$1,099.00

(AUD inc. GST)
131

4.3 based on 131 customer reviews

73
40
9
3
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28 April 2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom)

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Magnificent picture, poor sound

FDR-AX53 23 March 2018 by CLR1 (United Kingdom)

Brilliant picture quality is marred by the mechanical noise of the camera picked up on the built-in microphone. I thought this was a fault with the camera I bought and contacted Menna at the Sony support team who suggested returning the camera to Pencoed for repair. Before doing so I checked with John Lewis from whom I bought the camera and listened to their demo example. It made identical mechanical noise thus indicating a design fault. To get round the problem I purchased an ECM-XYST1 microphone which when placed on the camera leaves the hinged cover of the accessory shoe flapping about as it does not appear to be removeable. Had I known all this before purchasing the camera I would not have bought it. I have considerable experience of both Sony consumer and Sony broadcast products - I worked for over forty years for the BBC. I welcome your comments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

131 Customer Reviews

0

Awesome Surprise in a Handheld 4K

FDRAX53/B 07 October 2018 by Michaelangelo (USA)

I'm just a novice videographer, all thumbs. I bought this 4K Handycam because I saw it had a Zeiss lens and when I was using cameras in The Bronx, as a child, I knew it was good. Well, it was more amazing than amazing. The resolution rocked my New York socks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Better than the AX33

FDR-AX53 22 September 2018 by Toastandjam (United Kingdom)

They’ve managed to improve something that was already good. Like the extra zoom capacity and the active steady shot support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

One of the very best photo tools for any occasion

FDRAX53/B 05 September 2018  (USA)

Linda tasked doing the videos while I aimed at the stills for our trip to BOTSWANA last year and ALASKA WILDERNESS this year. The AX53 could not have been more effective, easy to use, somewhat easy to upload to our iPAD and computers. The 600MM ZOOM is awesome. Able to reach the distant leopards, lions, wild dogs in BOTSWANA and to reach the bald eagles and bears and all kinds of water animals and birds... ALSO ... great to capture young grandchildren...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good camera but a couple of things to highlight.

FDR-AX53 30 August 2018 by Geek Street (United Kingdom)

I'm a YouTuber and was looking take my recordings to 4K and improve stability / quality. This camera is pretty good in terms of picture quality and has amazing zoom with optical and digital you get 250x zoom, but I was let down by a couple of points you can't select the intelligent stabilization in 4K and also recording in 5.1 Dolby surround in 4K which is a bit of a disappointment, but in general I'm still pleased with it. I've done a review of this camera including sample footage for YouTube you can find it by searching for ‘Geek Street Sony FDR-AX53’.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Quality high end camcorder!

FDRAX53B 29 August 2018 by grainfarmer (USA)

I bought this to digitize our old family home movies taken back in the 1960's. Wow, did it ever do a great job recording with great clarity and vibrant colors. It is easy to use and has many features to allow creativity. I am so impressed with the feel of the camera in my hand, made with quality and precision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY YOU CAN FILL ME

FDR-AX53 25 August 2018 by Aibek (USA)

SONY YOU CAN FILL ME, Sony is my favorite electronic company.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

it is ok

FDR-AX53 22 August 2018 by Istvan (United Kingdom)

it is very well working

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Disappointed it is only a 10X Zoom

FDR-AX53 22 August 2018 by PeteGirv (United Kingdom)

I am pleased with the AX53 but I am disappointed that it is advertised as having a 20X zoom and it is only actually has a 20X zoom, I do not count the 2X Macro facility as part of the zoom. Otherwise I am pleased with the camcorder, it produces good videos in the good light levels that I have used it in. The Sony software also works well with my Windows 10 computer, some reviews had mentioned problems but I have not had any with the recent software version.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy Use, Great Features, Excellent 4K Quality

FDRAX53/B 20 August 2018 by JimcSpirit (USA)

Have used the camera for a month and provides excellent quality video. Used in low light situations and an external wireless mic. Very satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FDR-AX53 14 August 2018 by Vide (United Kingdom)

Bought this as a gift for my husband. Absolutely thrilled with it.As it is 4K he has connected it to the TV. Picture quality is fantastic sound too . Would definitely reccomendgoodprice too.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good camera picture quality is really good

FDR-AX53 11 August 2018 by chrisms (United Kingdom)

I purchased this product from John Lewis 5 weeks ago what a super camera, however John Lewis were offering a £50.00 cashback from Sony (not John Lewis) trying to claim the £50.00 cashback was not easy to say the least, and I am still awaiting the money back, I had to buy a external microphone for the camera, and set the audio to manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bravo Camcorder

FDR-AX53 09 August 2018 by Aibeck (USA)

Example: I bouThe quality of the footage this camera produces is nothing short of stunning. The optical stabilisation is on a par with aftermarket gimbals and the slo-mo function works brilliantly. The zoom is astonishing - even the digital zoom. At it's price point it is the best there is. Faults? None although the zoom button is too small for me. But that's a minor quibble. This is the current market leader and integrates with all my other Sony gear.ght this a month ago and am so happy that I did...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Camera but software is awful

FDRAX53/B 25 July 2018 by Captcioe (USA)

I recently filmed a couple of weddings and have been trying to make CDs with the software. It’s clumsy and slow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Excellent use, having trouble with some features.

FDR-AX53 24 July 2018 by scaramouche54 (United Kingdom)

This is my first digital camcorder, so I have nothing to compare it against. I found it pretty straightforward to get started, and the 4K video played back on my 2560 by 1440 PC HD monitor looked great. Haven't tried it on the TV yet. Transferring video to the PC is not very clear, I am not sure if I am transferring 4K or MP4. I have not been able to get the wi-fi transfer to work at all: although the network is recognised, the camera keeps insisting I connect with a USB, and the manual is no real help. That said, the wi-fi connection is hardly a problem to me. I don't much like the "Play Memories" software. I cannot seem to change the location of the transfers, from my Windows "Pictures" folder to a folder on one of my support drives (which have far more space). But I would not be surprised if most of this is just what I haven't yet found. The user guide download is very helpful, but I would really like more "help for dummies" such as myself. As a first such buy, I am overall very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice pictures but terrible App

FDR-AX53 18 July 2018 by MCole2460 (United Kingdom)

I bought this one week ago and have now returned it to get my money back. The only way to transfer data, away from home, is the Wi-fi via an App which doesn’t work. SD card does not work with iPad or iPhone to transfer data. Imagine quality is fine but, unless the issues with the App are resolved, if the only other products in your home come from Apple, then this is not the product for you

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Like being at sea

FDR-AX53 17 July 2018 by Paul3780 (United Kingdom)

Brought just over a month ago to film a wedding. The boss system when zooming is not good. It floats about horribly which really shows up in video. I'm going back to try and exchange this product today but fear I won't have any luck so will be stuck with it.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Love this Camcorder

FDRAX53/B 16 July 2018 by Julie Julie (USA)

My first FDR-AX53 had a lot of use and I felt it was getting worn out so I bought a used AX53 as a backup and a brand new FDR-AX53. My second day using it, when I would turn it on nothing would happen. I would have to remove the battery and reinstall it to get it to run. This happened about 6 or more times during the day. Once I had to remove and install the battery twice before it would turn on. I don't remember this ever happening with my old FDR-AX53 in the last 2 1/2 years. It was a warm day, but not that hot. Otherwise I love this camcorder. You can't beat the image stabilization, but I wish the image quality was better when zoomed in.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 13 July 2018 by ggstable (United Kingdom)

I needed needed needed needed to upgrade from CX760 fo 4k

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Well specified highly functional camcorder

FDR-AX53 11 July 2018 by AX53_Novice (United Kingdom)

I bought the AX53 just over a month ago and have really enjoyed using it. The BOSS (image stabilising) feature means hand held zoomed in shots are no longer all over the place. It really works well. The only very small issue is if the shot is a pan and the floating lens wobbles ever so slightly at the end, but it's not a big deal for me. I also like the manual override feature which allows me to compensate for dark interiors shot from outside etc. The camcorder itself is light, but heavy enough to keep the shot steady. It feels comfortable in the palm and all the necessary controls are easy to get at.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not good

FDR-AX53 06 July 2018 by YoungBill (USA)

I read all the sony hype before i purchased the camera. Read all about the manual controls. Sony failed to mention that you can only use one manual control at a time. So if you set shutter speed, you cant ajust the iris and vise versa. The two most important features on a camera. Basically its an automatic point and shoot camera. Cheap junk. My gopro has better controls. I sold the sony within 6 months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Very nice bit of kit

FDR-AX53 04 July 2018 by Download Dave (United Kingdom)

This does what it says on the can, very easy to use the and video quality is impressive at 4k. Battery life is good and menu is easy to get around . Image stabilisation is 2nd to none, really makes the shots very steady.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent picture quality Example: Great features!

FDR-AX53 28 June 2018 by Johnbadger (USA)

I have 3 Canon camcorders and 1 Panasonic camcorder. I use the camcorders with my remote controlled Rover for wildlife and birding. I decided to go UHD and bought 2 Sony AX53 camcorders. One for wide angle and the other for Ultra zoom (120X) using high quality FPL53 lens elements. I am a broadcast engineer and can only say that the quality is phenomenal at the 120x zoom power. However due to the remote control application of the AX53 it would have been nice to have HDMI active while recording. To counteract the lack of HDMI wile recording I boosted the wifi and us the android App.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FINE PURCHASE

FDR-AX53 13 June 2018 by Robbo (United Kingdom)

Operation is reasonably user friendly, except, when used with peripherals not produced by Sony.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great Camera

FDRAX53B 13 June 2018 by Black Panther (USA)

I bought this for vacation and I'm glad I did, worked out perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0