$1,099.00

(AUD inc. GST)
84

4.2 based on 84 customer reviews

47
21
8
1
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best of both worlds

FDRAX33/B 07 April 2015 by Bian (USA)

I still like still photography. But shootings sports I liked an occasional video and I certainly like taking multiple shots to be able to pick the best moment. My still camera did multishots only with poor quality. So I started to look for still cameras with 4k to be able to do movies and extract from them over 20 shots per second each 8 megapixels. I found several cameras but one was expensive the other was bulky and another had too small zoom range. And then I heard about FDR AX33. It seemed to have it all: great brand name, incredibly small size, good zoom with awesome optics and price comparable to what I would have to spend for a still camera with 4k. It is actually cheaper than at least one still camera I was considering. Plus it has BOSS! It really fit the bill! So I got it and I have not been disappointed yet. I have the best of both world: great quality video with the ability to extract best frames as high quality stills. All this in a small however a little bricky package. I am loving it. And in the future when I buy 4k tv I will have some high quality memories. The file size takes getting used to but that is the format and not the device. If you still unconvinced get it from Sony store with 30 days to return it for a refund. You will not be returning it. Tthe 4k camcorder for the rest of us has arrived.

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Broke after 3 years of light use

FDRAX33/B 15 May 2018 by jk10 (USA)

I bought this camera 3 years ago, and I've only used it a handful of times. It was a great camera until one day recently while on vacation it randomly broke--no explanation, the repair service couldn't tell me what exactly happened besides the image sensor and a flex circuit needed to be replaced. I didn't drop it, get it wet, and I kept it safely in a camera bag all the time. The repair is costing me half the cost of the camera itself. I bought this camera as a big investment thinking it would last me for years to come, so I'm very sad it wasn't built to last.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

84 Customer Reviews

0

Great features

FDR-AX33 18 July 2019 by jalfi (United Kingdom)

Im so happy ,excellent videos,beauty pics.easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ok

FDRAX33/B 10 July 2019 by JoyJoyJoy (USA)

I had it for less then two years and the stabilizer went bad.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice camera

FDRAX33/B 29 June 2019 by kdanz25 (USA)

I brought the FDR-AX33 and I am please so far. I needed a upgrade for my small sports media company, this will help me bring the professionism I am looking for.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to shoot good videos and 4K snap shots

FDR-AX33 21 June 2019 by Imdad (United Kingdom)

I was recommended by a friend to buy AX53 and when I compared the features, I went for AX33. I used it to make a video of our annual gathering and I just set it up and left it unattended for some time. I giot goos results. Pleased with my purchase of AX33.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

USA holiday

FDR-AX33 18 June 2019 by Byrnes (United Kingdom)

Bought for our holiday records well but real issue with 4K not working on playback with my HD tv ??? Not happy with that. Also read about memory record times before you buy. So taking the camcorder with us to USA but will not be recording in 4K due the playback issue pity ?? So HD recording for 2 weeks. Nice piece of camcorder but just know the camera before you go on your destination.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Class

FDR-AX33 05 June 2019 by Rcpilot54 (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this video Camera to film my model planes for YouTube I am very pleased with the video quality and how easy the camera is to use. It has a great battery which lasts a long time before charging and the Wifi feature and ability to control with your smart phone is a great feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality

FDR-AX33 31 May 2019 by Iddy (United Kingdom)

Great 4KUHD PICTURE QUALITY . Ease of use straight forward instructions

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Good Camcorder

fdrax33b 13 May 2019 by KenJW (USA)

I bought this camcorder a month ago and after viewing some online tutorials, feel that I have more than basic understanding of its' operation. I've used it primarily to make videos of my grandson's lacrosse games. The picture quality is excellent on playback. The mechanical stabilization is very effective. It has 10x optical zoom and while this is pretty good, I wish it had higher than that. The only negative I've encountered is that sometimes it is slow to focus. I'm going to have to look into what may be causing the slow focus as it does not happen all the time. I was looking for a camcorder that had an actual viewfinder because taking videos outside in the sun does not work well with my old Cannon camcorder that has only the LCD display to see what you are recording. All-in-all I'm glad that I bought this unit and recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Features

fdrax33b 02 April 2019 by wbig (USA)

I am left handed so I do have to think like a right handed person. It would be great if it was made to work for both left and right handed people. Also the hand strap is too small. Have a hard time getting my hand in to operate it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

amazing product

FDR-AX33 27 March 2019 by HDZee (United Kingdom)

I haven’t tested the item fully. Packaging was good but did not come with car charger. Should have that added for the price paid. Nevertheless peace of mind if does turn faulty I can go back. Semi pro users this is the camcorder for you !

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great features if it worked

fdrax33b 17 March 2019 by Dmattd (USA)

I used the camera two times and now it’s a brick. No power is getting to the camera. My spare battery is also not working to power up the camera. I’m on a trip to Costa Rica and it is very disappointing to not have our video camera working on this trip. Fortunately we have our phones and other devices but not our AX-33. I bought this video camera because our other Sony HD tape casette camera failed...and now this.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

The best!

FDRAX33/B 08 March 2019 by bbonfante (USA)

Finally I made the purchase of the product I was needing a long time and even with two days of use I am very satisfied

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Feel Good Product

FDRAX33/B 19 February 2019 by tillbillybear (USA)

I like this model's market placement (who it's aimed at) and I feel it's targeted right. 4K, good battery life, it's fast at most all features it performs (a little slower focusing than I prefer but not a deal breaker). It's easy to use, looks good, feels solid. The touchscreen is much better than I read it would be (I'm satisfied with it). The video reproduction and color accuracy are spot-on. My biggest concern was the low light performance which I'd researched was not that good. However compared to what I researched, my expectation was exceeded. This product just makes me "feel good" (happy) and I can't say that about many electronic products.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Handycam

FDR-AX33 07 February 2019 by Valgeorge (United Kingdom)

Purchesed to replace camrecorder that was no longer working, we had had that camrecorder for 8 years with no problems.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great Camcorder

FDRAX33/B 07 February 2019 by Jas Jones (USA)

Just bought this camcorder after much research. I found it easy to set up, user friendly and produces good quality videos.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

mr

FDR-AX33 10 December 2018 by johnna (United Kingdom)

I 'm a beginner to be fair Ive been making docs but other people were filming so i decided to get my own camera . A friend set it on automatic to film as a novice and the quality is good ,even when i'm filming while moving the pic is not wobbly . I bought a mic to add to the camera for outside filming but the quality as been good outside with out the mic ,but it was a nice day and no traffic

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great features

fdrax33b 21 November 2018 by Nonev (USA)

A bit more money that i wanted to spend but worth it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Took a chance and won with my selection

FDRAX33/B 30 October 2018 by rn33 (USA)

Not familiar with shooting movies or editing and was asked to shoot a friends wedding. After some practice I created a pretty decent movie. The camera shined in its picture quality and, in time, I'll be shining too. Great equipment inspires me!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camcorder

FDR-AX33 24 October 2018 by GeoFilm (United Kingdom)

It has been 3 years since I bought a camera. Previously, I had gone for DSLRs but needed something that could record longer than 29.95 minutes. The AX33 allowed me to continually

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Broken within a month, Sony won’t repair

FDR-AX33 11 October 2018 by Cateh (USA)

My shutter broke within the first month. It opens halfway or not at all. I have to force it open when it opens halfway. Sony won’t replace because I don’t have a receipt. This was gifted to me so all I have is the box. I will be moving on from Sony to Panasonic.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

New Camcorder

FDRAX33/B 21 September 2018 by ray44 (USA)

I just purchased thie camcorder and was going to go out today and try it out, however,it has turned into a rain day, so possibly tomorrow. I did a lot of research and selected this camera due to the many reviews. I have used it in the house and impressed with the quality and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good quality picture

FDR-AX33 26 August 2018 by nigsy (United Kingdom)

always been happy with sony products in the past from the early days of the Walkman etc

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great video but camera failed after 11 months usag

FDRAX33/B 17 August 2018 by MyParadise1 (USA)

The picture quality of this camera is sensational. The IS is even better. But nothing is worse that having spend all that money and 11 months later the camera fails. Something with a faulty cmos and I can no longer take video. The screen flickers and the video is of terrible quality. Add insult to injury, I am travelling and cannot get back to the US to get this fixed. Bummer. Poor quality workmanship.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Ok video but audio is poor quality

FDR-AX33 14 August 2018 by DisappointedSonyBuyer (United Kingdom)

Bought this this for recording HD video instead of using a phone, whilst video is OK audio using the built in mic is horrendous, lots of background noise and no useful audio control. I can get better video and audio using an iPhone

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1