DIGITAL CAMERA ZV-1

Product Reviews

33

4.5 based on 33 customer reviews

22
7
2
2
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great vlogging and all-round compact camera

ZV-1 15 July 2020 by Fredrik (United Kingdom)

The Sony ZV-1 is a vlogging camera but that’s not all. Online reviews are full of praise for this compact video shooter that I have been lucky enough to test for a few days. It is a handy little device, slightly larger than the Sony RX-100VI if you are familiar with the RX series. A user of Sony cameras will find it a familiar experience, the menus are the same but there are some differences in hardware buttons compared with other compact models. There is for instance a ‘mode’ button to access shooting settings instead of the selector wheel on the top of the RX series. In its place is a large video trigger next to the shutter release and a C1 button for quick access to defocus the background, the latter which I found myself using a lot. The shortcut (C1) bokeh is not a software effect, it simply pushes the aperture to its max. The build quality is really good as always with Sony. The body is plastic but it does not feel inexpensive, instead it gives confidence that this compact shooter is built to withstand all kinds of tough handing to be able to capture all your amazing experiences. The screen can be flipped and closed with the screen facing the body of the camera, thus being protected from damage. If the screen is opened from this position it auto starts the camera, a feature that is useful for a quick launch to capture something instant. It is worth mentioning that I am not a professional photographer. I do mainly architectural photography for my work but photography is generally more of hobby. I have been testing the ZV-1 mounted on the new wireless shooting grip (Sony GP-VPT2BT) which I connected with the ZV-1. The set up was straight forward and easy. It can also be used with the smaller and wired shooting grip Sony VCT-SGR1. The connection for this is via the USB multi port on the right side of the camera. A benefit of not going with USB C is that older accessories (such as Sony VCT-SGR1) will fit. Other connections are a microphone input, a mini HDMI output and a multi-interface shoe on the top of the camera. At the bottom is the battery and SD card slot. When I first hit the movie recording button I was prompted that the inserted SD card had insufficient writing speed. The requirement being a SDXC Class 10 or UHS-I/UHS-II to get the optimum performance out of this camera. The ZV-1 does not have NFC so a connection for uploading to Imaging Edge Mobile app is done via QR code or direct input. What’s in the box. 1 Sony ZV-1 camera 1 Deadcat (microphone wind shield) attached via the multi interface shoe 1 Sony NP-BX1 1240mAh lithium ion battery 1 USB A to micro USB cable 1 instruction manual Features I found particularly useful are: The screen can be turned 180 degrees to be protected when not in use. Quick start by flipping out the screen (only when the screen is closed as above). The autofocus is superfast and follow a moving object with great accuracy. Bokeh mode (C1 button). At a press of a button the camera switches from sharp to a blurred background mode which is great for hobby photographers or inexperienced users, or for urgent moments when you do not have time to set the camera up. Grip. The camera has a right hand front grip and together with the non-metal matte finish body, the ZV-1 feels secure in your hand. 20.1MP Photography The camera produces sharp images with good colour accuracy and image depth. The auto focus performs really well and you can get really close for detailed macro shots. A great all-round compact camera that produces good skin tones and contrast. The camera has no built-in flash or electronic view finder. 4K Videography As this is camera is clearly aimed at a vlogging target group for showcasing products, evident by the quick access to the Product Showcase (C2) function, it must be said that it does that brilliantly. The Product Showcase function is triggered with a hardware button that shares its functionality with the delete button. It performs very well and changes focus in an instant from a face (eye tracking) to whatever is promoted closest to the lens. This function must be selected before recording commences and can not be switched while filming. Without the Product Showcase set to ON the camera will continue to focus on the face until both eyes are obscured or removed from view. The camera can be set for focus priority to a pre-registered face which is helpful where there are several people within the frame. Skin tone and smoothness are good and the microphone records voices well (indoors). The image stabilisation is on par with other products in this category. I found using a shooting grip helps stability and adds a bit of extra distance when recording self or promoting on the go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but overheats in 4k

ZV-1 09 October 2020 by Jhat (USA)

So for just carrying around its been great. It's light weight and shoots great footage. Unfortunately I'm having a ton of trouble with it shutting off while streaming and recording gameplay in 4k. Most times my daughter and I can get 25-30 minutes before it shuts off from overheating but just today we only got 20 minutes max. I'm considering returning the camera to purchase something different. I don't think I'd recommend the zv-1 as it isn't a cheap camera. Plus, I've changed the hi temp setting and other tips I've seen on youtube but they aren't working.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

34 Customer Reviews

0

The best of both worlds: photos & movies

ZV-1 29 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

My wife wanted to make videos of her historic tours of the medieval town we live in and I wanted to move on up from my Sony RX100 M2 model. The Sony ZV-1 has satisfied both our interests.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to get great shots, but watch your batt

ZV-1 28 October 2020 by Vaybear (United Kingdom)

This camera is perfect for me and fulfils all my needs as a creator. I'm disappointed with the battery life however. It's such a big problem that I have to charge before and after usage every day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great pictures and videos and obvious weakness

ZV-1 20 October 2020 by wogo (USA)

I took pictures a videos with this camera for a couple of months. It is easy to carry with it's compact body. And the pictures and videos are so beautiful, even as good as many top range camera. The audio quality of build in mic phone is fantastic too. It included Sony the most lately technologies. But, It has some obvious weakness. Such as short battery working time. You can use it just for about 1.5-2 hours. The most terrible thing is overheated. If you keep the camera power on for about more than 20 minutes, It will more likely stop working because of over heating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Camera for Vloggers and Filmmakers

DCZV1/B 16 October 2020 by hollywoodfrodo (USA)

This camera and vlogging kit was an upgrade for me from the consumer level Camcorder I've had for about 7-8 years. And what an upgrade it is! This tiny pocket sized camera has tons of high end professional features and settings, while staying consumer friendly for those who just want to point and shoot or who don't have a photography background. This camera is small. It's a full featured video camera capable of 4K HDR filming (as well as professional photography) but is the size of most standard point and shoot cameras. It's easy to carry around and grips easy in the hand. It has a nice LCD screen which is easy to read. The screen does not support touch controls except for choosing a focus subject. Otherwise, everything is controlled through the buttons on the back and top. Overall, I found the button placement to be great and found it easy to use them. There's a shoe mount on the top as well as 3 built in directional mics. The battery compartment is on the bottom next to the screw hole for mounting. It's a very nice design overall. What I really love about this camera is how easy it is to use without knowing everything about photography. It's a great camera to grow with for someone who wants to learn and is fully capable of professional cinematography. But it also has a great "intelligence" mode which basically lets the camera do all the thinking and deciding about settings for you so you can get a great footage every time without changing lots of settings. Two of the coolest features are the built in Product Showcase mode and Background Blur mode. Product showcase makes it so that the camera refocuses on something entering the frame closer to the lens super fast - so if I am reviewing a product and I hold it out towards the camera, it immediately refocuses for a close-up of the product. I could not do this with my old camera and this is an amazing feature! The background blur feature allows you to quickly switch between having the background clear or having it slightly blurred with a bokeh effect which is great for selfie vlogging. The ZV-1 also has great face smoothing feature which can help "beautify" you a bit - it has 3 levels to it so you can do just a little without getting crazy. The camera has 3 mics built into it and they are front facing directional mics meant for vlogging. It also has a MIC input so you can use a more professional mic or a lavalier mic if the built in mics aren't enough for you. Overall this is a GREAT video camera!

0

0

0

Nailed It with this Camera!!!

DCZV1/B 16 October 2020 by ShasiaBeauty (USA)

This Sony camera is a game changer! If you are looking for a camera that has all the bells and whistles but is easy to operate and has incredible quality. This is the one! I have had the pleasure of using this camera for just about everything! When I tell you the video quality is A1 it TRULY is! The video stabilizer that is built in is perfect for shaky hands. The personalized settings are amazing too like auto- focusing on products was a breeze and it auto adjusted to my face right after! Still shots look like I had an entire studio set up with the auto exposure it was perfect every time. Recording action moments are easy to slow down too. Allowing me to see each moment play by play at my friend’s wedding during cake cutting. No one wants to miss the quick moment of smashing cake on one another. The versatility that the VZ-1 has is all you every expected plus. It makes the transition of being behind the lens capturing moments to vlogging an easy switch. If you vlog/record often the accessory kit is a must! Holding the tripod/wireless remote with the contoured design makes balancing the camera easy. The tripod/wireless remote also has controls for zooming, snapping photos and recording. Simply Bluetooth connect it to the camera and boom. No need for any pesky cords. Plus, getting footage from the camera was easy too. I can send a photo to a friend’s phone, send to my computer, or retrieve from my memory card the old fashion way. I could not be happier. using this camera to take all of my photos for my shop and everything else.This newbie just became a pro with this camera, and I can not wait to capture special moments during the holidays to show the world. I truly feel with this camera I have a new lens on life.(Pun)

0

0

0

Best Camera for Vloggers and Reviewers

DCZV1/B 16 October 2020 by jimmyispromo (USA)

The size is perfect for really any shooting. Super light and has intelligent shooting modes for stills and video. I've used this for a week now and its about to become my main camera for my channel. My YouTube channel is a tech channel receiving over 2.5 million views a month. I shoot from top down or in front of me. Auto exposure is great, no need for corrections. The flip out screen is clutch. Always to the side of camera instead of just up or down. If you need to get a shot of Product, its product detection is fantastic but make sure its on a tripod. The battery does great for 4k recording but will also about 45 minutes. Great for most, but if you need more shooting time, grab an extra battery. Pros: lightweight, great quality for stills and video. Simple button for product shooting. Simple button for background blur. Cons: needs longer battery life for some. Needs wider lens since its mostly for vlogs and arms length away.

0

0

0

One of the best vlogging cameras of 2020

DCZV1/B 15 October 2020 by DheeR (USA)

I have a very famous vlogging camera from another brand and I tell you, the new Sony ZV 1 is waaaaaay better and I am so happy with it! Below are the pros of my new Sony camera: 1. It has a "my menu". You can customize your menus to your most used menu options so you won't dig into all the menus. 2. Its 4k! 3. The picture quality is the best even on 1080p. The color is accurate compared to the other vlogging camera I have. 4. "Defocus" and "product showcase" options are the bomb! Best for sit down videos and if you will be showing products while talking in front of the camera. 5. The focus on this camera is to rave for. 6. It has a built in ND filter. Lifesaver when vlogging outside under the sun. 7. It has a soft skin option better known as "beautification". A must for lady vloggers like me! 8. It has a mic jack input. You can use an external mic for a better audio quality though the Sony ZV1's audio is already good. 9. It has image stablization. Perfect when vlogging on the go. Nothing is perfect so here are the cons of the camera based on experience: 1. Not touch screen. Geez, its 2020 Sony! 2. No battery charger included. You can charge the battery through the USB cord but if you have 2 or more batteries, you need to purchase a separate battery charger. 3. It is hot to touch when you are using it for a while. I read that it is an issue with this camera. 4. 4k option and active stabilization crops the shots. Overall, I am very happy with this camera and it'll be my main vlogging cam from now on! Highly recommended for vloggers who are looking on getting a portable camera.

0

0

0

Great Vlogging Camera, Better than your Average Ph

DCZV1/B 15 October 2020 by Romeo985 (USA)

I was excited to have received the ZV-1 Sony Vlog Camera. I saved the first use for the day I went hiking on a trail. This is my experience: Setup was extremely easy after charging the camera up! Battery and sd card goes in the same access port. Wind screen and the bluetooth remote tripod can easily attach to camera. The bluetooth remote tripod accessory is worth praising in itself. Easy to maneuver, you can swivel it a full 360° and tilt it forward and backwards to a max 90° which is more than enough. Using the tripod, you can zoom in/out, record and take a photo. Conveniently enough, it has a provided lock function to prevent accidental touch. When attached to the ZV-1, with a grip weight of 7.6 oz., you don't feel the stress on your hand and arms even after carrying it for 2 hours during my hike. There are some great functions to the ZV-1 that one looks for in their vlogging experience. You have the LCD screen which allows you to see what you are recording which I can tell you is necessary. Another feature I find necessary is the soft screen effect. Especially since you're filming in 4K mode, you have to look good for the camera. My skin isn't perfect and this feature helps me not shy away from placing the camera too close to my face. Oh; and speaking of "close", we need to talk about the "Product Showcase" aspect of the ZV-1. This means the ability to focus on what the camera owner is trying to show its viewers. It is superb in this camera as it quickly focuses on the item I place closest to the lens in front of me. I tested this in the outdoors where there are many distractions in the background and it performed really well. This function will work great in product reviews. There are a lot of other functions, modes and setting one can adjust for their preference but as someone who has been mostly using a phone, it can be a bit complicated to understand. Luckily, it has an auto-intelligence mode that will adjust the picture/recording settings for you so you don't have to fret. I will learn to understand the technicalities as I go on. Another note to takeaway from my experience is about the battery life. After a full charge and being periodically used for picture taking and recording during my 2-3 hours I spent outdoors, the battery was already drained. I recommend having backup batteries for that matter. While my phone can do many things the ZV-1 can, there's also things only the ZV-1 can do. I'll be switching to the ZV-1 for my vlogging needs!

0

0

0

Good camera that misses the mark

ZV-1 10 October 2020 by Adamm (USA)

I bought this camera to do live streaming. It constantly overheats, even when the hi-temp setting is enabled. It can’t be powered by USB. The USB out is only capable of 1024×576, so you need to use an external capture card like an Elgato Cam Link 4K. Finally, it’s time for Sony to revamp the menu system. The usability is awful. Sony really needs a USB powered camera with an f1.4 lens that doesn’t overheat for live streaming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good but overheats in 4k

ZV-1 09 October 2020 by Jhat (USA)

So for just carrying around its been great. It's light weight and shoots great footage. Unfortunately I'm having a ton of trouble with it shutting off while streaming and recording gameplay in 4k. Most times my daughter and I can get 25-30 minutes before it shuts off from overheating but just today we only got 20 minutes max. I'm considering returning the camera to purchase something different. I don't think I'd recommend the zv-1 as it isn't a cheap camera. Plus, I've changed the hi temp setting and other tips I've seen on youtube but they aren't working.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best Portable Vlogging Camera Ever!

DCZV1/B 08 October 2020  (USA)

I own a few different cameras for my social media presence -- IG and blogs and they range in size, quality, etc. This past year my husband even gifted me with a camera to start vlogging with and it just never was convenient enough for me to utilize! Ok, then comes this amazing Sony ZV-1...I cannot recommend this camera enough!!! It is fantastic, fantastic, fantastic. Here are my top reasons why I love it so very much: 1. It is so incredibly light and compact 2. The camera is able to provide extremely high quality photos/videos in low lighting (so so so pleasantly surprised) 3. The flip screen makes it a breeze to make sure I'm in focus/centered, etc. 4. The handle to actual vlog/take photos of self is genius -- the button to record/adjust image are on the handle 5. I love that when you rotate the flip screen back to it's original setting the camera shuts off. I mean so many incredible aspects of this camera that I am obsessed with. You all need to get your hands on one, you won't be disappointed!!!!

0

0

0

Great for beginners!

DCZV1/B 29 September 2020 by shehlovee (USA)

If you've been looking thinking about starting a YouTube channel this camera would be perfect and ideal for unboxings, product reviews, food channels, etc. In my videos, I usually review products, unboxing, vlogging, and how-to-tips videos. This camera has a really good frame per a second and does not show any lag when you are showcasing products up close and removing the product from the frame. The auto-exposure and autofocus is superb on this thing! I am so shocked how quickly it focuses on the products I am presenting. I've tried many cameras for my channel and I have finally found one that does the job for me. The footage captured by this camera is sooo good that I don't need to edit much of my videos any more. I don't need to scrap footage. I love the versatility of the LCD screen, because I can see exactly how in frame I am and how its showing as its recording. Instead, of waiting for me to finish filming and realize that I wasn't in frame. I love that there's a little light on the camera that lets you know when you are filming, so you don't ever have to worry about checking the camera whether its recording or its off (that happened a lot with my old camera). Pros: - Skin softening adjustments to 3 different settings. Have a pesky pimple? No worries the camera can blur it out for you. - Great slow motion effect that can go up to 900 frames per a second - Easy grip with the function of the record bottom very easily accessible as well as the zoom - Pretty good battery life, was able to pull off 7 hours of recording time on and off No cons from me. I throughly enjoy using this camera and look forward to creating content with it.

1

0

0

Amazing vlogging camera

ZV-1 25 September 2020 by Sweetzah (United Kingdom)

Sony zv-1 is a camera made specifically for vlogging especially as the video quality is amazing and love the active steady shot modes too. It has many features you can use and adjust to get different modes, i got use to the slow mo features which i found it easy to use... also how the light adjust in shaded areas really quickly is amazing and focuses really well. Pictures are nice and sleek, brightness is on point colours are loveky and rich. Do love how the screen can flip in and out which can help you focus on certain area. The tripod is awesome it is bluetooth connected helps when taking videos or selfies and good for taking those lovely scenic videos. All in all it a good camera it has good pros but would have liked for the price to be at least a touch screen so be easier to navigate. I Really recommend this camera .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

ZV-1 23 September 2020 by Alice1993 (United Kingdom)

Great product highly recommend

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

AMAZING

ZV-1 07 September 2020 by zzangu (USA)

I NEVER am compelled to write a review for anything, but this camera deserves everything AND MORE. I literally use this for Zooms, Hangouts, EVEN FACETIME as well as vlogging. Love love love! THANK YOU SONY! I'd pay double for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really nice quality and sound

ZV-1/BC UC2 01 September 2020 by gdawgJay (USA)

brand new out the box very exited to start filming. A little disappointed the camera was advertised with a stand and remote that was not included, i will have to order it separately.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great video and features, one glaring problem!

ZV-1 21 August 2020 by Mrose21 (USA)

This is a great camera with amazing additional features that other Point and Shoot cameras do not have. HOWEVER, Sony... you really messed up. The integrated microphone for this camera is built to receive sound in the direction the camera is pointed. If you are recording a vlog or any other video and you point the camera away from you, the sound quality immediately drops and it becomes muffled. SONY really dropped the ball here. Many people will turn the camera around to show the viewer something and talk at the same time. This camera, however is not naturally built for this. You will have to buy an external mic to be able to get 360 degree sound. This is very, very disappointing and is a feature that will easily cause people to not be happy with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Outstandingly versatile with a wealth of features

ZV-1 03 August 2020 by Ziva (United Kingdom)

Introduction The Sony ZV-1 is Sony’s entry model entering the ‘vlogging’ area while promising outstanding performance, versatility, and image quality. In terms of quality, Sony is well known to deliver highly sophisticated products while also developing technologies that implemented standards for other technologies for a very long time (Trinitron TV Screens). Therefore, new products from Sony are always highly anticipated due to their superior brand-reputation. This review is taking an in-depth look at the Sony ZV-1 based on my own experiences. I will not compare this camera with other products from different manufacturers, but will solely concentrate on the basics, workings, and options that come with the ZV-1. Most importantly, though, I will keep this review as objective as I can, meaning I will promote not only the good points of the camera but also my dislikes. However, I must stress that those interested in buying this camera need to get down to the basics of photography while learning a little about changing or setting the aperture, focus, shutter speed, and focus. This routine ensures that the potential user is getting the most out of this camera, even in tricky situations. Options The Sony ZV-1 comes with a magnitude of options. One of the strongest points must be the automatic point-and-shoot setting which will deliver instantly excellent images in most situations without demanding significant user input. It is merely a matter of selecting the Intelligent-Auto-setting and taking pictures. Furthermore, the camera is featuring a new technology that enhances natural skin tones and keeps faces bright subjected to changing light sources or different environments. Another outstanding feature is the Automatic Focus technology (AF) which gives the ZV-01 the edge in its field. The AF is working lightning fast and features Sony’s new Eye-Tracking technology, which proves to be invaluable when taking recordings of moving people. Definitely noteworthy is the camera’s display which gives the user total control in every situation and can be folded face-down into the camera housing, meaning it is safe from being scratched or damaged. Other features take care of shutter and aperture settings as well as focal length, ensuring that the camera can be used in tricky situations where Intelligent-Auto can not cope any longer. Furthermore, a wealth of video options is offered, ranging from Intelligent-Auto over Movie to High-Frame-Rate settings with the latter delivering stunningly super-slow-motion footage. Another useful option is the ‘Function’ setting which lets you change the Audio-Record-level, Steady-Shot, Focus-mode, Skin-effects, Focus-Area, Creative-Styles, and many more. Last but not least there is the ‘Menu’ option which lets you change date and time, format an SD card, change slow-motion settings, and many other camera and image functions. Again, the user is well advised to learn the basics at the very least. Also, I find the supplied windshield for the microphone to be of immense value. Taking video recordings with the windshield in harsh windy or otherwise noisy conditions will drastically improve the quality of the audio. However, here comes my first niggle. The windshield for the microphone is too close to the Power-button and also takes it out of view. Maybe it is just my personal opinion, but it still does annoy me because I have large hands and find it hard to operate that button. Quality As already mentioned, Sony is well known for the outstanding quality of their products. Anybody choosing to buy this camera will not be disappointed while appreciating the craftsmanship and effort that has gone into this product. Hence, I would like to refer to my 17-years old Sony camcorder, which is still operating as good as on its first day. Speed The speed of the camera, especially in the Intelligent-Auto setting, is well balanced and sophisticated. Taking the camera and pressing the release button almost always guarantees excellent results under most conditions. Indeed, it will sufficiently compensate while the level of light or the focus is drastically changing, e.g. taking a picture through an open window, and abruptly turning back to take an image through a doorframe inside the house.   Focus Anybody who knows a bit about cameras is aware that the Automatic-Focus will not always yield great results. However, Sony engineers have certainly delivered with the ZV-1 as most of the time, pictures or recordings are taken with AF come out crisp and clear. It lets you move about freely or starting to do things at random, near or far while the AF seems to work at the speed of light. Not once did the camera disappoint, making it one of the strongest points so far (view attached recording). The same applies to the Macro feature in the IA-setting, which is returning brilliant close-ups of insects and flowers without having to fiddle with additional settings. Slow Motion The Slow-Mo function certainly has become my favourite due to the stunning image quality and the breath-taking action it delivers with a healthy punch (please view the attached recording). It comes with a range of settings that lets you select the image quality, and the speed of the motion ranging from 10x, 20x or 40x times of the original speed of the moving object, depending on the frame rate you are going to select (250, 500 and 1000 frames per second). The length of the recording is pre-programmed and depends on the frame rate, e.g. higher frame rates yield shorter recordings. Therefore, learning the basics of this function will guarantee continued success when using this option. Connectivity Living in a world of instant access demands a certain level of connectivity for everything we use. The Sony ZV-1 is no exception. That is why it is good to know that you can connect your camera to your smartphone, TV, or computer over a wireless connection. In contrast, you can remotely control your camera with a computer or smartphone. The same applies to Bluetooth-connectivity, which lets you connect to your smartphone or the Sony shooting-grip. The latter serves as a remote control for your camera while vlogging (watch the attached video). Operating the Sony ZV-1 One vital module needed to operate the camera is an SD Memory Card. While there is a magnitude of different cards available, my preferred option has always been SanDisk. Because of the camera’s performance, and the high data volume needed when taking video or Slow-Motion recordings, I found it essential to choose an SD-card able to cope with the speed and high demand of the camera. Hence, a SanDisk Extreme Pro is more than suitable to cope very well with the volume of images and recordings. Likewise, operating and setting up the camera itself is very easy and straight forward. First, charge the battery and select an appropriate SD Memory Card. Then switch on the camera and follow the steps on the initial screen, which invites you to choose your language, date, and time. The next step is to simply point and shoot. Nevertheless, here comes my second niggle. The battery life could be better, especially for those of you who will use the camera for vlogging or while on holidays. Therefore, investing in a spare set of batteries and a separate charger is a very wise option to avoid disappointment. Lastly, transferring your taken images or recordings to your computer or smartphone does not require a high technical understanding as it is straight forward. Final thoughts The Sony ZV-1 is one of the most sophisticated cameras on the market. Its range of options, high quality, ease of operation and the high image quality make this camera a worthy contender. Indeed, I have to admit that I am more in favour of the ZV-1 then using my trusted Sony alpha 300, which is now 11-years old. So, what is good about this camera? Well, pretty much everything, which makes this gadget so likeable. It performs well, it feels good, it delivers stunning images and recordings, and it is easy to handle. Generally speaking, the magnitude of good points eclipses some negatives, which is the missing focus-ring, short battery life, and restricted accessibility of the power-button because of the windshield (if installed to the camera). Also, the camera heats up considerably when used for long video recordings on a hot summer’s day. However, overall, it is fun to use, affordable, and a worthy companion for the serious vlogger or for taking a magnitude of images and recordings under almost any condition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Excellent vlog/travel camera

ZV-1 25 July 2020 by Rich (United Kingdom)

Just as expected from Sony. I own another Sony camera (RX100 M5) and am delighted they have kept the same menu layout and over functionality, whilst making some improvements. I prefer the new style of mode select of on a button and a menu, rather than the dial. The picture quality is spot on, it can compare easily to a DSLR, you wouldn’t tell the difference. The manual functionality allows you to fully control the aperture, shutter speed and ISO which is a blessing on a compact camera. Built in ND filter is also a bonus! Video quality is superb, good features too with the high frame rate to get that slow motion footage. The vlog grip is very user friendly, and doubles as a tripod. The flip screen has a crystal clear display. Overall, I’m very impressed with the camera, it’s very user friendly with the capabilities far superior to other compact cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

A lot of camera in a compact body.

ZV-1 25 July 2020 by Garye301261 (United Kingdom)

This is the best camera I have every purchased. The Sony ZV-1 is being promoted as a Vlogging camera, but it is a fantastic stills camera too. The auto focus is suburb and very quick. It comes with a 24-70mm f/1.8-2.8 ZIESS lens, with a 2.7x optical zoom, and up to 44x digital zoom with varying quality from 20M to VGA quality. The screen is a 7.5 cm 4:3, 921,600 dots Xtra Fine TFT LCD, which can rotate to be viewable from the front. It also folds onto the back of the camera with the screen facing in. That means you can keep it protected while it's in your pocket or bag. There are a lot of different modes on the stills camera to choose from. Ranging from the standard fully automatic to aperture and shutter priority. In the scene selection mode, you have multiple options to choose, to take the perfect pictures in different conditions, from close-ups with macro mode, to taking pictures of your food or taking snaps of your pet. If your wanting that professional portrait look with a defocused background, there is a dedicated button on the top of the camera to instantly turn this on without having to delve into the menu. But it's the video capability of the ZV-1 which stands out. The dedicated video record button sits on top of the camera, just behind the shutter button, again no need to delve into the menus to turn on video mode. We’ve all seen the YouTube clips where the camera refuses to focus on the object being reviewed. This is not a problem with the ZV-1 with the “Product Showcase” feature turned on. Any object that is put in front of the lens come instantly into focus, and it works very well. Pressing the mode button brings up the video modes, from intelligent auto, shutter priority, aperture priority and manual exposure. The HFR (High Frame Rate) mode shoots at 250fps, 500fps or 1000fps which gives slow motion speeds of x5, x10 or x20 selectable in the settings menu. ZV-1 can shoot 4K at a maximum 30p with 'Active' stabilization, which works very well and is very impressive. The ZV-1 is packed with features that will satisfy both the professional and amateur photographer and Vlogger. Highly recommended, and Married with Sony’s Bluetooth grip, it is the perfect bit of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

I love this camera!

ZV-1 24 July 2020 by Mountain Mark (USA)

This is my fourth Sony and I'm not planning on getting rid of any of them. Yes, the menu system seems cumbersome, but after enough playing around...it becomes "kind of" second nature. The ZV-1 sounded perfect for making quick YouTube videos and other content, so I decided to give it a try. I've had it a month now, and it is just perfect for my needs. For sure I wanted a camera with a mic input and this has it. I'm also very happy with the side flip-out screen, I like having the hot shoe, the better mic is good, the one-button defocus feature is nice, and the product showcase feature is icing on the cake. Compared to my other Sonys, the price of this one seems "cheap." Sure, it still is a lot of money...but if you're looking for a good, easy-to-use camera with a lot of features...the ZVF-1 could be it. If the link to my video actually got attached, this is my latest YT video. I used the ZV-1 for everything except the Zoom call. I've just started messing with YT in April, so not a pro - but this camera helps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The ZV-1 It’s much more than meets the eye!

ZV-1 23 July 2020 by PacoFK (United Kingdom)

When I first saw the camera, having in mind that is actively advertised as made for vloggers, I expected a fine device in terms of hardware: solid built, high quality lenses but, somehow, limited on its functions to serve the purpose of blogging. Although to prepare a blog can be complex I believed that the functions and design would be around portrait and macro shooting. I couldn’t more wrong. The body of the camera feels solid yet light and gives you that feeling of safety when operating it. I usually struggle with some cameras with small buttons but, generally speaking, I did not have that problem with ZV-1 out of the Function and Menu buttons which are allocated between thumb support and the control wheel. Since the Menu button will work as a customised key, it is fortunate that is the one on the border, otherwise, I simply would not use it. Speaking about buttons, I was pleased to see the video and photo shoot ones separated which is something I miss on other devises. Also, the Customised Key 1 (C1) for Background Defocus is very handy and it was one of the first features I tested. The microphone Wind Screen is a spot-on idea and it is easy to put on by uncovering the Multi Interface Shoe. The only downside is the fact that the little cover for the shoe can be lost easily. Maybe a retractile cover for a new model would be recommendable? Flipping screens are popular in the market nowadays and the ZV-1 follows the trend. In terms of ports, Sony fits more critical ones: microphone jack, a multipurpose USB type Micro-B and Micro HDMI-D. The storage works with a standard SD card. I would recommend a U3. The exchangeable battery got fully charged in about 90 minutes (first charge). It takes a while to explore the whole menu in the camera but the tutorials on the site are pretty helpful. I handpicked the ones I thought would be relevant for the novel photo/videographer and, of course, the vlogger.   1. Photo-shooting. If you are looking to have good quality pictures in a number of situations out of still objects. The ZV-1 offers you several aids and amongst them, two very useful tools which are the Automatic AF (AF-A) which allows the camera to automatically switch between a still target and one in motion. Automatic AF. Say that you are cat lover. but your furry companion is not keen to be pictured and and you always struggle to get it in the frame. With the ZV-1 the problem is solved. Used the AF-A and Face/Eye AF set. You can do it either by using the shooting button halfway to detect the eye of your pet or assigning a customising key. I did that with my own pet getting some candid shots. Tracking. Many sports fans like to take pictures on those critical moments of a game. Say you like American Football and want to catch that amazing touchdown. All you need to do is to select, once again the AF-A mode, specify the function ‘Tracking’ and just follow the Running back all the way to the end-zone! The great thing is that the Touch Operation allows me to react quickly if something changes in the composition and track the correct target. Of course, you can opt for Continuous AF as well. Yet, I preferred the AF-A which gave me more flexibility. ISO. Oh yes, not sure how many times I wished I could take those night landscapes or even a sweet romantic picture with my other half when travelling. Until now, my options were: use the flash and look like a couple of ghosts, trust my ‘surgeon pulse’ and make several shots until one of them was not blurry and give up after a dozen of tries or use the filter for night shooting that I can’t say it doesn't help but sacrifices sharpness and always look too yellow and grained. I made a series of pictures in a couple of situations by manipulating the ISO and I was fascinated with the results. On the first test, I closed the shutters at home and doors making the living-room the darkest possible (during the day). An ISO 4000 was enough to get some images fully coloured without sacrificing a bit of sharpness. On the second test, I took some night shots in the park nearby far from the lamp posts around 11 pm which is nearly the darkest point during the summer time in England. I’ve fantastic results in the range of 1000 and 6400. I still cannot find a situation where I would actually go all the way to 12800. Filters. Just like any other cameras in the market, the ZV-1 offers you a wide range of pre-set filters for different situations: landscape, portrait, macro, backlight, etc. Amongst all, the one that standout for me was the Day 1, which works very much as a polarize lens making the colours brighter but in an elegant way rather than having a paint made in pastel. And, of course, once you get familiar with all the parameters, you have slots for your own filters. 2. Video-shooting. The most of the features for video-shooting come from above and I won’t go any deeper on them but will focus my attention on 4 features only: Background Defocus, Soft Skin, Product Showcase and the microphone. Background Defocus. Probably the most appealing function I found. I think it has become quite popular on other scenarios, mainly on video conferences. I tried it whilst walking on the street. Honestly, I though it wasn’t working as I couldn’t see the difference on the small screen. I switched it on and off few times purposely but it wasn’t until I arrived home and transferred the videos that I could notice the effect. I did like it, firstly because the degree of defocus is delicate and feels completely natural, just like when you take a picture with a large aperture to discriminate several planes rather than those digital cuts that usually look cheap. Secondly, because the defocus is well balanced to direct the attention of the viewer and to do not distract him with excessive blurriness. Soft Skin. I reckon how pleased I was with this function. Pretty much, the ZV-1 will ‘read’ the light on the main subject and play with the mid-tones. Yeah, sounds easy but it takes a while to do it manually. I’ve been always sceptical about this type of functions since they require several adjustments that will vary from face to face. However, I can tell that the effect was masterly achieved. I checked the video on a 60” screen so I’m very much confident when praising the results. Product Showcase. Yeah! The plug-and-play for vloggers. Again, I like the idea of having customisable keys so I could take advantage of it if I think that I will be using this function often without browsing the menu each time. I felt like having a professional camera man with me! I liked that the camera was able to switch between my face and my cat effortlessly when moving the camera around as if my cat would be a product I would like to show. The response of the autofocus is fantastically smooth. I had to get used to the distance and the contrast but, ultimately, that’s pretty normal. For example, I tried to focus white helmet with a light yellow wall behind. It took a couple of seconds to the camera to discriminate the background. All in all, I found it a very attractive function. The microphone. I did like how sensitive the mic is. It picked even the tweets of some birds about 10 meters away and, although I do not like my own voice, I can tell that the fidelity of the audio was of a high standard. On the downside, the windscreen does not represent a big difference. I made a test seizing some windy spells in my garden, speaking in my usual volume. Certainly my voice was captured as if I would be using a unidirectional mic in front of me – which is great – but the wind was very much present. What I can definitely say is that, when the strongest gusts of wind blew, the noise did not covered my voice which I believe is a positive point. 3. The Wireless Shooting Grip. Spot-on, Sony! By all means a great idea and definitely created to help vloggers. Easy to pair with the camera, basic and intuitive controls. Solidly built. As a recommendation, I carry now an extra 3V battery with my equipment. 4. Software. Transfer & Tagging – the app is quite simple to use. Ultimately it is merely a software to export the files from the camera to a device. It’s easy to synchronise and it takes 5 minutes to get everything set. Both Movie Edit and Imaging Edge work fine and provides the usual basic tools for edition. Not much to add about them. Conclusion The ZV-1 is, from any viewpoint, a step forward aiming to cover a wider range of photo and video users from the amateur level up to professional. Those that will try a digital devise for first time will find themselves quite comfortable with the filters and basic functions and, thanks to some flexible features such as the AF-A, the Touch functions and well-designed body of the camera, its use is a pleasant experience. For the professionals, its size and portability will make them think twice before carrying larger and heavier equipment since the ZV-1 offers fully customizable functions like speed, focus, and aperture. On the downsides, I feel that the multi-purpose shoe would need a cover that is not fully separate from the camera and being more ambitious, to look for a waterproof second generation. It took me some time to familiarise with the menus and the sequence to set up everything. I think is a matter of practice although, maybe an even more intuitive map of options would help.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Great camera, perfect for both video & stills

ZV-1 20 July 2020 by Jothebulb (United Kingdom)

I have been using the camera a for a week now, and am really impressed by the both the build quality and the images the camera can produce in either video or photo mode. Although the camera features have been clearly designed around shooting video, still images have not been neglected either, with both rapid & accurate focus and rich, detailed images. Switching to video is really simple, through the separate dedicated button to choose that mode, and then the camera really shines - the product focus feature is very clever, allowing you to hold up an object and have the camera switch to that, rather than your face, and this will be a real star for vloggers & YouTubers. The separate hand controller is incredibly useful and definitely recommended - not only does it allow you to take selfies at a more natural distance from your face, by extending your reach - but the controls are simple & easy to use, allowing you to concentrate on the image quality & content. The only minor niggle is the software to download the images and videos taken to your smartphone or laptop, is slightly confusing, so I have tended to use the direct laptop link, rather that the wifi route. But now I am familiar with it, the editing features are really good to trim video content.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Superb camera that does it all.

ZV-1 17 July 2020 by Richie (United Kingdom)

I have had it for 1 week now and just wow. I have used it in multiple ways and it has never disappointed. Sound is so much better than any other camera or phone I have used.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0