$449.00

(AUD inc. GST)
207

4.2 based on 207 customer reviews

96
79
12
10
10
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

This Unit Deserves Your Serious Attention

DAB/FM 21 October 2015 by The Blindman (United Kingdom)

I'm fussy and do a lot of research before I buy. I really didn't think the sound quality would be up to much on such a compact unit but this 40 watts unit blew me away. Really worth the price hike over the 20 watt unit. Its all round depth of sound is amazing, much more complete to my ears compared to a rival brand costing 3 times as much. Some reviews really worried me with their poor ratings on DAB reception, and even my retailer said we sell this on Bluetooth and not its DAB capability. Fingers crossed I plugged it in and to my amazement it down loaded all the DAB stations and gave faultless reception. I hadn't even unwound the cable aerial and that's the way its gonna stay as reception is so good just the way it is. Summing up ... Great compact design with excellent features and a fabulous sound. Thank you Sony you have a new fan.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good BUT...

DAB/FM 17 September 2014 by Gessler46 (United Kingdom)

Lovely sound and easy to set up but.... big problems for me on the radio reception front, this despite having no problems with FM or DAB on other radios (expensive to cheap) running on built in indoor aerials. In my case (and as some others have indicated in reviews) :- 1) FM is effectively non-existent no matter where I place the aerial, and 2) DAB is good when I can receive it but placing the aerial to receive all stations has been extremely problematic. Apart from a less than straightforward aerial positioning (placing the aerial in a specific direction and then turning it at a right angle halfway along its length) to receive all stations - which I arrived at after half and hour of "fiddling" - the options were either national stations but no local (BBC Sussex and Heart Brighton) or vice versa. The option to upgrade the aerial (within or outside the house) is not available as the plug for the supplied composite FM/DAB wire aerial is one unique to Sony. An upgrade to solve this is urgently needed. Bottom line, beware if you are a heavy user of radio, it's not the best as regards reception but when it works, it's fine (as are the other inputs / outputs)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

207 Customer Reviews

0

Great mix of connectivity and CD

DAB/FM 12 October 2020 by pwil_1845 (United Kingdom)

Great product with options for connecting to devices, and comes with CD player and DAB radio as well. Only downside is the quality of the aerial and its socket.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

DAB/FM 31 August 2020 by Ray55Gina (United Kingdom)

We are really enjoying our CD the sound is great well worth the money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good replacement for old hi-fi unit

DAB/FM 12 July 2020 by GrannyS (United Kingdom)

Bought this recently, still haven’t used it much. I found the remote a bit fiddly when setting up. I felt the instruction could have been in bigger print. On the whole pleased with the product and once I have mastered all the features hope to get full use from it. I am pleased with the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

COMPACT UNIT

DAB/FM 08 July 2020 by PEGGYTHEPLUG (United Kingdom)

GREAT UNIT (Q) HAVING TROUBLE TUNING IN DAB. I HAVE TWO RADIOS WITH DAB ONE HAS A CD. ONE HAS NOT SO WENT FOR THIS MODEL, THE FM TUNED IN FINE SO A BIT DISAPPOINTED IN THAT. CD GREAT. WILL KEEP THE UNIT AND PERSEVERE WITH THE DAB,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice speaker but has faults

DAB/FM 07 July 2020 by Ajay4444 (United Kingdom)

I bought this mostly because it’s a Sony, and you ban never go wrong with a Sony right! It all works ok and connects with my I phone but when my daughter and wife tried to connect their I phones it would not connect. Even when I disconnected they still could not connect. Took it back to John Lewis they could not fix it and as I can’t find the receipt they nothing more they can do. I then went on Amazon and found a gadget for £12 to enable the other I phones to connect so it works now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Perfect

DAB/FM 02 July 2020 by Rustycat 1 (United Kingdom)

Exactly what I hoped for as a present for my husband. Great sound quality and easy setup instructions. Thank you Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Effective

DAB/FM 26 June 2020 by Billy the Fish (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a poorer quality one. It's great, does everything we want!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CD NFC BLUETOOTH FM DAB.

DAB/FM 19 June 2020 by Kingfisher1 (United Kingdom)

I needed something to play all my dad's old CDs and I never owned a speaker before, and this was the best system I could find in my price range. It is very good!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I wanted

DAB/FM 18 June 2020 by Pompadour (United Kingdom)

Excellent all round product never disappointed with any of my Sony purchases been buying sony for many years .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CD ecellent not so happy about DAB radio

DAB/FM 17 May 2020 by paultandy (United Kingdom)

I bought this product two months ago found the CD function really good but was disappointed with the DAB radio and struggled to read screen on top when any sunlight was in the room I am now using my spare DAB radio for radio enjoyment

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

quality

DAB/FM 09 May 2020 by anyone new (United Kingdom)

had this a few weeks now pleased with sound quality and ease of use. only drawback is the remote which has a cheap feel about it and seems to be very directional

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great sound

DAB/FM 03 March 2020 by not one11 (United Kingdom)

I bought it a month ago and ahttps://www.sony.co.uk/image/33101235909b2c8a1882f8b31a4c0e36?fmt=png-alpha&wid=280m happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound

DAB/FM 25 January 2020 by Cherryplum (United Kingdom)

I bought this so I could play CD’s and stream music in my bedroom. The sound is amazing and it’s very easy to use the system. Had an issue with the remote not working today but followed online instructions which solved the problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Does what it says on the tin

DAB/FM 09 January 2020 by Foremalda (United Kingdom)

I was given this item for Christmas. Haven’t used it that much as yet

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fabulous little CD player and radio

CMT-X5CD 09 January 2020 by Papa Jim (United Kingdom)

Our old Sony mini Hi-Fi bought many years ago could not be repair when the laser went in the CD player. We decided to look for a replacement and came across the CMT-X5CD with radio, Dab radio and speakers. It is tiny in comparison to our old HI-FI but the sound quality is far better and was easy to set up and use. The only thing it lacks is the ability to play cassettes which we have many of - just have to buy a cassette player then.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sound Quality

DAB/FM 05 January 2020 by M B T4 (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound quality. Feels like a well made product, easy set up

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent except!!!!

DAB/FM 02 January 2020 by Melanor (United Kingdom)

The product performamce when playing CDs is superb with a rich sound. However, the main reason we purchased this device was for the radio which we usually we enjoy BUT the pathetic bit of wire supplied that purports to be an ariel is absolutely useless. We have absolutely no reception. The Sony site and others (even John Lewis from whom we bought it) seem unable to suggest how reception can be improved. We have questioned Sony and await an answer that, in our view should be available to everyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Sound quality is very good, but!

DAB/FM 27 December 2019 by Alondonartist (United Kingdom)

The sound is great for cd’s. The silly wire aerial for DAB listening is difficult to position and sometimes needs repositioning if it gets slightly nudged. The biggest problem is presetting radio stations. Manual tuning is no problem but presetting stations is impossible. I follow the instructions, which seem clear, but always finish up with the radio doing a complete scan for DAB stations. I wish someone would tell me what I’m doing wrong. I haven’t tried FM yet. The other problem is the operating instruction sheet. It’s poorly laid out so that I must constantly refer back to LOCATION of Controls in order to do anything. There should be a location of controls diagram beside any instruction section. Make it a booklet not, as it is, a single sheet with instructions on both sides. It does look good sitting on the book case shelf.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Personal Audio System

DAB/FM 27 December 2019 by Lazza55 (United Kingdom)

Bought as a Christmas present. Slim, well made with good features, but unable to tune in DAB stations. A shame as this was the main reason for the purchase. Was however, able to use Bluetooth function to connect to smartphone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent except!

DAB/FM 11 December 2019  (United Kingdom)

Really enjoying listening to this Sony, great range of features ensures plenty of choice. However what possessed Sony to not include a suitable telescopic aerial. The wire supplied really let's this product down. Sound quality is very good on all inputs. Perhaps an optional external aerial option?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great sound

DAB/FM 07 December 2019 by julyetta (United Kingdom)

bought it recently to replace the radio in the kitchen and its been a delight, easy to use, great sound, and looks quality and doesn't take up too much space.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good looking

DAB/FM 30 November 2019 by just william (United Kingdom)

It is OK lacks Bass/Treble adjustment. for my Study background music fine

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound

DAB/FM 13 November 2019 by cuda (United Kingdom)

Purchased one unit was so pleased brought another one Easy to use great sound Would recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DISAPPOINTED

DAB/FM 08 October 2019 by MSBEJB31 (United Kingdom)

Brought this to replace an old Sony HI-FI and the DAB radio is useless in fact the FM stations are not much better not impressed with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0