$1,799.00

(AUD inc. GST)
124

4.5 based on 124 customer reviews

81
34
5
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera for video

DSC-RX100M7 19 November 2019 by CHDigitalMedia (USA)

I bought this Camera for video filming use, I own an AX700 which is too bulky to carry around for candid shots and so the RX is an ideal size for this, if I was to be picky I would say that I wished the screen was brighter in Movie mode 4K and 4K60p should be mandatory now on all Sony cameras. The menu system is still not intuitive which is a long time Sony failing and the video stabilisation system could be stronger in 'active' mode. Also I would like to see the camera retain the last used saved function wheel profile when I switch the camera back on instead of defaulting to the original function wheel setting as this would help to lock the shutter in Movie mode which would be very useful because the Shutter and Aperture share the same wheel and I sometimes adjust the shutter by mistake (Firmware update maybe?) All in all a very capable camera, and 'Fun' to use, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7 31 December 2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom)

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

124 Customer Reviews

0

Defect !

DSC-RX100M7 19 April 2021 by WonkotheSane (United Kingdom)

Fine photos so far, but the shelflife of the batt is only about 2 days max, then it is discharged till zero. All memory-settings are erased and have to be renewed. So I had to return it and lost my rubber grip and my filter-ring which I fixed to the lens. What a pity about the final QC...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony RX 100 M7

DSC-RX100M7 12 April 2021 by David 262 (United Kingdom)

Great camera, and typical of the build quality you would expect from Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A Superb Little Camera!

DSC-RX100M7 01 April 2021 by Chrissie28 (United Kingdom)

I bought the RX100 III years ago on a reccomendation from a friend. Loved it , but always thought it could do with a better zoom. So when the VII came on the scene, I bought one! I'm still getting used to it but its a super camera. Image quality is great, viewfinder is a must for me and I'm getting the hang of the different functions (which I didn't bother with previously.) The touch function is great and something I didn't think I would use. It is pricey but I would say worth it. I have tried other compact cameras but the image quality lets them down. This one will go into a roomy coat pocket or I use a little bag that just goes over my shoulder without knowing it is there. I don't do video so can't comment on that but I understand that it's very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Almost Perfect Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M7 15 March 2021 by Ashokab (United Kingdom)

Very happy with the features of the Rx 100 VII. Worth the Price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-RX100M7 10 February 2021 by Riggman (United Kingdom)

I love this camera for its quality photo’s in a little pocketable package. I have an SLR and a little Sony WRX but the image quality on this model is excellent. I recommend a good tutorial book to explain all its features though to get the best out of it. My only reason for giving 4 stars is l have had problems with video judder in 4K and HD at 25p through Play Memories Home, l have yet to get to the bottom of it, it may be my PC/Monitor or a setting. The only one that works without visible judder is 50p.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for taking any where in your pocket.

DSC-RX100M7 08 February 2021 by Hube2019 (USA)

If you want to take pictures, but can not take a larger camera with you and you want more than a cell phone camera this is the one for you. It is has all the Sony features in it for HDR, panning or any picture you may want and it fits in your pocket. Being in your pocket meaning it can be with you Spring, Summer, Fall or Winter no matter were I go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So nearly the perfect travel camera

DSC-RX100M7 20 January 2021 by ARIXY (United Kingdom)

I've owned a RX100 V for some time and absolutely loved the quality of the images and the options available however it always seemed the zoom range was a bit limited and the lack of a microphone input was a real pain when shooting video. The RX100 VII has almost become my ideal travel camera in that it has both a much longer zoom range and a microphone input but, for some reason Sony has decided to take out the neutral density filter! Presumably it wouldn't fit with the longer zoom lens but it's a real shame. Fitting filters on the front of the lens is possible but far from ideal and shooting video without the neutral density in bright sun results in nasty-looking high shutter speed results. Until I find my ideal travel camera this one comes very close.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

The Always Camera

DSC-RX100M7 18 January 2021 by Grif80128 (USA)

After reading the specs and reviews, I had to try the RX100M7! It has lived up to the hype! At last the perfect compliment to my a9ii, but in my pocket. Wherever I go, I have a good solid camera with me. Ready always. My only wish is the the cycle on time be shortened. Images are fantastic. So far all man held images have been sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality from a very small camera.

DSC-RX100M7 13 January 2021 by Daveo159 (United Kingdom)

I have been surprised how good the image quality is from the smaller sensor in the camera compared to my apps-c camera. The camera is small and light enough Ito be taken with me when I might leave my A77 at home. The lens is great, the auto focusing brilliant. The small size does work against it sometimes as I find it easy to knock the control ring and touch the screen making it focus when I don’t want it to and it is a complex camera with many options that a no jive user might find off putting. The GPS feature which I value works via your smart phone and I have found sometimes the camera and phone won’t reconnect without resetting the phone. This could be an issue with my phone of course (One plus 5) but it’s annoying. I wish Sony would go back to incorporating GPS in-camera as they did on my Sony A77.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

So much in a small package

DSC-RX100M7 09 January 2021 by Nick82g (United Kingdom)

After using this camera for a month I am so pleased with the results im getting. I think it will take a bit more time to master all the great possibilities this camera offers .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb - big features in a small box

DSC-RX100M7 06 January 2021 by roydolan (United Kingdom)

This is a superb camera with many features found in a big DSLR is a small pocket sized camera. No need to carry a bag full of kit for most situations now and is so much smaller than the DSLR I would normally use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Powerful and Compact

DSC-RX100M7 31 December 2020 by wonton (USA)

The SONY RX100 VII is a excellent little camera. This is my third irritation in the RX100 line. I’ve taken this to New York, and most recently Christmas in Michigan. The past several months we found an absolutely beauty of a spot for a series photo. The colors were amazing and the clarity from this little camera is absolutely amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Broke after less than 6 weeks

DSC-RX100M7 21 December 2020 by DH123 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera 6 weeks ago mainly for landscape and nature photography and action videography. Results were excellent for videos and not bad for photos but unfortunately the camera broke after 6 weeks which for a high end product is rather disappointing. I would have forgiven this if the repair experience with Sony was easy and hassle free but as it was anything but, it meant I have actually returned the camera for a refund and will not purchase a Sony product again. This may be an isolated incident but it was enough to put me off. I have spent MANY monies with canon over 20 years of photography purchases and never had any problems so will keep my business with them.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Compact with big features

DSC-RX100M7 23 November 2020 by Smiler2 (United Kingdom)

So far I am impressed. Disappointed that there doesn’t appear to be focus bracketing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera for Travel

Body Only 28 October 2020 by waldyphoto (USA)

I love the camera: the focus speed, sharpness of the less, dynamic range and color, viewfinder. I with it had a neutral density filter and and a bit of rubber material on the front of the right side of the camera for a bitter grip. This will be my travel and go-to camera when I don't want to carry anything heavier.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

What a great little powerhouse of a camera.

Body Only 17 October 2020 by RichF14 (USA)

I came from a Nikon d750 with a range of lenses from 24mm to 200mm. It got old lugging all that gear around. I wanted small but still something I could count on for great high quality images. So, I got me a Sony RX100 M7... I have had this camera now for 9mo. It takes a little getting used to and you need to spend some time with its feature set, which is enormous btw. If you do you will find a very capable camera. I am pleased with IQ and how very fast the camera is. It starts quickly, shoots fast i.e. NO shutter lag, the AF is very fast and spot on. I have spent a good amount of time with its features and how I want it set up. I highly advise people to utilize the memory recall feature and set the camera up for certain shooting situations. I have one for sports, portraits and landscapes. This took a bit of time but was actually enjoyable and well worth it. The camera's lens is fantastic, from 24mm to 200mm the images are sharp and clear. JPG's are the best I have seen from any camera. You don't buy this camera to just use it on auto, although it will give really great results, it's features are just to good to pass up. I urge anyone to spend a Sat. morning going through the manual and really getting to know it's features. The auto ISO is one I use 90% of the time now, something I never did with my DSLR. Overall I love the camera, it's size, it's weight.. it's so much nicer to haul around then 15lbs of DSLR gear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Stunning photos from a compact camera!!

Body Only 01 October 2020 by Knightrulz (USA)

Read all the reviews and decided to try it, I have not been disappointed by quality of videos and photos! Menu’s could use a bit of cleaning up but it has everything you could want!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Suits my photographic output - walkabout!

DSC-RX100M7 22 September 2020 by monkey snapper (United Kingdom)

An amazingly specified small portable camera that suits my walk-about photography. The array of menus and navigation within them is a trifle baffling but the picture quality and camera build and features are superb. It suits what I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very versatile camera.

DSC-RX100M7 23 August 2020 by misery guts (United Kingdom)

I have owned this camera for a week, there was a delay in its delivery and consequently it has very little use so far but it certainly a very capable tool. I am less than impressed by the overall package however; there is noo proper grip provided, it has to be bought separately, the flimsy carrying envelope which was packed with it is a waste of space and I think a decent set of instructions should be proveded; asking the purchaser of this expensive camera to print 630 odd pages smacks of penny pinching. The charging cable is woefully short. For just another few pounds all thes miserly omissions could have been supplied, making the purchase a joy rather than leaving this customer feeling somewhat ripped off. Anyway, the camera itself is a delight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

Ideal travel/pocket camera that packs a punch

DSC-RX100M7 19 August 2020 by WacWac (United Kingdom)

The vii is a very capable camera whether you are a beginner wanting point and shoot or more advanced control through the various functions on offer. Picture quality is good and has exceptional auto focus capabilities. I’ve previously had SLRs (old school) and super zoom bridge cameras all of which require large carrying cases and for the SLR extra lenses. This camera is compact and fits in the pocket and is capable of macro pictures, wide angle and 8x optical zoom - did I mention it fits in your pocket! The digital zoom pictures are also very acceptable. I originally upgraded from a bridge camera to the rx100 v and was very impressed with the picture quality and versatility of that model. Having the camera for 2 years I always yearned for a better zoom capability. Finally I took the plunge and upgraded to the vii for the 8x optical zoom but had to compromise on the lens speed. This isn’t too much of an issue as the iso range of the camera helps compensate for the slower lens. The auto focus performance and touch screen were both additional benefits in the vii. I’ve had the camera for over a month and torn between the two (v and vii). I’ve taken similar images with the vii and and in certain circumstances the v took better images due to the faster lens; I take a lot of night shots. I’d definitely recommend both, especially if you are upgrading from a smaller image sensor, but bear in mind what you want to takes pictures of. Overall the zoom lens, improved auto focus and touch screen make the vii the all round, versatile compact camera. Note: Attached pictures have been compressed to fit the 5mb limit. Should provide a great view though of the quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

4

0

FANTASTIC CAMERA BUT.....

DSC-RX100M7 18 August 2020 by BrianAAA (United Kingdom)

I bought the original RX100 a few years ago.... Great stills but so so video. The Mk7 soots truly fantastic stills and amazingly high quality video....... immensely impressed and nought the bluetooth shooting grip as well. Very happy indeed until....... After 2.5 of taking great photos and video I turned it on and....... Nothing. Completely dead........ investigated possible solutions online to no avail. I bought from John Lewis in the UK and communication with them about repair of replacement has been appalling..... Very disappointed with John Lewis and disappointing to be without a camera that was truly superb....... I will keep trying to get through to John Lewis or will put on a mask and take it to their nearest store Despite the camera dying on me I think I just got a strange problem and would still highly recommend it...... but not from the store I purchased from....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Dropped 3 x times

DSC-RX100M7 12 August 2020 by adamfromayr (United Kingdom)

Sent it back as o kept dropping it, its very slippy and small! If you can handle it! its a brilliant small camera but its too small and slippery for my needs

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

10

0

Awesome Camera!

Body Only 09 August 2020 by A Moment In Time (USA)

Spent four hours getting acquainted. Shot some the next day. Super!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

wonder camera !

Body Only 27 July 2020 by satindarpal (USA)

Getting to know the camera, Would like hard copy manual ! Please !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2