MDR-1AM2 HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

34

4.9 based on 34 customer reviews

29
5
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

34 Customer Reviews

0

Awesome headohones

MDR-1AM2 09 March 2021 by JohnJt86 (United Kingdom)

I bouth them and I just love them and I will always buy Sony as best as I can.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Comfortable headphone to wear

MDR-1AM2/BQ E 09 January 2021 by anonymous001 (Singapore)

1AM2 is very comfortable to wear, and has great sound quality.

0

0

0

Great features!

MDR-1AM2 02 January 2021 by Jozsi71 (USA)

The sound is fantastic, crisp, and very good, I heard it every day

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very impressed...

MDR-1AM2 22 October 2020 by BigKen (USA)

Purchased a year ago, so I waited before I made a review...I currently run the headphones with a Monolith Portable Headphone Amplifier with THX AAA Technology... The sound is clear, large and powerful...I have taken the headphones on various trips, and were awesome while waiting for my flight, and while on the plane. They are comfortable and durable. My 18 year old son likes them so much, he wants them ( mind you he currently has bass heavy BEATS By DRE PRO) he says that “the Sonys are clearer”...I think I may have gotten him to appreciate music more...nonetheless I’ve purchased the MDR-Z7M2, and I’ll review those as well...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

My eyes have been opened

MDR-1AM2 17 October 2020 by DanO26 (USA)

Excellent headphones to use on the go. I own several pairs of headphones, ranging from $100 up to $1,600. These are honestly some of my favorite. The warm sound, the clarity all punches well above its weight class. Can’t recommend these enough to a person who wants excellent sound quality while on the go.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Exceptional Sound Stage

MDR-1AM2 03 July 2020 by Joey B (USA)

Bought this to use with my Xperia 1 II and PHA-2. A great follow up to the 1A with superb sounds like no other. Registers with Sony Connect app for a truly 360 Audio experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

4

0

GOOD!!!

MDR-1AM2/BQ E 12 June 2020 by PJ Tee (Malaysia)

Nice headphones to buy, good sound and quality, nice look

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic headphones with 1 problem

MDR-1AM2 28 May 2020 by Kiki17 (United Kingdom)

Had these headphones for more than a year now and as headphones these are some of the best at the price range (£100-200) with great design, very light and comfortable with amazing quality. After long sessions of listrning your ears can get hot but that's most closed off headphones. The only major issue is the wire. I have had 3 wires with these headphones and all have broke in less than 6 months. You can't just plug any wire into it as well as they don't fit. So if your wires break out of warranty might be difficult to find a replacement as sony charges £60 for a new wire. If i could plug any wire into these fantastic headphones would be an easy sell to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

7

0

Cool Hi Res Audio Experience

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 14 May 2020 by James Arockiasamy (Malaysia)

Excellent Hi Res audio experience . Happy and satisfied with the product.

0

0

0

Just wow

MDR-1AM2 15 March 2020 by ENT PRESTIGIOUS (USA)

I am very shocked for choosing this over the WH-1000XM3 as they were extremely light and had excellent treble! I used it with the amp one time and it was heavenly! The sound details were splendid and the dynamic drivers made it sound remarkable!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

5

0

Best Bang for Buck Hands Downs

MDR-1AM2 10 March 2020 by TandemTuba (USA)

Easily the most comfortable headphones I've ever worn, and that's saying something from a guy with a big head. Solid construction and crystal clear sound. Was heartbroken when I left them on a plane. 10/10 Recommendation.

6

6

0

Great budget sound

MDR-1AM2 18 February 2020 by Audalter (Thailand)

Very good dynamic and clear voice. Go with Kimber cable then you will never take it out from your ear!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

The best headphone evaaar

MDR-1AM2 14 February 2020 by Orsettopuzzoso (United Kingdom)

Since I bought my new portable device, sony walkman nw a105 I was looking for something special for listening my hi res audio files... And I found it.... I made the perfect match

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

9

0

Surprisingly Very Good !

MDR-1AM2 31 January 2020 by James8989 (USA)

I bought it exactly one year ago. I did not expect Sony to have such a high-quality headphone, as I have only tried their popular models in the past. However, I wanted to give these a try. Using a DAC with these headphones is recommended. This way the sound is rich in details, bass, and clarity. On top of it all, they are the most comfortable I have ever tried. I can easily use them for 6 hours non-stop. 

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

Amazing - An Amateur Audiophiles Take

MDR-1AM2 28 January 2020 by muravis (USA)

I purchased these with my NWZX300 - have had these for close to 1 year now - and god are these good. Personally I always like wired over the wireless - call me old fashioned if you must. But the functionality of the balanced and the regular headphone mixed with good old reliability and ruggedness that comes along with it just wins every time for me. Light to wear and with great cushioning for the head - these are comfortable to the end of the day. Great over the year coverage and isolates external noise without all the noise cancellation jargon very well. Great sounding high's and immaculate deep low's without sounding either over the top or dithering low's respectively - I love these as my 1st purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

7

0

Great comfort, balance tone.

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 19 January 2020 by astider (Thailand)

I bought MDR-1AM2 because my old headphones got broken. At first I compare it with WH-1000XM3 but end up with MDR-1AM2 because I have already owned wireless NC headset so I went with the wired option which is also cheaper. For the performance, it is exactly what I expected. Clear high, clean voice and moderate low. The bass is there and it is good but not too much which I prefer this way. (My old headphones is kind of studio reference model and has very little bass so I am now accustomed to just fair bass. The earpad is good, really comfortable. I can wear it all day long without take it off. ButI still prefer WH-1000XM3 style over this one. I am not sure if this model will continue or will be replaced by h.ear series. The new h.ear 3 series are in store right now so I recommend you try them and compare before buying this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Truly excellent

MDR-1AM2 08 October 2019 by Steelbeam (USA)

I've had other entry-level audiophile headphones in the past, but this is the most expensive pair I've ever owned. I was a bit nervous that these might not have been worth the price, but I'm happy to say that they're worth every single penny of $250. Sound quality is wonderfully good. Bass is ample but not overboosted and stays full into the frequency range. The bass begins to roll off at about 25Hz, which is lower than what you can perceive as a note anyway. Treble sparkles without being piercing or tinny. The only aspect that leaves something to be desired is the build quality - 100% plastic. Everything still feels pretty sturdy, but I'm somewhat worried about whether they'll hold up after a couple years of use. However, since it still doesn't feel "cheap", it's not enough for me to take a star off. Awesome product, would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

7

0

Super comfortbale; Naturally sounding

MDR-1AM2 24 September 2019 by Valentin La (USA)

These are the most light and comfortable headphones I have had or tried on! Regarding the sound: there is just the right amount of bass, the high frequency range is also definitely there, although I have not listened to any 11.2 MHz DSD files. It will be easy to drive the MDR-1AM2 by any portable source thanks to their low input impedance. The material and design quality is acceptable for headphones at this price, but time will tell.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

It is a great headphone to be use by all people

MDR-1AM2/BQ E 28 May 2019 by Fly7wild (Malaysia)

I was glad i spent almost thousand dollars and it is very worth it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great sounding after EQ'd

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 15 April 2019 by CepSafwan (Malaysia)

so first thing first, i am a guy who prefers great vocals in a headphone, but at the same time having good presentation of musical instruments as well. At first,these phone sounds terrible. bloated bass, thin mids, mashed treble that are just there, no details in sound at all, and sibilance everywhere. Everything is so jumbled up. Had to turn the volume up to hear the details i want. I even had my regrets after i bought these. I even having that thought of selling is back. lol Then i let it play different sounds and songs for a week plus, then it slowly changed! The bass are now controlled and there is no more annoying bass bump. Mids are becoming more forward. treble, though are not perfect, are becoming more clear and clean. instrumental separation are great. But still, it is still high in bass for me. had to EQ down the bass and a bit of treble to make it more comfortable for hearing. now its more balanced and great. the comfort, are the best. it is light, and though many reviews are saying that the earcups are quite small, for me it is perfect. the padding is soft and airy however, got sweaty if used in hot condition. breaking is are vital for these to sound best. i dont usually believe in breaking ins, but comparing to my sony N3 that i have been using for these year, i can say that i am not just adapted to the sound, but the sound did really change to the better after some usage! on conclusion, the sound isnt impressive for me, but it is real good. for the price, its just okay if you love sony signature, but i got these on massive sale, so its worth it. if you are really critical for a nice sounding perfect phone, go for higher end. but it will definitely be more costly.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super light headphones

MDR-1AM2 15 March 2019 by lil_bean (USA)

This is just a brief review but these headphones are very light compared to other headphones I have. These are definitely the lightest headphone I've worn. Sound quality is really good too, it's got some emphasis on the low end but maintains clarity on the mids and highs. Only con is the cable that comes with the headphones are thick and heavy which makes quite a bit of noise when you walk around due to the cable rubbing against clothing. I solved this by using my slimmer, lighter Sony WH-CH700N cable and it's a lot better now. Other than that I find that the Sony MDR-1AM2 is very enjoyable to listen to, and paired with its weight and portability it doesn't disappoint especially when you get them on sale.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

3

0

Awesome sound

MDR-1AM2 14 January 2019 by Soaring Eagle (USA)

sound is clear like being at a concert , could not ask for anything better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good sound

MDR-1AM2 30 December 2018 by sky1996 (Hong Kong)

Comfortable, Good quality. I pier this with Zx300. It have a 4.4mm cable out of the box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best Audiophile Headphones Under RM1,000

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 16 December 2018 by roeslan (Malaysia)

I had this headphone for 4 weeks already after longing for it since March 2018 Finally bought it last month after price went down by RM300 (~USD75) since launch. I've been "critically listening" to music for almost 40 years using equalizer, sound editor, etc (even though I don't consider myself an audiophile per se) and I honestly say this is the best headphone I've come across - to the point that I want to re-listen all my tracks for over the last 3-4 decades! I've tried other headphones, even more expensive models like flagship MDR-Z1R and new ANC champion, 1000XM3 but neither one can beat the MDR-1AM2 when it comes to sound quality. The MDR-1AM2 is almost perfect - 1) the bass is excellent, tight & punchy, 2) the mid-range is clear & crisp making vocals distinct & precise while 3) the treble is very good with bit of "rolling off" & not too sharp to the point that it hurts your ears eg. too much sibilance. Overall, under hi-res settings on my Xperia Z5 Premium (without EQ), the MDR-1AM2 is a very balanced headphone with bit of that Sony deep low-bass signature, natural mids and smooth highs. I would highly recommend this headphone...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0