$529.00

(AUD inc. GST)
168

4.3 based on 168 customer reviews

84
63
13
3
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony WX 500

DSC-WX500 04 July 2015 by Colin1954 (United Kingdom)

Had my Sony WX- 500 about 2 weeks , so far very impressed, small compact easy to carry on a walk or outing, great for taking quick instant shots of the dog or kids there and then. Would highly recommend, simply to use for the casual photographer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

nice size, but hard to use in bright light

dscwx500b 16 December 2017 by Kathy1034 (USA)

I bought this camera use outdoors. While the camera was easy to carry, it was difficult to use in bright light. The viewing screen does not work in bright light, so one can't see what one is photographing. Also,the buttons are very small and black, so in low light it's hard to know what button (if any)that one is pushing. I did find that transferring photos to the computer was OK.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

168 Customer Reviews

0

Easy to use

DSC-WX500 24 August 2021 by Getting there (United Kingdom)

Bought last week is to use the basic fetchers any more not easy to work out in the instructions it is a shame Sony don't do an extended warranty

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best point and shoot camera with Super Zoom

DSC-WX500/WCE32 04 August 2021  (Singapore)

This is one of my favourite cameras which I owned. It is compact, light and comes with a super 30x optical zoom which makes it the Best point and shoot camera for grizzly bears and whale watching in Alaska, and to capture scenery from afar. I've been waiting for 'some' companies to come up with such a camera and finally, my wait is over.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect pocket size camera.

DSC-WX500 19 July 2021 by Periodfurn (United Kingdom)

Wanted a quality small camera we could take anywhere and take first class pictures. This camera will do everything we would ever want and more besides. Great buy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing for its size..

DSC-WX500 23 May 2021 by Swinners (United Kingdom)

Looking for a compact camera with a powerful zoom to compliment my iPhone. Also wanted Wi-fi for easy transfer. The WX500 certainly meets the first criteria but I find the Wi-fi transfer tricksy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Lots of features in a small sized package.

DSC-WX500 31 March 2021 by Tex66 (United Kingdom)

I got fed up carrying an SLR and lenses, so I was taking fewer and fewer photo's. I wanted a lot more than a phone could give, so tried this. I'm delighted that I did! Huge range of features, fantastic zoom an pictures nearly as good as my old SLR, sometimes better. I use 'auto' for 80 to 90% of the time, and am still exploring all the other possibilities. Delighted with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect for a beginner blogger!

DSC-WX500 05 March 2021 by TigerStripes93 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago as I wanted to vlog and needed a camera that could take videos and focus properly. Well, it is perfect! The focus is great, the zoom is perfect, sound quality is adequate for the purpose, the lighting effects are fantastic, and the camera is great too! I only really use it for vlogging and it fits my needs. The only suggestions if have are to include a pause video function and to allow it to be used as a webcam! The rest is perfect :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Miniature marvel

DSC-WX500 05 February 2021 by Dave1943 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a replacement for a broken HX90, so I knew the picture quality would be excellent, with the Zeiss lens and the x30 zoom. I was very disappointed to find Drive Mode did not include auto-bracketing, a fact I had been unable to pick up from various reviews. I had thought even the cheapest cameras had this feature. First impression is that the built in HDR is grungy, and no substitute, but I am still exploring the various options offered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Great blogging camera

DSC-WX500 04 February 2021 by Veteran Outdoors (United Kingdom)

Excellent camera with big boy features I bought mine for mainly clogging and point and shoot. Easy and produces excellent results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

So simple features, but that's so great!

DSC-WX500/BCE32 27 December 2020 by Yayak (Indonesia)

I bought this camera early last December. At first I was confused because there are many Sony cameras with various features and competitive prices. but lucky i got the right camera for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The price is not worth it.

DSC-WX500 02 December 2020 by fromyourstruly (Philippines)

I was finding a camera that is easy to carry around. I thought this camera would be the best one because the saleslady convinced us that the quality of the images/videos is excellent (HD). So we bought it because I wanted to learn photography. Unfortunately, when I tried capturing random things around, it has these "grains" on the images, and to be honest, I compared the video quality of it to my iPhone 6 from Sony-WX500. And it turned out that the quality of iPhone 6 is way better than this camera. And I regret buying it because the price is not worthwhile. The money that I earned from 6 months working as a server has not been justified. So before buying it, please check it wisely.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Nifty, pocket sized & better than a phone

DSC-WX500 21 November 2020 by Bjay99 (United Kingdom)

I bought this several years ago and it has been a reliable performer that gets good results and maintains a good battery life. Later models might be different but the main problem I have encountered with this camera is that the display screen can be difficult to see in very bright sunlight - maybe a screen brightness function or a polarised screen filter might help. Also, a small piece of plastic has chipped off on a corner exposing the inside of the camera. Don't know how it happened but it doesn't seem to have affected its performance - maybe material is too brittle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

8

0

Very good small camera

DSC-WX500 29 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

Bought this to carry around with me to have in addition to my bigger bridge camera. Very happy with lens quality and automatic setting capabilities

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

fantastic little camera

DSC-WX500 14 October 2020 by dorsetlad (United Kingdom)

small camera fantastic photos in all modes, Only niggle is the on button its recessed not to turn on accidently, but its so small I have to use a finger nail to operate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Sony WX500

DSC-WX500 20 September 2020 by Phil1981 (United Kingdom)

Really nice camera, plenty of setting, easy transfer fils from camera to phone or laptop. Only drawback is that it's difficult to see the display in bright sunlight, flash works well and the camera is a handy size, and even fits in my jeans pocket without trouble. Overall great camera with good picture quality for holiday and every day use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

So easy to use - Great Pictures -USB charging

DSC-WX500 07 April 2020 by OzHolidays (Australia)

Used this on our world trip and it was faultless. Another 3 years of constant use at home, but then one day it disappeared. I lost it! Searched everywhere but gone. Best feature? USB charging ANYWHERE. No special chargers to carry, just plug your phone charger into it. I'm desperate for another USB charging quality camera. WX500 point-shoot-great pictures!.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

My first digicam

DSCWX500/B 18 March 2020 by myGa (USA)

I personally bought this for my photo-booth and it's compatible with the program through wireless connection. It's easy to use and more to discover.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent pictures.

DSC-WX500 14 March 2020 by Mike105 (United Kingdom)

Ideal for me not being a photographer, easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Compact camera

DSC-WX500 28 February 2020 by Guardsman (United Kingdom)

This replaced a Fuji camera owned for many years. Undoubtedly more up to date with advanced features I found it almost too technically challenging. I also found the screen difficult to see in bright circumstances. But initial results suggest it produces excellent photographs.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I love my new Camera

DSC-WX500 12 February 2020 by Taffitaf (United Kingdom)

Excellent use! Perfect camera quality and easy to use. It has great features and great to record and take selfies with! Highly recommend this camera to anyone who is looking for an all-rounder compact, high quality and value for money product!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-WX500/RCE32 29 January 2020 by Raz77 (Singapore)

I have a Budget of $300 for my trip to get any camera. And when I saw this camera was on sale and look at the review on how easy and good the camera is, I quickly grab it online through ishop Changi online.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bought this camera just 1.

DSC-WX500 21 January 2020 by Tillie (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera mainly for holiday use, hoping to go to South Africa later this year so thought that the tiltable LCD screen and 30 x optical zoom would be very useful. So far --limited use only - around the house and garden, but am very pleased with its' ease of use and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Grainy Photos

DSC-WX500/BCE32 16 January 2020 by STMW (Singapore)

I was quite disappointed with the photo quality and I was expecting the compact camera to perform better than a mobile phone (Samsung S9). Photos turn out to be grainy and the response time per shot was also a disappointment.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Quality camera

DSC-WX500 08 January 2020 by Bunks (United Kingdom)

Very good camera picture quality is amazing.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-WX500/BCE32 08 January 2020 by Miss Y (Malaysia)

I bought this last month and this is my 1st experience with camera and good camera for beginners like me and features are fairly good for the price..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0