$549.00

(AUD inc. GST)
172

4.5 based on 172 customer reviews

122
26
11
7
6
Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Brilliant steep forward

WH-1000XM5 30 May 2022 by _b12 (United Kingdom)

## Design - No folding available in this iteration, just the usual cup tilt and pan. Works for me, don't mind the lack of foldability. - I personally appreciate the new design and can describe it as far more sturdy and quality feel. No more plasticy sounds when adjusting the headphones or moving your head - The cups are comfortable, with memory foam, coated with some kind of artificial leather - The proximity sensor is no longer visible(compared to M4), but is still there - Headband is comfortable and narrower. However, when at the gym and bench-pressing/dumbbell fly they still slide back off my head. - Approx. 5gr lighter on the scales than previous models. I can't really tell the difference when wearing either model, so doesn't make a difference to me but appreciate the change. Overall a welcome change. The cups seem a bit thicker in profile than previous iterations but overall with same comfort and nice fake leather coating material. Those are a fingerprint magnet(if you have the black headphones). Yet I prefer this design. The mics are quite visible though and given the grills are the trademark bronze/gold colour they stand out. Not really a fan of that color choice but given what it provides in other departments I have made my piece with it. Might not be for anyone. Definitely though would prefer the mics grills color to be same as the cups color. ## Active Noise Cancelling and mics - 7 visible mics positioned strategically around the ear cup for noise cancelling and voice calls - wind noise reduction is significantly improved (in NC mode only) - while listening and for the other side of a phone call - voice calls recipients no longer complaint about muffled or unclear speech, difference is quite audible. - Adaptive mode is very accurate in changing profiles both action and location based. Super useful in your everyday commute, gym, run/walk and in the office due to personalised ambient sound levels available through the app. You can save frequent locations with predefined ANC/ambient sound levels. Manually entered several of those and all worked well. But that is more on usability and the mobile app, yet worth mentioning. Overall very happy with the improvement in noise cancelling, especially in windy conditions such as the one I encounter every day in my park walks. Gym feeling is the same top notch. ## Buttons, controls and inputs - Same two button operation plus the same gesture controls as before: double tap, swipe up/down/left and right and tap and hold with palm - Still no dedicated button for multipoint connection control. You can pair the headphones with two devices and switch between them but only through the app. I really believe a dedicated button provides far better user experience - Same USB-C charging with fast charging available - Same audio cable provided to connect to your device if you do not want to use wireless - Same touch controls on the right cup, quite responsive and with nice sound feedback ## Connectivity - BT 5.2 - I appreciate that every iteration is supporting the latest BT protocol - Same frequency response as previous models in wired or wireless mode ## Features - Supports most Digital assistants - Google/Alexa/Siri - Connected apps option - chose what connected and supported app to run when double or triple clicking the NC button. I am using Spotify and when double click the NC button music starts playing from that app. - Speak-to-chat feature where once you speak transparency mode is activated until your voice is no longer picked by the headphones mics(5/15/30s or auto timeout). No more sing along in this mode :) - Battery life claimed is same as previous models - around 30h. I managed to get ~22h(100% down to 20%) with adaptive mode on and volume 30-50% . Quite a good deal. It could be different for you based on your prefered volume levels, EQ and NC mode. Worth noting that I received a firmware upgrade(1.1.1) right after the test. ## Sound - Playing the same song with default EQ seem to give this new XM5 a clearer mid-range than previous iterations(XM3 and XM4). For the casual listener I doubt it would make any change. For me personally I always use the EQ to adjust mid-high frequencies and also crank up the Clear Bass to +7. You must hear it for yourself with your favourite track to be able to appreciate the difference. - Quite a big technical change is the new drive - 30mm down from 40mm but with some better insulation and lighter mats such as carbon. Frequency response is same both wired and BT. All that signifies a change in the drive cavity and how bass resonates to produce the same quality low frequencies. - Each and every one of us has slightly different sensitivity for different frequency bands and self preferences as well therefore a head to head comparison of the output over a microphone(with different frequency sensitivity bands and possibly remastered post recording) gives some perspective but is in no way a fair depiction of what you, yourself, might take out of those headphones(or any audio device for that matter) and classify as "good" or "bad". Overall seem like an improvement(in the mid-range frequencies) and very much so appreciated. An audiofile will definitely hear a difference if comparing with predecessor. I still do and yet I am not a professional audio engineer. Given everything I mentioned, if you had any previous WH1000X model, I can describe this new one as a good step forward. In any other case prepare to be blown away. Coming from the other two brands competing with Sony will still feel very different and an improvement in most aspects. A very welcome upgrade I'd say - noise cancellation, audio quality, connectivity(with the exception of multipoint management) are all top level. A must have for travel on the tube, going to the gym or for a walk in the park. Adaptive ANC is brilliant. I very much want to see a hardware change for multipoint device management on the headphones themselves. Maybe a dedicated button to switch between connected/registered devices. Also, can't wait to see what Sony can offer in future iterations with regards to further improving noise cancelling, especially dynamic wind noise removal and would they offer multi-drive and true DD5.1(that would be amazing!) version of this product one day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not comfortable for glasses wearers

WH-1000XM5 29 May 2022 by Me_me (United Kingdom)

Previous models are more comfortable. If you wear glasses these make a rubbing creaking sounds around the leather surround on the ear. It's actually annoying and frustrating. The top head band is thinner and less cushioned that older models and less comfortable for longer periods. Unable to use dual bluetooth if you want LDAC and high quality which is the whole reason you just spent nearly £400 on these headphones. So all in all actually feel disappointed, the MX3s were pretty decent albeit mine are falling apart after a few years usage.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

172 Customer Reviews

0

Love the sound but annoying software hiccup

WH1000XM5/BME 13 August 2022 by Mus91 (Malaysia)

I bought recently because I want to upgrade my old headphone. One of the reason is want to experience better sound and mic experience. The other basically features like Bluetooth 5.0 allow multi connected device which little disappointed, volume keep going to max each time switched between 2 devices.

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

XM5 - an upgrade for an ANC headset series

WH1000XM5/BME 08 August 2022 by Effendy (Malaysia)

I am a fan of the XM series since XM1 and the headset series never fail to impress me. The improved design while missing the headset flip function; the new design seems fit perfectly and not too tight. One of my issues with the previous versions of the XM series was the microphone. and the XM5 solve the issue. Now I can seamlessly connect to calls and I am not using my company headset anymore. Also the multi device function works like a charm; I can listen to my favorite music while connecting to my teams call. Happy for my XM5 and I hope Sony surprises me with more upgrades soon

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Upgrade from MDR1A

WH-1000XM5 07 August 2022 by Frigginfast (Australia)

Got these for inflight entertainment and they are out of this world for NC.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Brilliant product

WH-1000XM5 07 August 2022 by Gazhudson1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a week ago so when I’m in a plane I have silence on the way, they work and are of premier quality. The are so reliable and responsive to any commands.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent quality

WH-1000XM5 06 August 2022 by Jay101100011 (Australia)

Can't go wrong with Sony, leader of the pack as always

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Good but …

WH1000XM5/SME 06 August 2022 by Nalaoey (Singapore)

Yes been using it almost everyday … the cups tends to get warm. App not optimized for iPad format.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound.

WH-1000XM5 06 August 2022 by Hypess (Australia)

My husband got me these for our holiday and they were perfect for the flights

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Best noise cancelling

WH-1000XM5 04 August 2022 by MrGee (Australia)

I bought this pair of headphone and use on airplane ✈️ , the noise ANC is amazing! You will barely hear the plane noise when ANC is active and music is on.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great

WH-1000XM5 04 August 2022 by Pb123 (Australia)

Very happy good product noise cancelling is very great and good on the ears

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

feel the quality

WH-1000XM5 04 August 2022 by Denden (Australia)

Very happy with the purchase, the headphones as light and comfortable and the noise cancelling is excellent, cant hear the wife nor kids.... Only improvement could be a larger or more distinct on/off button so as to not fumble in the dark.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great features

WH-1000XM5 03 August 2022 by Behnam1351 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and me so happy

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Slick and Comfortable

WH-1000XM5 31 July 2022 by Joshua (Australia)

Great sound and so Comfortable, the best quality headphones i have ever purchased.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Good Noise cancellation

WH-1000XM5 31 July 2022 by Raveel (Australia)

Don't like the shape of it but it is lighter then it previous model. Sound is good.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Best noise canceling

WH-1000XM5 30 July 2022  (Australia)

I bought it 2 weeks ago and I’m delighted! Best noise canceling and sound quality!

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Master-crafted headset.

WH-1000XM5 30 July 2022 by MasterKrakenz (Australia)

This is an absolute beast of a headset, it has absolutely exceeded my expectations and more. I'm so happy Sony has addressed the microphone and hiccups from the XM3's. Thank-you, truly. Outstanding product.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Amazing product. The sound is so much better now!

WH1000XM5/BME 28 July 2022 by Nagendran (Malaysia)

I’m upgrading from 1000-XM3 and I never regretted it!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Headset, Exemplary!

WH-1000XM5 27 July 2022 by Sbha8398 (Australia)

I bought this a week ago, and boy I am happy with my purchase. NC is immaculate, UI, App integration, Assistant Integration just put the icing in the cake as well. Audio is Crisp. A must buy!!!

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great ANC and Comfort

WH-1000XM5 26 July 2022 by Mambus (Australia)

This is last month everything seem pretty good apart from the battery life that sometime ran out before the 30hrs mark

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Superb. Great sound quality.

WH-1000XM5 26 July 2022 by Roger Lord (United Kingdom)

The best and most comfortable headphones I ever had. Well done Sony.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great sound but not as premium as the previous ver

WH-1000XM5 26 July 2022 by Markscottuk (United Kingdom)

Great sound quality and light on the head but does not collapse down like previous models and geeks more flimsy

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Best Quality on the market

WH-1000XM5 25 July 2022 by Kiki0327 (United Kingdom)

Best quality headphones on the market, great sound quality and ANC

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Amazing sound and simple

WH-1000XM5 25 July 2022 by BC83 (Australia)

Really happy with the buy, sounds amazing and cuts out the sound exceptionally well even with glasses. Can switch between phone and laptop simultaneously however teams does play up a little

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Superb Headphones - Best in class

WH-1000XM5 22 July 2022 by Adam (United Kingdom)

Really glad I purchased these headphones. Although I am no audiophile, I think the sound quality is superb. The noise cancelling is also incredible. The headphones are also extremely comfortable to wear for long periods of listening. I would highly recommend this product.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great sound !

WH1000XM5/BME 20 July 2022 by jfynwa (Singapore)

I received it the day before it’s launch and it has been a joy to use for my commute & inside my room.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0