$449.00

(AUD inc. GST)
177

4.2 based on 177 customer reviews

82
68
11
7
9
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

This Unit Deserves Your Serious Attention

DAB/FM 21 October 2015 by The Blindman (United Kingdom)

I'm fussy and do a lot of research before I buy. I really didn't think the sound quality would be up to much on such a compact unit but this 40 watts unit blew me away. Really worth the price hike over the 20 watt unit. Its all round depth of sound is amazing, much more complete to my ears compared to a rival brand costing 3 times as much. Some reviews really worried me with their poor ratings on DAB reception, and even my retailer said we sell this on Bluetooth and not its DAB capability. Fingers crossed I plugged it in and to my amazement it down loaded all the DAB stations and gave faultless reception. I hadn't even unwound the cable aerial and that's the way its gonna stay as reception is so good just the way it is. Summing up ... Great compact design with excellent features and a fabulous sound. Thank you Sony you have a new fan.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good BUT...

DAB/FM 17 September 2014 by Gessler46 (United Kingdom)

Lovely sound and easy to set up but.... big problems for me on the radio reception front, this despite having no problems with FM or DAB on other radios (expensive to cheap) running on built in indoor aerials. In my case (and as some others have indicated in reviews) :- 1) FM is effectively non-existent no matter where I place the aerial, and 2) DAB is good when I can receive it but placing the aerial to receive all stations has been extremely problematic. Apart from a less than straightforward aerial positioning (placing the aerial in a specific direction and then turning it at a right angle halfway along its length) to receive all stations - which I arrived at after half and hour of "fiddling" - the options were either national stations but no local (BBC Sussex and Heart Brighton) or vice versa. The option to upgrade the aerial (within or outside the house) is not available as the plug for the supplied composite FM/DAB wire aerial is one unique to Sony. An upgrade to solve this is urgently needed. Bottom line, beware if you are a heavy user of radio, it's not the best as regards reception but when it works, it's fine (as are the other inputs / outputs)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

177 Customer Reviews

0

sounds great

DAB/FM 30 May 2019 by electromum (United Kingdom)

just arrived today and i'm trying it out at this moment sounds great for such a simple piece of eqiupment i like electro and heavy rock music the machine handles them both well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

DAB/FM 22 May 2019 by Pdh53 (United Kingdom)

We've had this over a month now and enjoy listening to our music and the radio. The sound is great and the look isfantastic. Still getting to know the finer detail of the user manual but very pleased we bought It.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DAB is a joke

DAB/FM 19 May 2019 by Letdown5 (United Kingdom)

When you buy a Sony product you expect quality, the DAB radio on this is a joke, get better DAB on a £29 portable radio than on this system. What a disgrace to put this out for the price with a flimsy aerial lead that only just gets FM, usually a good area for DAB where I live, not with this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Rubbish DAB Radio

DAB/FM 25 April 2019 by Who really cares17 (United Kingdom)

Whilst I like the sound produced listening to the Bluetooth input, the DAB radio is rubbish and will only pick up BBC stations. Would I buy another of these? NO.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sound quality is very good and it’s easy to use

DAB/FM 25 April 2019 by Christobel (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago and am happy with the product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

DAB/FM 02 April 2019 by Pete35 (United Kingdom)

BOUGHT THIS TO REPLACE MY AGEING TECHNICS SYSTEM WHICH HAD HIGHER OUTPUT OF 30 Watts MRS. BIT SCEPTICAL WHEN I UNPACKED IT AND SAW THE SIZE OF IF BUT HALF VOLUME IS MORE THAN AMPLE IN OUR KITCHEN. THE DA RADIO WAS AMPLE TO SET UP. BLUE TOOTHING FROM MY LUMIO PHONE ALSO EASY TO USE . HOPING TO PUT MY CD COLLECTION ON USB . OVERALL VERY PLEASED AND WOULD RECOMMEND.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautifully compact & good sound

DAB/FM 20 March 2019 by Effgee (United Kingdom)

Replaced a very old triple CD unit which wasn't that large but it's great how much space this unit saves even compared to the old one. Am not a hifi enthusiast looking for bose quality sound so you have to judge if its good enough for you but I find it more than good enough for my needs : USB connection on the rear is just right.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Product

DAB/FM 08 March 2019 by lizziejam (United Kingdom)

Compared to the old system that I had for many years, my new Hi-Fi system is so neat and compact. Obviously no record deck but don't use if often anyway.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound machine

DAB/FM 28 February 2019 by Healaugh (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my old cassette/CD player The sound quality is excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, but perfectly formed... almost!

CMT-X5CD 20 February 2019 by Adrian774 (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace a CD micro-system which was no longer micro! Excellent sound quality, compact and unobtrusive and technically portable (although that isn't really practical). Almost every possible input options but unfortunately it doesn't recognise all USB devices (possibly only Sony?) although as ours had a 3.5mm jack output as well it was not an issue for us. I bought a 90° angled mains lead so that it fits closer to the wall. It could really do with an LED backlight as in low light the controls are almost impossible to see. Fortunately there are few on the unit so you can do it by memory! Overallpleased with the product - slightly expensive, but I seem to have got what I paid for.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product!

CMT-X5CD 16 February 2019 by Walley66 (United Kingdom)

Bought the Sony Bluetooth speaker/ CD player last month. I wanted to link a turntable to speakers without the need for trailing leads! This product fits the bill exactly and is ideal in our smallish living room.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

DAB/FM 09 February 2019 by Katrina825 (United Kingdom)

Love the look and the sound quality. CDs great. Lots of problems tuning dab and fm can’t seem to get access to many stations

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good sound

DAB/FM 07 February 2019 by Sony nutter (United Kingdom)

Brought for my wife for Xmas, happy with it. Except the pathetic 1meter bit of wire for an aerial!. Why does it not have a chrome retractable aerial which can fold down and clip into the back/top rear edge?? Also, the buttons on the top are not marked clearly enough to see them, a torch comes in handy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Sound

DAB/FM 30 January 2019 by Levingtonjed (United Kingdom)

I bought this radio to replace our old CD/Radio player so we could access DAB. This Hi-Fi system is very easy to set up and use. Links well with my iPhone 7 for Spotify etc.. Very good sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing radio function

DAB/FM 21 January 2019 by Samsgirl (United Kingdom)

I bought this system a month ago and was very pleased with the Bluetooth and CD functions. However, the radio function is very disappointing, apparently because the antenna supplied is not adequate. I am persevering with it, trying to find the best solution as I don't want to return the system - it looks good and the other functions work well. I'm just very disappointed that, having paid so much money, things are not entirely satisfactory.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Many good features

DAB/FM 12 January 2019 by Dave12DPW (United Kingdom)

Good sound production of this item. It fits well in our kitchen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Hi Di system

CMT-X5CD 07 January 2019 by Dougbailey (United Kingdom)

Good looking but with superb sound A very good value machine

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Suited my needs

DAB/FM 06 January 2019 by Alan 1956 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to play cd and stream music never used radio

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great CD playee

DAB/FM 06 January 2019 by 49pam (United Kingdom)

My old 3 change cd player gave up and I bought this as a replacement form review information. It is neat and has a remote and I like the sound too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to operate

DAB/FM 06 January 2019 by Rob987612345 (United Kingdom)

Simple to operate and decent sound.................

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No USB Compatibility with other devices than Sony

DAB/FM 03 January 2019 by guyintheuk (United Kingdom)

Had a similar model before and worked fine for 5 years before packing up, couldn't be repaired. This new model has no USB compatibility with many other USB devices (Ipod/Iphones/Samsung) included - so beware if that's what you're looking for. Checked with Sony and they advised to check their USB compatibility list on their website before buying :-) too late!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

good features

DAB/FM 26 December 2018 by walshy (United Kingdom)

it was a re commended by some one who has been pleased with sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Compact music machine

DAB/FM 23 December 2018 by Bearded Dave (United Kingdom)

Brought this two wedks ago in order to play our large cgd collection. Few other units around especially from a good manufacturer. I have now added it to our Sony tv, Sony Blue ray player, Sony hard drive recorder and Sony digital camera . Haven't yet mastered all its capabilities but sure will be exceptional

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great sound

DAB/FM 17 December 2018 by wadey (United Kingdom)

This product is great value compact and terrific sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0