Starting at

$8.00

for Pink model

(AUD inc. GST)
71

3.4 based on 71 customer reviews

37
5
1
7
21
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Worth for money

MDR-E9LP 11 September 2017 by Jeya (Malaysia)

It's worth for money. the music is very clear and nice compared to other products.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sound quality is terrible

MDR-E9LP 11 January 2021 by Helen_Sh (USA)

Old Sony headphones were my favourite ever. I was so happy when found new ones. And so disappointed when tried them. The shape is smaller and they fall out of my ears. The cable is thin, plastic and pathetic. And the sound is flat, bassless, quiet. Very disappointed in Sony.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

71 Customer Reviews

0

No Bass, poor sound quality

MDR-E9LP 16 February 2021 by Sibagariang (Indonesia)

Don't buy this, i bought it 2 weeks ago and sound horrible

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Sound quality is terrible

MDR-E9LP 11 January 2021 by Helen_Sh (USA)

Old Sony headphones were my favourite ever. I was so happy when found new ones. And so disappointed when tried them. The shape is smaller and they fall out of my ears. The cable is thin, plastic and pathetic. And the sound is flat, bassless, quiet. Very disappointed in Sony.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Very comfortable and sound good enough

MDR-E9LP 31 December 2020 by Evie11 (USA)

Most headphones give me a headache if I use them for more than a few minutes but these are some of the few I can use for hours and never get a headache. They don't have a mic or in line controls and while I find the sound quality perfectly fine, it's nothing crazy. With how cheap they are I would strongly recommend this if you don't mind the lack of a mic or in line controls and especially if squishy style headphones give you a headache.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Needs a version 2

MDR-E9LP 14 December 2020 by Crayoneater (USA)

I like this design but it has 0 bass, maybe in the future make a version2 with bass

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect and clear sound quality.

MDR-E9LP 08 December 2020 by newton56 (Malaysia)

It's match and perfectly fit in my both ear.......

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My favorite earbuds

MDR-E9LP 29 November 2020 by Florana (USA)

Most earbuds hurt my ears. Not these. They fit just right, as if they were molded to my ears. They sound great, and the colors are very pretty. If I have to use earbuds for over an hour, I make sure it's this kind.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The Only Earbuds to Consistently Stay in my Ears

MDR-E9LP 16 November 2020 by Maci27077 (USA)

For years I have gotten earbuds shaped normally and they have only ever fallen out of my ears when I was listening to music. I got my first pair of these years ago and used them until one of them no longer played audio. I am currently on my second pair and these things last QUITE a while. They are pretty cheap and definitely worth the bang for your buck. I have a third pair as backup in case my second pair breaks as well (it's been a few years). Hopefully Sony keeps making these earbuds because if they don't I will be in utter despair. I don't want to place anything else right near my eardrums because it looks like they will pop my eardrums. My eardrums like being whole, thanks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

AMAZING SOUND! AMAZING QUALITY!!!

MDR-E9LP 21 October 2020 by JeremyNWest (USA)

I bought these three to four years ago. They've accidentally gone through the washer more than fifteen times, and they still work perfectly well. Very impressive. Amazing sound!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sound for the price!

MDR-E9LP 30 September 2020 by RJ Mijares (Philippines)

4 years with heavy use and still going. Well worth the 500 php I spent on it. Sony make a budget wireless earbuds! I already love this product imagine how many people would buy a wireless version of this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Abysmal

MDR-E9LP 26 September 2020 by Munkelasse (USA)

Bought these to replace the earbuds that came with my ten year old Sony dictaphone (ICD-UX200). Turns out I should have taken better care of the old ones because these new ones are utter garbage in comparison. The sound is thin, the volume is low, and they're so light and tiny that it's hard to keep them from falling out of the ears. So, to other prospective buyers, please believe me when I tell you that you may as well buy the cheapest pair of earbuds you can find at your local dollar store - with a little luck they may even be better than these. And to Sony: Does this embarassing deterioration in quality only apply to your headphones or have your other products gone the same way? If so, I will obviously have to look at Olympus or Zoom or pretty much anything but Sony when the time comes to replace the old dictaphone.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Budget friendly, almost invincible earphones

MDR-E9LP 13 September 2020 by TonyDubbs (USA)

I've been using these for over half a decade now. While they have almost no low end (sorry bassheads) you get some pretty good mid and high-end sound for what's on average only $10. They're also really loud when you want them to be, just be warned that they will leak sound. At the price it's very easy to look over its flaws, since it still delivers what you want to listen to at the end if the day. Also, I've accidentally sent these through the wash multiple times, accidentally swung them into solid concrete faster than I'd like to admit, and these hold up fantastically. Maybe the outer plastic speaker covers crack after major abuse, but they pop right back in with a little finesse. Overall fantastic quality for a low cost. Doesn't offer much other than deliver sound but you aren't buying these for anything other than to listen to music in any weather conditions.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

awesome for a kid

MDR-E9LP 25 July 2020 by Jakeman (USA)

I bought these for my child and he loves them, he told me, "they sound so real!," and, "they are way better than headphones!"

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent sound

MDR-E9LP 12 July 2020 by Ian Bob (Philippines)

Its very good for accoustic songs. not recommended for those who are looking for loud bass, other than that the design is very good. sound quality is very good also.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not worthy of the Sony brand

MDR-E9LP 28 June 2020 by GordonHorwich (USA)

Up until about 10 years ago, you were able to by Sony Fontopia in-ear headphones (or Panasonic equivalent) for about £10. They had good sound quality and were ideal for runners used with Sansas or iPods with a good comfortable fit in the ear. They would stay in even on a windy day. They would last for quite a few years and you could even get them with volume control. For the past few years I have unsuccessfully tried to find something similar. I thought I had finally found these and thought they may be old stock as they are not listed currently on Sony's website. However, they are a complete waste of money. I do have a pair of Sennheiser MX375 and switching between the two highlights how poor is the sound quality of the MDR E9LP. The fit of the Sennheiser is not as good as old style fontopia, hence continued search.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

not for music

MDR-E9LP 26 May 2020 by jimredbeard (USA)

These are great for podcast, audio books and fit my ear well. The official page says "Neodymium magnet 0.53 in driver unit reproduces powerful bass sound" there is no bass of any kind just clear vocals. Not good for music, very disappointing overall .

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great sound quality and very durable

MDR-E9LP 07 May 2020 by Sadaliz (USA)

I’ve had these earbuds for many years now and they’ve never stopped working. I’ve dropped and tangled them but they’ve never given up. These have a unique shape that is hard to find nowadays.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

great quality i have tested for music

MDR-E9LP 29 April 2020 by raphaelban (Philippines)

bass and sounds are very excellent especially when jogging and listening to music!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Non existant bass and sounds horrible

MDR-E9LP 30 November 2019 by Dresden files (USA)

I just received this via mail because my old ones was broken. Plugged them in and tried to listen to some music. Had to stop because the sound quality is too bad. Thought that maybe they sound better with an audio book. No. Same problem with the sound. The sound is too thin. My mp3 player has an equalizer so I tried to up the bass but then the earbuds started to vibrate so much I thought they were going to go to pieces. Can't recommend these earbuds due to low sound quality. Also find it surprising that a company like Sony puts its name on this. The one star is because they look good.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

4

0

Horrible quality

MDR-E9LP 31 July 2019 by Ellda (Philippines)

Please stop producing bad quality items! Very cheaply made.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Sounds Great

MDR-E9LP 27 April 2019 by GadgetMan101Alex (United Kingdom)

I bought this some time ago in 2014 I don't remember. It is greeat and I still use it today!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Want the previous model headphones

MDR-E9LP 29 March 2019 by Hashling (USA)

I bought this three months ago. I'm so disappointed, I always buy "clear sound" from Sony cause I don't know why, every headphones in shop are "pure bass" or "extra bass", I just want a nice neutral sound. I was so surprised, my previous model "clear sound" from Sony, the right earpiece gave way so I bought an other one (new model) and the sound is still a better quality on the previous one. This new one crackles. I thought it was me who heard badly but no, after comparison the sound is much less clear than my old Sony with only 1 optimal earpiece, the sizzle gives headache. I'm really sad cause I tried to buy again an other one thinking I had a defective one but it's still the same problem. I bought (AGAIN) JVC "stereo" sound... I want to cry, the sound is muffled and I hear the bass more than anything. I wonder why is it so difficult to find a neutral sound ?

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

0

No problems

MDR-E9LP 20 January 2019 by Chazlewz23 (United Kingdom)

Great earphones for general use bass is decent for the price. couldn't ask for any thing more

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Excellent earphone if you use it with a laptop

MDR-E9LP 19 January 2019 by R Tec (Philippines)

You unleash the full potential of this earphone when you plug it in a laptop. If you're using a mobile phone better activate the phone's audio boosting features to hear the hidden quality of this earphone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Environmentally irresponsible useless product

MDR-E9LP 10 January 2019 by BigDa (USA)

I do not have high expectations, and up till now I was happy with low budget headphones, as they (normally) outperform factory headsets provided with new mobile phones. This product, however, is far worse than anything else I had before. Simply not fit for any purpose. Its voice quality is characterised by the lack of any quality. No wonder they do not come with money back guarantee. It is destinded to land in the bin.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

4