (United Kingdom)

Love pop up viewfinder, zoom lever, self closing lens cover, & ring control for aperture etc. Disappointed only 20 not 24 pixel, not happy with download arrangement, but hope there is a better means yet to discover Hate lack of secure holding, flat polished surface totally unsuitable, fold out pistol grip? Instructions supplied pathetic. Tell you to go online spending ages searching. Why can't we have clear written handbook?

0

0

0

Quality compact camera

DSC-RX100M6 11 May 2022 by Angel (United Kingdom)

Great sharp images & brilliant high speed auto focus. Good zoom to 200mm much better than other compacts & maximum zoom remains sharp. Lovely & compact, fits in your pocket. I have small hands so no problems with operating camera but someone with large hands may find camera a little more fiddly to operate. Battery life better than other reviews I have read & additional back up batteries can be purchased inexpensively. My only annoyance is that the camera is a little slow on startup & closing. Professional looking images, worth paying extra for!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Lost it.

DSC-RX100M6 30 April 2022 by yogesh000 (United Kingdom)

Lost my camera. It would be nice to have findmyphone kind of feature :(

0

4

0

Replaces larger cameras

DSC-RX100M6 29 March 2022 by Bessacarr B (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to replace a larger camera that I couldn't be bothered to carry around on walks etc. The picture quality is excellent even on digital zoom and it does everything asked of it. Even when photographing into the sun there are very few internal reflections to spoil the view. I found all it's features a little difficult to follow until I got used to them. The high price was worth it!

0

0

0

Good Camera, but missing something

DSC-RX100M6 27 February 2022 by Knarfie (United Kingdom)

I am really satisfied with this camera, using it in best JPEG mode. Although I often use extra sharpening afterwards. Missing a good adaption of the 'auto ISO' function when taking pics at high shutterspeed ("S") . The ISO too much in bright weather (bad for the quality).... often have to adjust the shutter time 4x speed.... instead of lower ISO. No possibillity to adjust the ISO quickly. Functions are not good working together. Still think this is one of the best options for an easy to take pocket camera with good/ almost professional (and important) 200 mm zoom. Would have given it a 4,5.... but not a 5. .

0

0

0

Easy when you know how

DSC-RX100M6 07 February 2022 by Rgbot (United Kingdom)

Wanted a quality zoom camera with a zoom. This fits the bill perfectly. For an amateur photographer it's a little complicated but I just use the auto. U Tube is best to check out how it works and how to customise settings.

0

0

0

Great quality and functionality

DSC-RX100M6 30 January 2022 by Andrew of the North (United Kingdom)

I've had an original RX100 (Mark I) for years and upgraded for the better zoom. Still learning about all the additional features but very pleased so far. Battery life doesn't seem as good as the Mark I but I've got some spare batteries.

0

0

0

Superb compact camera

DSC-RX100M6 15 January 2022 by Blahblahmmfjfmfjednfjdsnd (United Kingdom)

This is a great camera, once you get the hang of the menu system and customise it to your needs it is quick to operate and not too fiddly, the pop up viewfinder is very good, the lens is sharp even at the telephoto, better than the Lumix TZ200, which zooms more but is soft at the long end. I am selling my much larger RX10 as this camera does it all

0

0

0

Sudden Impact

DSC-RX100M6 02 January 2022 by Robinjw1971 (United Kingdom)

its a Superb little Everyday Pocketable Camera. Image Quality is spot on.

2

0

0

SONY RX100 VI

DSC-RX100M6 06 December 2021 by CDB1953 (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently as I wanted a small Sony camera to supplement my ZVI. I did not need the microphone jack or extra features of the much more expensive VII. I am not disappointed as this is a brilliant camera. Just one downside is no grip and the body is smooth. I bought a lightweight aluminium grip to take care of this.

0

0

0

Small but great camera

DSC-RX100M6 17 October 2021 by flyinggate3 (United Kingdom)

I Bought this camera based on reviews of image quality in February 2021. The lens on this camera is an absolute dream clear and sharp. The zoom is 24-200 packed in a small camera with a clear flip up touch sensitive screen. The camera has lots of menus that are accessible by rotary dial on the back. This camera has more options and capabilities that will keep me going for a long while. Some options are great such as manual fine focusing and easily adjusting of the sensitivity. The view finder is small but nice in use. The only issue is to get a good grip of the camera without touch the touch screen by accident especially if your hands are big . This is a consequence of being such a small camera but a external grip made all the difference. This camera was a replacement for my compact camera with full manual control. I wanted to still have manual control able to shoot RAW, good zoom (10X), good sensor size and a quality lens. What Sony has done it has replaced the compact camera and also my DSLR. The photo quality is limited by me not the camera.

0

0

0

Pocket full of tricks

DSC-RX100M6 13 October 2021 by LeRobster (United Kingdom)

I'm very glad I bought this camera. I wasn't using my DSLR so much due to the portability and size, and I wanted to move away from a dependency on smartphone - so in my own time I'm not tempted to take work calls or check email - but be able to quickly share images and view on a larger screen. My Dad has the mk ii, which is good, but the updated features of this version - with the added zoom gives even more flexibility in my pocket. It's so small. One summer in, and we have a fantastic collection of family photos to look back on. The manual features are excellent, as are the extensive array of presets if my family are using it. Battery life is pretty good and quick to charge, but I always carry a spare. If only it had water resistance, or better still was waterproof, but that's a big ask for a proper camera with a zoom lens (and I use a GoPro hero 9 for water-based activities)

0

0

0

Great Camera - Shame about the battery life

DSC-RX100M6 13 October 2021 by Cartier (United Kingdom)

Superb ease of use and build quality. Plus takes really good pictures. Battery life is miserable though. I have bought two spares. It goes flat in the camera when it's not used. So it's best to check levels before going out the door. But don't let that deter you too much, it's a lovely thing.

0

0

0

Brilliant and flawed

DSC-RX100M6 25 August 2021 by Central Hundredweight (United Kingdom)

This camera is beautifully-made probably the best compact on the market. Downloading an image into photoshop gives me a 40 cms X 27 cms at 350 pixels an inch picture which is plenty. (Actually it's better than many DSLR s ) It's ideal if you don't want to take a larger camera with you. The price you pay for using a very small camera is the controls are fiddley. It has enough functions and programmes to cater for all tastes- fortunately you cancel and customise it down to something more straight forward.

0

0

0

Better than my previous camera

DSC-RX100M6 08 August 2021 by R4321 (United Kingdom)

After only a limited amount of use, the thing I like best is the long zoom. This allows me to take close-up portraits unobtrusively. But I needed a grandson to help me navigate the menus.

0

0

0

Well designed

DSC-RX100M6 29 July 2021 by pictonic (United Kingdom)

Good compromise of lens quality, zoom range and camera features. Only criticisms would be the size of buttons, a bit smaller than they could be (particularly the on/off button) ...and price, a bit too high for what you get.

0

0

0

Powerful features easy to use and convenient to ca

DSC-RX100M6 16 July 2021 by Ste2 (United Kingdom)

Great camera but the battery needs to be a bigger size for longer battery life

0

0

0

A good camera for the money. Poor support.

DSC-RX100M6 28 June 2021  (United Kingdom)

I have extensively explored the menu and yes there are a lot of excellent features but Sony do not make much effort to explain how they can be programmed and used. The best i could find were tube and independent experts who were prepared to share their knowledge. As to the Wi Fi, forget it it, it is useless and I have yet to find a way to make it work.

0

0

0

wonderful results from a pocket-sized camera

DSC-RX100M6 16 May 2021 by PeteAl (United Kingdom)

Great to benefit from a larger sensor while keeping the camera hardly any bigger than a typical compact camera. I found the geo-taggging worked very efficiently and quickly with my smart phone. Only problem is that the camera user guide doesn't help much in using it in conjunction with their laptop or smart phone apps. What exists relates to an app Sony have discontinued. Sony needs to write a guide to the same standard as the guide for the camera itself.

0

0

0

The lens is the star attraction

DSC-RX100M6 09 April 2021 by Nippa (United Kingdom)

A cracking lens throughout the focal lengths. It's not that useful in dim light given the constraints of the design but I'll live with it. Processing is fast but Sony's focusing choices are confusing. It would be nice to have in camera Raw conversion or have picture effects and Raw together. Overall a great travel camera if you're happy with a 1 inch sensor.

0

0

0

Unrivaled Picture Quality Due To Lens and Sensor

DSC-RX100M6 10 March 2021 by Terry Ball Snapper (United Kingdom)

I chose the RX100 VI to compliment my RX100 III. I also own a Alpha77 II. I bought the MK3 for my son's wedding and was amazed to find that it rivaled/beat the picture quality of my A77II, depending on the lens I was using on the A77. It didn't take me long to realise that carrying the A77 with a bag full of heavy lens was unnecessary, so I took to carrying the A77 with a 70-300 and my RX100III instead. The Lockdown has resulted in me taking regular walks around my local countryside, when I always take my MK3 and on some occasions my A77II with 70-300. However due to the A77s bulk, I didn't take it most of the time and missed many shots which needed a long lens. This was the reason I bought my RX100 IV, and I'm very happy to say that it has lived up to all my expectations. The combination of fast 1.8-2.8 fast lens on the MK3 and the 70-200mm equiv. lens on the MK6 give me everything I need to cover the vast majority of the photographic opportunities that pass my way. The 8x zoom doesn't compare well on paper with other compact cameras, however the quality of the Ziess lens, coupled with the superb 1" sensor means that acceptable picture quality is maintained even after heavy cropping. I'd advise anyone thinking of spending up to £1500 on a system camera to seriously consider buying a MK3 and MK6 instead. I managed to pick them both up for less than £1200 including Sony's Cashback promotions.

0

0

0

Great camera, convinced me to stop using my phone

DSC-RX100M6 04 March 2021 by Allansr (United Kingdom)

I was a committed phone user for photographs. This camera has dramatically demonstrated the benefits of a proper camera. It is also a worthwhile upgrade from my original rx 100. Only downside is very poor battery life. The optical zoom lens is fantastic and opens up so many more photo opportunities.

0

0

0

RX100 VI

DSC-RX100M6 24 February 2021 by Davetytop (United Kingdom)

I bought this to obtain a high quality, easily portable camera, which I could take out when cycling and walking. My phone camera has too wide a lens to be always useful. It has proved highly satisfactory, ideal for my purposes.

0

0

0

As Exspected

DSC-RX100M6 15 February 2021 by Denzzzxxx (United Kingdom)

Sony have done it again! Brilliant really pocketable compact camera, excellent lens over all ranges, lovely little bounceable flash, more menu's then you could shake a stick at! Also love the pop up view finder, for me the perfect camera love it.

0

0