$799.00

(AUD inc. GST)
38

3.2 based on 38 customer reviews

12
6
6
5
9
Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Remote Use

HVLF60M 07 September 2014 by Lenrique (USA)

The HVLF60 its a great product. Really it is. As the old HVL43, but with the new hotshoe comes the problems for me: how can I use some remote in my HVL60 flash? Try some but doesn't work. The new connectors doesn't allow to transmit the shoot form the a99 to the flash through remote accessories. Can I use the wireless function between the camera and flash without accessories?

5

1

Most Helpful Critical
0

Overheating is huge issue

HVLF60M 24 February 2014 by silencisnotawkwarddotcom (USA)

There is no way to use this. In even common situations you are overheated before you can get the job done. I have used other flashes all day without even one incident. 200 shots in a row. This one even at lower power overheats in just 40 shots. This is of course of known by Sony. Before they even tell you how to use the mode, they tell you what the overheat symbol is. The cost on this is stunning. It is not radio wireless, just normal flash wireless. 60 dollar flashes do the same thing this does without overheating. Standard hotshoe? uh no. This only works in an adapter, or on the A99. Nothing standard about the very odd, weak and flimsy copper pins on the front of the show. This will not be a flash to last. This is simply not something that is going to cut it. Again, Sony. Just hang in there. Your innovations are great. Just take a breath. 1. Build quality, 2. Usability 3. Features. keep that in that order and you can own this industry. Your cameras have doubled in usability each build. Just apply that to more than theory.

61

0

38 Customer Reviews

0

This flash deserves a 5 Star rate but !

HVL-F60M 23 June 2019 by BJO 3 (USA)

The locking mechanism is a cheap and over time will fail ( a problem which happen to my other photographer friends ) and let’s the flash unlock from the camera and slip from the hot seat.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor Build

HVL-F60M 08 June 2019 by RBT INT (United Kingdom)

Bought two years ago for pro use. The mount lock has failed Not robust enough. Repair appears not be possible in the UK according to website. Therefore now an expensive piece of junk

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love this flash and I have a note to overheating

HVL-F60M 15 January 2019 by yanks (USA)

Overheating apparently is a problem, I see it everywhere. But I did not experience it yet and do use this flash for high-end weddings. Now I found out the crazy fact. For the first time I was using Energizer Ultimate Lithium, supposedly the best batteries in the market and unfortunately I bought 50 pieces. I was very surprised how often the unit was overheated. Never happened with cheap batteries!!! Might be good tip for others. Overal the flash is well build and I use pretty often that build-in LED light.

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ease of setup and use!

HVLF60M 07 January 2019 by imac2139 (USA)

I was delighted to use this product. Former Nikon user and switched to Sony about 6 months ago.As an experienced on-off camera flash unit user, I purchased thid for nighttime event. It was excellent. A ton of power, quick recycle and fantastically easy to use.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Optimal balance of characteristics

HVL-F60M 24 October 2018  (United Kingdom)

I bought F60M flash month ago together with Sony A7 III. That was significant change in my photography equipment: I shifted from my old Nikon 200 with SB800 to Sony A7 III with F60M. External flash is very important for me, because about 80% of my photos done in low light conditions. I understand that it is not correct to compare old system with new products, but it may be reasonable in respect of the flashes. Sony F60M is a great product with impressive characteristics. I would like to stress attention on the high level of the communication with camera and parameter optimization. The uniform illumination of the area is a obvious achievement of the manufacturer. Probably, only disadvantage is a rather large weight of the flash.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great flash but build quality isn't great.

HVL-F60M 19 October 2018  (USA)

Flash started to wobble about a year after I bought it due to a broken piece of plastic in the shoe. I'd chalk this up to rough use, but I've got Nikon flashes that have withstood upwards of 200 weddings without any issues. In conversations with multiple other Sony users they've had the same issue, resulting in an expensive repair each time. I replaced it with a F60RM and my only real design issue with the 60M has been corrected. They've added a simple plus and minus button for flash power which is a huge help. I'd recommend the F60RM over this unit even though it's currently slightly more expensive.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Hot

HVL-F60M 07 June 2017 by Chocolate Thunder (USA)

It is a great flash but not very reliable it will over heat so fast and not in direct son. I love the power and menu. I would not take it on a paying job. It is like an old girl friend you lover her but she might cheat on you at any point and time. Should not be that way cause of the price

Performance

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A Great Flash Unit

HVL-F60M 23 April 2017 by Freddyboy (United Kingdom)

I've only had this a week or so and just as with my other new Sony gear I'm very impressed. I'm on a steep learning curve at the moment but I've already had some impressive results....and a few not so, which were my fault not the equipment's !

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

An essential work horse

HVL-F60M 21 April 2017 by Phil the photo (United Kingdom)

This is the second of these that I have purchased and use it professionally in my work which means it could be in action 6 days a week when things are busy. It is a good, solid, usually reliable piece of kit. It does have a bit of weight to go with it, something to consider when you're carrying it around.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Flashgun

HVL-F60M 26 August 2016 by A Rainy Night in England (United Kingdom)

Powerful, flexible flash that works seamlessly with A7R

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

1

0

Versitile and backwards compatible

HVL-F60M 04 July 2016 by minolta4me (United Kingdom)

Recent aquisition to go with a used Sony A99v - Brilliant on it's own but also enables all the previous functions of my older Minolta wireless flashes to be utilized. I'm a VERY happy bunny ;-)

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Sony HVL-F60M flashgun

HVL-F60M 11 September 2015 by John Batten (United Kingdom)

I have been using the HVL-F60M flashgun for portraits, weddings and events and it has proved to be even better than my Nikon SB900. The electronic contacts in the foot are numerous and not readily visible and to keep them clean I advise ALWAYS replacing the foot cap when the gun is not in use. My first cap came off too easily and I had to order replacements

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

swivel light

HVL-F60M 10 September 2015 by ptphotoswales (United Kingdom)

This is a very good product the flash is bright and with the video light that helps me to use on ring shots.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great Flash

HVL-F60M 08 June 2015 by livy (United Kingdom)

Been using in a pro capacity for a while now - however, the flash to camera locking mechanism stopped locking, making the flash virtually unusable in my line of work. Apart from that the product is outstanding.

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Had to chime in. It overheats!

HVLF60M 03 June 2015 by gregpphotog (USA)

I couldn't not say something. I am glad it isn't just me. This flash was a waste of money. Besides the overheating problem which is ridiculous all the proprietary attachments that don't couple well to remotes make this a bad investment. I love my Sony 99, love my Zeiss lens , but get a different flash system.

13

1

0

Overheats All The Time

HVLF60M 30 December 2014 by Morgan589 (USA)

Unfortunately this otherwise nice flash overheats constantly which makes it totally unreliable on jobs. Waiting 5-10 minutes during an hour long shoot for the flash to work again is a real job killer and embarrassing too. If it was more reliable I would highly recommend this flash but the overheating IS an issue.

12

0

0

Versatile Flashgun!

HVL-F60M 17 November 2014 by Overlord555 (United Kingdom)

This flash is well constructed, powerful, feels good and is easy to use even though it has many features. I also have the F56 and F20 and using the three together in a wireless setup is simple. There has been much written about overheating of this unit but unless you are a Pro-Photographer taking 50 flash shots in a short time frame, it just isn't a problem. I am a very keen amateur and highly recommend the F60M. Buy it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

I like it

HVLF60M 19 September 2014 by acButler (USA)

I read the reviews before purchasing the Flash 60, I found it very useful, in my courses, I'm studying Portrait and Wedding photography. This is my first external flash. I purchased another set of 4AA's for backup, from what I read it might get hot, swap the batteries and a work around. I enjoy sony products. I'm the only one in courses, possibly thew whole program using sony. A instructor picked it up and raved... The flash is complicated-and this is my first, but I printed the manual, 4 pages per sheet, zoomed, and duplexed. Read your manual...

0

5

0

Remote Use

HVLF60M 07 September 2014 by Lenrique (USA)

The HVLF60 its a great product. Really it is. As the old HVL43, but with the new hotshoe comes the problems for me: how can I use some remote in my HVL60 flash? Try some but doesn't work. The new connectors doesn't allow to transmit the shoot form the a99 to the flash through remote accessories. Can I use the wireless function between the camera and flash without accessories?

5

1

0

Terrible product - Shame

HVLF60M 07 September 2014 by ultranewbie (USA)

I was one of the first adopter of the Sony A99 and the Flash HVLF60M back in 2012. Both products have potential, but both products were defective on the first day I received them. My Sony A99 produced blurry images and I had to sent it in for repair. The HVLF60M is no better, perhaps the worst flash I have ever used. On the first day, the flash had problems with overheating with about 20 shots on 1/4 to 1 power ratio. As a photographer, I cannot have down times like this in a shoot. Second, at a corporate event, the flash over heated outdoors with only 5 shots because the weather was hot that day and affected the flash. Last year, the flash malfunctioned while I was In New York in Time Square during New Years Eve. The weather was freezing cold and the flash simply "quit" on me without being used much while my Nikon and Canon peers kept on shooting. This year, I was at a wedding reception, the flash begin to randomly fire without being used while on manual mode. On manual mode, the flash would fire while I was zooming with my lens and flash would go off multiple times. As a result, my flash overheated and I missed numerous shots and I had to take out the battery for the flash to cool off. The process to cool the flash is unique in itself because you have to take out the batteries, leave the unit off for about 3 minutes, dismount the unit off the camera, and leave the battery door open for heat ventilation. The flash requires multiple resets before I get one good reset for me to resume shooting. By the time the flash came back online, I have missed many shots and, sometimes, the event was simple "over." I felt embarrassed many times and I had to explain to my "other" peers. I just don't understand why a such a great product has such faults and unreliability. I take care all of my equipment and this flash is simply the worse ever. Just recently, the flash got worse, the unit became less responsive on manual mode and the flash would fire randomly and overheat as a result. I have tried the flash on my RX100II, Sony A99, and Sony A77. The results were the same. The flash just would not function at all. Furthermore, the flash would fire randomly by itself on manual mode. The flash is only usable on auto mode, which is unacceptable because there are many situations the AI would not be able to judge correctly and being on "Auto" mode would limit the latitude of my shots. The flash has been notorious with overheating since its release and numerous photography forums have documented the problem. Over time, the defects of this flash will get worse and render you unit unbearable. The bottom line, DO NOT PURCHASE this flash if you shoot a lot and depend on it for indoor work. I have upgraded and used Sony equipments for years (Sony A100, Sony A700, Sony A99, CZ24-70, HVLF40, and VGC99AM) The HVLF60M is simply the worst flash and Sony product I have ever used. I am very upset from the whole experience because I am forced to "buy" another unit due to defects of this flash. I am not fault at all; instead, I am being punished for buying the Flagship flash along with the Flagship camera and the Flagship lens. If you are to buy the unit, buy the 4 year warranty as well and exchange for a new one every year because you are going to need it. The HVLF60M is a shame.

41

0

0

Overheat Problem!

HVLF60M 30 August 2014 by Billyho18 (USA)

Great design flash. But it does not work as it should be! Just like everyone else said. My HVL-60M easily got overheat very fast. I am a Sony DSLR fan and have owned A900, A850, A99. But this flash get overheat after 15-20 shots. It is not normal at all for a top of the line Sony flash. I don't know what to do with it? Very disappointed!

16

1

0

Waste of Money & Regretting the Switch

HVLF60M 02 August 2014 by mboyd856 (USA)

The HVL-F60M won't even stand up to occasional firing let alone any rapid fire use. Each time I have used this flash it has failed me after about twenty shots in both direct and bounce modes. I definitely should have read the reviews before I fell for this one. The camera used is a A7R and I have used alkaline and rechargeable batteries. Both failures occurred in temperature controlled rooms 75 degrees in both. I miss my Canon gear badly right now.

26

0

0

F60M

HVL-F60M 23 June 2014 by RickyD01 (United Kingdom)

I moved up from an A77 to A99 and felt the newer F60M would be a good partner, I wasn't wrong it's a superb combination!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Flash upgrade

HVL-F60M 04 June 2014 by valiant (United Kingdom)

The price almost put me of, but after using it for ten minutes I realised that this no basic flash, compared to my old flash for my film camera, this one is like star trek technology, the built in light for video, the ability to swivel from side to side, the power off when you turn the camera off, are all in the plus column for me, the only down side is the lack of battery left indicator with power percentage.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1