$1,399.00

(AUD inc. GST)
114

4.3 based on 114 customer reviews

65
33
9
2
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28 April 2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom)

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Magnificent picture, poor sound

FDR-AX53 23 March 2018 by CLR1 (United Kingdom)

Brilliant picture quality is marred by the mechanical noise of the camera picked up on the built-in microphone. I thought this was a fault with the camera I bought and contacted Menna at the Sony support team who suggested returning the camera to Pencoed for repair. Before doing so I checked with John Lewis from whom I bought the camera and listened to their demo example. It made identical mechanical noise thus indicating a design fault. To get round the problem I purchased an ECM-XYST1 microphone which when placed on the camera leaves the hinged cover of the accessory shoe flapping about as it does not appear to be removeable. Had I known all this before purchasing the camera I would not have bought it. I have considerable experience of both Sony consumer and Sony broadcast products - I worked for over forty years for the BBC. I welcome your comments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

116 Customer Reviews

0

Like being at sea

FDR-AX53 17 July 2018 by Paul3780 (United Kingdom)

Brought just over a month ago to film a wedding. The boss system when zooming is not good. It floats about horribly which really shows up in video. I'm going back to try and exchange this product today but fear I won't have any luck so will be stuck with it.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Love this Camcorder

FDRAX53/B 16 July 2018 by juliejulie (USA)

My first FDR-AX53 had a lot of use and I felt it was getting worn out so I bought a used AX53 as a backup and a brand new FDR-AX53. My second day using it, when I would turn it on nothing would happen. I would have to remove the battery and reinstall it to get it to run. This happened about 6 or more times during the day. Once I had to remove and install the battery twice before it would turn on. I don't remember this ever happening with my old FDR-AX53 in the last 2 1/2 years. It was a warm day, but not that hot. Otherwise I love this camcorder. You can't beat the image stabilization, but I wish the image quality was better when zoomed in.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 13 July 2018 by ggstable (United Kingdom)

I needed needed needed needed to upgrade from CX760 fo 4k

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Well specified highly functional camcorder

FDR-AX53 11 July 2018 by AX53_Novice (United Kingdom)

I bought the AX53 just over a month ago and have really enjoyed using it. The BOSS (image stabilising) feature means hand held zoomed in shots are no longer all over the place. It really works well. The only very small issue is if the shot is a pan and the floating lens wobbles ever so slightly at the end, but it's not a big deal for me. I also like the manual override feature which allows me to compensate for dark interiors shot from outside etc. The camcorder itself is light, but heavy enough to keep the shot steady. It feels comfortable in the palm and all the necessary controls are easy to get at.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not good

FDR-AX53 06 July 2018 by YoungBill (USA)

I read all the sony hype before i purchased the camera. Read all about the manual controls. Sony failed to mention that you can only use one manual control at a time. So if you set shutter speed, you cant ajust the iris and vise versa. The two most important features on a camera. Basically its an automatic point and shoot camera. Cheap junk. My gopro has better controls. I sold the sony within 6 months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Very nice bit of kit

FDR-AX53 04 July 2018 by Download Dave (United Kingdom)

This does what it says on the can, very easy to use the and video quality is impressive at 4k. Battery life is good and menu is easy to get around . Image stabilisation is 2nd to none, really makes the shots very steady.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality Example: Great features!

FDR-AX53 28 June 2018 by Johnbadger (USA)

I have 3 Canon camcorders and 1 Panasonic camcorder. I use the camcorders with my remote controlled Rover for wildlife and birding. I decided to go UHD and bought 2 Sony AX53 camcorders. One for wide angle and the other for Ultra zoom (120X) using high quality FPL53 lens elements. I am a broadcast engineer and can only say that the quality is phenomenal at the 120x zoom power. However due to the remote control application of the AX53 it would have been nice to have HDMI active while recording. To counteract the lack of HDMI wile recording I boosted the wifi and us the android App.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FINE PURCHASE

FDR-AX53 13 June 2018 by Robbo (United Kingdom)

Operation is reasonably user friendly, except, when used with peripherals not produced by Sony.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great Camera

FDRAX53B 13 June 2018 by Black Panther (USA)

I bought this for vacation and I'm glad I did, worked out perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice but difficult to use

FDR-AX53 08 June 2018 by Nigi (United Kingdom)

The image quality and sound are second to none. So as a pick up and shoot camera it’s perfect. It also has many inbuilt options like a more professional camera but these can only be accessed via a touch menu on the screen making setup very awkward and frustrating. The instruction book supplied is also next to useless.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Super Sony

FDR-AX53 01 June 2018 by Mickieb (United Kingdom)

Good all round video camera great manual features easy to use nicely built cannot fault it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It is good ,but I still learning this

FDR-AX53 27 May 2018 by Revaro (United Kingdom)

I am very exited about this camera and looking forward to start make nice videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing quality movies and perfect sound

FDR-AX53 20 May 2018 by PENDZEL (United Kingdom)

I had a choice between Panasonic hc-vxf1 and Sony fdr-ax53. Maybe Panasonic is a newer model and has a bit more possibilities but for me the highest quality of movies is important and the image from the Sony camera suits me better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Meet my expectations

FDRAX53B 20 May 2018 by amarei (USA)

much easier to work with, as the automated features make what ever you need

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New video camera

FDR-AX53 20 May 2018 by Steve 1000 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this 4K camera as a replacement for my Sony Handycam bought sometime ago

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera

FDR-AX53 18 May 2018 by Wesfoulds (USA)

Best camera ever very fast focus goon low light great quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First impression

FDR-AX53 17 May 2018 by Jwe123 (United Kingdom)

I have made the step from hd to 4k with this camcorder and am not disappointed. The larger camcorder handles well, and the ring makes manual operation much easier than in my old sony camcorder. A big step up in image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good - almost superb

FDR-AX53 16 May 2018 by MPkr (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my AX33 since the additional zoom range is valuable. On wildlife trips around the world I need a light camera. BOSS is superb (as in the AX33) which made me decide on this rather than the heavier AX700 with the larger sensor with faster focusing. Video quality at 4K and HD is superb. The one niggle I have is the same as with the AX33 - the viewfinder - too few pixels and brightness cannot be adjusted. Improving that and putting phase detection autofocusing on the sensor would make an unbeatable small camcorder. The design of the display could be improved. For example the fact that the manual ring is kept on zoom shows a sign in a white box in the display, in an important part of the field of view. I would willingly pay more for the additional features like a better viewfinder, full manual control and higher frame rate 4K.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Like it but found a bad flaw

FDRAX53/B 14 May 2018 by Camcam (USA)

So far I've enjoyed the Camera up until I found out that when I'm using it to live stream... the shutter shuts off every 5 minutes or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Two week review

FDR-AX53 30 April 2018 by Manwithacamera (United Kingdom)

After some inital test usage, I used this camera to record an outdoor musical event. Good feedback from all the artists including a professional who comment on the good sound quality. Disappointed that seemingly no stock of spare batteries currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 26 April 2018 by Gasjkh2 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with my purchase. I bought this model primarily for the excellent BOSS stabilisation system. Great camcorder.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hidden HDMI port

FDRAX53/B 23 April 2018 by Iron Goose (USA)

The Handycam is really a nice piece of equipment. The only issue I see is I want to keep the HDMI cable connected most of the time to my video switcher at church but I can't close the monitor door because the cable is in the way. Like to see the HDMI out port relocated or moved down 1/4" so door will shut with cable connected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera

FDR-AX53 21 April 2018 by mikesachs53 (United Kingdom)

Excellent video camera with the amazing BOSS system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Would Have Been Perfect, But...

FDRAX53/B 11 April 2018 by AlienWaldo (USA)

This camera would have been perfect. It has many great features, the 1080p60 footage was great, but it has one major flaw. After getting my new SD card that would allow me to shoot in 4K I was very disappointed. Once setting the camera to 4K mode and hitting record, the camera would crash. It would shutdown and restart. Formatting and trying a new SD card changed nothing. After looking into it I discovered this was an issue that is known to affect this particular model. The camera was returned and I went with the next best option, the AX33, which after some research, had no instances of recording in 4K crashing the camera. Buy the AX33 if you want to be sure to avoid this issue, if you need the 20x optical zoom that badly then I would just be cautious with expectations of shooting 4K throughout the camera's lifespan.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0