$1,999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
107

4.6 based on 107 customer reviews

71
29
4
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera for video

DSC-RX100M7 19 November 2019 by CHDigitalMedia (USA)

I bought this Camera for video filming use, I own an AX700 which is too bulky to carry around for candid shots and so the RX is an ideal size for this, if I was to be picky I would say that I wished the screen was brighter in Movie mode 4K and 4K60p should be mandatory now on all Sony cameras. The menu system is still not intuitive which is a long time Sony failing and the video stabilisation system could be stronger in 'active' mode. Also I would like to see the camera retain the last used saved function wheel profile when I switch the camera back on instead of defaulting to the original function wheel setting as this would help to lock the shutter in Movie mode which would be very useful because the Shutter and Aperture share the same wheel and I sometimes adjust the shutter by mistake (Firmware update maybe?) All in all a very capable camera, and 'Fun' to use, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7 31 December 2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom)

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

107 Customer Reviews

0

Very versatile camera.

DSC-RX100M7 23 August 2020 by misery guts (United Kingdom)

I have owned this camera for a week, there was a delay in its delivery and consequently it has very little use so far but it certainly a very capable tool. I am less than impressed by the overall package however; there is noo proper grip provided, it has to be bought separately, the flimsy carrying envelope which was packed with it is a waste of space and I think a decent set of instructions should be proveded; asking the purchaser of this expensive camera to print 630 odd pages smacks of penny pinching. The charging cable is woefully short. For just another few pounds all thes miserly omissions could have been supplied, making the purchase a joy rather than leaving this customer feeling somewhat ripped off. Anyway, the camera itself is a delight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Ideal travel/pocket camera that packs a punch

DSC-RX100M7 19 August 2020 by WacWac (United Kingdom)

The vii is a very capable camera whether you are a beginner wanting point and shoot or more advanced control through the various functions on offer. Picture quality is good and has exceptional auto focus capabilities. I’ve previously had SLRs (old school) and super zoom bridge cameras all of which require large carrying cases and for the SLR extra lenses. This camera is compact and fits in the pocket and is capable of macro pictures, wide angle and 8x optical zoom - did I mention it fits in your pocket! The digital zoom pictures are also very acceptable. I originally upgraded from a bridge camera to the rx100 v and was very impressed with the picture quality and versatility of that model. Having the camera for 2 years I always yearned for a better zoom capability. Finally I took the plunge and upgraded to the vii for the 8x optical zoom but had to compromise on the lens speed. This isn’t too much of an issue as the iso range of the camera helps compensate for the slower lens. The auto focus performance and touch screen were both additional benefits in the vii. I’ve had the camera for over a month and torn between the two (v and vii). I’ve taken similar images with the vii and and in certain circumstances the v took better images due to the faster lens; I take a lot of night shots. I’d definitely recommend both, especially if you are upgrading from a smaller image sensor, but bear in mind what you want to takes pictures of. Overall the zoom lens, improved auto focus and touch screen make the vii the all round, versatile compact camera. Note: Attached pictures have been compressed to fit the 5mb limit. Should provide a great view though of the quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

FANTASTIC CAMERA BUT.....

DSC-RX100M7 18 August 2020 by BrianAAA (United Kingdom)

I bought the original RX100 a few years ago.... Great stills but so so video. The Mk7 soots truly fantastic stills and amazingly high quality video....... immensely impressed and nought the bluetooth shooting grip as well. Very happy indeed until....... After 2.5 of taking great photos and video I turned it on and....... Nothing. Completely dead........ investigated possible solutions online to no avail. I bought from John Lewis in the UK and communication with them about repair of replacement has been appalling..... Very disappointed with John Lewis and disappointing to be without a camera that was truly superb....... I will keep trying to get through to John Lewis or will put on a mask and take it to their nearest store Despite the camera dying on me I think I just got a strange problem and would still highly recommend it...... but not from the store I purchased from....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Dropped 3 x times

DSC-RX100M7 12 August 2020 by adamfromayr (United Kingdom)

Sent it back as o kept dropping it, its very slippy and small! If you can handle it! its a brilliant small camera but its too small and slippery for my needs

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Awesome Camera!

Body Only 09 August 2020 by A Moment In Time (USA)

Spent four hours getting acquainted. Shot some the next day. Super!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

wonder camera !

Body Only 27 July 2020 by satindarpal (USA)

Getting to know the camera, Would like hard copy manual ! Please !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Everything you need in a small package

DSC-RX100M7 09 July 2020 by Mane1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a week ago so it's early days. I decided that owning a lot of expensive heavy gear that stayed at home most of the time was pointless, whereas this camera can be always with me, so I never need to miss a shot. It packs a terrific lot of technology into a small package, but at a cost. Nevertheless it's still cheaper than buying a body and zoom lenses. Early experience is that the Af works great and the camera features are really useful, once you have learned how to navigate the menu. Image results have been good so far and I got some great shots that I might have otherwise missed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Just amazing!

DSC-RX100M7 27 June 2020 by BastonZ (United Kingdom)

Small, beautiful, featureful, AF like nothing else! A delight to hold in the pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Very Good Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M7 17 June 2020 by Brads1980 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this product for travel and to replace my ageing Sony A77 so that i wouldn't have the burden to haul multiple lenses around. The RX100M7 is extremely well built, and features comprehensive and extensive. The focus is extremely fast and never misses, the colours are brilliant and i get tack sharp images time and time again. My only complaint is for the money that this costs Sony didn't include a manual in the box. I know i can view it online, but its nice to have a paper copy, also flicking through an online manual is time consuming and lengthy process.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Small, Light, with great Capabilities

DSC-RX100M7 17 June 2020 by GilliB (United Kingdom)

Received this from my husband for my birthday. I knew I wouldn’t carry heavy lenses and bags around, so it had to be the size of a point & shoot, with capability to grow with my own. This product came highly recommended by experienced photographers

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Nice camera, limited windows support

Body Only 31 May 2020 by ThisGuyIKnow (USA)

They ended support for their raw codec in windows. This is a huge negative to me. Sad I purchased this camera now since it's now several extra steps to view the photos I took.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Sony ARW file format Poor

Body Only 30 May 2020 by NEARACTOR (USA)

I purchased the camera primarily because of the RAW capture feature. Found the Sony ARW file format difficult to convert.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 30 May 2020 by TommyJames (USA)

I had the RX100M4 and this is an upgrade. I used the M4 for three years and loved it and now I'm thrilled to add this. I love everything about the camera and because of the small size, I use it frequently. It's far more practical than carrying a large camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

the best quality camera made

DSC-RX100M7 29 May 2020 by leezza (USA)

I bought this as soon as it came out and I love it. I really wanted to try the new Sony ZV-1 but they are all ran out and the RX100 took some of my money. I'm not complaining. I do recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

AF!!

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 02 May 2020 by Camera Gal (USA)

This is my fifth Sony RX100 and the best one yet!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Compact quality

DSC-RX100M7 15 April 2020 by Notpiks (United Kingdom)

I was given this for my birthday because I take photos for a walking group. Unfortunately because of lock down I have not been out as usual but I am trying to get used to the cameras myriad of features. The build quality is amazing. I did want a small camera “all in one” which it is but the small size takes getting used to after big cameras. Just what I need for climbing styles and muddy fields! Still great quality photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

4

0

Great camera and video device for travelling

DSC-RX100M7 04 April 2020 by Stephent122 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as an upgrade to the WX500. I wanted a camera I could take on holiday which allowed me to take great pictures and video. This will do that. However, the Covid-19 outbreak is keeping me at home and I haven't yet had a chance to go through all it's features. I love the quick autofocus and the optical zoom. The new microphone jack means I can record good audio without as much win noise through an external microphone. I have recorded a short video as part of teaching amateur radio and it worked well. The big downside is price. It really is a lot a money. I am hoping to have it for years but technology does move quickly so I wonder if it is value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Fab Features and Pics

DSC-RX100M7 31 March 2020 by Oxford Cherry (United Kingdom)

I researched long and hard before buying the Mark 7. I was look in g for a DSLR quality camera without the need to carry round loads of lenses when on holiday. The Mark 7 is very good at most things I was looking for, ease of use, battery life, sharp images and compact. 4K video is great, the hinged view panel is really good, shame it’s not ‘touch pad’. Some say it’s small size makes it difficult to hold; I don’t have any issues with this but have recently bought the Sony handle and small tripod. Although this is £100ish it’s well worth it and makes use even better. Great camera, I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Quality product,great pictures/video

DSC-RX100M7 30 March 2020 by IP11 (United Kingdom)

Only negative is the 5 minute limit on 4K video recording,everything else is great for such a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Great Autofocus and Powerful for the size

DSC-RX100M7 18 March 2020 by Birchy2000 (United Kingdom)

I got this camera for it’s compact size, great features and its 1” sensor. I intend to put it in a waterproof housing for scuba diving. So far I’m really happy with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

The MENU is still a jump around system

Body Only 16 March 2020 by TC3444 (USA)

I have had a RX100M1 from when they came out and enjoyed it because of it's size and picture quality. My wife has heard me say I would like a tilt screen and a viewfinder so for Christmas I got the RX100M7. I did not think Sony could make their menu system any more complicated but I was wrong. The picture quality I'm still not sure of. Still like the size. I would recommend the camera to a friend because of size and lens but price and menu would be a hard sell.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Great all rounder Semi Pro Camera

DSC-RX100M7 25 February 2020 by Stew the brew (United Kingdom)

Great all rounder Semi Pro Camera that fits in your Pocket, I have had The RX100 V, VI and now the VII, Although not a dedicated Sony user, this is one camera I keep coming back to, It has Great Pro Features all I a handy small Camera. Great for days out or trips when you don't want to take one of your Larger DSLR's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

My Eyes Have Been Opened!

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 23 February 2020 by UltimateTerrainMagLance (USA)

As a working photojournalist in the off-road industry, I've spent many years working with digital cameras. Truth be told, I'm a "Nikon Guy" with all of the professional Nikon gear you could ever want. I was in the market for a camera that was portable and made the process of shooting video content simple and quick, with outstanding quality. I toyed with the Nikon mirrorless offerings and honestly wasn't that impressed. A friend turned me onto the RX100 platform and since then, it has been an amazing purchase. The eye detection in video mode is better than anything I've ever used. No drama. No crazy setup. It just works! The addition of the external microphone port makes it an even greater camera, since I already had a few other high quality external microphones to use. I'm beyond impressed with this camera. I never considered moving to a Sony mirrorless DSLR before....but this new Mark 7 is making me seriously consider abandoning ship and heading to Sony for good!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Poor build quality and long delay in repairing

DSC-RX100M7 18 February 2020 by swingman (United Kingdom)

I bought this as Christmas present for me and used it on the Christmas day and for a wee after it. Only taken about 100 photos and 5 video clips. hoto quality was bet below par but it's early days and hope it would improve with usage. The main problem was that the camera wouldn't engage to computer to download using WiFi. After spend few days by changing setting and trouble shooting secession with 'customer services' it was decided that it needs to be sent for repair. I was told after few days that it would take longer to repair implying serious fault. I then asked for a new replacement as the unit was not fit for purpose and only a month old. I was told that they can't do that. After paying a premium price for the compact camera, now I have to wait don't know until when to get my camera back. At this price point I would expect top quality fully working camera out of the box. On paper this is one of the top cameras in this segment but reading at various computer forums, many had quality control issues. A camera is only good if one can use it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2