$149.00

(AUD inc. GST)
63

2.7 based on 63 customer reviews

13
14
3
9
24
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Volume control difficult to operate

MDRRF995RK 13 July 2017 by MikeHapp (USA)

So far I can find only one negative issue with these headphones, and that is the volume control. It is buried in the molded case so far that it is very difficult to find and use when wearing them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

garbage

MDR-RF995RK 30 August 2018 by RZ49K3 (USA)

I thought I could live with awful range of these headphones have by buying a stereo extension cable and placing the transmitter a few feet from where I would normally sit, but after a few weeks the left side would cut in and out. Giving it a good smack would get it working again, isn't that nice! I finally realized it would be better to throw these away than continue to be frustrated by them.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

63 Customer Reviews

0

Terrible Product - Unexpected from a Sony Product

MDR-RF995RK 07 July 2019 by Durandal (USA)

My father-in-law bought these as a replacement for some Sennheiser wireless headphones that lasted several years. These lasted a few months before one side lost sound, and then shortly afterward no sound. Also, the power connector wore out quickly, requiring jiggling and adjustment just to get power. There isn't much inside the base station; unimpressed that something with a tiny circuit board made by a name brand could be so poorly made.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Bad Experience

MDRRF995RK 15 June 2019 by Idolopr (USA)

This is the third one I buy and has been the worse ,less than a year old and I can only listen to the right channel.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

2nd pair - both fell apart

MDR-RF995RK 19 April 2019 by Zeek10 (USA)

I bought these headphones and the soft plastic cushion started to disinergrate after 6 months. After taking off there would be little black pieces of plastic on my ears. Bought another pair, same thing happened. The sound quality also got worse over time.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Battery and cutting out issues.

MDR-RF995RK 09 April 2019 by None Dumb question (USA)

Bought this just a month ago. Battery charge lasts 4-5 hours only and sound intermittently cuts out.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Poor sound

MDR-RF995RK 06 April 2019 by eric12 (USA)

I've just got it from my close people, with excitement, I using it and what I received is the noise, even how many time I change my channel, The noise keeps going to appear in my ears and I finally better use my speaker than this headphone.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Great Headphones!

MDRRF995RK 12 February 2019 by GrandpaDrew (USA)

Bought the headphones approximately 8 months ago and love them. The only reason I did not give them a five star is because the rechargeable battery died already and it had to be replaced under warranty.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bad Battery. Worked for three months/died

MDR-RF995RK 08 February 2019 by HSTR (USA)

Bought in November 2018, battery died February 1, 2019. Battery costs $43 to replace. Truly a bad experience.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Old ears, new sounds

MDR-RF995RK 07 January 2019 by Old Dave (USA)

I received a set of your Stereo Headphones (model # RF995RK - purchased at Best Buy - Grand Rapids, Mich) as an xmas gift in 2017 and have truly enjoyed using them. Unfortunately both ear pad segments have cracked at the junction between the headpiece and the ear pads and the unit is only usable thanks to that marvelous invention known as Duct Tape. I'm going to try to glue them together with a 2 part "A" / "B" Epoxy, but if that doesn't work, Please tell me that you've either improved this design or the warranty is for the life of the product, if owned by the original giftee. . The right ear pad is hanging by the wires and the left ear pad is cracked in two places.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not bluetooth

MDR-RF995RK 28 December 2018 by greg b (USA)

I bought these for my wife to take to the gym to listen to her i-phone. Didn't realize they had to be plugged into an AV output. Not very convenient to haul the stereo to the gym. I thought wireless meant wireless. What a waste of $110!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

18

0

Comfortable and great sound.

MDR-RF995RK 18 December 2018 by Clear view (USA)

I have had mine for more than a year and they still work great. Extremely comfortable, and great sound and easy to connect to other devices. Battery life is very long and holds a charge a long time. I only rated M 4 * because they are a little bit large but that probably adds to the comfort, and if you were to exercise in them which I do if you exercise too hard they might get a little bit loose I wouldn't recommend running in them probably.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Changes needed

MDRRF995RK 18 December 2018 by Relaxer (USA)

I have had the headset for 4 months and it is just OK. The sound volume control is difficult to adjust unless you remove the set. The battery died a month ago and I am still waiting for replacement. After about 3 hours of listening my ears feel the pressure no matter how I adjust the size. The sound stops often unless I change my head position. I would not recommend this headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

0

Poor sound quality

MDR-RF995RK 10 December 2018 by Bens loss (USA)

I bought my set and from the onset, the sound comes on and off constantly. I can sit in the same location and move my head an inch or so either way to turn back on. It's like the sound is being blocked. Very disappointed in this Sony product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Bad Battery

MDRRF995RK 25 October 2018 by hardofhearing (USA)

Worked fine for 3 months then battery would not hold a charge. Expected more.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

nice feel

MDRRF995RK 07 October 2018 by verni (USA)

I bought these headphones in June of 18 it is now October of 18 and the left ear isn't working right have to up the volume to make it work

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Disappointed

MDR-RF995RK 02 October 2018 by Auna (USA)

I purchased these headphones for my dad so he could hear the TV better without having to blast the sound in order to hear. The setup was easy and sound quality was good. Unfortunately they stopped working in less than 1 month. I thought my dad may have been charging them incorrectly so I went back to Best Buy to purchase a new battery. Best Buy doesn't sell replacement batteries, neither did Amazon for this model. So I returned the headphones to Best Buy and exchanged them for a new one. Here we are 2 months later and we are having the same issue. The battery is not charging. I am very disappointed as Sony has always carried quality merchandise.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Sound is good but...

MDR-RF995RK 15 September 2018 by Unhappyin San Diego (USA)

I bought this for my husband 2 years ago. Now the covering on the ear phones and top fo the unit is shredding resulting in small pieces of whatever the material consists of all over my husband's head and my house. Can't seem to find a replacement cover that fits the round configuration of these headphones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Done work

MDR-RF995RK 07 September 2018 by Tomk882001 (USA)

Just got a set for my mother in law, Best Buy said easy to set up, well it is not. The wiring that came with it doesn’t ‘t work with her tv. Time to take them back. Do your self a favor and don’t get them to began with.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

0

garbage

MDR-RF995RK 30 August 2018 by RZ49K3 (USA)

I thought I could live with awful range of these headphones have by buying a stereo extension cable and placing the transmitter a few feet from where I would normally sit, but after a few weeks the left side would cut in and out. Giving it a good smack would get it working again, isn't that nice! I finally realized it would be better to throw these away than continue to be frustrated by them.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Very good unit

MDRRF995RK 28 August 2018  (USA)

I have had my ear phones for 6 Months and they work great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stops working in a couple of months

MDR-RF995RK 27 August 2018 by knews (USA)

I got these for my mother who needs headphones for her TV in her assisted living center. The first pair worked for about 5 months then stopped charging. No matter how long they are connected to the charger, they do not turn on at all when taken off the charger. I bought a second set rather than waiting for the warranty/repair to be done so my mom had headphones to watch TV. The second set stopped working (exact same problem) in 3 months. Reading other reviews here, this seems to be a common problem. So there is a fundamental flaw with these headphones. Sony replies to most post with this issue to follow their troubleshooting guides. The guides do not address this except to say the battery may be dying. But the battery dying in a few weeks to a few months is a major issue especially since the battery is not available in retail. I highly recommend looking at other products for wireless headphone needs.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Sound cuts in and out

MDR-RF995RK 14 August 2018 by these are terrible (USA)

The sound doesn't always come on when the TV is turned on and then the sound cuts in and out all the time. Very annoying. This is the second set like this and they both did the same thing, I have to return the first set after three weeks.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Delayed sound when Using

MDR-RF995RK 08 August 2018 by rlcstlle (USA)

bought this a week ago and easy to setup to my tv. But as I use them the sound does not come on right away. I have to turn the power button on headset off then on again. a little annoying!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Replacement of a older one

MDR-RF995RK 20 July 2018 by verni (USA)

I was happy with my last 900 series so had to buy a new one after 5 years of use

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

goodead fit

MDRRF995RK 20 July 2018 by vern2 (USA)

This is a replacement for my older one the broke. seems like a better set up quality wise

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0