$999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
111

4.3 based on 111 customer reviews

68
25
10
1
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best of both worlds

FDRAX33/B 07 April 2015 by Bian (USA)

I still like still photography. But shootings sports I liked an occasional video and I certainly like taking multiple shots to be able to pick the best moment. My still camera did multishots only with poor quality. So I started to look for still cameras with 4k to be able to do movies and extract from them over 20 shots per second each 8 megapixels. I found several cameras but one was expensive the other was bulky and another had too small zoom range. And then I heard about FDR AX33. It seemed to have it all: great brand name, incredibly small size, good zoom with awesome optics and price comparable to what I would have to spend for a still camera with 4k. It is actually cheaper than at least one still camera I was considering. Plus it has BOSS! It really fit the bill! So I got it and I have not been disappointed yet. I have the best of both world: great quality video with the ability to extract best frames as high quality stills. All this in a small however a little bricky package. I am loving it. And in the future when I buy 4k tv I will have some high quality memories. The file size takes getting used to but that is the format and not the device. If you still unconvinced get it from Sony store with 30 days to return it for a refund. You will not be returning it. Tthe 4k camcorder for the rest of us has arrived.

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A little disappointed so far

FDRAX33/B 04 July 2018 by Harley91stc (USA)

I bought this Cam, which comes with extra batteries, but has no standalone battery charger. I have to keep the camera out of it's case to charge a battery. That was the first thing that I did not care for. The second thing though is that their PM Memories Home will NOT install on a state of the art Windows computer with everything updated. Just playing with recording 4k with audio, and the audio is terrible. Not a happy owner so far. I need a standalone battery charger, PMmemories that works, and audio that you can understand before I will be happy with the picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

111 Customer Reviews

0

Works great

FDRAX33/B 12 July 2020 by mcboutie (USA)

I bought this used a week ago and am still learning the many features. Setting up wifi is not very difficult. The touchscreen seemed balky at first but it takes a different touch than any smart phone. The battery stays charged long enough so I'm looking forward to recording band rehearsals and concerts. Many features to explore with this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good design and seems easy to use so far.

FDR-AX33 29 June 2020 by Dirkk66 (United Kingdom)

Didn’t realise that there was internal memory built-in

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great features for a great Price

FDR-AX33 27 June 2020 by Vamsi78 (United Kingdom)

I use this product for almost all the occasions. So far all I can suggest is that the features are great. Especially the in built 5.1sound recording system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

excellent workstation

FDR-AX33 04 June 2020 by SSBNCVN (United Kingdom)

having had my old sony camcorder for nearly 20 years and yes its still working.it was time for a new one.having done a music test and wow was i impressed,the sound was sharp clear from trebble to bass,the picture quality is excellent even in low light.i would highly recommend it.not being a brand snob just have always had sony camcorders,from the hi8 tape version to hard drive and now 4k

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

The camera does exactly what it said it would do

FDR-AX33 27 May 2020 by Fitz (United Kingdom)

Easy to use. Perfect for a novice. Quality is high

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

good camera for family records

FDR-AX33 27 May 2020 by Vince2323 (United Kingdom)

great colours, like real, good features, negativity is comes in after sunset, image become sandy and no flash for pictures either. apart from that great cam

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent piece

FDR-AX33 14 May 2020 by Tamas (United Kingdom)

It's an excellent piece. Good image quality, uncomparable to anything else we have used for Vlog or Facebook Live. Although it can't be connected directly to a PC, but a nice Stream box is not that expensive. The only downside is that the touch screen is a bit hard to handle. The buttons are too small, and sometimes you end up setting something which you didn't want to.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Solid pro-amateur camcorder

FDR-AX33 09 April 2020 by JonnyC (United Kingdom)

The AX33 is a huge step-up from my old Sony camcorder, and as an avid home-video hobbyist I always knew I wanted more out of the picture quality. As many reviews state, the AX33 really does deliver on this, and even though I've not tested it in many situations yet, I can clearly see the improved colour saturation and sharpness. It's easy to start with the basics of the camcorder, but there are certainly a lot of extra features that I didn't have before, like focus peaking and zebra lines. I would of preferred a more in-depth manual or tutorials on-line from Sony, as knowing this is probably aimed at the amateur wishing to take their work further - like many others I have not had years in the field learning what all the features mean and techniques. I have been researching online videos from other users to learn a lot of these,and I would recommend anyone else who is not familiar to do the same. You will want to learn these features for sure. The obvious benefit of the AX33 is the Balanced Optical Steady Shot feature, which physically helps stabilise your footage (with digital assist if needed), which makes a huge difference when on the move. The best way I can describe it, is that the lens 'floats' inside the unit, allowing for multiple-axis movement. I've always had to rely on digital stabilisation in the editing software when shooting days out with the family which drastically reduced the output quality (which wasn't great to start). This was one of the main factors that I wanted this camcorder and it really paid off. The 10x optical zoom is a little on the short side, but since the image quality is so good you can add some digital zoom in there no problem, and it's enough for most applications. The only issue with the moving lens is that I worry when I'm carrying the camcorder I can hear it knocking around the inside of the unit. Not sure if Sony built it to accept that, but I hope so. Other features that are on here but seldom mentioned is the ability to stream live footage with the right PC software, connect via Wi-fi to your smartphone or computer, and link up multiple cameras from the Sony range to give multiple angles (to name a few). The only other issue I have is that the front protective lens cover seems thin and flimsy, and opens when the camcorder turns on. I would recommend buying a UV filter or similar (at 52mm) to protect not only the lens, but also the internal unit, as the balanced optical steady shot does mean there is a gap around the lens. You'll need an SD card that writes as close to 100mb/s or more if you are wanting to film 4K. On a more technical note, you can manually adjust most features on this camcorder, but when it comes to the exposure, the iris and the shutter speed - you can only adjust one at a time, which makes it very hard when you're setting up for specific shots that require precision in the lighting (potentially special effects or using for stop-motion etc.) which is a shame for a camera that does so much for stepping into the more semi-pro market. A minor thing that most people will not notice, but something I've learnt post-purchase. Overall I know that I'll be using the AX33 for some time to come, with it's breadth of features and high-quality imaging, it's going to be used for a wide-variety of projects around the home. A good price, for people looking for that step-up their video projects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great camcorder

FDR-AX33 31 March 2020 by Deew (United Kingdom)

We wanted a good quality camcorder to take on a special holiday. Picture quality is great. Easy to use. Zoom is smooth. I like the night mode. Not explored the other functions yet. Really pleased with the camcorder. I am hoping it will last for years to come

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Best 4K camcorder you can buy.

FDRAX33/B 20 March 2020 by Charles BridgTec (USA)

I use this for my YouTube channel for 4k quality. This has great features too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great features!

FDRAX33/B 23 January 2020 by Rocknrib5645 (USA)

I bought this camera in November and it has been superb. I love it. The features are great. I've used it to capture weddings, photo sessions, church services and even basketball games. So glad I purchased it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great product

FDRAX33/B 21 January 2020 by Mr Knight (USA)

Happy with purchase, using this to record soccer games.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great 4K Handycam

FDR-AX33 18 January 2020 by Camcorderman (United Kingdom)

I bought this on Cyber Monday at an excellent price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Camera Good, Software is horrible

FDRAX33/B 11 January 2020 by RonaldHuther (USA)

The camera is good and works well. No issues. It does not blow me away but works as expected. The wifi feature is a joke though. Very misleading but I researched and knew this before the purchase. The big problem is the software. PlayMemories is a complete mess. My MAC freezes and the new updates don't support it. My PC operating software also has issues.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Good Quality Camcorder, but bulky

FDR-AX33 07 January 2020 by anjocoy (United Kingdom)

Received as a gift. Not really sure why this product exists given we all have 4K video recording in our phones these days. In comparison, its very big and bulky. The addition of image stabilisation and ability to record for longer and optical zoom are the only features I can see that are better than a phone video, but not sure how many times I need that in a video I would shoot, remain to be convinced of its place in my life. Other than that it seems a quality piece of kit.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

6

0

Great.

FDRAX33/B 05 January 2020 by Lalo49 (USA)

I bought last year and I am satisfied to had this item.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Meets Expectations

fdrax33b 01 January 2020 by Kdantanner (USA)

Purchased mostly for taking out in the field for videos. The 10X optical zoom was a concern since past camcorders had more magnification, so far it has not been an issue but I think it will be a draw back at times in the future. Sill photos are better than expected, especially indoors under poor lighting. Video quality is excellent for hosting on computer and websites, I have not burned any to disk to play on TV yet, but the quality on small screen makes me think it will be fine when saved in higher resolution. I'm not a fan of Play Memories yet, maybe I will figure it out and it will be fine, but I just purchased another video editor that will handle the 4K to try instead. Not a reflection on the camera itself, just the software.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

my first 4k camera

fdrax33b 30 December 2019 by Ghostman (USA)

I bought this camera as an upgrade to my old Sony Hi-8 cassette cameras. While I still have some use for the older camcorders, I wanted something that had a better quality picture and I'm very happy about my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Suberb cam recorder

fdrax33b 18 December 2019 by Rubean (USA)

This cam recorder made excellent videos in full HD, the sharp and brightness are so spectacular and vivid, I use for my you tube channel and works smooth and easy to operate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony

FDR-AX33 30 November 2019 by Saphire (United Kingdom)

I am very pleased with the product so much fun to play

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camcorder.

FDR-AX33 02 November 2019 by Bassman123 (United Kingdom)

Great camcorder replacing my old well used Sony camcorder

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality - and more!

FDR-AX33 29 October 2019 by TrevorJ (United Kingdom)

I bought this model because my earlier (non-Sony) camcorder lacked a separate microphone input, something I needed when shooting drama/comedy films at my local videomaking club, and missing on so many other non-professional cameras. The lovely picture quality has been commented on by club members - and that's not even using the 4K setting! Plus you can customise so many of the settings - and the SteadyShot feature is great for outdoor hand-held shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Awesome camcorder

FDR-AX33 21 October 2019 by Austin14 (USA)

I received this product for my birthday so I would have a better camera to film on YouTube with, and I love it. The features are great and the quality is so much better than my phone. The internal microphone is also really good. I used this camera at the beach and I could hear my family's voices over the waves and other people. The stabilization feature is super cool too. I really recommend this product to anyone considering. There are always better cameras for thousands of dollars, so you can't compare this to those, but even so, this camera is great. The picture quality is amazing outside.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use - great Handycam

FDR-AX33 09 October 2019 by Alan23 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product recently and used it for my daughter's wedding. A great buy, easy to use, lots of features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0