AX100E 4K CAMCORDER

Product Reviews

$2,199.00

(AUD inc. GST)
29

4.6 based on 29 customer reviews

20
7
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Camcorder for independent press

FDR-AX100E 15 September 2015 by Mr Ibrahimovic (United Kingdom)

As an owner of Sony FDR-AX100 camcorder I soon realised the decision to upgrade was worth every penny. I produce animations, short movies to broadcast quality, i moved from Sony HDR HC1e and FX 1 to Sony AX100. i wanted near uncompressed quality, and with few options on the table i fell in love with Sony FX100 due to the ergonomic design, button layouts, large 62mm wide lens, manual controls including manual focus at the lens. i am yet to see the full potential of 4k, for this i'll need a TV that supports the output, what i can say to any potential buyer is that this camcorder can record in 4k and HD quality at the same time, ensuring that you have the original, master copy available for detailed frame by frame edits. Do not review HDR FX100 against an SLR with similar capability, this is designed for video and is best at doing that, the 20.0 Mega pixels photo is good - not as good as an SLR, and this is not an all-rounder, a multifunction it lives and loves videos it handles photos better than most bridge, cheap SLR cameras, if photo is something that you need look for a photo camera not a video camcorder. sound quality with built in microphone is good, but not broadcast, you need a professional microphone for this, it’s a bit heavy and this gives it the stability, holding it is best done with two hands or using a tripod, its not your holiday camera for that go with a cheaper HD camera. supporting NFC and Wi-Fi has given me extra control over the camera without the use of a supplied remote control, you can position the camera at a particular location and view on a smartphone what the camera sees, with ability to remote operate and record. night vision is as good as the FX1 the button to activate is under the LCD screen, not the smartest place to locate it. Remote operation does not have the ability to enable night vision, something worth recommending to Sony to develop. the built-in filters can be manually enabled with a selection of three noise reductions, photos are clear and quick, image stabilised lens helps with the distant objects. One feature I find useful is also the built-in USB charger, takes twice as long to charge up a battery than using the supplied power cable, it is useful when you need power without access or the need to carry extra cables.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

ax100 entry level 4k Camcorder

FDR-AX100E 13 September 2014 by k2k2 (United Kingdom)

I own a 4k AX100 Sony Camera. The Sony 4K AX100 camera Has : 1. Very bad Pop Up Display (The picture you see are far away from reality) 2. Rolling Shutter (When you pan the camera). 3. Disappointing Steady Cam (Active mode very poor quality of picture) 4. Very Slow auto Focus 5. The camera format the SDHC card only in FAT32, resulting no ability to capture 4k footage (the card must be exfat format to capture 4k) 6. Few Small keys (you really need more keys to do the job). 7. Unacceptable and slow way to change between shooting styles 8. Unacceptable Voice cancelation which destroying the sound. 9. Picture Noise in High Gain setup. 10. 4k 25FPS Movie Mode The Sony 4K AX100 camera Has NOT: 1. Power on/off switch. 2. Speed Motor Zoom. 3. A way to take the SDHC card without turning on the camera 4. Enough keys to do the job. 5. A Universal Hot Shoe 6. Limit Storage to 64Gb SDHC. 7. Line in Audio. 8. Accurate manual zoom and focus control (The ring is Digital not Analog). 9. HDR Back Light Image Correction (Its Hard to film a face that is in front of a sun light) 10. Ergonomic position for the keys. With Sony 4K AX100 camera You Can Do: 1. Filmmaking 4k 25FPS Stereo Sound 2. Filmmaking dual file. Original size & 720p (720p very reduced quality reference only) 3. Filmmaking FHD 50FPS 5.1 Surround Sound 4. Filmmaking SLOW Motion 720p 100FPS (Reduced Picture Quality) 5. Filmmaking with Three Built in ND Filters (Really Helpful in bright scenes) 6. Manual Controls for Aperture Gain Shutter (individual keys). 7. Manual Focus. 8. Manual Zoom (The same ring as Focus - you can only play with one of two) 9. Take Pictures when you filming (not so good quality) 10. Acceptable quality of motion picture working in auto. With Sony 4K AX100 camera You Can NOT: 1. See what you 'll finally get in TV (Unacceptable camera monitor) 2. Get Sharp image at 720p High Speed Filming. 3. Work with standard hot shoe equipment. 4. Make studio quality motion or still pictures. 5. Film more than two hours 15 minutes with one SDHC card (4k) 6. Flip the Display and continues shoot with the View Finder. 7. Have easy Manual Zoom accurate (speed) 8. Have easy Manual Focus accurate (the wheel is electronic with digital steps) 9. Wide Screen Motion Shots at High Speed rates (720p 100FPS) 10. Count on very HQ as advertised. Lower than a DSLR Way Lower Than AX1. 11. Bright Lend (only 2.8F wide 4F Zoom) Finally Thoughts Think Twice Before Buy it. The Size of this camera in not for everyday shoots. The Picture and Sound results cannot fulfill your expectations for this price. K2

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

8

3

29 Customer Reviews

0

The AX100 is an Amazing Camera

FDR-AX100E 16 October 2018 by Moviemakers (United Kingdom)

As a recently retired broadcast cameraman with a restricted budget, I spent 6 months trying every camera available within a £1500 price range, and came to realise that the Sony AX100 far outstrips its competitors. The 4k quality is amazing and the camera's lightweight body makes it possible to carry it anywhere so that its instantly ready to shoot the action without needing to carry a tripod. Mostly I set the camera in auto mode with SteadyShot and its amazing how good the camera works everything out and enables really steady professional shots. The camera gives you full control over every kind of setting to adjust the iris, gain, shutter speed, focus etc, and after 10 hours of filming resulting in 4 hours of edited footage, I can say that I'm truly thrilled with the results. I am amazed at the quality of the night shots which didn't require gain and look amazing and the sound quality is also good. Having had the camera for 4 months now, I found the camera easy to use, lightweight to carry, and the auto settings were reliable and hardly needed any adjustments in post production. I can't praise this camera more highly, because its always ready to capture the action in superb quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best 4K video quality from 1 Inch sensor.

FDR-AX100E 28 June 2018 by Chippa (United Kingdom)

It is small and easy to use, but also has a large sensor, If you are looking for 4K camcorder that is versatile enough to be used in both a casual and professional capacity with excellent build quality, manageable size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stunning performance

FDR-AX100E 26 March 2018 by Stuie2 (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this camera for about two weeks, it has amazed me with the picture quality, and gives me the ability to zoom in and pan without drastic picture quality losses, obviously at post production on the timeline of Adobe Premier. The only draw back, which is very sad, is the lack of lens control whithin the remote control App (Play memories) whilst under Wifi control. Other than stop and start recording you can ONLY zoom in and out, if this had aperture control, and maybe focus it would get my full marks. So limited in my opinion, but a stunning camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good,great features.

FDR-AX100E 03 November 2017 by Getstuffed (United Kingdom)

I bought it 6 weeks ago and I am getting great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still a solid video camera after all these years

FDR-AX100E 18 September 2017 by DodgeyDave (United Kingdom)

Even though the AX100 has just been overshadowed by the up and coming AX700, this product still delivers great quality footage. It is no A6300 in terms of 4K picture, but it does sing along all day without over heating of faltering. Touch screen is sensitive, menus just the same as all the others in the line up, I like the feature of restricting the gain setting to a maximum value to avoid noise. I find the picture is very acceptable up to 18db and some beyond if you're prepared to use noise reduction in your edit. CDAF performs very well, even better than my VG30. Whilst I wouldn't use it for 4K authoring, it makes stunning HD footage when scaled down in an edit and cropping in 50% gives no issues. Soft-High-Key provides great flat footage that can be graded, similar to Cine1 I'd say but you have to crack up the exposure compensation to the maximum of +2 to get a properly exposed image but this is great buried feature that is rarely discussed. I love it, a 128GB card and huge battery gives me all the life I need for weddings along with all the other Sony kit. A+++

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera for a small amount of money

FDR-AX100E 11 July 2017 by Blootoad (United Kingdom)

This camera is a little gem. Full of professional features like manual override and it feels solid. I have only had it for a month, but have found the images to superb. One small negative is it overexposes in certain conditions and what may look perfectly exposed in the viewfinder is over exposed when seen on editing suit. Having said that...that is a small price to pay for a great video camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

best picture from a 1" senor at an amazing price

FDR-AX100E 25 April 2017 by alan92 (United Kingdom)

Easy to use, some funny button position lit the focus magifiier but an amazing picture and in low light as well. better that the AX33 I have although the AX33 has a better stabilisation system. Took a bit of menus could be better i.e. have user designed shortcuts to make navigation easier. Manual could give some advice as to how to get the best picture from your camera. Sound controls are limited and could do with a manual gain control button rather than the menu. Menus are similar between different models whioch make it easier to work with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My New Camera

FDR-AX100E 27 March 2017 by The Dirty Doctor (United Kingdom)

I bought the AX100 as a replacement for my very trustworthy Sony HDR-XR550 which is still going strong. I have only used my new AX100 a couple of times so far and tested all the recording modes and the results are great and processing is good in both Adobe Premier Pro and Elements my PC handles everything OK so I'm Happy, The camera is a little heavier and bigger than my XR550 but very stable and easy to handle and I love the bigger Zoom button which points the way you want to zoom and the zoom is very smooth and quiet. The sound from the built in mike is very good although as a rule I use a stereo videomic off camera for a more even sound when shooting in the studio. I have a 64GB memory card which I'm hoping will be sufficient for starters but will look to get a second card and spare battery real soon as don't want to get caught short when shooting all day. I'm looking forward to a good many years use with this camera and I know Sony's build quality will stand the test of time and of course Sony support is there to help if necessary. Not much more I can add at this stage but would recommend this camera 100% and of course the price is right and what a lot of camera for your money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A camera worth owning

FDR-AX100E 16 December 2016 by Jonpsi (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as I wanted to take my hobby to a higher level

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

difrent

FDR-AX100E 02 August 2016 by aref (United Kingdom)

i have a good handy cam 4k for record seconds of my life so happy.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

so good but can't show real time online by wifi

FDR-AX100E 22 July 2016 by Oato (United Kingdom)

All every think I'm OK but 1 comment I would like to show vdo online real time to projector for all person see in.It have option WiFi but i can't to do every thing, In the future if have option real time to show by WiFi I promise to buy again.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good camcorder

FDR-AX100E 19 June 2016 by robbiedobbie (United Kingdom)

the sony fdr-ax100 is superb for interviews with clips, the picture is realistic and the manual controls very useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Sony 4K camcoder

FDR-AX100E 19 March 2016  (United Kingdom)

I have now used my Sony 4K on two trips abroad. Riga - weather cloudy and overcast, however the quality of the images were superb on he setting. St Anton, Austria, January, snow. Again quality of images excellent, and the 4K was easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

MY EXPERIENCE SO FAR WITH AX100E

FDR-AX100E 06 February 2016 by SONICK (United Kingdom)

SO FAR SO GOOD. HAVE ONLY HAD ITEM FOR 8 WEEKS AND USED FOR A TOTAL OF ABOUT 4 HOURS

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

good quality , size , features , price

FDR-AX100E 06 February 2016 by robin at one red (United Kingdom)

Sold all my old slr gear and bought this as it does excelent video and stills and is compact enough.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stunning quality

FDR-AX100E 05 January 2016 by Sunnyloser (United Kingdom)

Point and shoot mode is very good however, it's a shame that controls are only possible on the touchscreen, not in eyepiece mode. I have yet to experiment in manual mode but this will come. That said, there are many good features that are tweekable for personal use.in auto mode such as setting db gain and zebra but, the focus magnifier is impossible to access unless the cam is held loosely in two hands. Overall, it's a very capable tool but be vary wary of offers of cash back!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A smooth camera

FDR-AX100E 10 November 2015 by vagabondo (United Kingdom)

My earlier Sony camcorder developed a blue screen andI needed a camera which would produce recordings compatible with a Mac. Research produced the AX100. I also discovered 4K which is the picture quality of the future. The camera is excellent with smooth focusing and is really quiet in operation. It's billed as semi professional and there are many features that I have yet to be discovered . I recently took it to Zambia and using it hand held is very satisfying. An excellent product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Camcorder for independent press

FDR-AX100E 15 September 2015 by Mr Ibrahimovic (United Kingdom)

As an owner of Sony FDR-AX100 camcorder I soon realised the decision to upgrade was worth every penny. I produce animations, short movies to broadcast quality, i moved from Sony HDR HC1e and FX 1 to Sony AX100. i wanted near uncompressed quality, and with few options on the table i fell in love with Sony FX100 due to the ergonomic design, button layouts, large 62mm wide lens, manual controls including manual focus at the lens. i am yet to see the full potential of 4k, for this i'll need a TV that supports the output, what i can say to any potential buyer is that this camcorder can record in 4k and HD quality at the same time, ensuring that you have the original, master copy available for detailed frame by frame edits. Do not review HDR FX100 against an SLR with similar capability, this is designed for video and is best at doing that, the 20.0 Mega pixels photo is good - not as good as an SLR, and this is not an all-rounder, a multifunction it lives and loves videos it handles photos better than most bridge, cheap SLR cameras, if photo is something that you need look for a photo camera not a video camcorder. sound quality with built in microphone is good, but not broadcast, you need a professional microphone for this, it’s a bit heavy and this gives it the stability, holding it is best done with two hands or using a tripod, its not your holiday camera for that go with a cheaper HD camera. supporting NFC and Wi-Fi has given me extra control over the camera without the use of a supplied remote control, you can position the camera at a particular location and view on a smartphone what the camera sees, with ability to remote operate and record. night vision is as good as the FX1 the button to activate is under the LCD screen, not the smartest place to locate it. Remote operation does not have the ability to enable night vision, something worth recommending to Sony to develop. the built-in filters can be manually enabled with a selection of three noise reductions, photos are clear and quick, image stabilised lens helps with the distant objects. One feature I find useful is also the built-in USB charger, takes twice as long to charge up a battery than using the supplied power cable, it is useful when you need power without access or the need to carry extra cables.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A great Camera for the more experienced.

FDR-AX100E 14 September 2015 by Founding Father (United Kingdom)

I'm a long term semi professional stills photographer making a move to video for the first time. This is a great mid-sized pro-sumer camera with a wide range of manual control available for those with the desire to take full control. While it is perfect for those more experienced videographers, a little more forethought would make it easier to use by those familiar with photography but still relatively new to video. Picture quality is top notch at this price range, though the wind noise picked up by the built in mic makes the mic useless in all but the stillest of conditions. A simpler exposure compensation method in auto mode would be appreciated, perhaps via the manual dial. It could be something I missed however you seem to have Full Auto, Full Manual, a fixed exposure compensation via the touch screen menu or exposure spot meter again using the touchscreen but which permanently fixes the exposure for that one area. There does not appear to be a method of adjusting the exposure "on the fly" without resorting to touching the screen continually which pretty much makes the eyepiece viewfinder redundant, a bugbear in bright light situations! Beside the exposure the only other criticisms are:- 1) The sensitivity of the touch screen itself, which on my model is not very sensitive to not at all, requiring multiple attempts to invoke a command. 2) An over sensitive zoom rocker which while being variable seems to go from very slow to extremely fast over a millimeter or so of movement. A low/high sensitivity button to select a preferred option would prove useful here. And finally, 3) The user guide could be rethought as it is pretty useless as an instruction manual and I found myself having to resort to the internet for user instruction videos. These somewhat minor issues aside this is a great camera and well worth the investment for those wishing something above an all automatic camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Second time lucky

FDR-AX100E 30 August 2015 by Vinceg (United Kingdom)

The first of these that I bought developed a fault within the first week that necessitated returning the camcorder. The supplier did not have any more and instead refunded my money. I liked the features on the camera, so I looked around until I found a second supplier selling for the same price. That camera has performed flawlessly in the two weeks that I have had it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

excellent piece of equipment

FDR-AX100E 12 June 2015 by redscart (United Kingdom)

Used this week and it has a excellent picture and video quality ease of use and very flexable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

All I need is a 4K television!

FDR-AX100E 10 May 2015 by MikeHarry (United Kingdom)

I great camera - high quality results and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The recordings in 4K are excellent.

FDR-AX100E 11 February 2015 by Derekpengwyn (United Kingdom)

A problem that I have is that I cannot find in the manual any instruction on how to change the audio system from two channels to five point one channels. At the moment I am stuck in two channels. Help.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing features in a small package.

FDR-AX100E 02 February 2015 by Argee (United Kingdom)

I bought this mainly because of the ability to record in very high resolution and the provision of a viewfinder - so often missing nowadays and so necessary in sunlight. The controls for the right hand fall easily within reach and are easy to operate. The built-in USB connection is useful, especially as my current operating system (Yosemite) does not currently support the wireless transfer. The tripod connection is OK for my current tripod, enabling battery changes without removing - useful. The best - and extremely east-to-use feature - is the ability to adjust gain, exposure and shutter independently, yet with the same thumbwheel - excellent design. The addition of an operator's voice modulator is surprisingly useful, as is the vast amount of on-screen data available if needed. The operation of the viewfinder also turns on the camera - a nice touch. Inclusion of a focus magnifier is great for a camera in this price bracket and I expect to produce some excellent results with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0