DIGITAL CAMERA ZV-1

Product Reviews

56

4.3 based on 56 customer reviews

36
11
2
3
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great vlogging and all-round compact camera

ZV-1 15 July 2020 by Fredrik (United Kingdom)

The Sony ZV-1 is a vlogging camera but that’s not all. Online reviews are full of praise for this compact video shooter that I have been lucky enough to test for a few days. It is a handy little device, slightly larger than the Sony RX-100VI if you are familiar with the RX series. A user of Sony cameras will find it a familiar experience, the menus are the same but there are some differences in hardware buttons compared with other compact models. There is for instance a ‘mode’ button to access shooting settings instead of the selector wheel on the top of the RX series. In its place is a large video trigger next to the shutter release and a C1 button for quick access to defocus the background, the latter which I found myself using a lot. The shortcut (C1) bokeh is not a software effect, it simply pushes the aperture to its max. The build quality is really good as always with Sony. The body is plastic but it does not feel inexpensive, instead it gives confidence that this compact shooter is built to withstand all kinds of tough handing to be able to capture all your amazing experiences. The screen can be flipped and closed with the screen facing the body of the camera, thus being protected from damage. If the screen is opened from this position it auto starts the camera, a feature that is useful for a quick launch to capture something instant. It is worth mentioning that I am not a professional photographer. I do mainly architectural photography for my work but photography is generally more of hobby. I have been testing the ZV-1 mounted on the new wireless shooting grip (Sony GP-VPT2BT) which I connected with the ZV-1. The set up was straight forward and easy. It can also be used with the smaller and wired shooting grip Sony VCT-SGR1. The connection for this is via the USB multi port on the right side of the camera. A benefit of not going with USB C is that older accessories (such as Sony VCT-SGR1) will fit. Other connections are a microphone input, a mini HDMI output and a multi-interface shoe on the top of the camera. At the bottom is the battery and SD card slot. When I first hit the movie recording button I was prompted that the inserted SD card had insufficient writing speed. The requirement being a SDXC Class 10 or UHS-I/UHS-II to get the optimum performance out of this camera. The ZV-1 does not have NFC so a connection for uploading to Imaging Edge Mobile app is done via QR code or direct input. What’s in the box. 1 Sony ZV-1 camera 1 Deadcat (microphone wind shield) attached via the multi interface shoe 1 Sony NP-BX1 1240mAh lithium ion battery 1 USB A to micro USB cable 1 instruction manual Features I found particularly useful are: The screen can be turned 180 degrees to be protected when not in use. Quick start by flipping out the screen (only when the screen is closed as above). The autofocus is superfast and follow a moving object with great accuracy. Bokeh mode (C1 button). At a press of a button the camera switches from sharp to a blurred background mode which is great for hobby photographers or inexperienced users, or for urgent moments when you do not have time to set the camera up. Grip. The camera has a right hand front grip and together with the non-metal matte finish body, the ZV-1 feels secure in your hand. 20.1MP Photography The camera produces sharp images with good colour accuracy and image depth. The auto focus performs really well and you can get really close for detailed macro shots. A great all-round compact camera that produces good skin tones and contrast. The camera has no built-in flash or electronic view finder. 4K Videography As this is camera is clearly aimed at a vlogging target group for showcasing products, evident by the quick access to the Product Showcase (C2) function, it must be said that it does that brilliantly. The Product Showcase function is triggered with a hardware button that shares its functionality with the delete button. It performs very well and changes focus in an instant from a face (eye tracking) to whatever is promoted closest to the lens. This function must be selected before recording commences and can not be switched while filming. Without the Product Showcase set to ON the camera will continue to focus on the face until both eyes are obscured or removed from view. The camera can be set for focus priority to a pre-registered face which is helpful where there are several people within the frame. Skin tone and smoothness are good and the microphone records voices well (indoors). The image stabilisation is on par with other products in this category. I found using a shooting grip helps stability and adds a bit of extra distance when recording self or promoting on the go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but overheats in 4k

ZV-1 09 October 2020 by Jhat (USA)

So for just carrying around its been great. It's light weight and shoots great footage. Unfortunately I'm having a ton of trouble with it shutting off while streaming and recording gameplay in 4k. Most times my daughter and I can get 25-30 minutes before it shuts off from overheating but just today we only got 20 minutes max. I'm considering returning the camera to purchase something different. I don't think I'd recommend the zv-1 as it isn't a cheap camera. Plus, I've changed the hi temp setting and other tips I've seen on youtube but they aren't working.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

56 Customer Reviews

0

Haven’t been able to use it yet

ZV-1 21 February 2021 by SharonS (United Kingdom)

Been struggling to set it up for vlogging- and so far haven’t found how to remove the annoying graphics off the screen. Instruction manual very poor.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Nice video camera with RX100 power for photos too

ZV-1 04 February 2021 by ZV1er (United Kingdom)

I bought this for making video clips for work... but it takes as good a photo as my RX100iv which I have now given to my wife as the images are just as good but the focus on the ZV1 is better!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

14

0

Camera is perfect for shooting for a long time

ZV-1 03 February 2021 by Vik (United Kingdom)

I’m using this to shoot for my gaming YouTube channel and it is perfect! My Sony A510 would overhead and shut off after 10 minutes!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Love it so far!

ZV-1/BC UC2 03 February 2021 by Captjack671 (USA)

If you’re on the fence - get off and get one. It does suck that you can’t monitor audio (no jack), but perhaps they can eventually include Bluetooth audio support in a future firmware update. This being said, I’ve learned to trust the audio both on the camera and with an external mic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Versatility, Ease of Use and a Vloggers Dream!

DCZV1/B 20 January 2021 by TampaCarGirl (USA)

Top choice for all new, rising and professional influencers! ! When I tell you the video quality is A1 it TRULY is! Personally, the type of content you like to shoot is primarily product reviews along with shooting a vlog of my life raising two special needs boys. An impressive feature which I use for "selfies" is the vari-angle LCD screen. Upgrades from my current camera are the two features of Automatic Exposure and Auto Focus settings. The video stabilizer that is built in is perfect for shaky hands. The personalized settings are amazing too like auto- focusing on products was a breeze and it auto adjusted to my face right after! Still shots look like I had an entire studio set up with the auto exposure it was perfect every time. Recording action moments are easy to slow down too. Allowing me to see each moment play by play at my friend’s wedding during cake cutting. No one wants to miss the quick moment of smashing cake on one another. The versatility that the VZ-1 has is all you every expected plus. It makes the transition of being behind the lens capturing moments to vlogging an easy switch. If you vlog/record often the accessory kit is a must! Holding the tripod/wireless remote with the contoured design makes balancing the camera easy. Aside from being a camera, video camera, video blogging camera this Sony Vlog camera is a professionals tool for their ‘toolbox’ when creating content or applying for campaigns and jobs. Highly recommend!

3

0

0

A true vloggers dream camera!

DCZV1/B 20 January 2021 by MandaJo1981 (USA)

This camera packs a punch in its compact size. I use this camera practically every day. My YouTube videos and vlogs are now so much better than before. I use it to shoot my product reviews, dream interpretations, and recipes. I get regular comments about the high quality and questions about what camera I use. I cannot wait to tell them it is the Sony ZV-1 and tell them all about it! The wind guard on the microphone is a special touch I like. Prior to this purchase, I filmed an outdoor video on a slightly breezy day. I was appalled at the quality of that recording sound due to the wind. But with the ZV-1 that is never an issue! One of the things that drew me to the ZV-1 is the flip-out vari-angle video screen. I wanted a quality camera that I could see the screen on while I am recording. There is nothing worse than recording a video and thinking you are in the frame only to realize you are not. This eliminates that issue all together. It has ports for an external microphone, HDMI, and a micro USB. This allows for a ton of versatility. You can use a micro USB cord to charge the camera or you can buy an optional battery charger. I even bought a couple of backup batteries to keep the footage flowing even on lengthy trips. I paired the ZV-1 with the shooting grip and I will never go back. This baby is super versatile. It lets me click record, snap a picture, zoom in, and more all while keeping the focus on me and not turning the camera around. This allows complete one-handed usage. In addition, it makes a great little on the go tripod too. All of this fits into a small case making it ultra-portable. I love my ZV-1!

2

0

0

ZV-1 Great for Personal Travel and Blog Documentat

DCZV1/W 17 January 2021 by Frank956 (USA)

Purchased just after Christmas to take advantage of Sony special pricing. Purchased because of other positive reviews and I can say this is a great small almost "pocket" camera. Great features and extensive electronics for both photo and video imaging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great quality photos and video, ideal for vlogging

ZV-1 16 January 2021 by KrissEll (United Kingdom)

The quality of photo and video is superb. I never planned for this to replace my 4 year old Canon DSLR, as I only wanted a compact camera to add to my kit. That said, other than optical zoom, there beats it in every way. I primarily use this as a webcam and vlogging, but also take it on walks using the Crane M2 gimbal. All round excellent piece of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

The Choice for Most

ZV-1 13 January 2021 by Micboy (USA)

This was made for any sort of influencer who uses a camera. Great for those who don't know much of using one or is new to video making. Its great for vlogs, product reviews and especially streamers or those doing any sort of live video conferences for an extended amount of time. Also the best carry anywhere family trip camera. If there was anything id change or ask for, it would be to have a wider lens start 18mm the least.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

I’m absolutely in bloggers heaven

DCZV1/B 07 January 2021 by Heymaine (USA)

I’ve use this camera for months it wasn’t my own so I decided to purchase one and I absolutely love it. It’s very easy to use it’s lightweight and if it’s in my pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant Vlogging Camera!

ZV-1 26 December 2020 by cbegg1950 (United Kingdom)

I’ve had many compact cameras, with a main purpose of using for my Vlogging Channel, but the Sony ZV-1 surpasses them all! The autofocussing is superb and amazingly quick. The battery life could do with some improvement, but I have 3 in total, so its not a problem. Its excellent in low light, another thing us vloggers need from our cameras. The wind filter or ‘Dead Kitten’ with the Active SteadyShot will be very handy when we can start walking again. 4K video makes it easy to zoom in during editing if necessary.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Sony ZV-1 Camera Vlogger Kit

DCZV1/B 24 December 2020 by jjl88 (USA)

Sony ZV-1 camera is made for content creators to make good quality of videos. The size is perfect because my other cameras are too big and made me tired of dragging them everywhere. This is a good camera for everyone, because of the size but has all the cool features. It has a flip screen that you can watch yourself while recording a video. That is the most advance feature that a normal digital camera doesn’t have. GP-VPT2BT Shooting Grip is well made, sturdy, and very functional. It has the button for taking a photo and recording videos without touching the Camera. You can easily adjust the angle through the stands or the rolling button under where you attached the camera. I also love the color that matches pretty well with the camera. This is a great wireless tripod to use for any vloggers and content creators.

1

0

0

Vlogger's Best Friend

DCZV1/B 24 December 2020 by DaeSilva (USA)

My biggest complaint with the Sony ZV-1 is battery life. I wish they had used the same battery as the Alpha a6000 series cameras. Besides that gripe though, paired with the vlogging kit, this is quite a powerhouse vlogging camera especially if you don’t want to spend the money required for the Sony A7c. I love its portability, it can even fit in my pocket without the tripod/grip attached, let me say that again 4K video recording that fits in your pocket. The fact that Sony was able to build eye-tracking into such a small package is astounding and you still get the same amazing Sony picture quality, no wonder everyone uses Sony sensors. The portability and flip around screen make this camera perfect for vloggers, allowing you to easily see what the camera sees, whether shooting solo or with help. The microphone and windscreen do an adequate job of keeping wind noise down when you’re moving, but I wouldn’t trust it in very windy conditions. The product showcase setting is perfect for smaller e-commerce setups, making this an ideal unboxing or review camera when space is a concern. I haven’t tried the Bokeh setting, but there is a bokeh setting meaning you don’t need to spend a lot on an expensive lens to achieve similar results for the platforms that interest you unless of course, you want to. The ZV-1 like other Sony cameras can also be used as a webcam, and because of its size it is very well suited for this purpose, just download the software, plug in the USB change a couple of settings and you’re good to go. The bundled shooting grip pairs easily and provides an easy to control the camera when you’re creating content solo. All in all, this is content creators' dream camera, easy portability, outstanding picture quality, 4K shooting, webcam functionality, and the Sony ecosystem of camera tech. I’m definitely sold. I was able to purchase this camera at a discount in exchange for my honest review.

0

0

0

Good so far

ZV-1 21 December 2020 by Dillincs (United Kingdom)

Not been able to do much with this yet due to the world’s COVID situation! However seems a great camera. Pleased with how small, neat and light it is. Surprised it doesn’t come with a strap or even a basic case. There are so many settings, probably far more than I will ever use. Instructions for all the options are complex and can only be viewed online. I’m not so old-fashioned that I need a paper manual but a downloadable document would be good. Despite having all the up-to-date software etc I can’t get camera to link to my iPhone X though I’ve tried multiple times.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Amazing Camera!!

DCZV1/B 17 December 2020 by CLehmann (USA)

This camera has exceeded all of my expectations! The compact design is great for on the go recording. The software that runs the camera is very versatile and the camera can be used for different applications! The out of box set up is ready to go for vloggers. I was able to change a few settings and use it for birthday party pictures and videos! this camera is awesome!! The movable screen on is perfect for all types of photography and videography. I use It for everything from work to personal life including vlogs for my family and HDR photography. The tripod handle makes it easy to switch from first person view to selfies in a blink of an eye!

0

0

0

Recording Vids and Blogs Made Easy

DCZV1/B 17 December 2020 by mdaniel428 (USA)

I was wanting to create a Youtube channel for all things Asian foods for cooking and reviewing products. We used the Sony ZV-1 to film our first video and it was fantastic. I was able to make panning in and out shot with ease as the camera automatically stabilized the shot. Even while moving the camera it kept the video steady and smooth. The auto focus kept clear the product I was reviewing. The grip was an excellent and necessary equipment to have in filming. I could use it as a tripod while I was handling and eating the product we were reviewing. When I need to move around the grip was comfortable to hold and I was able to get the angles I wanted for my shot. The grip also came with a micro SD card with plenty of memory to start filming straight away. I am very happy with the vari-angle lcd screen that folds out so I can see what I am filming as we are shooting. I was going to use my smartphone to start filming my new youtube channel, but this camera has replaced and will be the only camera I use. The size and weight makes it ideal to bring with me in travels. I will definitely be bringing this camera around everywhere when we are able to start travelling to Asia again.

0

0

0

Great compact device that does it all!

DCZV1/B 17 December 2020 by Vikarr7 (USA)

I received my camera and couldn’t wait to use it. Normally, I record my travels and family/lifestyle content, but unfortunately given the current world climate, the travel will have to wait. However, I know that for lifestyle content, the features this camera offers are fantastic and will help products stand out. I already have a vlogging camera from a popular brand that most gurus and vloggers use, and while I love it and its features, I was getting frustrated with how bulky and heavy it is. It’s almost akin to carrying around a DSLR all day, except it’s not supposed to be! A vlogging camera is supposed to be compact and easy to carry, while offering great shooting capabilities. Enter the Sony ZV-1. I was expecting it to be heavy and bulky, but it’s not, it’s actually pretty light and compact and fits easily into my hand. I was also shocked at the video quality, and the how easy it is to figure out. The Sony ZV-1 is perfect for those who are always creating, if you wanted to take it out of the box and start creating content, it’s a snap to figure it out. The camera does everything for you! Right out of the box, the only settings I had to configure were the location, date, and time. As soon as the camera was ready to go, everything else was already configured. Even the face detection was automatic. You can easily choose to have the background defocus option on or off, based on preference. You can also set the mode to "intelligent auto", which auto-identifies the scene and shoots accordingly, it can go from 'macro' to 'portrait' and even detect when you're walking. I also love the flip-screen feature and the fact that it flips to the side versus flipping up. I think this makes it much easier to hold on to, but that may be just a matter of personal preference. Battery life is pretty good, unless you are using the 4k feature, however I want to mention that this would be the case on most vlogging cameras, and even on phones. The 4k option if fairly new technology, therefore the tech is not there yet to allow for battery life to last forever. So if you intend to shoot in 4k, make sure to invest in a couple extra batteries and keep those charged and ready to go if you are recording on the go. All in all, I’ve very happy with the features of this camera and the tripod/grip that comes in the vlogger accessory kit that allows for stabilization. I can’t wait to further test it out during travels when everything in the world gets back to normal a little bit.

0

0

0

Great picture quality, some frustrations though

ZV-1 07 December 2020 by BobsVlog (United Kingdom)

Picture and video quality are excellent. Audio is pretty good for onboard mic. Frustrations: 1. Connecting to the computer via usb and using the ZV1 as a webcam through the usb is hit and miss. 2. The lack of touch screen for menu options is highly frustrating when using it in vlogging/selfie mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Complicated

ZV-1/BC UC2 01 December 2020 by Joyfull (USA)

So far the camera has been very complicating for me on how to use it. It has so many different small buttons and different settings that it is a nightmare to learn how to use it.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

Avoid

ZV-1 25 November 2020 by Dadddaaaaaagg (United Kingdom)

Had this almost two weeks and it's not better than my phone. In fact I'd say my phone is better as it's smalle, lighter and is not just a camera. The only decent aspect is the auto focus but then that has it's crazy moment and completely ruins a shot. As for the grip that is so over priced it's a joke it's just a shutter on a tripod which you can get for £8 together on Amazon. Avoid like the plague. It is so shockingly bad it's would be funny except I'd paid almost £900 for the two

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

3

0

Facebook squish

ZV-1 22 November 2020  (USA)

I really wanted to love this camera but after a month of use the feed no linger works. It doesn’t matter if I’m on Facebook live or feeding it through Zoom to Facebook. The camera always squishes my face by a lot. I’ve tried everything and nothing is correcting it. I also cannot download videos direct to my Mac. It will not read the SD card from the camera. I have to physically remove the card and put it into a card reader on my Mac.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

It’s alright

DCZV1/B 02 November 2020 by Shey45 (USA)

I bought the ZV-1 a month ago and cannot upload any videos to my phone or laptop

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

0

The best of both worlds: photos & movies

ZV-1 29 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

My wife wanted to make videos of her historic tours of the medieval town we live in and I wanted to move on up from my Sony RX100 M2 model. The Sony ZV-1 has satisfied both our interests.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Easy to get great shots, but watch your batt

ZV-1 28 October 2020 by Vaybear (United Kingdom)

This camera is perfect for me and fulfils all my needs as a creator. I'm disappointed with the battery life however. It's such a big problem that I have to charge before and after usage every day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0