$1,399.00

(AUD inc. GST)
157

4.3 based on 157 customer reviews

90
45
10
5
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28 April 2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom)

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by steambuff (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

157 Customer Reviews

0

Does almost everything that I wanted

FDR-AX53 23 May 2019 by Cornish Lad (United Kingdom)

I bought this last month in order to video family celebrations, holidays and for producing short videos for my YouTube channel. The camera is much smaller and lighter than my previous models which all date back to pre 2000! Optics are great, control is simple, results are fabulous either in 4K or HD. Does almost everything that I wanted except for two small niggles and that is why it only gets 4 stars instead of 5. On all previous purchases of Sony camcorders a remote control was included as standard but, for this one, I had to search the internet in order to find and buy one. There is no onboard memory so a SD card is necessary for the camera to operate and there was not even a basic card included in the package so, again, an additional item had to be purchased just to get it to work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice camcorder

FDRAX53B 29 April 2019 by VaSquire (USA)

I purchased this Sony FDRAX53 the end of March 2019. It is a very nice camera although I have only had it a month. I like the size and weight of it. Fits my hand perfectly with the adjustable hand strap. The LCD screen is very clear and bright. I did purchase a screen hood for times in direct sunlight. The pictures are bright and clear with natural color. The zoom works great as well as the focus. The sound is very good from the built in mic. I did however, purchase the extra Sony microphone. I have not, as of yet, gone through all the features of this camera but will in time. This is my first digital camcorder after having a VHS camcorder purchased in the 1980's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Detailed, dynamic colours, limited manual control

FDR-AX53 04 March 2019 by Jedster (United Kingdom)

Only used a couple of times, solid unit, lot's of YouTube views to get a shortcut to advised settings... Surprised Lens Hood not included (for sunlight), but I like the features and sockets

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome cam

FDR-AX53 28 February 2019 by SWFLaccountabilityNews (USA)

awesome quality, the B.O.S.S system is amazing at providing a stable video while moving.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Disappointment

FDR-AX53 20 February 2019 by Fudrus (United Kingdom)

This camera makes great videos, and the sound is fairly good. But it has a fatal flaw - it is tied to a particular region. If you buy it in a PAL region, such as Europe, it records only at 50/25 FPS (plus 24 FPS). There is no way to set it to 30/60 FPS. The same is true if you buy it in an NTSC region - it records only at 60/30 FPS (plus 24 FPS). Why hobble a great product with this limitation? I want to use it for online videos, and most monitors are 60 FPS. So It would be better to record in 60/30 FPS. But I can't get the camera to do this. The other main flaw with the cameras is the zoom control over the viewfinder - very awkwardly placed and hard to control. The rest of the camera is OK, though the sound quality could be better - tends to pick up sounds from the camera. Use an external mike.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Could do (even) better

FDR-AX53 17 February 2019 by nhm1 (United Kingdom)

I have only had this camera a few weeks and Sony are already asking for a review, which I feel is premature. I bought it mainly because I wanted to move up at least to HD, with some headroom for 4K in the future. I wanted a dedicated video camera with a viewfinder, and the current options for that are limited without going to pro level. I tried out a couple thoroughly in store and the AX53 was the one I felt most comfortable with. So far I am very happy with the quality of the video produced under a variety of conditions. The auto-focus is generally good and the stabilisation excellent. For me the poorest feature is control of the motorised zoom, which I had already identified before purchase. It is impossible to start this really gently, and quite difficult to maintain a very slow smooth speed. If you switch to zoom via the lens ring, control is better but it is well nigh impossible to zoom the whole range unless you are on a tripod. Also if you are hand holding at the telephoto end of the zoom range it is difficult to stop recording without camera shake, so you'll probably need to trim every clip. I feel these are things Sony really need to address in their control system - they are surely basics. One other silly thing which could easily be fixed is that there is an external lens protection shutter, but it is incredibly fragile and could easily be damaged even by something in the camera bag, putting the unit out of action. The first thing I bought was a filter and a lens cap - you would think Sony would at least run to including the latter for a few pence! Finally the camera produces quite an elaborate structure of folders and files on the flash card, and so far as I can see Sony offer no explanation of this anywhere! Yes I found my videos and stills but I had to go on the Forum to try to discover what some of the other stuff might be for...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great features

FDR-AX53 11 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

Has all the features that I want. Great picture quality at a good price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fine camera - with a few drawbacks

FDR-AX53 11 February 2019 by RB_59 (United Kingdom)

I have owned this camera just over a week and I am thrilled with the picture quality but there are a few 'operating' issues I've got to overcome: - the wind noise when outdoors in even just a breeze necessitates the use of an external microphone, I expected this; - the built in monitor has a highly reflective finish which makes for VERY difficult viewing in sunlight. I'm short sighted and the adjustment on the EVF eyepiece is insufficient to correct for my vision so I have to struggle with glasses, again making it very difficult to use. It's a shame everything is menu driven (I understand that on screen buttons mean not having to pay for hardware and therefore keeps the cost and size down) so making changes always necessitates folding out the screen. I'm still getting used to navigating my way round the menu structure but the layout is quite logical. As I said at the start, I'm new to this camera and I'm sure I'll find ways to work around the problems I've encountered, I'm very pleased with the results I get and I will be keeping the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony AX53

FDR-AX53 06 February 2019 by AllCarsChannel (United Kingdom)

I bought a second AX53 because i droaped my first and i damege it (after two years of using). For 800 £ it is the best camcoder wichh you can buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great stabilisation

FDR-AX53 05 February 2019 by airshow22 (United Kingdom)

I bought this on the promise of superb stabilising for the lens, to give smooth filming of aircraft in flight. And it delivers. The smoothest I have ever seen, I think the best possible. Optical Zoom is decent, at x20, with intelligent digital still good quality around x30. Focus can be set to my choice, to avoid autofocus switching from the subject to any post, tree, cloud, etc that the subject passes by. Microphone also has settings to suppress sound close to the camera and wind noise. All features that are important to my chosen subject. Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent pictures

FDR-AX53 25 January 2019 by Timbo55 (United Kingdom)

Can't praiuse picture quality enough, sound is great using a remote mic plugged in, less brilliant from the internal one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, terrible software and support.

FDR-AX53 20 January 2019 by Very disappointed user (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to replace (update) an old Sony camcorder that I'd had for over ten years, which used old HD mini cassettes. I was very pleased with the new camera. However, when I downloaded the PlayMemories software it told me it was an update of the old Motion Picture Browser I was using and that it would remove the existing software. I already had 35 files uploaded onto my PC and assumed these would be readable by the new software (as it was said to be an "update"). However, once I loaded it, the new software refused to recognise these. I contacted their customer support who initially seemed not to understand the issue. Finally, after some chasing on my part and taking advice on theirs, they came back saying that I would have to reload all 35 tapes recorded on the previous camera, although they noted that if I did this they would only load as MP4 files, which would not maintain the quality of my original files. They specifically told me to "please be advised that these two cameras are from two different generations and it won’t be easy to transfer all the contents with the same quality." Fortunately, because I am always cautious when loading new software which removes existing software, I had backed up the old Motion Picture Browser. Once I reloaded this it sits alongside the PlayMemories software quite happily and continues to run the old files perfectly (although I can't run both programs at the same time). Sony should have been aware of this issue and I see it as very poor customer service that they remove Motion Picture Browser when their new software is incompatible with any existing files. Providing the ability to maintain usability between "different generations" is very basic customer support. So, great camera but appalling customer support. I did ask for my email exchange to be passed up to a higher level as a complaint but was told I could only do this by by writing to the European Head Office.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Great quality videos especially in low light.

FDR-AX53 16 January 2019 by Electric Phil (United Kingdom)

Had this for a couple of weeks and experimented with the settings to find out what works best for me videoing bands and artistes often in low light. I am delighted at the quality video results which look a great deal better than my previous Sony CX405. Even the built in mic give very good results but I will be buying the Sony ECMXYST1M.CE7 Stereo Microphone for better stereo seperation which isn't very good on the 53. Check out my youtube page Bands & Venues Burnley & Pendle for my recent vids taken using this Handycam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

almost a very good camcorder

FDR-AX53 09 January 2019 by pitney77 (United Kingdom)

3 months old and used to record football games. Lack of full manual controls lets this cam down plus recently auto focus has been letting me down

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

3

0

Very impressed it has some fantastic features

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by Maltabus (United Kingdom)

It was a Christmas present although I haven’t had the opportunity to use it to its fullest I am very impress and after consulting the Sony help line because of a small problem which they rectified the next day I can only say thankyou sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by steambuff (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Epic quality cam

FDR-AX53 26 December 2018 by SG (United Kingdom)

Works really well for proffesional filming on a small budget. 4k quality outstanding

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic

FDR-AX53 24 December 2018 by lawrence1952 (United Kingdom)

I Ibought this a month ago so glad I did would recommend Sony to anyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use excellent quality footage

FDRAX53B 24 December 2018 by Mcmt108 (USA)

This camera does more than the average person needs it to do. But the switch to 4K is a must if you broadcast video to your big screen tv or larger size pc screen. It is unacceptable to view blurry footage when the technology exists to view it in a sharp form. That is what 4K gives you. So get rid of the old camcorders and make the switch to 4K. But don’t expect to be able to easily transfer this type of footage. It takes a huge amount of memory and requires reconfiguration of the s drive to format the card to transfer the video. However you can film simultaneously in mp4 and 4K and transfer the mp4 with ease. As a young person with children I would only buy a 4K camcorder. Sony makes excellent film equipment because they are in the movie business.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very pleased

FDR-AX53 18 December 2018 by echo mike (United Kingdom)

Have this a month now and it is living up to expectations. best of all the batteries are the same type as my older model . it is a great idea that Sony keep using the same type of connection

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing picture, easy to use.

FDRAX53B 13 December 2018 by JimboD (USA)

I bought this camera for recording my children's basketball games. I was using a Handycam before I purchased this one. There is a dramatic difference between the two. When reviewing games with my kids and team, we can see the picture clearly without any difficulties. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect Camcorder for 2016

FDR-AX53 14 November 2018 by GaryX1001 (USA)

i bought this Camcorder 2016 and it was worth every penny. I want a new one now with HDR, 4K 60/50p and the great Video stabilization!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality product

FDR-AX53 12 November 2018 by bob 001 (United Kingdom)

I was looking to upgrade my present camcorder to a 4k with viewfinder.This was the only model in stock with viewfinder which is essential for videoing motor sports.The quality of image is brilliant but the best feature is the stabilisation system,rock steady picture even at full zoom! Also i recorded the local firework display in fireworks display option,amazing picture and sound quality.So far very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very good camera, low light exceptional shots

FDRAX53/B 10 November 2018 by Ogreworks (USA)

Took a bit to understand things but overall this is a really good camera. Lowlight and night vision . Autofocus doesn't struggle and I"ve done alot of concerts and moving shots. Can't complain at all. Hand grip is a tad uncomfortable for the larger hands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0