MDR-Z7M2 HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

$1,199.95

(AUD inc. GST)
18

4.6 based on 18 customer reviews

15
1
1
0
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

18 Customer Reviews

0

My Review for MDR-Z7M2

MDR-Z7M2//Q WW2 29 April 2023 by R Joshi (Singapore)

I purchased the headphones a few weeks ago and it is a good product however has some drawbacks I purchased these headphones simply for the 4.4 mm Balanced output in the Sony DAP NW-ZX707 that I had purchased. 1) The Bass output is not good at the most you get a medium Bass not a heavy bass. I have tried all setting combinations but still !! 2) The ear covers are soft but hot and you sweat inside after some time. Overall, I am satisfied on average since the price tag demands a premium a premium product. I did test them against other brands before purchasing and it was the best of the lot but with the above limitations.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Comfy and sound good

MDR-Z7M2 14 July 2022 by baby_geers (Australia)

They’re much more comfortable than a lot of headphones out there, they’re great quality and don’t feel like they’re going to dissolve and flake off, and they sound really really good.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Under-rated: Comfort and SOUND!

MDRZ7M2 17 April 2022 by conductorman (USA)

I'm a musician, a teacher, and a longtime fan of SONY products. I have SONY in every direction I look, from televisions, cassette players, CD players, and HEADPHONES. I have a worn-out pair of MDR V600s, a very nice pair of WH-1000XM3s, and I recently got the MDR-Z7M2s. I needed a very high quality, high resolution headphone for for music production in my studio, including for composing and ultimately for mixing. I did a lot of research, and there are a bunch of good cans you can choose from. I tried the very highly rated Beyerdynamic DT 1990 Pros and the Beyerdynamic DT 1770 Pros....and well, I returned both for pretty much the same reasons. Both models were sonically boring, and required a ton of power to get going. And both were much too heavy for my use. I read a review of comparable products and saw the SONY MDR-Z7M2s mentioned briefly. But the reviews I found were un-flattering. I took a chance. I've had such great luck and success with SONY products over the years. I couldn't afford their flagship MDR-Z1Rs, but the MDR-Z7M2s compared favorably. I ordered a pair, and there's been no looking back. ONCE AGAIN, I have gone with SONY for being innovative in research and design, and for making very high quality products that will last. I love the sound of the MDR-Z7M2s. I won't manufacture a bunch of irrelevant and unsubstantiated fluff about "soundstage" and whether this-or-that is crisp or muddy. When I put my SONYs on they sound rich, punchy, crisp, accurate, fun...and they FEEL GREAT. They are comfortable, they are not heavy, I can wear them for hours. The exude build quality, both when you hold them in your hands and when you put them on. They are efficient, and I can drive them easily with my audio-interface in my studio. As an aside, they sound GREAT with my phone, but their primary job is in my studio. I did pick up a portable balanced DAC Headphone Amplifier to use with my phone and the combination of the SONYs and the DAC is incredible. Again, SONY has made me a very satisfied and loyal customer. Don't believe the hype about other cans, and the fact that some reviews have ignored the SONY MDR Z7M2s. The SONY is a very good product, design and sound. Once again, SONY is the premiere in sound quality, build to last, professional products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Everything that I expected!

MDRZ7M2 17 March 2021 by Rkg8 (USA)

A perfect match for Sony's NW-ZX507 Walkman - great sound and they are big but really fit good and don't seam heavy at all. Quality is excellent and they are very well built and should last or years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Top quality item

MDRZ7M2 13 February 2021 by Charles60 (USA)

I bought this a year ago and am so happy that I did the right choice. Alwayse getting the fantastic music, foreigner language etc.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Sound Perfection

MDR-Z7M2 10 February 2021 by monousa59 (USA)

My oh My! The Sony MDR-Z7M2 are so good at reproducing all the sound. I was so satisfied when i put them on and realized how comfortable they are. The over the ear design covers my ears so that my ears are inside the hole of the earpads. The seal is great. I used them with an outboard dac and amplifier connected to my IPAD. Listening to fast moving fusion jazz. The headphone is able to keep the electronic and wind instruments easily recognizable in the mixes. These cans have me boppin! Great presentation by Sony also. I am now listening to the Beatles.John Lennon's voice is true. The guitars are sparkling. Hand claps can be heard in a natural tone. The drums are in the back of the room but the symbols and high hats are showing full decay. All in all I can say I can and will be listening to a lot of music with the Sony MDR-Z7M2 headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Big hi-fi sound

MDR-Z7M2 10 January 2021 by Joshua123 (USA)

outstanding, detailed, clean headphones. The sound is immersive and wide with clear imaging, probably the best closed back headphone I have. I have had these for over a month and like them very much. My setup is an Asus laptop using Schiit Modius dac with Magnius amplifier stack. Plus I'm using a balanced four pin output and the sound couldn't be better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

The best set of cans I’ve owned thus far...

MDR-Z7M2 09 November 2020 by Keny B (USA)

Recently purchased the MDR-Z7M2 to replace my MDR-1A, and I have to say that these headphones are leaps, and bounds better than anything else I’ve used thus far...Currently I’m running the cans with a CHORD MOJO connected to my iPhone with the ONKYO HF Player App...the impact and clarity are outstanding, the size of the drivers are ridiculously huge, when I put them on, the foam cushions basically mold to the shape of my head and seals in the “musical juices”...I’ve yet to take them on a trip, but have used them at work, at home, and in between...GREAT JOB SONY!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

A Sony Audio masterpiece

MDR-Z7M2 24 August 2020 by Joey B (USA)

Beautiful hardware, exceptional audio quality with versatility to scale beyond with its big drivers. The Sony house sound is present and I am loving it. This is my indoor set on my nightly sessions. It works good with my Xperia 1 II but not enough room to stretch it's legs like with the NW-ZX300. The sound is just next level like the rest of the current Sony Hi Res lineup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

14

1

0

Stunning sound

MDR-Z7M2 18 June 2020 by Kewl hunter (Australia)

When I initially bought these I was a little underwhelmed on an old walkman using standard headphone connection but I upgraded to an NW-ZX300 and used balanced connection and wow what a combo. These headphones needed the power of balanced connection or headphone amp, but with that they sound incredible. So accurate and detailed and regardless of music type and whether it's new or old, the quality is stunning. DSD tracks or CD quality, it all sounds fantastic. Although the NW-ZX300 has lots of sound settings I now just leave it on direct source and trust the recording engineers as these headphones sound so good on everything. Reference standard sound

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Beautiful sound stage and build quality

MDR-Z7M2 28 October 2019 by augie7107 (USA)

I don't pretend to know everything about audio reproduction and audiophile quality but I can close my eyes and see Frank Sinatra at the front with brass on the left and strings on the right with the balanced cable plugged into a ZX-300. I had the MDR-Z7 initial release and these are a measurable improvement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

8

0

great sound

MDR-Z7M2//Q WW2 20 July 2019 by at1008 (Singapore)

Bought this to fully enjoy sound from NW-WM1A 4.4mm balanced output.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

i like the sound of sony, but awfull design.

MDR-Z7M2 14 April 2019 by MusicLovers (USA)

i just dont understand why they do this awfull design in a pair of headphones of this price, they even dont include lambskin earpads, wich would cost them $2 more than the synthetic manmade leather, wich could cause you any kind of disease. and yess apart from ordering new lambskin earpads for an extra price, they would change the sound signature, the cable attachment is terrible to me. i regret that beautifull sound. will not reccomend for the price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

29

0

Dynamic and high frequency sound

MDR-Z7M2//Q WW2 28 February 2019 by Syamil (Singapore)

Bought at a discount price PWP for 50% off 9 FEB 2019 For this price tag it amazed me and pure quality sound Especially deep bass and all kind of bass can be heard with this headphones. Soundstage very impressive almost on par with the Z1R. Its perfect for sony 360 Reality audio which they used Z7M2 for the recent event. Be amazed for the high mid and bass. Build quality almost same as Z1R only downside its ear pad not as removable as z1r. I hope there is tutorial how to remove the earpad cushion. Well done for the team for the amazing products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing sound quality

MDR-Z7M2 05 February 2019 by ramto_8 (USA)

First thing, i got this headphone at a very good price. I think $899 is a little too much lol and if you look around you can get them cheaper. These headphones sound amazing but you really have to let them burn-in for a long time!!! This is key to make them sound their best. When you use them for the first time, they will sound 'bloated', too much bass, not enough treble. However, after burn-in, they will sound much better/controlled/open. The highs/treble is very smooth which really help for long listening sessions. Despite not having the widest soundstage (as expected of closed-back), sound separation is very good, I can easily pick up different instruments. I actually found them much easier to listen to than my open-back headphone (despite having a wider soundstage). I think that's what people describe as vertical separation. I can drive them using my mobile phone (the included silver coated cable helps here) but they sound best when using a dedicated dac/amp. I use a sony pha-2a with the balanced cable. They feel well made, of high quality materials and comfort is very good. The pads will take some few seconds to 'mold' around you ears and provide a very good seal to block outside noise. This contribute greatly to overall sound quality. One thing to note: if the weather is hot, they will tend to heat up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

71

12

0

none

MDR-Z7M2 18 January 2019 by gaygirl (USA)

i bough them and dollar tree head phones were better

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

10

443

0

Smouth perfection!

MDR-Z7M2 25 December 2018 by lag81 (USA)

I bought recently these cans by curiosity and they really blown my mind! I own the Z1R also and i couldn't believe that they come close to each other in terms of sound. Alright, the Z7M2 are not in the same league with the Z1R but if someone cannot afford the cost of Z1R, the Z7 are really a very very good alternative option! I'm not gonna enter into sound details beacause i's gonna be a huge and boring review but i have to tell you that they really worth every penny! Sony, thumbs up again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

57

10

0

My first High-End Headphone

MDR-Z7M2//Q WW2 18 November 2018 by Alvin_T (Malaysia)

This is my first high-end headphone, i feel very excited and it didn't disappointed me as well, it's nice and sounds really very very good, i use this headphone with their original factory cable, and i just plug-in to my laptop, don't have any amplifier, so i cannot get a full effect of the sound. But i still feel good because their sound quality is very nice, u will feel very exquisite sound, vocal, nice bass without bomb ur ears and u will experience the sound that more trend to real sound and so on. I won't feel any uncomfortable after i wear this headphone after few hours.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0