44

4.5 based on 44 customer reviews

35
4
0
1
4
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

44 Customer Reviews

0

the best headphones at this price

MDR-Z1R 17 March 2024 by 100icki (United Kingdom)

In my opinion, the best headphones at this price. fantastic build quality and the best sound I've ever heard

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exquisite

MDR-Z1R 28 August 2023 by Glen Knight (Australia)

Great listening with a perhaps an overkill on the packaging box. Supplied adapter jack was pretty basic but they're basic anyway. 4.4 cord could have been the same length as the other cord supplied. As for listening the headphones are fantastic and they are vey comfortable to wear. Great built quality even listening to my old Sony 152SD cassette deck they brought out sounds on old cassette tapes that I hadn't heard previously. Expensive but you get the best closed set of headphones you are ever likely to need.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Premium quality.

MDR-Z1R 09 May 2022 by Intrakota (United Kingdom)

I bought these Z1R headphones without trying them because I couldn’t find anyone who had them in. Sony we’re less than helpful in locating them or the TA-ZH1ES amplifier and the IER-Z1R either. Now they want me to review the Headphones, well they are overpriced at £1749, I paid £1650, Amazon were asking £1549.81 but in the end couldn’t supply them and so they cancelled the order for me. The build quality is a mix of premium materials, the sheepskin leather cushions are exceptionally comfortable, the 70mm drivers angled towards the ear provide for a well balanced presentation although for me a little brighter with the mid tones would be nice having said that some material is recorded “bright” so this really does depend on the type of material you are listening to, I’m currently using Tidal Masters. The headphones are a great sleeping pill, they can put me out like a light, the resonance filter works very well leaving total silence between tracks. As with everything, what suits one persons taste doesn’t suit another, I’m happy with them although that huge case they come in is really a nuisance and of little use once the headphones are in use plus everything is black, black case black interior, black Chinese cables, black cable wallet and of course the headphones themselves are - you guessed it. Maybe a nice maroon plush interior next time Sony, something warm and inviting. No carry bag/case is provided. Cables - 2 cables are provided, a 3mtr 3.5mm cable makes good sense but the Pentaconn 4.4mm cable is 1.2mtr long - WHY, why can’t I have a 3mtr Pentaconn cable, I’m going to have to sit at or lye on the floor next to my system to use this useless accessory. I did buy some Dekoni velour ear cushions as an alternative to the sheepskin, these can be changed very easily without the need for tools. I do wonder just how premium this Hi-Res equipment actually is, I believe you can judge this by the length of the warranty and in this case it’s a very paltry 12 months, so……. In comparison my basic TV has a 5 year warranty. Would I recommend this product to a friend, I would let them try them and they can make their own mind up as to wether they like the sounds they produce but for the next question I’ll answer yes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

5

0

Sony - Z1R Premium Headphones

MDR-Z1R 05 December 2021 by EC01 (United Kingdom)

Great build quality, light, comfortable & great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Excellent Headphones.

MDR-Z1R WW2 17 September 2021 by HBPanda (Singapore)

I bought this together with the TAZ-H1ES Headphone Amplifier and NW-ZX507 Walkman Player. The sound produced is amazingly good. Vocals and instruments are very clear even not at high volume. Staging effect is excellent. Even music from downloaded CDs and Music Streaming Service like Apple Music sound excellent - almost as good as Hi Resolution tracks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The Reference Standard for Closed-Back Headphones

MDRZ1R 22 May 2021 by Arvin C (USA)

Every once in a while, a manufacturer decides to give their designers and engineers free reign to design their dream product. I'm firmly convinced that Sony did just that with the MDR-Z1R. These headphones are a statement product, an example of a company with considerable resources deciding to assault the notion of what a state-of-the-art headphone could be. From the moment you open the packaging, experience the feel, weight and finish of them, you can tell these are so, so special...and you haven't even heard what they sound like yet! But, then you plug them into your preamp/headphone amp/DAC/player/phone and que up a song (High-Res/CD-quality work best). And you find that this song that you thought you knew so well sounds quite different...that there's more to the bass line than you ever thought was there, that the snap of the snare and crash of the cymbals were never this immediate or clear, that there was such space and depth to the presentation, but with more localization of each instrument and vocal than ever before. And then this song ends, so you play another...and others still...until three hours later, the only realization that can come is you've never experienced your music like this before because you've never had a headphone like this before. Not one with the pace, rhythm and drive, especially in the bass and mids...with such authority over the whole musical presentation. One that is so easy to listen to, with no glaring issues or misses, and without a hint of listening fatigue. Is the Sony MDR-Z1R perfect? No...and that's because if you're a fan of open-back headphone designs, you won't find the airy, spacious sound presentation that the best headphones of that design have. But, I will say these Sony's present with a wider, deeper soundstage of any other closed-back I have ever heard, without ever getting too bright or analytical like some reference open designs do. So, in the end, the Sony MDR-Z1R headphones are quite simply the current reference standard for closed-back headphones. And, if like me, you prefer the sound of closed-back cans, these are the finest headphones on the market today.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

3

0

Awesome headphone

MDR-Z1R 26 April 2021 by The E (Philippines)

I have the z1r for about 2 weeks now. My only regret is that I did not buy it soon enough. I was swayed away by initial online reviews of prominent reviewers. Lesson learned, if you can, always audition first vs just reading about it online. This headphone is pure fun. I have the HD800 and while that is clearer, it's not as fun as the z1r. I am still keeping the HD800 though and selling the LCD-X. Soundstage is unbelievable for a closed back headphone. It is very easy to drive and would sound good out of your phone. The packaging itself is the best I've ever seen, screams nothing but premium. If you have the means and you're looking for the ultimate personal listening experience, consider the z1r.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound quality and quantity!!!

MDRZ1R 23 February 2021 by crazydave (USA)

I have had these headphones for about a month now and I can't believe how great they sound! They far exceed my Sennheiser HD650's in every way! They are soo clear and full sounding, they play very loud also if you like.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

My first serious Headphones

MDRZ1R 09 February 2021 by damon69 (USA)

I love the sound of the Z1Rs. Strong bass without distortion or detracting from the Mids suits my music tastes very well. Paired with a stack of excellent Schiit components, the Z1rs provide the highest quality sound I have ever experienced. They are also beautiful in their construction, and more than comfortable. I couldn't be happier with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

A True Flagship

MDR-Z1R WW2 23 January 2021 by Ashraf Azlan (Malaysia)

Thundering bass that doesn't bleed into the clean mids, and just enough treble energy to make even the most subdued songs come alive. The MDR-Z1R offers something most flagship headphones lack—fun.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

very good quality, but not good for the price tag

MDR-Z1R 05 January 2021 by slangy_savant9PS4 (USA)

i absolutely love these headphones! bought them for my pc. great quality, superior sound. only problem is, $1800 bucks. its a crazy amount for headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

14

0

The best headphones I ever own.

MDR-Z1R 19 December 2020 by Andrewtst (Malaysia)

The sound is so purest, crystal clear vocal, deep bass, no single pitching or distortion at all. Absolutely stunning!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Everything I hoped for

MDR-Z1R 14 October 2020 by physicsapplied (USA)

I'm a relative newbie to the audiophile world. A few months ago I decided to slow down a bit and get a smoking jacket, a really comfortable chair and the best set of headphones and amp I could get my hands on. I spent countless hours on the internet, listened to some friends cans and then did some value based judging. I initially rejected these because I was convinced Sony's time had passed. The more reviews I saw, the more I got past all the marketing from everyone, the more I realized that so many headphones, if not all, have their own unique signature and that I would never be in a room with all 50 prospective cans to try for myself. I enjoy EDM music mostly, but also bluegrass and other acoustical genres (country, rock). More and more I realized that these closed back headphones were probably perfect for me. I took the plunge and ordered them. I practiced delayed gratification and gave them an appropriate burn in phase. I am 110% satisfied with my purchase. The craftsmanship with quality weeping from every detail is there. They are comfortable, not too heavy, but can get slightly warm on the ears. The soundstage is immersive and the base is smooth and rich. No fatigue that I've felt yet. I do own a few other similarly priced top name brands and can tell you that these are the best crafted and the most pleasurable phones I own. I save the box for all of the audio gear I buy, just in case I ever decide to sell it down the road. I save this box for safe packaging when I move. I will own these until I'm ambient temp. I would buy again without hesitation. Every time I go to my comfy chair (no smoking jacket) and sit down with a glass of wine (or soft drink), close my eyes and put these on, I go away. Really, really far away and it's magical.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

5

0

The best headphones i ever had

MDR-Z1R 28 March 2020 by Mission Control (USA)

Very nice sound, light, confortable. I buy also the kimber cable balanced i´ts a must the bass response makes a different experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

20

0

Best Closed back headphones ive ever tried

MDR-Z1R WW2 21 January 2020 by joshfc2001 (Malaysia)

The soundstage on this closed back over ears are great and overall very comfortable and durable cans. My only mistake was getting the IER-Z1R which makes the MDR inferior. The IER does everything the same as the MDR but just sonically better from all angles. Now I hardly listen to my MDRs.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Amazing. Sony Returns as the King of Closed Back

MDRZ1R 14 January 2020 by center (USA)

Amazing closed back headphone. The leather is very good quality and smells amazing. The build quality is top notch. The most comfortable pair I own. Although MDR-Z1R tends to be a bit genre specific (leaning towards dance, hiphop, and electronic music), it is a great overall performer. It's a little recessed in the mids and +12k for rock and roll, but it is just a such a great chill headphone. A lot of genres sound very good. Bass is so tight and has authority. Nothing is muddy, just really relaxed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

18

0

Horrible i wish i could give it 0 stars

MDR-Z1R 21 August 2019 by Sean7282873 (USA)

Don’t buy this, ordered it and it broke within the first day, thought it wasn’t unlucky ordered another and it broke again. Horrible product

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

194

0

Amazed every day, all over again....

MDR-Z1R 23 July 2019 by adirob1 (USA)

I've never spent so much money on headphones, especially as I purchased with the top of the range Sony portable DAC (NW-WM1Z), and i did so because i wanted to know for myself if the reviews are real. I'm no audiophile, but i have been blown away time and time again, literally...laugh out loud experiences are continual. I have nearly 5000 albums and i'm slowly working through them like i'm hearing them for the first time. To Sony - thank you so much for investing in the R&D and team to allow them to create such an array of products that for those of us willing to make the financial sacrifices can enjoy. I've never liked a product so much, and i'll continue to be an ardent follow of all future Sony hi-res audio equipment, this entire experience for me was unique and mind blowing and i just can't wait to go to bed every night to escape into my music. I'm obsessed with listening to anything and everything on these headphones. And every day i'm amazed...its a gift that keeps on giving. Just WOW. To the Z1R product team - thank you sooooo much, i'm so, so grateful to enjoy my music with these!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

15

0

Excellent audio!

MDR-Z1R WW2 10 March 2019 by Icyman (Malaysia)

Bought this to add on to my Walkman, just superb! The sound quality is really beyond my expectation!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great build and sound!

MDR-Z1R 19 January 2019 by vaiosam (Hong Kong)

Coming from MDR-SA5000 and Z1R is excellent out of the box, this also works well with PHA-3.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

3 months now and I'm still being impressed

MDR-Z1R 07 January 2019 by Z4Mcoup (United Kingdom)

The quality of the materials used for the headphones and storage box are first class. Adjustment and comfort during use is excellent. I power them with a Chord Mojo DAC amp. Having studied some reviews before I purchased them, I was aware of the “laid back” nature of the sound reproduction, which in turn has led to some negative responses. With this in mind I would recommend that anybody considering purchasing them has an extended demo, to realise their full potential. Be careful though --- it will probably end up with you having to own them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

53

21

0

Best closed back headphone in the world!

MDR-Z1R 25 December 2018 by lag81 (USA)

Exceptional sound quality! They've got a superb build quality,very durable and they are very nice looking headphones! I'm really impressed by these cans! Thumbs up Sony...you've done a really good job on making us happier with our music!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31

13

0

Sony Z1R Headphone review

MDR-Z1R 15 December 2018 by Conrad123 (USA)

Bought these headphones for a test. I am pretty disappointed. The product is overpriced.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

139

0

CHALLENGE..... PLEASE TAKE IT

MDR-Z1R 17 October 2018 by superprim (USA)

The sound is amazing... Beyerdynamic T1 gen 2 Were my go to before these came into my life. I am not an audiophile and for that matter neither is anyone else. Our ears are so custom that it I all about finding what makes your hearing "feel'

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

39

13