$449.00

(AUD inc. GST)
94

4.3 based on 94 customer reviews

48
35
8
0
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony WX 500

DSC-WX500 04 July 2015 by Colin1954 (United Kingdom)

Had my Sony WX- 500 about 2 weeks , so far very impressed, small compact easy to carry on a walk or outing, great for taking quick instant shots of the dog or kids there and then. Would highly recommend, simply to use for the casual photographer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very powerful but some design features annoying

DSC-WX500 10 August 2016 by FujiLover (United Kingdom)

I bought it as the nearest model to my Fuji Coolpix, whose focus and zoom mechanism began to fail and Fuji don't make a similar model anymore - but for the price, some of the Sony's design features are not as good. eg On/Off button recessed too much - need long nails to activate. Battery must be in camera to charge. Charging light hidden from view unless you are right up close. Had to buy stick-on hand grip - camera slips. Uploading photos to computer is a hassle. No manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

94 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent camera

DSC-WX500 27 December 2018 by glennina (United Kingdom)

I'm very happy with this camera the best camera I used and the price is the best excellent excellent excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New layout for me still learning

DSC-WX500 08 December 2018 by Rum Don (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a accidend damaged camera . I am not yet up to speed with all the functions but the prints are verry good the camera has all the belts and whistles I hope to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice small camera with a lot in it

DSC-WX500 03 December 2018 by _Ava (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to take along on hikes, so size/weight was important to me. I am taking photos frequently, but I did not get familiarized yet with all the capabilities of this new camera. The specs were encouraging, even if it was not clear if it takes macro shots. The zoom is impressive, unlike with the cameras I use(d) recently (typically 5-6x), but I am not sure yet about how good the stabilization works especially at high zoom. I can take macro shots as well, but there is no dedicated setting/program for that, or I did not discover it yet. On some occasions 'auto' decided for 'backlit' and I wasn't pleased with what the software decided to focus on, and how it adjusted the levels, but with some extra work I succeeded however to take more or less the shot I wanted. So... not THAT easy to use, but still OK! I need to figure out some/several of its features. In bright days it is hard to see the image on the screen, but maybe that is still to work on (I just read somewhere that brightness can be adjusted). Problems with NFC, but wifi-direct is OK and I tried to use my Android phone as a remote, and it worked fine. I'm not really interested in image transfer to the phone, but it works. (implies app download, free) Up to now I am happy with the new camera, despite that it is a bit heavier than I expected just looking at it, possibly due also to the tilt-able screen (I don't do selfies, so I find little use of it; didn't help seeing better on the screen with sun and snow) and the grip is 'funny' and you can touch too easily some controls unintentionally. (can't imagine how somebody with a bigger hand would handle it.) I need more time to learn how to use it and make the most of it, because I want more than just point and shoot/auto. I got very nice clear pictures directly out of the camera. The accompanying software (PlayMemories) is also not so great at first sight, I also need to figure out if it can do more than just basic image transfers. Didn't try the movie feature, I am not really interested in it (yet).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

down load app

DSC-WX500 02 December 2018 by Stef 67 (United Kingdom)

I purchase the camera a week ago and registered the camera set up an account. The next thing was able to do was download the upgrade directly to to camera so that l could use my iphone as a remote. I just need to get out and about to practice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great features

DSC-WX500 22 November 2018 by denlov (United Kingdom)

I bought this item about 2 weeks ago and it doe's everything it was advertised to do

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb camera easy to use

DSC-WX500 22 November 2018 by Stewart65 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera from qvc a couple of weeks ago it looks such a great camera I had to buy it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The only one

DSC-WX500 17 November 2018 by Sillyquestionone9 (United Kingdom)

I left my previous Sony in a bag in a plane in Germany and just went out and bought an identical one as a replacement. I am now 80 and cannot contemplate anything new and even though I cannot fully understand it and do not use it to its full potential,I just point it and fire and it works - beautifully!

1

0

0

Good value for money

DSC-WX500 11 October 2018 by elleee1274 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago and started working with it straight away, at various locations such as during a marathon, in a pub, in a museum, in the garden. The results so far have always been satisfactory: sharp pictures, even without flashlight, and the camera is relatively easy to work with.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

DSC-WX500 25 September 2018 by Shellrich (United Kingdom)

I bought this 3 weeks ago for my holiday in Florida it was very easy to use My only complaint is that I couldn't transfer video recording by WiFi

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I wanted.

DSC-WX500 17 September 2018 by SBrian (United Kingdom)

Wanted a relatively compact camera with good features and a great zoom. This fits the bill. Can keep it in my pocket when out and about so it's always handy when I need it. Good crisp pictures and the colours are vivid. Easy to follow in-camera options. Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony DSC-WX500 Camera.

DSC-WX500 12 September 2018 by William (United Kingdom)

Great camera at a very reasonable price. Very compact and easy to use in basic mode but may need a bit of patience to get the best out of all its many capabilities.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

it's really awesome!

DSC-WX500 11 September 2018 by Aree19 (USA)

I got this about a year ago for youtube and it's still holding up pretty well! I enjoy taking time to make awesome zoom videos and take landscate photos. It is a beautfiul product and i love it but it is quite expensive

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Camera

DSC-WX500 06 September 2018 by starman (United Kingdom)

Only had this Camera for 2 weeks, so its going to be a while to get the full use of it. This is a good wee Camera and a good weight to it. The 30 times zoom is very good and takes good photos, and lovely colours too. The flip screen is just great for selfies. So for am very happy with it, and love it in white.. I did try and upload some photos, but my photos were to large it says, only takes photos 5MB or smaller.. Whats the point in that then?..

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good feature

DSCWX500/B 18 August 2018  (USA)

I use this camera at least 6 month, It is a camera for professional hand. Result is good from professional hand.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Camera Good - Service Poor

DSC-WX500 02 August 2018 by oldieover70 (United Kingdom)

My lap-top is too heavy to take everywhere I want to take a photo in order to look up how to use it. An expert using it every day will get used to it quickly but someone who just takes photos on holiday doesn't have a chance. Why can't I have a printed Booklet?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Perfect Little Camera

DSC-WX500 24 July 2018  (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for my Granddaughter and she loves is. Good features one of them being it can detect when someone smiles and take the photo. She has not used it much yet but I am sure she will soon become and expert.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good Value

DSC-WX500 23 July 2018 by John Tee (United Kingdom)

I am pleased with the purchase. The camera is very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-WX500 09 July 2018 by sue018 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago before I went on holiday. It has been easy to use, the pictures very clear and colours good. The zoom is very good. Has lots of features that are fun to play around with

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Better than Bridge!

DSC-WX500 23 June 2018 by Photoman1 (United Kingdom)

Having a speck of dust on the sensor of my W350, and being informed that it would cost in excess of £100 to repair, I decided to invest in the Wx500 at just £260. Imagine my pleasure to find that it incorporated most of the features of my HX400v Bridge! Tilt screen, aperture, shutter and manual settings, with pop up flash. All within a compact body, just a tad larger than the350. Well done Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

DSC-WX500 18 June 2018 by Jasmin Gosalis (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera month ago as I was sure that overall quality is excellent accept mobile app as it has no update for IOS 11.4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

DSC-WX500 06 June 2018 by Ob21 (United Kingdom)

I bought this Sony a few weaks ago. It is amazing at for getting lots of videos I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor aftercare

DSC-WX500 11 May 2018 by Nonexistent (United Kingdom)

Good compact camera. Options vary from Auto to Manual setup. Shop around.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Seems ok

DSC-WX500 04 May 2018  (United Kingdom)

Bit complicated to work. Cannot get a plain picture when viewing. Has all different numbers etc on a small picture.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

A little beauty!

DSC-WX500 01 May 2018 by Peeler (United Kingdom)

I am still exploring this camera so this is a limited appraisal of the Sony WX500. So far I am well pleased with the camera and the only negative comment is the smallness of the on/off button. That said there are many positives that outweigh this point. I'm an amateur user and think I won't use all its assets.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0