$1,199.00

(AUD inc. GST)
186

4.3 based on 186 customer reviews

110
51
10
6
9
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28 April 2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom)

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by steambuff (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

186 Customer Reviews

0

Great choice for 4K video

FDR-AX53 15 March 2020 by Dick1234 (United Kingdom)

Thought long and hard about which video recorder to buy and I am pleased with this one. Easy to use, good quality 4K and value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good video

FDRAX53/B 28 February 2020 by drodly (USA)

I like everything about it but moving files to computer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 22 January 2020 by TB2359 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product just under a month ago and so far, so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

AX53

FDRAX53B 20 January 2020 by Spyguy (USA)

Had some technical issues with the camera not shutting off and having play back issues. Sony did take care of repairing it under warranty. It’s overall all a really good camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I wanted the best and I got it in the Sony AX53 Ha

FDR-AX53 10 January 2020 by Dancing Dennis (United Kingdom)

In the past I have used 35mm and 16mm & 8mm film, both professionally and as a general member of the public, as well as an assortment of Video cameras but it was time to update. I was using a fantastic Canon but this used mini tapes and so I wanted to move up to the next step without hitting the bank account too much. I searched the internet as well as speking to other people who use video and the Sony was always the highest up the list of recomendations. I have only had the Sony AX53 since christmas but have already made two videos which have been up-loaded to YouTube sand Facebook. I am very pleased with the results. We have a trip to India coming up and am really expecting the very best of video recording for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camcorder !

FDR-AX53 19 December 2019 by E456 (United Kingdom)

Bought this very recently. So far I’m very happy with it. Helpful to have stereo mic input jack to connect with mobile receiver and 2 radio mics. picture quality and usability are great. One wish.... more detailed instruction manual. At the moment you have to work through menus and some of the things I just don’t know really what they do or show.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent value

FDR-AX53 21 November 2019 by Hymer1 (United Kingdom)

Still early days, but the features used to date, i.e automatic focus, zoom, wide angle lens and the brilliant stability system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Handheld masterpiece

FDR-AX53 06 November 2019 by Dommyp (United Kingdom)

I brought this to replace a DSLR for filming, and I could not be happier. It’s super fast auto focus, lowlight quality and just general ease-of-use, not to mention how long the battery lasts

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Super 4k handycam

FDR-AX53 02 November 2019 by Videoman of Leeds (United Kingdom)

Owned this fabulous AX53 over two years now, so happy to confirm it has lived up to, and beyond my expectations. It has never missed a beat. Perhaps the best thing is the ability to record 4k images, say a stage widescreen, and then to zoom and crop in post production to feature specific areas of the stage. Doing so still allows a full HD image to be created for burning to blu-ray disc, for example. While manual control is somewhat limited, the auto functions, such as focus and colour balance work seamlessly in the background, allowing glorious 4k images to be captured. I am delighted to see that this model is still available to purchase. Usually such products have a shelf life (before the launch of 'the latest' model) of around 9 months. Well done Sony for keeping what is a superb compact Handycam available for the long run. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic features, not confident about body.

FDR-AX53 25 October 2019 by Lenseman (United Kingdom)

I purchased the FDR- AX53 about two weeks ago. It's got superb feature's and the results are amazing. I love the time-lapse facility and the steady shot is truly amazing. I am sure that there are many more things I will love about this camera and hope I get many years service from it. My only concern is the actual build quality. The door covering the hot shoe seem very fragile and if an external microphone is used the door just flaps in the breeze just waiting to be ripped off, also the tripod mount appears to be very flimsy and not really fit for purpose. there is one shown on you-tube that is being repaired with plastic metal. whether the damage was caused by an heavy handed user or average use I don't know but it does pose a question. The night shot facility failed to impress me compared to the night shot on my ancient but still functional Sony DCR-TRV320E. I hope the AX53 proves my initial concerns are totally wrong, only time will tell.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

love the simplivity of the setup

FDR-AX53 10 October 2019  (Australia)

Bought yesterday and learnin gbnthe camera was exctremeluy simle Super impressed with the stabaliation.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Could be great, But!

FDR-AX53 04 October 2019 by Pack4now (USA)

This camcorder has so much potential, but with the focusing issues after the firmware update, this thing becomes a bear to use. I try to use manual focusing but because of the firmware update, now it will loose focus and it won't come back. The focus ring is almost none usable in a video type situation as you have to turn it so many times to get it back in focus. I would not recommend this product to anyone until they fix it, which it doesn't seem like they are at all. Last firmware update a long time ago. you should take these off the shelves or fix the problems. Last Sony product I plan on buying until quality become better.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great pictures at a value for money price.

FDR-AX53 24 September 2019 by ColCGE (United Kingdom)

I bought the FDR-AX53 HandyCam primarily because my previous tape-cassette camcorder had become problematic due the tapes attracting moisture and dieting the Rec/Playback heads. This being a record to disk model it is really up to the task I wish it to be used for. Its steady shot design is a great boon and the Zoom is - for the price paid - impressive. Two niggles I have, are a microphone jack-input that is placed too near the space required for 'Zooming' and other recording tools needed whilst videoing events. The free software (for MAC's) seems pretty good, but would seem in need of an update - particularly in its 'How to/Help' department. Summary, a value for money product which just misses being really GREAT c/o finishing touches from Sony's design and aftermarket departments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pleasantly surprised

FDR-AX53 24 September 2019 by RetinaGuyInLubbock (USA)

I was a little leery about purchasing a camera released some 3+ years ago, but this thing is a true “prosumer” beast. I have long shot family/recreational videos on various micro 4/3 cameras, but found the zoom capabilities insufficient for capturing my middle child’s Little League baseball exploits. What a pleasant surprise to stumble upon such a well-constructed product absolutely fit for purpose. Pluses: 1/ image stabilization— BOSS is exactly that... boss! 2/ 4K picture quality- looks great on my 75” Samsung TV. Minuses (small gripes); 1/ Monitor is VERY hard to see in bright sun, almost mandating use of the eyepiece; 2/ Sony PlayMemories is an absolute shambles. It took a bit of internet sleuthing to figure out how to upload video files to my iPad/iPhone. Sony and its codecs have never played nice in the Mac universe that I inhabit. Having said that, I LOVE this camera and am altogether delighted that I trusted the reviews of other happy fanboys and girls to take the four-figure plunge. (So delighted, in fact, that I am writing this review... almost never do that.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 20 September 2019 by Xxxxlllll (United Kingdom)

Excellent video quality, and surround sound recording, but surround recording doesn't work when you are using 4K.. Plus no internal hard drive..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camcorder

FDR-AX53 18 September 2019 by Sensualize (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a quality camcorder for some time and my loyalty to SONY contued to bring me back to not only the brand but the AX53 which I can't fault! Amazing piece of kit! I love it and it's ease of use!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4K Handycam

FDR-AX53 30 August 2019 by JLT55 (United Kingdom)

I brought this handycam a month ago mainly because it has a view finder, so far I'm very pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 24 August 2019 by RanaImage (United Kingdom)

I am really happy with this camcorder. It does what it says on the tin.Great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

website

FDRAX53/B 18 August 2019 by Ron Ron (USA)

your website is terrible. i can't access my account after password resets.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

slow motion

FDR-AX53 26 July 2019 by whatatodoo (United Kingdom)

Very disappointing as a casual videographer. The three second auto slow motion is very poor quality. High speed recording shows very poor frame rate despite choosing the recommended format I can only see MP4 files recorded. This is after hours of trying to figure it out from various instructions. What I wanted was a point and click at say half speed with a 100fps say but it requires a degree in videodigital photography to do what is shown in utube examples. I get better results with my £126 CANON legria hf r606 where I choose half speed and point and click but the wings on large sea birds flying show multiple positions, but at least its quick, simple and good resolution.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

focus ring

FDR-AX53 24 July 2019 by Jarapah (United Kingdom)

PExcellent pice of equipment great value for money I would also add that this camera could be used proffesionalally

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good compact camcorder

FDR-AX53 18 July 2019 by Vds1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this because it had a viewfinder as I have struggled in the past to use screens when videoing in bright light. The image stabiliser works very well Sadly I was unable to edit the XAVC S HD and in with my Roxio NTX 7 software However, it did work ok with Windows Moviemaker and Windows 10

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

FDRAX53/B 05 July 2019 by JORTHAN (USA)

AWSOME OPTICAL ZOOM AND NIGHT VISION. ALSO, THE STILL PICTURES ARE VERY HIGH QUALITY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

decent camcorder

FDRAX53B 03 July 2019 by Yama1 (USA)

I bought this for personal use. The HD video is shot in AVCHD is amazing. However there is not much support 4K XAVC-S. Even my Sony PS4 does not play the files???

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0